Jump to content


Photo

Black screen when calling

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1
Christian Edwards

Christian Edwards

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
I'm having trouble making calls on my Skate, I think its the proximity switch.
When I make a call the screen goes black straight away like it does when you put the phone to your ear.
But if I need to hang-up or send it to speaker or type in a number the screen doesn't light up to let me do it.
I hope this isn't a hardware issue as we don't yet have a stock ROM to put it back to before trying to return it under warranty.
Any advice?

  • 0

#2
lordjubblydave

lordjubblydave

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Essex
  • Devices:M8-MotoG-GPad_8.3
  • Twitter:@jubblydave
Proximity sensor finder, should help you work out if it is the hardware thatt is at fault.
You can find it in the market

  • 0

#3
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
i have exactly the same problem... i dial a number and phone vibrates an goes into sleep and cant wake it until they hang up.
would be interesting to hear if any other people are experiencing this problem (hopefully just a software bug).

EDIT: this happens randomly for me some times it dose not happen and proximity censer works fine.
done a fyew tests just ringing 4444 or 1234 but most of the time it dose happen.

Edited by tillaz, 23 August 2011 - 06:24 PM.

  • 0

#4
Christian Edwards

Christian Edwards

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
Mine is definitely intermittent too, I keep wiping and re-install freshly cooked ROMs from the Modaco Kitchen but it's still there, just not every time.
The Proximity Finder App says it's there and work too thanks.

  • 0

#5
Jeff 66

Jeff 66

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
I'm having the same problem.

I'm sure it's a software problem. If I kill all tasks before the call,it works properly.

  • 0

#6
garym123

garym123

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:manchester
  • Devices:orange monte carlo
  • Twitter:@steamheadz
ive had same problems,i had to take battery out to end call lol :unsure:

  • 0

#7
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
don't know wot i have done but after messing round in the sound & call settings turning things on and off and changing my task killer from advanced task killer to taskkiller free the problem has gone lol.

  • 0

#8
Pelemane

Pelemane

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade & Huawei U8800

don't know wot i have done but after messing round in the sound & call settings turning things on and off and changing my task killer from advanced task killer to taskkiller free the problem has gone lol.


Taskkillers are poop, just uninstall them. Seriously.

  • 0

#9
gitf@ce

gitf@ce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newmarket(ish), England
  • Devices:Skate - Streak - Transformer
Can someone confirm this occurs on a non rooted/clockwork modded phone please.

  • 0

#10
Christian Edwards

Christian Edwards

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
I'm pretty sure it happened on the stock ROM even before I rooted and installed CWM.

  • 0

#11
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

Can someone confirm this occurs on a non rooted/clockwork modded phone please.


i really cant say i noticed befor root are you also having the same problem ?

  • 0

#12
gitf@ce

gitf@ce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newmarket(ish), England
  • Devices:Skate - Streak - Transformer

i really cant say i noticed befor root are you also having the same problem ?


Yes, and I have a really bad case of it! I dialled 453 to use my topup card and it was almost impossible to achieve. The screen started flashing on and off really fast as I was trying to type in the 19 digit code... it was almost farcical! What should have been a couple of minutes call took half an hour. At one point the phone jammed up and I had to pull the battery, as no amount of button pressing was doing anything.

We need someone with a brand new (virgin) Skate to confirm whether this occurs. If it does heavens knows Orange is going to be reeling, especially if the Skate is flying off the shelves like some have indicated.

  • 0

#13
Jeff 66

Jeff 66

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

The screen started flashing on and off really fast as I was trying to type in the 19 digit code...



That's not the problem I've been having. The screen goes completely black, it's not possible to press any buttons because they're all disabled. Mine is using the stock rom, the phone isn't rooted.
It is intermittent though, so cancelling the call and trying again usually works.


A tip for people who have this problem and have had to remove the battery to end a call:
Go into settings, Accessibility, and tick the "Power button ends call" box. Then the button on the side of the phone will end a call.





  • 1

#14
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
To everyone who is having this issue:
This is software related - not hardware. I can confirm this because people using GingerStirFry - a ROM based on the leaked version of the OMC ROM for the ZTE Blade are having the same issue. So this is definitely a software fault. I will try and rectify this by carrying out more investigation and see if it can be fixed.

  • 1
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#15
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
And I seem to have found a solution - I'm just checking if it works :) - it'll be included in the next version of BlueGinger.

  • 1
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#16
Christian Edwards

Christian Edwards

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts

A tip for people who have this problem and have had to remove the battery to end a call:
Go into settings, Accessibility, and tick the "Power button ends call" box. Then the button on the side of the phone will end a call.


Thanks that will help a lot, saves taking the battery out, and I'll look forward to the fix in Blue Ginger V2.

  • 0

#17
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

And I seem to have found a solution - I'm just checking if it works :) - it'll be included in the next version of BlueGinger.



thanks looking forward to it .

  • 0

#18
gitf@ce

gitf@ce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newmarket(ish), England
  • Devices:Skate - Streak - Transformer
Looks like we need to send our phones back! Try Elixr app from the market (as per Tilal's suggestion), start proximity sensor test and see what happens. Mine goes from 4.0cm to far without any interaction with the sensor. Therefore it must be knackered!

Fixed... see tilal's fix further down.

Edited by gitf@ce, 30 August 2011 - 10:27 PM.

  • 0

#19
gitf@ce

gitf@ce

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newmarket(ish), England
  • Devices:Skate - Streak - Transformer
Here's a temp fix. Download Screebl from the market and set the screen to stay on during a call. Works for me.

Scrub that, mines going mad again!

Edited by gitf@ce, 30 August 2011 - 07:52 PM.

  • 0

#20
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

Here's a temp fix. Download Screebl from the market and set the screen to stay on during a call. Works for me.

Scrub that, mines going mad again!


Try this - type this into dialer - *983*0#. Go to sensors and while not covering the sensor click calibrate.

  • 10
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users