Jump to content


Photo

Waiting for device

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
Hey guys,
I've tried everything to connect to my device without any luck.
I'm running windows 7 x64 and have tried the drivers from the android-skd as well.

Tried the advice listed in these posts aswell:

http://android.modac...ost__p__1788429
http://android.modac...ost__p__1791639

after following those tips, It shows up in device manager as android phone but still ceases to connect to the phone in debug mode.

can someone also confirm if it is true that wi-fi does not work when rooted?

Thanks in advance
Mubs

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#2
gaaradono

gaaradono

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE skate (staraddict)
I had a similar problem with windows 7 x64 to.

I had to disable :/F drive on mobile device in the device manager.

I don't know why the SD card was still mounted even in debug mode but it actually work well after that for me.

  • 0

#3
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
Thanks for the reply,
tried that but still no joy.

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#4
gaaradono

gaaradono

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE skate (staraddict)
Can't help you more so, just what make you think that wifi does'nt work with rooted phone ? that's not true i assure you.

  • 0

#5
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
no worries cheers pal.

Thanks for confirming that, i just read someting along those lines but didnt queit understand so i thought i'd ask.

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#6
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
alright, so i went over to my neighbours and used his computer.
i ran the clockworkmod bat file for windows,
the phone reboots but gets stuck on the green android man upon startup.
the phone doesnt move further than that... :S
i have to take the battery out and put it in again to start the phone

any ideas guys?

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#7
gaaradono

gaaradono

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE skate (staraddict)
Ho, does the clockworkmod bat finished his job or does it stay frozen on "waiting for device" ?

What happen when you boot with pushing " - " in the same time ?

  • 0

#8
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
no, the batch process is unable to complete.
it says <waiting for device> in cmd while the phone is stuck on the green man. i have to pull the battery out to boot the phone.

When I start the phone normally and hold the volume down button i get something like FME (cant remember exactly now) written in the middle of the screen in a white box. a similar thread on here tells me that means clockworkmod has not installed correctly :S

Do i actually need to install clockworkmod? my phone is unrooted, so does that not mean i have to do the superboot first? eitherway i've tried that too and the exact same thing happens.

That was at my neighbours house...
dont think im gonna be able to go over any time soon, so will need some assistance in sorting out the connection to my phone on my x64 windows 7 laptop.
was wondering if there is anyway to do this over network or even transfer the image over and run a script or some sort of telnet command?

Thanks again,
Mubs

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#9
jcmyall

jcmyall

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
Are you running the default Orange ROM that came with the phone?

Have you rooted it yet? You're going to need to do that before you can install Clockwork Mod.


Have you rebooted your machine after installing the drivers from the SDK?

  • 0

#10
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
yes. my phone is exactly as it is the way i bought it from orange.
haven't rooted it yet. but i did try running the superboot.
and the pc has been switched on and off several times since installing the drivers.
strange as the drivers appear to be perfectly fine.
i have a tree in my device manager saying android phone and two items under it - Android bootloader interface and Android Composite ADB interface.

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#11
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
Tried it all again but first uninstalled any drivers to do with the phone using usbdeview. restarted my computer and started afresh.
I'm at my whits end with this now. Somebody please help me

:(

Edited by Mub6, 23 October 2011 - 09:23 AM.

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#12
philmein

philmein

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Proud Lancastrian
  • Interests:E-Cigs
    expensive hobby
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo zte blade

no, the batch process is unable to complete.
it says <waiting for device> in cmd while the phone is stuck on the green man. i have to pull the battery out to boot the phone.

When I start the phone normally and hold the volume down button i get something like FME (cant remember exactly now) written in the middle of the screen in a white box. a similar thread on here tells me that means clockworkmod has not installed correctly :S

Do i actually need to install clockworkmod? my phone is unrooted, so does that not mean i have to do the superboot first? eitherway i've tried that too and the exact same thing happens.

That was at my neighbours house...
dont think im gonna be able to go over any time soon, so will need some assistance in sorting out the connection to my phone on my x64 windows 7 laptop.
was wondering if there is anyway to do this over network or even transfer the image over and run a script or some sort of telnet command?

Thanks again,
Mubs


if your phone is stuck in ftm mode then use the tpt method to go back to stock then root againPosted Image
http://android.modac...or-monte-carlo/ the top one orange monte carlo

Edited by philmein, 23 October 2011 - 09:36 AM.

  • 0

#13
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo

if your phone is stuck in ftm mode then use the tpt method to go back to stock then root againPosted Image
http://android.modac...or-monte-carlo/ the top one orange monte carlo


Hi,
my phone is not stuck at the ftm screen.

If i pull the battery out and restart, it boots normally.
its only stuck on the green android man after i run superboot.
i'm assuming thats because it needs to flash the new image on but it runs out of access to the phone...

this was at my neighbours pc. doubt i'll be able to go again any time soon.
so back to the original problem on win win 7 x64 :S

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#14
wrtease

wrtease

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SCOTLAND
  • Interests:TESTING ANDROID MOBILES TO THE LIMIT
    ALWAYS READY TO TRY OUT ANY ROM AND MOBILE TO THE LIMIT
  • Devices:SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB2 & S1 8GB
  • Twitter:@none
this might help you ,you can only try it.worth a go.
superboot and clockwork and rom installing
if you use win xp and win7 then you should be fine .
if you use windows vista you might get problems.
if you use a mac i have no idea please ask a dev for help.
this guide will help get you started .
1.before you do anything connect usb cable to mobile
2.then connect to pc
3.let it install drivers first
4.usb drivers can be got on the forum
5.the contents of the mobile should show up
6.in windows it should be assigned a drive letter
7.right click on the drive letter and eject the drive
8.now move on to the rooting part

Rooting the Orange Monte Carlo
1. first download the zip superboot
2. unzip it with 7zip
3. their will be 3 files you want to use .
4. first file -------------------adb-windows-------double click file.
5. second file----------------fastboot-windows--double click file.
6. third file-------install-superboot-windows---double click file.
7. mobile might reboot thats okay
8.move on to installing clockwork recovery

installing clockwork recovery for skate / monte carlo
their will be 3 files you want to use .double click file.
1. first file--------------- adb-windows-------------double click file.
2. second file----------- fastboot-windows---------double click file.
3. third file---------------install-recovery-windows--double click file.
4. it should show a black screen with text showing clockwork is installing
5. the mobile should reboot to clockwork
6. its a blue screen that should appear with the name clockwork
7. use the volume up and down keys to move about clockwork
8. the home key installs and back key for returning to main screen in clockwork
9. reboot your mobile back to pc and pick a rom to install

how to install a rom
1.first download the zipped rom that you want to pc
2.then copy to sdcard
3. you can now reboot to clockwork
4. keys for clockwork if you need to use them
press volume down and hold it with the power button hold them both
until clockwork appears

clockwork recovery
before installing any rom
backup first in backup and restore
always remember the wipe rule for installing any rom
1.wipe factory/data
2.wipe cache
3.go to advanced and wipe dalvick
only do 4th if you get stuck at android screen
4. mounts and storage format/sysytem
5. if you get stuck at android screen take battery out and then put it back in.
6. you should be okay to main screen of mobile enjoy

7.if you get ftm mode showing do the following leave the usb cable conneted to pc
8.run the superboot details above
9.then do the clockwork details above
10.it should vibrate and go to clockwork.
11.take battery out if stuck at android screen
12.put it back in and let it reboot


ps good luck


  • 0

#15
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
Thanks for the effort, but i'm stuck at the drivers bit.

the superboot install file just does not recognise my phone as being connected despite the fact that the drivers are installed and device manager shows this... :(

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#16
wrtease

wrtease

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SCOTLAND
  • Interests:TESTING ANDROID MOBILES TO THE LIMIT
    ALWAYS READY TO TRY OUT ANY ROM AND MOBILE TO THE LIMIT
  • Devices:SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB2 & S1 8GB
  • Twitter:@none
try following the guide then see what happens ,first delete handset drivers from program and features then reboot pc then plug in usb cable ,it should pop up the contents then right click the drive in my computer then run the guide.

  • 0

#17
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
Okay,
i tried it again and i'm stuck at the same place when trying to install superboot

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#18
wrtease

wrtease

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SCOTLAND
  • Interests:TESTING ANDROID MOBILES TO THE LIMIT
    ALWAYS READY TO TRY OUT ANY ROM AND MOBILE TO THE LIMIT
  • Devices:SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB2 & S1 8GB
  • Twitter:@none
can you see the drive letter ,right click on it look for eject then run superboot..

  • 0

#19
Mub6

Mub6

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo
yup did that too.

Edited by Mub6, 23 October 2011 - 11:00 AM.

  • 0
www.prestonwasteoil.co.uk

#20
wrtease

wrtease

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SCOTLAND
  • Interests:TESTING ANDROID MOBILES TO THE LIMIT
    ALWAYS READY TO TRY OUT ANY ROM AND MOBILE TO THE LIMIT
  • Devices:SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB2 & S1 8GB
  • Twitter:@none
the three files in superboot run them untillyou get passed it. it can sometimes be a pain just do it untill it happens.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users