Jump to content


Photo

09 Aug: Superboot - root access for the ZTE Skate

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
291 replies to this topic

#61
gitf@ce

gitf@ce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newmarket(ish), England
  • Devices:Skate - Streak - Transformer
Ahhhhhhh..... success! Thank you tillaz and wrtease for your input. I can honestly say I don't know what happened. After frantically installing and uninstalling various drivers and pulling the battery in and out, I must have beat my mobile and poor computer into submission! I ended up with two android devices installed in Device manager, and that seemed to do the trick.

Now to get rid of all that horrible Orange trash.

  • 0

#62
wrtease

wrtease

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SCOTLAND
  • Interests:TESTING ANDROID MOBILES TO THE LIMIT
    ALWAYS READY TO TRY OUT ANY ROM AND MOBILE TO THE LIMIT
  • Devices:SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB2 & S1 8GB
  • Twitter:@none
their is an ap in market that gets rid of orange crap.
glad you got it.

  • 0

#63
gitf@ce

gitf@ce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newmarket(ish), England
  • Devices:Skate - Streak - Transformer

their is an ap in market that gets rid of orange crap.
glad you got it.


Yes I saw that, Antek App Manager... already done ;)

  • 0

#64
putbinoot

putbinoot

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 481 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300, Jiayu G3.
Finally done although not on xp was waiting for my windows7 disk to arrive as i had decided to try it anyway the same as with xp happened.
1 detects phone installs handset usb drivers
2 waiting for device as with xp it's looking for drivers again so I tell win7 to find them and unlike xp it does and installs them job done.

Not sure where win7 is looking for them but at least it found them.

  • 0
Posted Image

#65
john.smith

john.smith

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
The other way round. I couldn't do it under Vista/7 but managed to root my OMC in Windows XP.

It might be because of the 64-bit driver issue I guess.

Finally done although not on xp was waiting for my windows7 disk to arrive as i had decided to try it anyway the same as with xp happened.
1 detects phone installs handset usb drivers
2 waiting for device as with xp it's looking for drivers again so I tell win7 to find them and unlike xp it does and installs them job done.

Not sure where win7 is looking for them but at least it found them.


  • 0

#66
vadiro

vadiro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
I tried in XP and 7 with http://android.modac...-7-usb-drivers/ and http://developer.and.../sdk/index.html drivers but are not working for me.
I have no ideea what else to try...

  • 0

#67
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

I tried in XP and 7 with http://android.modac...-7-usb-drivers/ and http://developer.and.../sdk/index.html drivers but are not working for me.
I have no ideea what else to try...


have you tried the way i got it to work on page 3 ?

  • 0

#68
vadiro

vadiro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
I finally succeeded, using win 7 drivers from http://www.4shared.c...4818380622.html and installing it manually how you suggested in page 3. :)

  • 0

#69
dadashi

dadashi

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D
I plugged the phone both on and off into my vista pc but I don't have anything happening. It just says "waiting for device" and the phone led doesn't blink or anything.
I tried turning the phone with volume pressed but got a white FTM Logo on the screen and had to pull the battery out to reboot....

Also I've got all drivers installed but in device manager no ADROIDPHONE...

I haven't got a clue...does anybody have a granny guide for installing superboot...

Edited by dadashi, 29 August 2011 - 12:41 PM.

  • 0
MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

#70
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

I plugged the phone both on and off into my vista pc but I don't have anything happening. It just says "waiting for device" and the phone led doesn't blink or anything.
I tried turning the phone with volume pressed but got a white FTM Logo on the screen and had to pull the battery out to reboot....

Also I've got all drivers installed but in device manager no ADROIDPHONE...

I haven't got a clue...does anybody have a granny guide for installing superboot...


page 3 post 44 & 54 i explain how to install the drivers for androidphone in vista.

Edited by tillaz, 29 August 2011 - 03:28 PM.

  • 0

#71
dadashi

dadashi

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

page 3 post 44 & 54 i explain how to install the drivers for androidphone in vista.


It took me on and off all day but I managed it...here several tips

1- When you plug the OMC into pc usb you get a cd-drive in my computer, eject it !!! otherwise you won't get Androidphone device in device manager

2- You'll probably have to install java before you can install the sdk/google driver download tool, you'll be given the link by the sdk tool

3- When you execute SDK Manager.exe it might not start....I had to look under properties and choose win98/millemium compatibility to get it to work!

4-Even after starting SDK Manager.exe and choosing googleusbdrivers it still took four attempts before it finaly downloaded the drivers into the extra folder in the same SDK directory

5-Vista wouldn't allow to choose the *.inf data,... choose to find the driver from the list of device drivers on pc and then choose to search drives, choose your sdkmanager folder/google/extra and the *.inf data

6-Vista finds two Androidphone devices in Device manager, for the first one choose Android Bootloader interface and the second Android composite ADB interface

7-You don't have to turn your OMC off like we had to do with the SanFrancisco last year, keep it on when it's plugged in...modaco's superboot and clockwork reboot the OMC themselves after the flash

After these steps modaco superboot and clockwork flashes flawlessly....

Edited by dadashi, 30 August 2011 - 12:51 AM.

  • 0
MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

#72
Tony.h

Tony.h

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
Finally got it rooted today, thanks to everyone who posted help esp Paul and Tillaz and Dadashi

Edited by Tony.h, 30 August 2011 - 10:42 PM.

  • 0

#73
magikstar29

magikstar29

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 161 posts
hello,
can i flash it into my ZTE Skate SFR (Staraddict) build: GB_P743FV1.0.0B03?

Edited by magikstar29, 01 September 2011 - 12:34 PM.

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy 551 : gingerbread 2.3.6 (stock)
HTC Desire Z : ViperZ 1.1.0 (ICS 4.0.4 Sense4.1)
Alcatel OT 986 : MIUI 3.2.8 (android 4.0.4)
Huawei U8730 : gingerbread 2.3.6 (stock)

#74
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

hello,
can i flash it into my ZTE Skate SFR (Staraddict) build: GB_P743FV1.0.0B03?


im not sure is it an unlocked version you have ?

  • 0

#75
magikstar29

magikstar29

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 161 posts
sfr -> operator lock

im not sure is it an unlocked version you have ?


  • 0
Samsung Galaxy 551 : gingerbread 2.3.6 (stock)
HTC Desire Z : ViperZ 1.1.0 (ICS 4.0.4 Sense4.1)
Alcatel OT 986 : MIUI 3.2.8 (android 4.0.4)
Huawei U8730 : gingerbread 2.3.6 (stock)

#76
magikstar29

magikstar29

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 161 posts
i have tested it after backed up the rom and it works,i have superuser installed.

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy 551 : gingerbread 2.3.6 (stock)
HTC Desire Z : ViperZ 1.1.0 (ICS 4.0.4 Sense4.1)
Alcatel OT 986 : MIUI 3.2.8 (android 4.0.4)
Huawei U8730 : gingerbread 2.3.6 (stock)

#77
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

i have tested it after backed up the rom and it works,i have superuser installed.


you may want to consider installing & setting up link2sd as the memory on the phone dose not go very far, also a rom dump would be handy if you can Posted Image.

  • 0

#78
stiefanu

stiefanu

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo/ZTE Skate
I did it with this usb driver, taken from the Zte Blade one!
http://www.easy-shar.../usb_driver.zip
I took this driver from this forum :)

  • 0

#79
cyberbit

cyberbit

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Everything related with tech
  • Devices:ZTE SKATE
Hi there s it possible after rooting the phone get WI-FI error?
I have that problem right now, can i remove root?

  • 0

#80
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

Hi there s it possible after rooting the phone get WI-FI error?
I have that problem right now, can i remove root?


What ROM are you on?

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users