Jump to content


Photo

09 Aug: Superboot - root access for the ZTE Skate

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
292 replies to this topic

#101
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

Unfortunately the machine that I use to connect to the internet; I don't have admin priviledges so I can't install Java in order to run the android sdk. The machine I have full access to has an air gap so I can run the android sdk but that doesn't contain the drivers themselves, only the download address. Hence I'd like a direct download address so I can transfer the file!

I did find a promising looking download on 4shared but when I got to the device manager installation stage I got an error message along the lines of "the software doesn't match the hardware" so that was probably for a Nexus phone or something...!


i will try to upload the google usb drivers for you, then you should be able to do it with the above guide, problem is im having problems with uploading at the moment.

i have been trying to upload my custom rom for the last 8 hours with no luckPosted Image

Edited by tillaz, 15 September 2011 - 07:09 PM.

  • 0

#102
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
here is a link to the google usb driver http://www.mediafire...f6klgsfpnp4i6m8

you will need to install this driver for androidphone manually with the guide on the other page.

  • 0

#103
Sean__D

Sean__D

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Yay! success. I used the drivers from the files you supplied tillaz. It also asked for the location of WinUSBCoInstaller.dll, but I found that in one of the other zip files I had tried, so by mixing dll's from both of those, It's now got past the waiting for device stage and seems to have re-booted the phone:-)

Thank you so much for your assistance Tillaz! Here's hoping orange get back to you soon with an unlock code:-)

  • 0

#104
PraveenVS

PraveenVS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@Prazy09
I am not able to install superboot ,, tried all the possible methods as mentioned in post #44 and #54. But nothing seemed to work.
In the command prompt it says - Waiting for device.
Is there any other easier way to install it ?? and I am using windows 7, 64bit ..

  • 0

#105
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

I am not able to install superboot ,, tried all the possible methods as mentioned in post #44 and #54. But nothing seemed to work.
In the command prompt it says - Waiting for device.
Is there any other easier way to install it ?? and I am using windows 7, 64bit ..


have you tried them http://android.modac...ost__p__1779465 reboot after installing...

  • 0

#106
LadronZTE

LadronZTE

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Devices:ZTE SKATE
So guys, i finally done it, but there is real big BUT! I installed superboot, then clockworkmod then the phone went restart, android showed and then android starts "loading" by his screen (android) flashing, but nothing happend, and its for a quite time... its still flashing and doing something but nothing really happend... what should i do ? i am scared to disconnect phone or do anything else..

  • 0

#107
PraveenVS

PraveenVS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@Prazy09
I tried the given handset USB driver, but it didn't work for me .. It says 'Waiting for Device' and nothing happens.

Is there any video tutorial for it ?? It would be helpful .. Thanks .



  • 0

#108
PraveenVS

PraveenVS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@Prazy09
Finally i managed to get Super boot and Clockwork recovery installed ... thanks to tilal for help ..

  • 0

#109
LadronZTE

LadronZTE

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Devices:ZTE SKATE
i would like to thanks to wrtease for such a big help ! Everything working correctly :)

  • 0

#110
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
Will this rooting procedure work on OSK_P743TV1.0.0B04 ?

Is it safe to try? I have stock rom.

Thank you for reply in advance.

Edited by C3C0, 29 September 2011 - 07:55 AM.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#111
Nighthawk4

Nighthawk4

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
  • Twitter:@TCKemp
I checked the script for the typo - my copy is after the correction, so I don't get the 'command not found' error.

However, the adb line gives 'device not found'
Then the first fastboot line gives 'waiting for device'

I have verified that the phone is connected and I can browse its contents.


Any thoughts please?


This is on an iMac.

  • 0

#112
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

I checked the script for the typo - my copy is after the correction, so I don't get the 'command not found' error.

However, the adb line gives 'device not found'
Then the first fastboot line gives 'waiting for device'

I have verified that the phone is connected and I can browse its contents.


Any thoughts please?


This is on an iMac.


hey, could you please make a rom dump of your zte skate before flashing a rom as it would be a great help to the devs Posted Image

http://android.podtwo.com/romdump/

Edited by tillaz, 29 September 2011 - 06:15 PM.

  • 0

#113
Nighthawk4

Nighthawk4

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
  • Twitter:@TCKemp

hey, could you please make a rom dump of your zte skate before flashing a rom as it would be a great help to the devs :)

http://android.podtwo.com/romdump/


Love to, but I can't get my Mac to see the device.


Also tried ./adb-mac devices which does not find any devices - even though I can see the volume called 'NO NAME' and browse its contents.

If someone can help with that I will be happy to dump the rom first :)

  • 0

#114
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

Love to, but I can't get my Mac to see the device.


Also tried ./adb-mac devices which does not find any devices - even though I can see the volume called 'NO NAME' and browse its contents.

If someone can help with that I will be happy to dump the rom first :)


i have no idea with mac, make a new topic telling you have a zte branded skate,it will get a lot more attention than in here Posted Image

  • 0

#115
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5

Will this rooting procedure work on OSK_P743TV1.0.0B04 ?

Is it safe to try? I have stock rom.

Thank you for reply in advance.


Any clue anybody?

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#116
spigot

spigot

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:HTC EVO 3D
Hello.
Will this work on original ZTE Skate?
Android ver.: 2.3.5
Baseband version: P743B01
Kernel version: 2.6.35.7-perf zte-kernel@Zdroid-SMT
Build number: ZTE-SKATEV1.0.0.B1
Thanks.

  • 0
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
FSC Loox N560 -> HTC Diamond 2 -> ZTE Skate -> HTC EVO 3D

#117
philmein

philmein

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Proud Lancastrian
  • Interests:E-Cigs
    expensive hobby
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo zte blade

Hello.
Will this work on original ZTE Skate?
Android ver.: 2.3.5
Baseband version: P743B01
Kernel version: 2.6.35.7-perf zte-kernel@Zdroid-SMT
Build number: ZTE-SKATEV1.0.0.B1
Thanks.


i would hang fire m8 just yet check post 224 here http://android.modac...e/page__st__220



  • 0

#118
spigot

spigot

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:HTC EVO 3D
Thanks.
But it's not clear to me. I'm really sorry but I'm totally new to Android (WM before), so excuse my stupid questions :D.

  • 0
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
FSC Loox N560 -> HTC Diamond 2 -> ZTE Skate -> HTC EVO 3D

#119
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

Thanks.
But it's not clear to me. I'm really sorry but I'm totally new to Android (WM before), so excuse my stupid questions :D.


i noticed you said android 2.3.5 can you please check this.....

we are all 2.3.4 this will be very interesting if your not Posted Image

  • 0

#120
spigot

spigot

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:HTC EVO 3D
In "About" section, there's version 2.3.5.

  • 0
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
FSC Loox N560 -> HTC Diamond 2 -> ZTE Skate -> HTC EVO 3D




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users