Jump to content


Photo

10 Nov 3.48.405.1 - Installing Honeycomb on your Flyer - the complete guide

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
176 replies to this topic

#61
JosephPC

JosephPC

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

My first Q is about the mentiond matching of RUU and ROM version.How can I make sure about that?

Greets


Just in case you want to go back to flashing previously installed ROM. You should have with you the RUU.

You just have to follow all the steps that Paul enumerated in installing stock HC. I was lost somewhere in step 15, but thanks to Paul, I missed that power button to get things working.

I am now enjoying HC in my Flyer! Great!

  • 0

#62
foggy69

foggy69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Flyer 3G

To get back to Gingerbread, just reflash your Gingerbread RUU from step 1. Simples. :)

P


I am trying to go back to GB, but the RUU I use keeps coming up with a 'error 155 unknown error' when flashing. I have also tried a number of different WWE and Asia ROMs just in case, but still with no luck.

Any ideas??

  • 0

#63
hardstuffmuc

hardstuffmuc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Just in case you want to go back to flashing previously installed ROM. You should have with you the RUU.

You just have to follow all the steps that Paul enumerated in installing stock HC. I was lost somewhere in step 15, but thanks to Paul, I missed that power button to get things working.

I am now enjoying HC in my Flyer! Great!


Thanks for your answer, but how do I check that the RUU and ROM versions do match? That is the thing which is not clear to me.

Greets



  • 0

#64
IBTECH

IBTECH

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II
I could not find a way to go back to GB no matter what i tried and i think that no one was yet able to revert back.

1) trying to flash my identical RUU (to the one i was coming from before HC) and it fails under "header verification", the RUU uploads the file to the device but once it reaches the header verification process the screen on the phone becomes distorted and the process just hangs.
2) I tried to extract the ROM.zip and put it on the a goldcard and the the bootloader loads the file (PG41IMG.zip) and that's it...it simply exits.
3) i tried to flash the rom using fastboot flash zip rom3.zip and it fails with the error:

sending 'zip' (507706 KB)...
OKAY [ 76.861s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) adopting the signature contained in this image...
FAILED (remote: not allowed)
finished. total time: 76.864s

My fastboot getvar all out put is:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.11.0006
(bootloader) version-baseband: 3821.08.00.26_M
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: 0950
(bootloader) version-main: 2.23.405.3
(bootloader) serialno: HT15BT401902
(bootloader) imei: 354672040REMOVED
(bootloader) product: flyer
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-7230
(bootloader) modelid: PG4110000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 3913mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: 60a0efb2
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 12
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!


The ROM i am trying to revert back to is 2.23.405.3 which has a full working RUU.

Any insight on this would be appreciated.

Edited by IBTECH, 07 September 2011 - 03:16 AM.

  • 0

#65
JosephPC

JosephPC

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Thanks for your answer, but how do I check that the RUU and ROM versions do match? That is the thing which is not clear to me.

Greets




Check settings/about tablet/software information. It displays the software version you're using.

You will only be using this in case installation of HC in your flyer will not be successful --then you will have to go back to GB by flashing the same ROM to that one previously installed in your flyer.

That's the ROM update utility where you have extracted your ROM if you did install a stock ROM before you flashed to HC. If you have not installed any stock ROM, then just check software information in your Flyer. For emergency purposes, such that you will be able to use your Flyer again if your HC fails --download the ROM version of your Flyer. And save it for future use.

You may also check at xda (HTC Android Development). You can download stock ROMs there. Before I installed HC, mine was HTC Asia_HK version 2.27.708.1 which I downloaded from there. Originally, it was WWE 1.48***, so I followed all the steps then to create a goldcard, then s-off (revolutionary) and all that before I flashed the ROM update.

Just follow carefully all the steps -- you will be ok, then you will not be bothered by this RUU and ROM. You will not be using it, unless you want to downgrade. That's what I understood from the posts here. :-)

For now, i am enjoying MCR's (custom ROM) of HC! :-) No phone function (yet) though but SMS works great!




RUU_Flyer_hTC_Asia_HK_2.27.708.1_Radio_20.3504.30.089BU_3809.07.04.06_M_release_204709_signed (previous ROM installed in my flyer)

Edited by JosephPC, 07 September 2011 - 02:56 AM.

  • 0

#66
MrBengaz

MrBengaz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Nokia N95
Help, stuck at step 12 trying to use a mac for command. Keeps saying adb not found when I go into recovery, when I stay in boot loader it says device not found.. I skipped 12 now my flyer is stuck in htc logo bootup.. Any advice.? Not a wise choice I know :/

  • 0

#67
davidbubu

davidbubu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC Flyer
Hi to all,

I successfully executed all steps up to #17 and here my devices fails to mound sdcard . Tried both via adb and with Revolutionary CWM. v4.0.1.4

"adb mount /sdcard" returns :


mount /sdcard
mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 on /sdcard failed: No such file or directory


"adb mount" returns :

~ # mount
mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
tmpfs on /dev type tmpfs (rw,relatime,mode=755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,mode=600)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p30 on /cache type ext4 (rw,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,barrier=1,data=ordered)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p29 on /data type ext4 (rw,relatime,barrier=1,data=ordered)


Both fastboot and recovery modes are available.

Any advise/guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
David

  • 1

#68
foxmeister

foxmeister

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts

I successfully executed all steps up to #17 and here my devices fails to mound sdcard . Tried both via adb and with Revolutionary CWM. v4.0.1.4
"adb mount /sdcard" returns :


mount /sdcard
mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 on /sdcard failed: No such file or directory


Ok, I have to ask the obvious question - you do have a FAT32 formatted MicroSD card in the Flyer?

Regards,

Dave

  • 0

#69
davidbubu

davidbubu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC Flyer

Ok, I have to ask the obvious question - you do have a FAT32 formatted MicroSD card in the Flyer?

Regards,

Dave


Good question - I don't know , I haven't formatted or tweaked SD card when tablet was operational, so I assume it was in the same state as I received it form the shop.
Is there any way to format it now ?
Please advise.
Thanks,
David


  • 0

#70
foxmeister

foxmeister

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts

Good question - I don't know , I haven't formatted or tweaked SD card when tablet was operational, so I assume it was in the same state as I received it form the shop.
Is there any way to format it now ?
Please advise.
Thanks,
David


Well, put it this way, my Flyer didn't come with an external MicroSD card.

Open up your Flyer and check to see if the MicroSD card slot is populated - I rather suspect you don't have one, and you need one in order to install HC.

Regards,

Dave

  • 0

#71
Luqi

Luqi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
When I try to unlock the bootloader by step 14:
I type fastboot oem get_identifier_token in command prompt but it says waiting for device.
How do I get it to display that long block of text?

  • 0

#72
davidbubu

davidbubu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC Flyer

Well, put it this way, my Flyer didn't come with an external MicroSD card.

Open up your Flyer and check to see if the MicroSD card slot is populated - I rather suspect you don't have one, and you need one in order to install HC.

Regards,

Dave


Thanks , you are correct no SD card , I just inserted one and complete zip flashing. It completed ok , I reboot the tablet and it got stuck on white HTC screen ... :-(
Any ideas how to troubleshoot it now ?

David

  • 0

#73
geek78

geek78

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
Paul, downgrading the hboot seems not easy (fastboot doesn't want and throw the recovery it seems doing the job but it doesn't)

  • 0
Mac Book / Ipad 3G 16 go / HTC Desire

#74
l3osh4ka

l3osh4ka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:htc flyer

Sounds like you didn't wipe before first boot...

P


I did before I booted,,but anyway is there a way i can restore/recover it. Its now 4 days since it refused to pass the htc boot log on::..and i miss it soo much:...I appreciate ur help Paul.



Edited by l3osh4ka, 07 September 2011 - 04:16 PM.

  • 0

#75
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Paul, downgrading the hboot seems not easy (fastboot doesn't want and throw the recovery it seems doing the job but it doesn't)

You know what's weird? I tried to flash the boot image thru dd in recovery and it didn't seem to play.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#76
geek78

geek78

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts

You know what's weird? I tried to flash the boot image thru dd in recovery and it didn't seem to play.

P


Maybe the lack of s-off (not the same as the official bootloader unlocking i am afraid). I don't know the revolutionary team but if you know them you can send them the new hboot ?

  • 0
Mac Book / Ipad 3G 16 go / HTC Desire

#77
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I've already pinged IEF the hboot. Don't know whether it'll let us flash a modified version as yet tho if we've already 'made the leap'...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#78
munachimso

munachimso

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi Paul, Please how do you flash the radios and stuff (.img files)?

Thanks,
Munachi.

  • 0

#79
foxmeister

foxmeister

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts

Thanks , you are correct no SD card , I just inserted one and complete zip flashing. It completed ok , I reboot the tablet and it got stuck on white HTC screen ... :-(
Any ideas how to troubleshoot it now ?

David


Did you wipe data and cache in recovery?

Regards,

Dave

  • 0

#80
Deerhunter48

Deerhunter48

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:RLP, Germany
  • Devices:Desire, Flyer, GNex

Hi Paul, Please how do you flash the radios and stuff (.img files)?

Thanks,
Munachi.


Read Pauls first Post in this thread - via fastboot.

Did you wipe data and cache in recovery?

Regards,

Dave


First Post in this thread #18 - in recovery

Edited by Deerhunter48, 07 September 2011 - 07:21 PM.

  • 0
Bye, Deerhunter




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users