Jump to content


Photo

Maximum OC Limit for ZTE Blade

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

Poll: Maximum OC Limit for ZTE Blade (344 member(s) have cast votes)

At what *MAX* freq do u use your blade?

  1. 480 MHz (2 votes [0.58%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 0.58%

  2. 600 MHz (27 votes [7.85%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 7.85%

  3. 652 MHz (22 votes [6.40%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 6.40%

  4. 672 MHz (21 votes [6.10%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 6.10%

  5. 691 MHz (51 votes [14.83%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 14.83%

  6. 710 MHz (88 votes [25.58%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 25.58%

  7. 729 MHz (43 votes [12.50%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 12.50%

  8. 748 MHz - me on CM NB165 now :) (41 votes [11.92%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 11.92%

  9. 768 MHz (20 votes [5.81%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 5.81%

  10. 787 MHz (9 votes [2.62%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 2.62%

  11. 806 MHz (20 votes [5.81%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 5.81%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#41
szymko1995

szymko1995

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i5700/ ZTE Blade
It depends on your luck.
Some Blades could not reach even 700MHz.
That's why we should have option to overvolt to bigger voltage, like that's in msm7227t.

  • 0

#42
l2azor

l2azor

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:dell XCD 35
mine does 787mhz stable..though i keep it at 122-320mhz normal usage cm7 n257+2 sej's

  • 0
Konstakang CM10 xD

#43
cartmanotfat

cartmanotfat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
We could make a petition ! Posted Image Seriously, any dev can tweak the kernel for overvolt ? Thanks by advance...

Edited by cartmanotfat, 18 December 2011 - 07:20 PM.

  • 0

#44
szymko1995

szymko1995

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i5700/ ZTE Blade
Sad, but true...

  • 0

#45
jackal-sk

jackal-sk

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
OC is useless.

  • 0
CURRENT: ZTE Grand X IN
PAST: Palm m500, m505, Zire 71, Zire 72, Mio P500, Samsung Omnia II, HTC Wildfire/Buzz, ZTE Blade

#46
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,000 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Blade V, I9000, Blade

OC is useless.


Not if your a gamer. Then it's very useful. :)
I have no interest in adjusting the voltage though on something which I have no control over the cooling of.

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#47
szymko1995

szymko1995

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i5700/ ZTE Blade
Why?
It's the only way to increase more msm7227's clock.
Turbo version of this CPU, which is used e.g. in SGA clocks at 800Mhz thanks to bigger voltage and they can OC it to much more than 900Mhz.

@up
yea.
I'm not saying to OV Blade e.g. of 0,5V.
Rather to Turbo's or other low level.
What's standard (Blade, gt540, p500) and Turbo's voltage?

Edited by szymko1995, 18 December 2011 - 08:15 PM.

  • 0

#48
cartmanotfat

cartmanotfat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
If we could have the same clock speed as the skate... I hope our request will be considered Posted Image

Edited by cartmanotfat, 18 December 2011 - 09:40 PM.

  • 0

#49
szymko1995

szymko1995

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i5700/ ZTE Blade
That is what I mean.
Additionally we will can overclock same as now by CM settings/setcpu.
Can some developer enounce about this idea (is it real)?

  • 0

#50
jackal-sk

jackal-sk

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Not if your a gamer. Then it's very useful. :)
I have no interest in adjusting the voltage though on something which I have no control over the cooling of.

Has OC ever helped you increase fps in any game ? If so which one ?



  • 0
CURRENT: ZTE Grand X IN
PAST: Palm m500, m505, Zire 71, Zire 72, Mio P500, Samsung Omnia II, HTC Wildfire/Buzz, ZTE Blade

#51
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Would overclocking to such high levels not decrease the phones life? Surely heat levels would go beyond what the phone was engineered to cope with, especially when gaming.
Its currently 691 MHz for me, a bit faster and will hopefully get a long life out of it also. 729mhz seems to be stable for me but haven't chanced pushing it any higher.

  • 0

#52
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,000 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Blade V, I9000, Blade

Has OC ever helped you increase fps in any game ? If so which one ?






I'm not sure I understand the question. It stands to reason that if you have a CPU intensive task that making your cpu faster will improve it!
The only game I have that can show a FPS is Xenowar. The automatic* scrolling to my squad after loading the save game:
604mhz 15.9fps
729mhz 18.8fps
An 18% increase for a 20% overclock. Seems pretty clear cut. :)


*hence consistent for each test. proven by testing multiple times at each frequency. there's not even any margin for error. each run produced identical framerates. no averaging or cherry picked results there.

Edited by targetbsp, 19 December 2011 - 01:30 AM.

  • 3
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#53
FelixL

FelixL

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:San Francisco, Moto Defy

Why?
It's the only way to increase more msm7227's clock.
Turbo version of this CPU, which is used e.g. in SGA clocks at 800Mhz thanks to bigger voltage and they can OC it to much more than 900Mhz.

@up
yea.
I'm not saying to OV Blade e.g. of 0,5V.
Rather to Turbo's or other low level.
What's standard (Blade, gt540, p500) and Turbo's voltage?



You missed something. They can use higher frequencies on this CPU because the silicon is higher quality than ours. They don't have to and can't increase voltage further.

  • 0

#54
Felsch

Felsch

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Y300, Nexus 7(2013)
  • Twitter:@_ravir
Mostly 710, but I can get it mostly to max 768 mhz :).

  • 0

#55
ManMetDeHamer

ManMetDeHamer

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Shamefully mine can only do 672 or it crashes :(

  • 0
Running:
Swedish Snow RLS3
With Nemus launcher!

#56
jackal-sk

jackal-sk

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

I'm not sure I understand the question. It stands to reason that if you have a CPU intensive task that making your cpu faster will improve it!
The only game I have that can show a FPS is Xenowar. The automatic* scrolling to my squad after loading the save game:
604mhz 15.9fps
729mhz 18.8fps
An 18% increase for a 20% overclock. Seems pretty clear cut. :)


*hence consistent for each test. proven by testing multiple times at each frequency. there's not even any margin for error. each run produced identical framerates. no averaging or cherry picked results there.


Yes in theory it would improve it but in general the FPS gain here is not worth the extra CPU heat, damage and worse battery live in my eyes. If you put it into % it sure looks good, but 2.9 FPS increase at a cost of running @ 729 mhz (or more) is not what I see fit for the device. I've tested this on the newest GTA and the FPS gain was 0 - 1 FPS. Same with angry birds, on intensive levels whatever high the OC has been it never solved the stuttering at the beginning of intensive levels.

OC can be helpful but not so much on our device.


  • 0
CURRENT: ZTE Grand X IN
PAST: Palm m500, m505, Zire 71, Zire 72, Mio P500, Samsung Omnia II, HTC Wildfire/Buzz, ZTE Blade

#57
cartmanotfat

cartmanotfat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
It costs nothing to try... And it will improve the speed of calculation, which is good for browsing Posted Image

Edited by cartmanotfat, 19 December 2011 - 12:10 PM.

  • 0

#58
targetbsp

targetbsp

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,000 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Blade V, I9000, Blade
I don't have a problem with heat, I've gamed on it overclocked, outside, at the height of summer. There's not much danger overclock modern hardware if you're not silly about it - it just crashes or hangs if you've gone too far.
In my testing, overclocking doesn't noticeably drain the battery quicker. Remember the CPU is only one of the things using power. Increasing its power use by 20% does not increase the phones power use by 20%. And when you're not needing that performance, the CPU will be clocked back anyway.
As a gamer, I consider any increase I can make to the minimum fps essential. I overclock everything I own. It's a free upgrade. :D

I'm not sure about upping the voltage on chips not designed for it with cooling not designed for it though. I'm gonna sit back and let those that want to guinea pig that one!

Edited by targetbsp, 19 December 2011 - 12:49 PM.

  • 0
My Blade site - includes vanilla KANGS's of CM7. Also available: modified GB Gapps with various market versions, mini ICS Gapps for 160mb system partitions and Flash for ARMv6
CM7 Blade changelog

#59
Lost_Animal

Lost_Animal

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Patras - Greece
  • Interests:Computer, Dedicated Servers, Forums and GameServers Owner
  • Devices:ZTE Blade x 2
I have new BLADE Device now.

I am really impressed with the O/C 0f this device.

I have....

  • 825 stable (Heavy tests with Games and bench Apps)
  • 844.8 partially stable (Random Freezes)
  • 864 crashing on Secs
My older Blade was stable ONLY at 675 Mhz.
Here is my latest score of Antutu Bench but i assume that my 32GB cat.4 card gives low scores on write.



Attached File  screenshot-1324333605213.png   87.2KB   15 downloads

I will upload later a run on 844 Mhz.




Edited by Lost_Animal, 19 December 2011 - 11:14 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image
Posted Image

#60
cartmanotfat

cartmanotfat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

I have new BLADE Device now.

I am really impressed with the O/C 0f this device.

I have....

  • 825 stable (Heavy tests with Games and bench Apps)
  • 844.8 partially stable (Random Freezes)
  • 864 crashing on Secs
My older Blade was stable ONLY at 675 Mhz.



Many CPU (like on PC) can be overclocked without overvolt . But others are needed...Posted Image I think that only 50mv on highs frequencies is necessary.

Edited by cartmanotfat, 20 December 2011 - 10:41 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users