Jump to content


Photo

Unlock 512MB?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#21
Kyrii

Kyrii

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Campinas - SP
  • Devices:ZTE Racer/Future Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@kyrii_br
Obvious is not the same, but the hardware can be equal, and this facilitates the process.


  • 0
Posted Image

Galaxy X - Paranoid Android - Jellybean 4.2.2
Zte Racer - Unnoficial CyanogenMod 7.2 port

#22
Prince.abi

Prince.abi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:DELL XCD28/ZTE Racer
well lol if smeone gives a try then we can see lol...

Also dealink said tht v gt 2gb

Edited by Prince.abi, 06 November 2011 - 02:34 PM.

  • 0

#23
deadlink

deadlink

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Location:Russia, Samara
  • Interests:programming
  • Devices:ZTE RACER
  • Twitter:@deadlink
I said I'm not sure, because in Russian Gb means gigabytes =) I have not been able to carefully look datasheets and immediately laid out everything here for all to see and make conclusions...
Now I have carefully studied the datasheet and I can say that we have 256MB RAM = (
Nevertheless, we have 512MB ROM and I think we could all use...
We use all memory...
# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs 82.8M 44.0K 82.8M 0% /dev
tmpfs 82.8M 0 82.8M 0% /mnt/asec
tmpfs 82.8M 0 82.8M 0% /mnt/obb
/dev/block/mtdblock5 220.0M 140.5M 79.5M 64% /system
/dev/block/mtdblock6 162.5M 91.5M 71.0M 56% /data
/dev/block/mtdblock4 37.5M 1.2M 36.3M 3% /cache

220+162,5+37,5+82,8 = 502,8M
+ boot+ recovery = 512M...

Edited by deadlink, 07 November 2011 - 08:09 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#24
Kyrii

Kyrii

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Campinas - SP
  • Devices:ZTE Racer/Future Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@kyrii_br
http://www.google.co...FFxavOAquZZLgwg

Various smartphones has this chip (Xperia X10 Mini/Mini Pro, for example).
If one has that amount of RAM, we can unlock this function.

  • 0
Posted Image

Galaxy X - Paranoid Android - Jellybean 4.2.2
Zte Racer - Unnoficial CyanogenMod 7.2 port

#25
SoftStoner

SoftStoner

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Queluz, Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Racer (TMN Soft Stone)

220+162,5+37,5+82,8 = 502,8M
+ boot+ recovery = 512M...

Yes, that's pretty much what I suspected. Just a minor nit, tmpfs mounts use no storage space (only RAM, but swappable, in case of memory pressure).

  • 0

#26
oozi

oozi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Devices:none

That's impossible, as the Blade would only be able to access 64 MiB of RAM (remember, all sizes in the datasheet are in bits, not bytes). The Racer's MCP has 2 Gib (256 MiB). As far as RAM is concerned, I don't believe there's anything we can do. As for flash, perhaps we could gain access to the whole 4 Gib (512 MiB), but that might not be such a good idea (think spare sectors).


well played my friend, i missed that part of the BITS!

i was calculating using Bytes

now its for sure that we cant expand the memory any further.

  • 0

#27
Amphoras

Amphoras

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 766 posts


We use all memory...
# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs 82.8M 44.0K 82.8M 0% /dev
tmpfs 82.8M 0 82.8M 0% /mnt/asec
tmpfs 82.8M 0 82.8M 0% /mnt/obb
/dev/block/mtdblock5 220.0M 140.5M 79.5M 64% /system
/dev/block/mtdblock6 162.5M 91.5M 71.0M 56% /data
/dev/block/mtdblock4 37.5M 1.2M 36.3M 3% /cache

220+162,5+37,5+82,8 = 502,8M
+ boot+ recovery = 512M...


There is a lot of space unused in the system partition, same on the cache partition. Has anyone tried using a TPT to repartition the internal memory to get more space for apps? Are there any TPT's for the Racer around?

  • 0

TPT Helper lets you easily repartition your ZTE phone, install a new ROM and for the Blade, convert to/from Gen 2. Available for Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade, Orange Monte Carlo/ZTE Skate and Orange San Francisco II/T-Mobile Vivacity. https://market.andro...horas.tpthelper

TPTs and other apps


#28
deadlink

deadlink

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Location:Russia, Samara
  • Interests:programming
  • Devices:ZTE RACER
  • Twitter:@deadlink

There is a lot of space unused in the system partition, same on the cache partition. Has anyone tried using a TPT to repartition the internal memory to get more space for apps? Are there any TPT's for the Racer around?

We will soon publish the manual for partitioned (for gen2 only).
Btw, what about the use free space in the system for swap?
remount system rw
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
make /system/swapfile right size (32M in example)
dd if=/dev/zero of=/system/swapfile bs=1024 count=32768
check available loopback device
losetup -f
we can see something like
/dev/block/loop0
create a loopback device
losetup /dev/block/loop0 /system/swapfile
make swap
mkswap /dev/block/loop0
swapon =)
swapon /dev/block/loop0
PROFIT!
# free
     		total 		used 		free   	shared      buffers
Mem:        169572   	166956 		2616            0 		1204
-/+ buffers:     		165752 		3820
Swap:        32760            0        32760

  • 0
Posted Image

#29
SoftStoner

SoftStoner

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Queluz, Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Racer (TMN Soft Stone)

Btw, what about the use free space in the system for swap?

I'm not really fond of this idea, since it would increase (irreplaceable!) flash wear. Creating a swap file on a memory card is one thing, but doing it on the internal flash? I don't think so... :unsure:

  • 0

#30
deadlink

deadlink

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Location:Russia, Samara
  • Interests:programming
  • Devices:ZTE RACER
  • Twitter:@deadlink

I'm not really fond of this idea, since it would increase (irreplaceable!) flash wear. Creating a swap file on a memory card is one thing, but doing it on the internal flash? I don't think so... :unsure:


everyone decides for himself ... I think I'll replace the phone before they wear out flash. In addition, the swap is not always used.

  • 0
Posted Image

#31
wicky feat

wicky feat

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
Unlock 512 MB ROM possible?
Here is a spec that shows 512 MB ROM.
http://mtsredenergy....-techspecs.html

Can we do it somehow using TPT method?

  • 0

#32
deadlink

deadlink

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Location:Russia, Samara
  • Interests:programming
  • Devices:ZTE RACER
  • Twitter:@deadlink
we have 512M ROM, read this topic

  • 0
Posted Image

#33
wicky feat

wicky feat

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts

we have 512M ROM, read this topic

Yeah. just read :)
What if we use blade method for our racer?(i know that they mentioned " not for other mobiles")
Will phone be hard bricked?

  • 0

#34
deadlink

deadlink

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Location:Russia, Samara
  • Interests:programming
  • Devices:ZTE RACER
  • Twitter:@deadlink
We use ALL ROM memory now. For what you would like to use blade method???

  • 0
Posted Image

#35
wicky feat

wicky feat

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
# df -h
Filesystem            	Size  	Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs                	81.4M 	32.0K 	81.3M   0% /dev
tmpfs                	81.4M 		0 	81.4M   0% /mnt/asec
tmpfs                	81.4M 		0 	81.4M   0% /mnt/obb
/dev/block/mtdblock4	150.0M	123.7M 	26.3M  82% /system
/dev/block/mtdblock5	295.9M 	38.2M	257.7M  13% /data
/dev/block/mtdblock3 	12.5M  	1.2M 	11.3M   9% /cache
150+295.9+12.5+81.4= 539.8 MB how can i get 539 if its 512 ?

My partition size is different than yours. Can i increase /system partition by deducting /data as i need more system apps on /system.

Edited by wicky feat, 15 December 2011 - 11:34 AM.

  • 0

#36
Amphoras

Amphoras

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 766 posts

# df -h
Filesystem            	Size  	Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs                	81.4M 	32.0K 	81.3M   0% /dev
tmpfs                	81.4M 		0 	81.4M   0% /mnt/asec
tmpfs                	81.4M 		0 	81.4M   0% /mnt/obb
/dev/block/mtdblock4	150.0M	123.7M 	26.3M  82% /system
/dev/block/mtdblock5	295.9M 	38.2M	257.7M  13% /data
/dev/block/mtdblock3 	12.5M  	1.2M 	11.3M   9% /cache
150+295.9+12.5+81.4= 539.8 MB how can i get 539 if its 512 ?

My partition size is different than yours. Can i increase /system partition by deducting /data as i need more system apps on /system.


Don't count the tmpfs ones. It should be possible to repartition the internal memory in the same way you can for the Blade, Skate, Blade 2. To do so you need to get a Racer TPT and edit some of the files.

  • 0

TPT Helper lets you easily repartition your ZTE phone, install a new ROM and for the Blade, convert to/from Gen 2. Available for Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade, Orange Monte Carlo/ZTE Skate and Orange San Francisco II/T-Mobile Vivacity. https://market.andro...horas.tpthelper

TPTs and other apps


#37
equiliym

equiliym

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Novi Sad
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
  • Twitter:@equiliym

My partition size is different than yours. Can i increase /system partition by deducting /data as i need more system apps on /system.


why not just make an sd-ext with lets say 256mb ext3?

  • 0
Suffering-oriented programming.. "First make it possible. Then make it beautiful. Then make it fast."
if i helped please press the vote up button :3




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users