Jump to content


Photo

[STOPPED] CyanogenMod Beta2 Omnia 2 (updated: 04.05.2012)


  • Please log in to reply
5246 replies to this topic

#5121
ErcanPolat

ErcanPolat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II GT-I8000

Sorry to hear your phone's dead. Sounds like a hardware failure to me. Now we have one less omnia2 user... :-(


If you make this rom more usable and stable, even my phone die in future i may consider buy a second hand omnia. Because used omnias is very cheap now.

  • 0

#5122
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

so why the orginal kernel don't get the electric sound ?



My kernel, at least the one I posted is preemption enabled, whereas the original one is not. The advantage of kernel preemption is that the kernel itself, especially for slow system calls, can be interrupted to spare cpu time for other pending tasks. It would bring higher level of responsiveness and interactivity but has to sacrifice some system performance like throughput because many additional preemption points are needed to perform synchronization and more context switching is performed. This is a classic tradeoff between speed and responsiveness given a fixed finite amount of cpu cycles.

When you are playing music, it's quite likely that your cpu scaling governor would put the cpu in low freq, such as 66MHz which is not enough for a preemptive kernel to work smoothly for audio processing and possibly audio driver works. Raising the minimum to 133Mhz would eliminate any problems.

Many kernels for our sister machine, the Spica, has 66Mhz disabled because of this, along with other reasons. I chose not to do it because 66Mhz would bring energy consumption down a little for the existing power hungry rom. You can try my workaround posted earlier to raise the freq.

I tested Ipaqs changes on this one, but I didn't like it (no offense Ipaq ;) ). I suffered many of the mentioned problems (also significant heating of phone) and I prefer things to be solved in his sources first above tweaking and hacking around in android.


No offense taken. :D About phone heating up, can you try with HZ=100 or 200 instead of 500? I guess it could help bringing down the power consumption, and so do heat dissipation.

Is it possible ? How?


In theory yes - a kernel has low level hardware access can do nasty things that can damage the phone. But as far as I remember, I did not touch any potentially dangerous areas such as changing hardware voltage, messing with system rom partitions / bootloader access, and things like that. I didn't even posted a binary that contains tom3q's changes to the framebuffer to properly enable 24bpp mode - though it's in my repo and I used it daily...

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July


#5123
erikcas

erikcas

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,061 posts
  • Location:Castricum, Holland
  • Devices:Samsung B7610
  • Twitter:@castwitz

No offense taken. :D About phone heating up, can you try with HZ=100 or 200 instead of 500? I guess it could help bringing down the power consumption, and so do heat dissipation.

I will stick to original dev sources for now. Maybe I will use some of your mods for 2.3.7 which I have running (testing don't ask for release, screendrivers are oke for nominal phone use but can't be used currently for intensive graphics use like gaming and/or live cam preview) but on original sources have high battery drain. I see some mods in your source which I doubt for froyo but maybe usefull for ginger. But I will look into that in time.

Like I stated earlier, my opinion is that most advantages for our phones are to be found in android, less in kernel. But I will follow your progess with lots of interest ;)

Edited by erikcas, 12 May 2012 - 07:08 PM.

  • 0

=====================================

Samsung Cooper, Fit, Gio & Mini Development

CM9 && CM10.1

AndroidArmv6 // Jellaxy

My Github

=====================================


#5124
shoarmabakpao

shoarmabakpao

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II, Galaxy Nexus

you are just looking for a way to desert :-P


That made me LOL haha :P

Well, I had this phone since the month it was released. I never throw away a used phone, just so that I won't forget my experience with it ^_^ This is a hardware failure caused by my own actions. I swum with it in June 2010 in turkey in Lime Water (that is BAD for electronics!) That must have caused to rust from the inside :(

I will try to use the 'Oven Method' to fix my phone by putting the motherboard of my phone in the oven. I used such a method previously for the GPU of my laptop which still works :)

  • 0

#5125
rom_omnia2

rom_omnia2

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Omnia

That did it! Thanks buddy! I was working on that all day and now it finally works! Yay!

Now can you help me get my Internal storage to map as my SDcard for the camera? (I get 'Please insert an SD card before using the camera' message.) :/


When the device don't have a SDcard inserted some values change (mmcblk1p to mmcblk0p). Have you done it? Is your swap working (open terminal and type: free)? Just follow the guide but revert the vold.fstab change in step 3. Also change your fstab file from "mmcblk1p3" to "mmcblk0p3". And so on with the others files, just DON'T change your startup.txt since you are already booting.

Edited by rom_omnia2, 13 May 2012 - 05:40 AM.

  • 0

#5126
erikcas

erikcas

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,061 posts
  • Location:Castricum, Holland
  • Devices:Samsung B7610
  • Twitter:@castwitz

That made me LOL haha :P

Well, I had this phone since the month it was released. I never throw away a used phone, just so that I won't forget my experience with it ^_^ This is a hardware failure caused by my own actions. I swum with it in June 2010 in turkey in Lime Water (that is BAD for electronics!) That must have caused to rust from the inside :(

I will try to use the 'Oven Method' to fix my phone by putting the motherboard of my phone in the oven. I used such a method previously for the GPU of my laptop which still works :)

Well, same goes for me, had OmniaPro since releasemonth too. And it did swim, several times, last time 2 years ago in Siofok Hungary (2 times in one day think it must have to do with lots of bacardi-cola starting early in the afternoon. Went for a swim in the lake while texting and took it to a foam-party, only God may know why I went there, late that night :P)
Only had camera replaced, no problems whatsoever on the inside according to the guy who replaced the cam

Edited by erikcas, 12 May 2012 - 09:49 PM.

  • 0

=====================================

Samsung Cooper, Fit, Gio & Mini Development

CM9 && CM10.1

AndroidArmv6 // Jellaxy

My Github

=====================================


#5127
shoarmabakpao

shoarmabakpao

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II, Galaxy Nexus

Well, same goes for me, had OmniaPro since releasemonth too. And it did swim, several times, last time 2 years ago in Siofok Hungary (2 times in one day think it must have to do with lots of bacardi-cola starting early in the afternoon. Went for a swim in the lake while texting and took it to a foam-party, only God may know why I went there, late that night :P)
Only had camera replaced, no problems whatsoever on the inside according to the guy who replaced the cam


Whahah XDD Seems like I am not the only one that does crazy things xD My phone swum in Lime water so that's alot worse than normal water =S I swum in it for around 20 minutes XD I am very unlucky and you got very lucky :P

  • 0

#5128
thanh_nha0706

thanh_nha0706

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Devices:Omnia 2 (i8000)

Me too.
This project brings our i8000 to a new level
Let me enjoy android
Let me learn about partition, linux, ubuntu , android system
Other than enjoying the android system ,the games, on our phone
I learn a lot from this project
And lastly , I can see that the developer are selfless
They do so much and contribute to our i8000 and don't ask for any returns
Really, Thank you very much ,sincerely


You're right! I learnt alot through this project as well :)

  • 0

#5129
nikkotsoi

nikkotsoi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 279 posts

That made me LOL haha :P

Well, I had this phone since the month it was released. I never throw away a used phone, just so that I won't forget my experience with it ^_^ This is a hardware failure caused by my own actions. I swum with it in June 2010 in turkey in Lime Water (that is BAD for electronics!) That must have caused to rust from the inside :(

I will try to use the 'Oven Method' to fix my phone by putting the motherboard of my phone in the oven. I used such a method previously for the GPU of my laptop which still works :)

my old 8800gts 320 has died also
is the oven method really works ??
will it cause some smell in your kitchen x-x?

  • 0

#5130
xheretic

xheretic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II 16GB - i8000
I'm working in one unnamed servis center and all of these oven methods seem to me very awful.

Only ONE possible option is immediatelly disconnenect device from source of power, disassemble and wash in the pool of isopropylene alcohol.

Only advice ;)

  • 0

#5131
shorty-nr1

shorty-nr1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Hello,

extend the battery running time, I would like to try the magnetic field sensor and orientation sensor to turn off.


How can I disable magnetic field sensor and orientation sensor?


Rotation is disabled, orientation sensor but runs weoter (orientation sensor is not disabled)?

I do not know if you disable of magnetic field sensor and the sensor reaches Orientirungs longer battery run time?




Excuse my bad Enlisch.
Thank you!

(I wrote this at the Google translator)

Attached Files


  • 0

#5132
shoarmabakpao

shoarmabakpao

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II, Galaxy Nexus

my old 8800gts 320 has died also
is the oven method really works ??
will it cause some smell in your kitchen x-x?


Yeah it sure does :P Your kitchen might smell awfull when baking it but the smell will go away quickly :)

Just pre-heat your around 200 degree's, put it in for 10 minutes with the GPU facing UP. After the 10minutes (oven shut down) let it sit in there for like 5 minutes and then get it out and just leave it. Don't touch the card! Leave the GPU for around 1-2 hours to let it fully cool down. Then cross your fingers and try it out!

I yet have to try this for my omnia2 :D Soo busy with my exams right now :(

@xheretic
Yea, but I am not allowed to get my hands on that :( I only got 70% isopropyl alcohol which is bad for electronics T_T

Edited by shoarmabakpao, 13 May 2012 - 07:49 PM.

  • 0

#5133
AoSra1n

AoSra1n

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II i8000
  • Twitter:@venu_nair
Hey, I just bought a new phone, Thanks for everything. My 2 year journey with the Omnia 2 has come to an end. Will only be using this as a backup phone now. The wonderful android experience has made me buy the new HTC One X. Thanks once again to all developers and support community.

  • 2

#5134
aafi-rocks

aafi-rocks

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia 2
  • Twitter:@Aafi_Rocks

<br />
Don&amp;#39;t worry about 360 Launcher. It&amp;#39;s slowly and laggy for sure. I&amp;#39;ve tried it some days ago, and it&amp;#39;s quite far from LauncherPRO.<br />


Hi all,
Here is a video for 360 launcher on Omnia.<br />


Edited by aafi-rocks, 14 May 2012 - 04:20 PM.

  • 0

#5135
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
Ok guys/gals, I have posted some experimental builds of my kernel. I figure it'd more productive and manageable for it to live in a separate thread. Please come over there if you are interested.

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July


#5136
dpspcdrgn

dpspcdrgn

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts

When the device don't have a SDcard inserted some values change (mmcblk1p to mmcblk0p). Have you done it? Is your swap working (open terminal and type: free)? Just follow the guide but revert the vold.fstab change in step 3. Also change your fstab file from "mmcblk1p3" to "mmcblk0p3". And so on with the others files, just DON'T change your startup.txt since you are already booting.

When the device don't have a SDcard inserted some values change (mmcblk1p to mmcblk0p). Have you done it? Is your swap working (open terminal and type: free)? Just follow the guide but revert the vold.fstab change in step 3. Also change your fstab file from "mmcblk1p3" to "mmcblk0p3". And so on with the others files, just DON'T change your startup.txt since you are already booting.


I tried your suggestions but I still can not get the camera to detect my sdcard partition as the sdcard. Also, I noticed that in cyanogenmod beta2 the init.rc file has a lot of 'mount vfat /yadayada' lines commented out, and line 121 'mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p5 /storage # moved to loadmod.

I Thank you for all of your help :)

  • 0

#5137
rom_omnia2

rom_omnia2

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Omnia

I tried your suggestions but I still can not get the camera to detect my sdcard partition as the sdcard. Also, I noticed that in cyanogenmod beta2 the init.rc file has a lot of 'mount vfat /yadayada' lines commented out, and line 121 'mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p5 /storage # moved to loadmod.

I Thank you for all of your help :)


mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p5 /storage # moved to loadmod

This is used to mount "My Storage" fat32 partition at /storage. But since we are already using "My Storage" fat32 partition as SD-card, it isn't necessary at all.

As i said before, when you don't have a SD-card inserted you need to change some values. Take a look in the guide again and perform this changes. If it don't work, you'll need to post here how you formatted your My Storage partition so we can try to help you. Cheers.

Spoiler

Edited by rom_omnia2, 15 May 2012 - 03:00 AM.

  • 0

#5138
shoarmabakpao

shoarmabakpao

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II, Galaxy Nexus

Hi all,
Here is a video for 360 launcher on Omnia.<br />

[media=][/med
ia]


Yea, it really is smooth. :o

  • 0

#5139
dpspcdrgn

dpspcdrgn

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts

mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p5 /storage # moved to loadmod

This is used to mount "My Storage" fat32 partition at /storage. But since we are already using "My Storage" fat32 partition as SD-card, it isn't necessary at all.

As i said before, when you don't have a SD-card inserted you need to change some values. Take a look in the guide again and perform this changes. If it don't work, you'll need to post here how you formatted your My Storage partition so we can try to help you. Cheers.

Spoiler

mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p5 /storage # moved to loadmod

This is used to mount "My Storage" fat32 partition at /storage. But since we are already using "My Storage" fat32 partition as SD-card, it isn't necessary at all.

As i said before, when you don't have a SD-card inserted you need to change some values. Take a look in the guide again and perform this changes. If it don't work, you'll need to post here how you formatted your My Storage partition so we can try to help you. Cheers.

Spoiler


I followed the guide to the letter and made the changes as you suggested to no avail. I have successfully done the same thing on the froyo beta builds and I am far from a linux expert but certainly am not a linux noob. (I use backtrack 5 for pentesting)
I have also tried changing almost every instance of mmcblk to 0p3, 0p1 etc. and just can't seem to get it working.

I will give you a breakdown of my install and prep process and perhaps you can help me figure it out from there (please :D). Again, thank-you very much for the help! My Wife and I adore the port, we just need to get this sdcard thing working! :)
I have my partitions done just as in the tutorial, excluding that I use mini-tool wizard in place of gparted. I have used gparted as well to create them but find the former easier to use (as well I can do the format before running my linux vm) and have the partitions set up thusly:
1) Primary / Fat32 / 14.x Gb / label=sdcard
2) Primary / Ext4 / 1 Gb / label=system
3) Primary / linux-swap / 128 Mb

I then follow the guide, mount and untar ext4.tar.gz into system. Then I copy haret, zimage, and the startup.txt you provided me to the partition labelled sdcard.
I then do the edits exactly as in the guide = camera app 'no sd card inserted' message. (as well, any other progs that need sd fail)
I then try the edits exactly as you suggested = same problem. :/
I have actually spent the last two days editing these mmcblk values hoping to get things working and still I can not get my sdcard partition to mount as my sdcard.

What follows is the relevant section of my init.rc file and as I mentioned previously it has a lot of values commented out with #'s. As well as the reference to the loadmod file. Perhaps I should be 'commenting' some of these 'un-commented' lines?
Pardon me for not understanding this all so well. I am on a very annoying medication for hypertension called Avalide and it sometimes causes me some mental fog. ><


Init.rc lines 115 to 121
# We chown/chmod /data again so because mount is run as root + defaults
# mount yaffs2 mtd@userdata /data nosuid nodev
# mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /system/sd
# mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /sdcard
chown system system /mnt/sdcard
chmod 0777 /mnt/sdcard
# mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p5 /storage # moved to loadmod

--In the above lines I follow the directions and change the 'mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p5 /storage' to 'mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /storage' but it is commented out so does nothing correct? Also, I have tried changing the corresponding value in the 'loadmod' file with no positive result.

Thank-you again for your time and patience. :)

  • 0

#5140
rom_omnia2

rom_omnia2

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Omnia
I'm sorry, i couldn't figure out what is the problem yet. Just to make sure, try the following settings:

init.rc:

Make sure this is it:

export EXTERNAL_STORAGE /mnt/sdcard

Uncomment this line:

#	mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /sdcard

And change as follow:

mount vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /sdcard

loadmod:

Change this lines:

fat32ms=`parted /dev/block/mmcblk0 print|grep fat32|awk '{print $1}'`

mount -t vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p$fat32ms /storage

/system/etc/fstab:

/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 swap				 swap	   defaults			  0 0

/system/etc/vold.fstab:

dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/s3c-sdhci.1/mmc_host/mmc1

When you boot, open your file manager and take a look at /storage, /mnt/sdcard and /sdcard. Should display your My Storage FAT partition.

If it's showing, fine. But Android and others applications may still not recognize it as SDcard, because of vold.fstab. Since you can see your files, you may try again those values that i said before on last page.

  • 0




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users