Jump to content


Photo

09 Aug: Superboot - root access for the ZTE Skate

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
291 replies to this topic

#21
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

not wanting to be mr.whiney thread hijacker, but r3 still says "./fastboot-linux recovery clockworkmod.img" so is still missing the "flash" bit :D

todoleo: did you try as root?

Ah, gotcha, I've fixed that one now too, thanks!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#22
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Same here!

Windows: Drivers or 'Eject' driver disk
Mac: Eject driver disk
Linux: Try running as root

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#23
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
Thanks Paul, any idea where to get the drivers from?

  • 0

#24
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,641 posts
Plugging the phone into a computer should make a CDROM drive popup with the drivers in. I have extracted them and uploaded them here: http://android.modac...ost__p__1779465

  • 0

#25
Phoenix Silver

Phoenix Silver

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,839 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Strasbourg.
  • Devices:ZTE Blade Orange France
  • Twitter:@phoenixbjp
There is something i don't understand :

The line adb reboot bootloader
You need a rooted phone to do this normally.

Or is there a special adb in Skate ?

  • 1
Si le corps est mortel, l’âme elle est éternelle.

#26
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

There is something i don't understand :

The line adb reboot bootloader
You need a rooted phone to do this normally.

Or is there a special adb in Skate ?

You don't need root to do that.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#27
Phoenix Silver

Phoenix Silver

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,839 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Strasbourg.
  • Devices:ZTE Blade Orange France
  • Twitter:@phoenixbjp

You don't need root to do that.

P

Oki
So you don't need the boot.img
Just adb reboot bootloader
And fastboot flash recovery

And install a custom rom already rooted

  • 0
Si le corps est mortel, l’âme elle est éternelle.

#28
lostone

lostone

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:nottingham
As always thanks for all your hard work paul i had no prob unlocking and rooting my blade when i had it so my question is will this unlock the Monte Carlo? i have read the other posts about unlocking but am a little unsure weather this will do the trick or not

  • 0

#29
knuckless69

knuckless69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

As always thanks for all your hard work paul i had no prob unlocking and rooting my blade when i had it so my question is will this unlock the Monte Carlo? i have read the other posts about unlocking but am a little unsure weather this will do the trick or not


this does not "sim unlock" the phone

Edited by knuckless69, 11 August 2011 - 11:59 PM.

  • 0

#30
Christian Edwards

Christian Edwards

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
There really should be a sticky that's just says.
"Please be aware Rooting / Superuser / Custom Rom is not the same as SIM unlocking"
How many times do you see people getting confused with it.

  • 0

#31
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X
this is not working for me it stops at < waiting for device > and phone stays on the android logo and have to remove the battery to reboot.

i am using visa have plugged phone in to computer and installed the hanset drivers .exe from the phone

turned usb debugging on
ejected / safely removed drive F

no joy.

when i check device manager under other devices / android its says there is no drivers installed for android
and when i search drive C non are found.

any help would be great im lost Posted Image.

EDIT: it installs all drivers as ready to use but fails the android driver when trying the above. any ideas?

Edited by tillaz, 13 August 2011 - 03:29 AM.

  • 0

#32
Christian Edwards

Christian Edwards

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
Despite not asking, the drivers didn't work in Windows (7 starter) until I'd done a reboot.
After that it went as described. Thanks Paul.

  • 0

#33
philmein

philmein

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Proud Lancastrian
  • Interests:E-Cigs
    expensive hobby
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo zte blade
this is not working for me it stops at < waiting for device > and phone stays on the android logo and have to remove the battery to reboot.

i am using visa have plugged phone in to computer and installed the hanset drivers .exe from the phone

turned usb debugging on
ejected / safely removed drive F

no joy.

when i check device manager under other devices / android its says there is no drivers installed for android
and when i search drive C non are found.

any help would be great im lost data:image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhFAAUAHMAACH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh+QQJCgAPACwAAAAAFAAUAINDNBD/85TQnwx3Zjrr7e6elHby0BuXcQrX1s5oUBXmvhX94iGviQ32+f3ZsBIAAAAEqfDJSaulBJWR0igIcUlEkTCOYThMUogWMhzGYi+qcgxIhSSC2w0AMChaPVKBYSMChMXjS/Kr2QKBBdZmdCSSy1uDuCA2uLqCZOC4jp/mrFEwkCQU7sZZ35ArBAl2eFdbWFk4f4EPbFZCQl0MdQ9LjY5oAgdqDz8KlY8KDoBJJQydlTmhmTCbJwqmRK6hSD4zDq6xAphfFyUJBwy5DAcuqxYZGx0fISPMIxEAOw==.

EDIT: it installs all drivers as ready to use but fails the android driver when trying the above. any ideas?








use these drivers http://android.modac...-7-usb-drivers/

Edited by philmein, 13 August 2011 - 12:07 PM.

  • 0

#34
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X
dose the phone need to be turned off when doing this or dose it not matter ?

  • 0

#35
philmein

philmein

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Proud Lancastrian
  • Interests:E-Cigs
    expensive hobby
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo zte blade
i had the phone on

  • 0

#36
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X
i installed the drivers posted by fibb mention above and rebooted.

but still the same problem <waiting for device> phone stops at green android logo.

it pops up asking to insert the disk that came with android to install drivers for andriod
i have installed all drivers just missing the - - android driver fails to find it

im using vista.

do i need clockwork first ?

Edited by tillaz, 13 August 2011 - 05:34 PM.

  • 0

#37
redpola

redpola

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer liquid gallant duo.
  • Twitter:@redpola
Struggling on a mac. USB debugging switched on, all disks ejected.


splat:r2-OUK_P743TV1.0.0B05-skate-superboot root# ./adb-mac devices
List of devices attached

splat:r2-OUK_P743TV1.0.0B05-skate-superboot root# ./install-superboot-mac.sh
error: device not found
< waiting for device >


.... ad infinitum

  • 0

#38
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X
i fixed the problem i woz having in vista by installing the drivers from the android sdk and uninstalling the handset drivers.exe that come with phone then it worked fine.

thanks paul.

just waiting for unlock code now as i have been promised one in 7 to 14 days will wait and see

edit: any one have low wifi signal and the phone going into sleep and not waking when making calls some times?

Edited by tillaz, 15 August 2011 - 12:52 AM.

  • 0

#39
redpola

redpola

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer liquid gallant duo.
  • Twitter:@redpola

Struggling on a mac. USB debugging switched on, all disks ejected.


The solution is to, frankly, badword about with USB disk mounting and unmounting. Most reliable is to turn off debug mode, turn on USB disk mode, eject USB disk, then go back and turn on debugging mode. If you get the warning OK/Cancel requester when turning on the debugging mode that seems to be the magic talisman to indicate that you have effected the appropriate mystic sigils to get to first base.

Neil.

  • 0

#40
putbinoot

putbinoot

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 481 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300, Jiayu G3.

i installed the drivers posted by fibb mention above and rebooted.

but still the same problem <waiting for device> phone stops at green android logo.

it pops up asking to insert the disk that came with android to install drivers for andriod
i have installed all drivers just missing the - - android driver fails to find it

im using vista.

do i need clockwork first ?

same here on windows xp. installed drivers when phone plugged in but also asks for drivers while waiting for device. anybody got a link to a driver that worked.

  • 0
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users