Jump to content


Photo

Update on development.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#21
fun_

fun_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Any chance on some info on how you flashed it please? I've been using an unpacked stock rom and it doesnt seem to want to boot no matter how many times I copy fun_'s .imgs over the stock ones.


I'll make packed image for Andypad(Pro). please tell me where can I download official non-modified rom image for Andypad(Pro).

  • 0

#22
fun_

fun_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

I can boot the kernel and connect with adb but it doesn't seem to get any further. my dmesg output has this in it:


<6>[ 11.668391] kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
<3>[ 11.674235] VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev mtdblock7.
<3>[ 11.679987] VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev mtdblock6.
<3>[ 11.692812] init: Unable to open persistent property directory /data/property errno: 2

Which is the last thing it seems to do. Does this mean that my cache and userfiles partition are not in the right format?


sorry, I have no info about whole image you flashed. please tell/send me your original image.

  • 0

#23
tumby

tumby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male

sorry, I have no info about whole image you flashed. please tell/send me your original image.


I'm uploading it now.

Also, if its any use to you, the kernel source for the andypad is available here: https://bitbucket.or...nel_andypad/src

  • 0

#24
Sami Beck

Sami Beck

    Diehard

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, XOOM, Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@SamSamoon
Ill try building from source tommorow, Csharpe please tell me the image you used?

  • 0
Posted Image


Perfect Condition Unlocked GEN 2 Blade: £75

http://android.modac...ocked-for-sale/

#25
fun_

fun_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
random notes. these are not specific to CM7.

* boot.img/system.img format

my images are already packed/converted to proper format. boot.img is cpio+gz archive with Rockchip header and trailing CRC(like as pre-SDK2 ROM). system.img is ext3 fs image(like as SDK2 ROM).

if you want to make old format kernel.img/boot.img from SDK2 boot.img(kernel+ramdisk), please use "unpackbootimg -i" and "rkcrc -k" commands.
you can use old format kernel.img/boot.img with SDK2 bootloader/kernel.

if you want to make ext3 system.img, please make empty ext3 image, mount it, then extract cramfs/yaffs2/something system.img on it. you need to preserve permission, owner, group info.
you can use ext3 system.img on pre-SDK2 ROM with necessary modification to init.rc.

* misc.img

it just contain command for recovery. normally it's "wipe all" command. if you flashed it into misc partition, next boot will go into recovery, and "wipe all" will start automatically.
(it's not "must" thing for wipe. there is another way to wipe)

* very first logo on boot.

I think first logo is in kernel. it's same as tux(penguin) logo on Linux.
(I'm not sure on RK2918. but it's true on RK28x8)

* MTD partition layout

there are 2 info, one for kernel, one for flash tool. both need to be synced.

for kernel, there is CMDLINE: ... mtdparts=... in parameter file. you can change it with text editor.

for flash tool, there is offset/size info in header of update.img. it should be generated by AFPTool.exe with definitions in HWDEF file. there is no HWDEF for RK2918 ROM, but this way works for RK2818 ROM.
or, my rkafpack tool can set these values without HWDEF file. I confirmed it works for RK2918 ROM.
or, RKAndroidTool.exe can be used.

anyway, when you try complete new ROM (e.g. my CM7) first time, you should not change anything. please confirm procedure with working image at first, then verify what works, or not works. then you'll know what need to be modified/added for your tablet.

Edited by fun_, 29 November 2011 - 12:13 AM.

  • 0

#26
tumby

tumby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
fun_: the stock andypad pro rom can be downloaded here (at least for a few days, that domain will be offline very soon)
http://www.bristolcoder.com/stock.7z


It does seem that I needed to run:
mkfs.ext2 -n /dev/block/mtdblock6
mkfs.ext2 -n /dev/block/mtdblock7
tune2fs -j /dev/block/mtdblock6
tune2fs -j /dev/block/mtdblock7

It's now getting further with the boot process but seems to not be displaying anything.

  • 0

#27
fun_

fun_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

fun_: the stock andypad pro rom can be downloaded here (at least for a few days, that domain will be offline very soon)
http://www.bristolcoder.com/stock.7z


downloading. I'll check it later.

It does seem that I needed to run:
mkfs.ext2 -n /dev/block/mtdblock6
mkfs.ext2 -n /dev/block/mtdblock7
tune2fs -j /dev/block/mtdblock6
tune2fs -j /dev/block/mtdblock7


it should not be needed. wipe should be done after whole image is flashed. probably you can see wipe screen when you flashed official rom.

It's now getting further with the boot process but seems to not be displaying anything.


sorry, no idea for now. I know you have Andypad Pro just now ;) I need more info about Andypad Pro.

  • 0

#28
tumby

tumby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male

downloading. I'll check it later.



it should not be needed. wipe should be done after whole image is flashed. probably you can see wipe screen when you flashed official rom.



sorry, no idea for now. I know you have Andypad Pro just now ;) I need more info about Andypad Pro.


Cool, well, if there is anything specific you need to know, let me know and I will reflash stock rom and give you all the output you need :)

  • 0

#29
fun_

fun_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Cool, well, if there is anything specific you need to know, let me know and I will reflash stock rom and give you all the output you need :)


downloaded. hmm. sorry, I don't know about RK_Device_Tool.exe :(

anyway, I made whole rom from your rom. (just boot.img and system.img are replaced)
http://files.androta...ypadpro-cm7.zip
please try to flash it with same procedure as official one.

  • 0

#30
tumby

tumby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male

downloaded. hmm. sorry, I don't know about RK_Device_Tool.exe :(

anyway, I made whole rom from your rom. (just boot.img and system.img are replaced)
http://files.androta...ypadpro-cm7.zip
please try to flash it with same procedure as official one.


Thanks! but unfortunately it has the same problem. At least it proves that I was at least loading it correctly. Also, just so you know, I have extracted the stock rom, copied your .imgs over and flashed using rkandroidtool.exe as well, and i get the same problem. If it wasn't so late I would carry on but it will have to wait until tomorrow now or i will be very late for work :)

P.S. i'm glad that someone is actually working on good things for the rk chips tablets, it seems lots of people are ignoring them. Keep up the good work, and I will let you know as soon as I have more idea of why it's not working on my andypad.

  • 0

#31
fun_

fun_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Thanks! but unfortunately it has the same problem.


I see. sorry.

Csharpe, which ROM did you use as a base ROM?

on my N50DT, both pre-SDK2 and SDK2 ROM can be used for CM7. it may not be true on AndypadPro.

I'll make whole CM7 image based on T760 3.07 (SDK2.1) ROM next.

EDIT:
uploaded
http://files.androta...26/t760-cm7.zip
based on T760 3.07 ROM, with my boot.img and system.img.
please be careful. I don't know compatibility about T760 and Andypad Pro.

EDIT2:
I want to see logcat output with both CM7 images

EDIT3:
first boot after wipe takes some minutes. probably less than 10 minutes. anyway logcat will help you..

Edited by fun_, 29 November 2011 - 01:47 AM.

  • 0

#32
Sami Beck

Sami Beck

    Diehard

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, XOOM, Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@SamSamoon

I see. sorry.

Csharpe, which ROM did you use as a base ROM?

on my N50DT, both pre-SDK2 and SDK2 ROM can be used for CM7. it may not be true on AndypadPro.

I'll make whole CM7 image based on T760 3.07 (SDK2.1) ROM next.

EDIT:
uploaded
http://files.androta...26/t760-cm7.zip
based on T760 3.07 ROM, with my boot.img and system.img.
please be careful. I don't know compatibility about T760 and Andypad Pro.

EDIT2:
I want to see logcat output with both CM7 images

EDIT3:
first boot after wipe takes some minutes. probably less than 10 minutes. anyway logcat will help you..


will test in around a hour.

  • 0
Posted Image


Perfect Condition Unlocked GEN 2 Blade: £75

http://android.modac...ocked-for-sale/

#33
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad
My setup:
- T760 3.06 kernel (extracted from boot.img)
- fun_'s boot.img
- fun_'s system.img
- stock AndyPad Pro misc.img
- stock AndyPad parameter file

2.06 bootloader extracted from SDK2.

The kerel's really smooth and only bugs so far are (on oldest build):
- the accelerometer axis (I think it can be fixed with hw.rotation, but haven't been able to test this yet.)
- missing wifi lib (easily added I think)
- missing camera lib (front & back) / camera app force close
- CM only reporting a max of 320MB ram, could this be due to faulty base address in boot.img?


I suggest you guys start a new CM7 topic here where fun_ can post his latest developments?


About building source myself:
Any idea why the system.img doesn't want to boot, and gives me missing /bin/sh errors? I'm using the latest device folder & extracted vendor files from stock Teclast. (althou, ROM build only gave me a 104mb system.img)

Great job so far!

Edited by Csharpe, 29 November 2011 - 12:42 PM.

  • 0

Posted Image



#34
Sami Beck

Sami Beck

    Diehard

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, XOOM, Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@SamSamoon

  • 0
Posted Image


Perfect Condition Unlocked GEN 2 Blade: £75

http://android.modac...ocked-for-sale/

#35
fun_

fun_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

2.06 bootloader extracted from SDK2.


ah, it may be the key. N50DT pre-SDK2 ROM uses 2.06 bootloader. (now 2.08)
T760 3.07 SDK2.1 ROM uses 1.66 bootloader. it may be too old.

where did you get 2.06 bootloader?

- the accelerometer axis (I think it can be fixed with hw.rotation, but haven't been able to test this yet.)


please use acceleromter.{flip_xy,invert_*} props to fix it. hwrotation is for another purpose.

- CM only reporting a max of 320MB ram, could this be due to faulty base address in boot.img?


I'm not sure but 3D GPU may use some memory. please show me dmesg.

I suggest you guys start a new CM7 topic here where fun_ can post his latest developments?


exactly ;)

by some reason, I closed my XDA thread. I need to make another CM7 for RK2918 thread. I'll make new thread here asap.

About building source myself:
Any idea why the system.img doesn't want to boot, and gives me missing /bin/sh errors? I'm using the latest device folder & extracted vendor files from stock Teclast. (althou, ROM build only gave me a 104mb system.img)


sorry, generated system.img is yaffs2 format. please make ext3 image and extract files in yaffs2 image on it.

Edited by fun_, 29 November 2011 - 01:11 PM.

  • 1

#36
Sami Beck

Sami Beck

    Diehard

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, XOOM, Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@SamSamoon

My setup:
- T760 3.06 kernel (extracted from boot.img)
- fun_'s boot.img
- fun_'s system.img
- stock AndyPad Pro misc.img
- stock AndyPad parameter file

2.06 bootloader extracted from SDK2.

The kerel's really smooth and only bugs so far are (on oldest build):
- the accelerometer axis (I think it can be fixed with hw.rotation, but haven't been able to test this yet.)
- missing wifi lib (easily added I think)
- missing camera lib (front & back) / camera app force close
- CM only reporting a max of 320MB ram, could this be due to faulty base address in boot.img?


I suggest you guys start a new CM7 topic here where fun_ can post his latest developments?


About building source myself:
Any idea why the system.img doesn't want to boot, and gives me missing /bin/sh errors? I'm using the latest device folder & extracted vendor files from stock Teclast. (althou, ROM build only gave me a 104mb system.img)

Great job so far!


Can you post the files?

  • 0
Posted Image


Perfect Condition Unlocked GEN 2 Blade: £75

http://android.modac...ocked-for-sale/

#37
fun_

fun_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

  • 0

#38
Sami Beck

Sami Beck

    Diehard

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, XOOM, Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@SamSamoon
Can someone mirror the loader they've removed the link on slatedroid!

  • 0
Posted Image


Perfect Condition Unlocked GEN 2 Blade: £75

http://android.modac...ocked-for-sale/

#39
Astralix

Astralix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC DesireHD, Odys Loox
@fun_

regarding the very first boot image shown:
It is not a replaced TUX as
1) Kernels maximum image size is 80x80
2) If I start one of my own build kernels the TUX is shown _while_ the kernel starts, the manufacturer logo is shown _after_ the kernel has started until Android takes over and shows the boot animation.

So I guess that there is something in the init that copies a prepared file to the framebuffer device. Could be there is a framebuffer compatible file dumped to /dev/fb?
Look for a file that ends with this kernel image format ( was it .pnm?)

Regards
Astralix

Edited by Astralix, 25 January 2012 - 04:03 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users