Jump to content


Photo

[STOPPED] CyanogenMod Beta2 Omnia 2 (updated: 04.05.2012)


  • Please log in to reply
5246 replies to this topic

#5141
shoarmabakpao

shoarmabakpao

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II, Galaxy Nexus
Hey, I made my phone but it seems like it refuses to charge right. Just when I see my homescreen on Windows Mobile it justs shuts off with it's shutdown logo. It also gives me a warning about my battery being empty. Been charging for 4 hours now. tried the stock Samsung charger, Sony Ericsson X10 charger, LG GT540 Charger, an intel PC, an AMD pc, an laptop. Tried 3 different cables when charing with the pc/laptop, still a no go :(

I posted it here because I think this part of the forum is the most active of them all.

  • 0

#5142
aafi-rocks

aafi-rocks

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia 2
  • Twitter:@Aafi_Rocks

Hey, I made my phone but it seems like it refuses to charge right. Just when I see my homescreen on Windows Mobile it justs shuts off with it's shutdown logo.


I guess this is an issue with your phone battery..

  • 0

#5143
dpspcdrgn

dpspcdrgn

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts

I'm sorry, i couldn't figure out what is the problem yet. Just to make sure, try the following settings:



Dude! It worked!!! Thank-you so much! :) I can not thank you enough for taking the time to help me out, everything on my phone works great now! Good battery time too!!! YAYAYAYAYA!!!!!! :D
May the Great Spirit Bless and watch over you all! :)

Edited by dpspcdrgn, 16 May 2012 - 08:59 PM.

  • 1

#5144
rom_omnia2

rom_omnia2

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Omnia
You're welcome, but is camera/galery app working?

dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/s3c-sdhci.1/mmc_host/mmc1

This line did it?

Weird... so vold.fstab uses a different system to manage available devices/blocks. Normally it's zero when there's no sd-card inserted.

  • 0

#5145
dpspcdrgn

dpspcdrgn

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
Yeah, I thought it was odd myself but I am soo happy nonetheless! :D

Ok, I have one more question; Gen.y Dualboot gives me either a missing android message, or with the registry change I get 'An error occurred on sub__main_androidexistcheck'. I have looked all over this forum and xda and can not seem to find the fix for my problem. Can someone help with this thing as well?

Edited by dpspcdrgn, 17 May 2012 - 03:52 PM.

  • 0

#5146
PaSxaLak0s

PaSxaLak0s

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hey guys!
I had installed CM Beta2 on SD card and my O2 was working fine for some time
Suddenly, one day I tried to launch android but it couldn't go past the green logo screen
It just kept loading and loading and didn't boot no matter how many times I tried

I formated my phone and the SD card and tried to install CM Beta2 from the beginning but it didn't work
It stays on the black screen with the letters and numbers and nothing is happening...as if the process stops at some point

Any help?
:(

Edited by PaSxaLak0s, 17 May 2012 - 10:08 PM.

  • 0

#5147
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

Ok, I have one more question; Gen.y Dualboot gives me either a missing android message, or with the registry change I get 'An error occurred on sub__main_androidexistcheck'. I have looked all over this forum and xda and can not seem to find the fix for my problem. Can someone help with this thing as well?


USB changed to mass storage mode in settings?

Hey guys!
I had installed CM Beta2 on SD card and my O2 was working fine for some time
Suddenly, one day I tried to launch android but it couldn't go past the green logo screen
It just kept loading and loading and didn't boot no matter how many times I tried


There's known problems with the beta2 kernel when USB is connected during boot. Unplug it before bootup may help in most cases.

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July


#5148
PaSxaLak0s

PaSxaLak0s

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

USB changed to mass storage mode in settings?



There's known problems with the beta2 kernel when USB is connected during boot. Unplug it before bootup may help in most cases.


I tried that, didn't work
But now the problem isn't that it's not booting
I can't install the android from the beginning
At some point at the black screen when it's extracting it's like stopping...i left it for about 1 hour and it didn't move on

  • 0

#5149
rom_omnia2

rom_omnia2

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Omnia

I tried that, didn't work
But now the problem isn't that it's not booting
I can't install the android from the beginning
At some point at the black screen when it's extracting it's like stopping...i left it for about 1 hour and it didn't move on


Don't forgot to follow the requirements:

- untouched My Storage with automatic installer content
- ext4.tar.gz from manual install package
- at least 2GB SD card (class 6 at least will be enough) with one FAT32 partition or with 2 partitions (FAT32 + ext2/3/4)

It just kept loading and loading and didn't boot no matter how many times I tried


I used to have this problem, don't matter what, even with a fresh installation didn't boot. I solved it formating my partition with GParted (Linux).

Edited by rom_omnia2, 19 May 2012 - 01:21 PM.

  • 0

#5150
PaSxaLak0s

PaSxaLak0s

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Don't forgot to follow the requirements:

- untouched My Storage with automatic installer content
- ext4.tar.gz from manual install package
- at least 2GB SD card (class 6 at least will be enough) with one FAT32 partition or with 2 partitions (FAT32 + ext2/3/4)



I used to have this problem, don't matter what, even with a fresh installation didn't boot. I solved it formating my partition with GParted (Linux).

Don't forgot to follow the requirements:

- untouched My Storage with automatic installer content
- ext4.tar.gz from manual install package
- at least 2GB SD card (class 6 at least will be enough) with one FAT32 partition or with 2 partitions (FAT32 + ext2/3/4)



I used to have this problem, don't matter what, even with a fresh installation didn't boot. I solved it formating my partition with GParted (Linux).




- untouched My Storage with automatic installer content
Done
- ext4.tar.gz from manual install package
Done
- at least 2GB SD card (class 6 at least will be enough) with one FAT32 partition or with 2 partitions (FAT32 + ext2/3/4)
Done

I don't know what is wrong :/

  • 0

#5151
erikcas

erikcas

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,061 posts
  • Location:Castricum, Holland
  • Devices:Samsung B7610
  • Twitter:@castwitz

I tried that, didn't work
But now the problem isn't that it's not booting
I can't install the android from the beginning
At some point at the black screen when it's extracting it's like stopping...i left it for about 1 hour and it didn't move on

can you post a picture of what you see? Might be helpfull

  • 0

=====================================

Samsung Cooper, Fit, Gio & Mini Development

CM9 && CM10.1

AndroidArmv6 // Jellaxy

My Github

=====================================


#5152
bibubibu

bibubibu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:samsung i8000
i have a problem of my cyanogenmod beta 2, why some photos in others photos can't scanned in gallery even sometime can't view the photos using file manager?just keep loading and black screen only.... anyone can help me how to solve this? thanks~

  • 0

#5153
PaSxaLak0s

PaSxaLak0s

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

can you post a picture of what you see? Might be helpfull

can you post a picture of what you see? Might be helpfull


Spoiler


It moved 7 more lines after the photo

Edited by PaSxaLak0s, 20 May 2012 - 03:17 PM.

  • 0

#5154
Kewlkat

Kewlkat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Omnia i8000

Don't forgot to follow the requirements:

- untouched My Storage with automatic installer content
- ext4.tar.gz from manual install package
- at least 2GB SD card (class 6 at least will be enough) with one FAT32 partition or with 2 partitions (FAT32 + ext2/3/4)


Ok...I'm pretty sure this is a n00b question, but I have been reading up A LOT during the past week & am stumped after trying to figure out the cause of my unsuccessful attempts. I believe it has something to do with what you have quoted, so I will ask my question before detailing what I am/have been doing so far.

If I'm installing using the automatic installer content in external SD card, do I still need the "- ext4.tar.gz from manual install package" ??
As far as I can tell, there is already a ext4.tar.gz in the cm_beta2 folder (extracted from cm_beta2.zip)? Does this need to be replaced with some other file?
& if yes, which one? For the life of me I can seem to find a "manual install package" anywhere?

Would quickly like to shout out a BIG THANKS to all the devs & other people who have made this possible!!

Hopefully if I can get this working (& then am sure anyone can do it), I'll do a big "For Dummies" write-up for all my fellow n00bs ^_^

  • 0

#5155
Kewlkat

Kewlkat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Omnia i8000
Yes, Automatic Installation on External SD is very easy & straightforward, but I couldnt find a simple guide for it on the thread & through googling (The README is fine, but if you encounter errors like me & after reading through all the information for all the different types of installation, it can get really confusing.) So here is my step by step (with the issues/mistakes I made & learnt from, at the end for those interested & also anyone else who might have faced similar issues)

My setup before starting anything was as follows:
Omnia i8000 with 8 GB internal & My SD card is 16GB class 4. Both had never been partiontioned, no ROMs flashed. I had disabled TouchWiz & got the SPB Mobile shell interface. 'My Storage' had about 3 GB free space & SD card had 4.16 GB free space. I backed up everything in internal with Sprite Backup. & also copied all storage card contents onto my Hard drive. THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT - DO NOT PUT IT OFF as a cliched warning- read Issue # 4

Just to be clear there is no need for any partitioning or modifying any mmcblk references in this method. Before you start, you can read my initial confusions at Issue # 1 & Issue # 2.


******************************************************** BEGINNING OF STEPS************************************************


1. On your PC: You just download the automatic installer package (cm_beta2.zip). Unzip onto a folder on your laptop/PC & copy the contents inside that folder straight into 'My Storage'

2. If you are installing on Externl SD, on your Omnia, using File explorer or File manager go to 'My Storage' & click on installandroid.exe. (If you are instaling on 'My Storage' then the readme file inside the cm_beta.zip has instructions on what modificatioins need to be done. Also this thread has many posts discussing about this.)

3. If all goes well, you will see a black screen, first with tiny font then, readable font & finally a "Installing Android. Please wait..." followed by "Untar ext4.tar.gz from Internal Storage (My Storage)..." At this point it takes time because it is extracting a fairly large file (This is mentioned in the README)

However if you run into any problems & dont reach the above stage refer to Issue # 3 below.

4. The phone will automatically reboot & start in Windows Mobile. Now go to 'My Storage' & run haret.exe from there. You should see a similar black screen with small font, then a 'Android on Omnia II loading..." on the top part of your screen, followed by a cool looking 'O2DROID" green animated logo. (I did not come across any 'pink screen' mentioned by others-must be from a previous version(?). )
The first time it loads all this, it is supposed to take some time, so its a good chance to grab a cup of coffee as you wait for your 1st experience of Android on your Omnia ;)

********************************************************END OF STEPS************************************************


Issue # 1.
So as per the official post:

Automatic installer
Requires:
- untouched My Storage with automatic installer content
- ext4.tar.gz from manual install package
- at least 2GB SD card (class 6 at least will be enough) with one FAT32 partition or with 2 partitions (FAT32 + ext2/3/4)

Here I got confused with the word 'untouched' - I assumed it means a separate partition on My Storage that would remain "untouched" by other applications :rolleyes: - so I thought I would have to create a new partition on it :wacko: - which of course is WRONG & is the EXACT OPPOSITE of what it really means... So untouched actually means a MyStorage that hasnt been partitioned before i.e. you havent installed any other versions of Android... in effect you need a single partition MyStorage - FAT32 file system & as a Logical type

Issue # 2. "ext4.tar.gz from manual install package" - not sure why this instruction is present, because when you unzip cm_beta.zip, it already contains a ext4.tar.gz. I'm assuming this instruction is from cm beta 1 or some other/previous versions (?). Anyway I did not download any file separately for this. Just used the one in the package as per instructions.

Issue # 3. When I tried to follow the "normal automatic " installation I kept getting a few errors:
"Error: Unable to satisfy all constraints on the partition"

& "Error: Cant's have overlapping partitions.
tune2fs: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/block/mmcblk0p
Couldn't find valid filesystem superblock."

I suspect this has to so with the fact that my SD card had other data (10 GB worth) & although I had cleared 4 GB space I still faced this issue.

I also tried the suggestion here, but it did not work for me.
I had to basically do a simple clean format of the SD card (as a single partition FAT32 & Primary, named as sdcard ) & when I tried again, it installed fine!

Issue # 4. Also while trying to overcome the above errors, I read a suggestion about making all partitions to be as "primary", however my Internal Storage was 'Logical' & when I tried to "convert to primary", I lost it!!
Worth noting here that for a simple & straightforward automatic install on external SD (as per steps in README & above- you DO NOT need to mess with partitions AT ALL. If you encounter any issues, just make sure that SD is 'Primary' & 'My Storage' is 'Logical'. For me they already were, but I did read a few posts were people had them the other way round, inwhich case, you might have to convert them. As mentioned in Issue # 3, a simple format of SD card was all that I needed to solve my problems.

So coming back to my lost 'My Storage', with the help of 2 other posts here & here, I somehow managed to recover it (not sure which one worked of those 2, but somwhere in between it did & then I had to do reformat.) After this I also reset it to factory settings - Settings >Basic Settings > Memory Settings > clear memory - this will wipe out all your app installations & data in internal memory & My Storage, so moral of the story, you DEFINITELY need to do a complete backup of MyStorage & ur internal memory (Highly recommend Sprite Backup). & Dump all the contents of your SD card onto a Hard drive & clean format it too. (So as to start with a clean slate).

If you are lucky you may not need to reformat your SD card, i.e. the steps above will work right away, but if like me, you encounter any of the errors mentioned in Issue # 3, then definetly this is the way to go.


Hope this helps other newbies/novices like me. Thanks a bunch once again to all the devs who made this possible (& a special kudos to the logo designer of 'O2DROID' - looks really cool, love it!) :)

Edited by Kewlkat, 21 May 2012 - 04:59 AM.

  • 0

#5156
PaSxaLak0s

PaSxaLak0s

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
You sir, from above...a BIG thank you!

And of course a HUGE one to those 4:
- almar (Marc)
- bsbsbs (Sándor)
- Egon
- phj (János)

  • 0

#5157
rom_omnia2

rom_omnia2

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Omnia

Ok...I'm pretty sure this is a n00b question, but I have been reading up A LOT during the past week & am stumped after trying to figure out the cause of my unsuccessful attempts. I believe it has something to do with what you have quoted, so I will ask my question before detailing what I am/have been doing so far.

If I'm installing using the automatic installer content in external SD card, do I still need the "- ext4.tar.gz from manual install package" ??
As far as I can tell, there is already a ext4.tar.gz in the cm_beta2 folder (extracted from cm_beta2.zip)? Does this need to be replaced with some other file?
& if yes, which one? For the life of me I can seem to find a "manual install package" anywhere?

Would quickly like to shout out a BIG THANKS to all the devs & other people who have made this possible!!

Hopefully if I can get this working (& then am sure anyone can do it), I'll do a big "For Dummies" write-up for all my fellow n00bs ^_^


ext4.tar.gz from manual install package

Yeah, this was from a old update, you can skip this step since cm_beta2 have all files.

If I'm installing using the automatic installer content in external SD card


I'm not sure if i understand what you mean but installation files must be in InternalSD (My Storage), not MainMemory or External SDcard.

  • 0

#5158
Kewlkat

Kewlkat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Omnia i8000

You sir, from above...a BIG thank you!


haha, not a 'sir', but you are welcome nonetheless :) - hope it helped you, I noticed you received some similar errors in your second attempt too...


I'm not sure if i understand what you mean but installation files must be in InternalSD (My Storage), not MainMemory or External SDcard.


Yes, you are right- all files need to be in 'My Storage', but I believe 'Automatic installer' by default installs Android onto your external SD...so I should rephrase my "If I'm installing using the automatic installer content in external SD card," into "If I'm installing in external SD card, using the automatic installer content..." ;)

  • 0

#5159
paranoiadk

paranoiadk

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II
Hi guys.
I was wondering, is anyone else having trouble with the play store?
I can access free apps, can't access paid ones.
My O2D didn't update by itself, so i replaced Vending.apk manually three times. First two times from random (can't remember where) sites, and the third try was from the results modaco gave searching this thread.
Again, it works, I just can't access paid apps.

Cheers,
PDK

  • 0

#5160
paranoiadk

paranoiadk

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II
Hi guys.
I was wondering, is anyone else having trouble with the play store?
I can access free apps, can't access paid ones.
My O2D didn't update by itself, so i replaced Vending.apk manually three times. First two times from random (can't remember where) sites, and the third try was from the results modaco gave searching this thread.
Again, it works, I just can't access paid apps.

Cheers,
PDK

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users