Jump to content


Photo

Superboot - Galaxy Nexus root solution

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
99 replies to this topic

#21
davioxx

davioxx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung : S4, S4 Mini, HTC One
  • Twitter:@davioxx
Yep wondering do you have the retail galaxy nexus?
Atm dont have the commands but my guess would be adb push su and adb push superusrr.apk superuserapk goes to system and su binary mmmm in system /bin i guess
I had a guide to manually root if i can find it i will post it

  • 0

#22
AndyCr15

AndyCr15

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@AndyCr15
Okay, thanks. Yeah, me and Scott have retail.

I would need the actual su binary too I guess, so any guide on where to find and what to do would be cool. Thanks.

  • 0
Me on Google+ | LAN Gaming in North London
Hemorrdroids.net - Android News, Guide's and App reviews. - @hemorrdroids

#23
AndyCr15

AndyCr15

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@AndyCr15
No one else having this problem? Or maybe no-one else has the phone yet?

  • 0
Me on Google+ | LAN Gaming in North London
Hemorrdroids.net - Android News, Guide's and App reviews. - @hemorrdroids

#24
AshtonBRSC

AshtonBRSC

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One
Tried this on an O2 retail Galaxy Nexus. Also not working for me.

Reboots fine but no Superuser and no root.

Edited by AshtonBRSC, 18 November 2011 - 11:11 AM.

  • 0

#25
spences10

spences10

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Location:London UK
  • Devices:DELL Streak, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@spences10
I used this, which worked on my retail unit

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1352004

  • 0
I have ORD

Samsung Galaxy Nexus
ROM: CM9 Skankwich
ClockworkMod recovery [of course]

Circle Me
Follow Me

#26
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,335 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Uploading r2 for retail units now.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#27
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,335 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
r2 online with retail device support.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#28
Epedemic

Epedemic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Thanks for R2, i can confirm it is working on my device, whereas R1 was not ;)

  • 0

#29
mikehayes

mikehayes

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

r2 online with retail device support.

P


Can confirm R2 works. After reboot, hung on Google screen. Waited a minute, pulled battery, restarted and SU + Busybox installed + working. Root access granted!

Thanks Paul! Great work

  • 0

#30
AndyCr15

AndyCr15

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@AndyCr15
You pulled the battery and rebooted and it was there? Is this a perm root now?

  • 0
Me on Google+ | LAN Gaming in North London
Hemorrdroids.net - Android News, Guide's and App reviews. - @hemorrdroids

#31
AndyCr15

AndyCr15

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@AndyCr15
Okay, it seems to have worked, but when I try and restore an app in TB it seems to get stuck. Likewise when I tried a cache cleaner.

Is it just me with issues?

  • 0
Me on Google+ | LAN Gaming in North London
Hemorrdroids.net - Android News, Guide's and App reviews. - @hemorrdroids

#32
mikehayes

mikehayes

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

You pulled the battery and rebooted and it was there? Is this a perm root now?


Yes, pulled battery after a minute or two as I wasn't sure .... put battery back in and restarted. Superuser was installed, ran check through SU to make sure latest/root granted etc and it was. Then installed Root Explorer - could access system/app and data/app which you can't do unless you have root (only problem is Root Explorer needs a new release, due to the way that ICS manages apps menus now being hard aligned to right - therefore off the GN screen, should be easy for developer to do though). Then installed Titanium Backup and ROM Manager and all fine.

  • 0

#33
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,335 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Okay, it seems to have worked, but when I try and restore an app in TB it seems to get stuck. Likewise when I tried a cache cleaner.

Is it just me with issues?

Titanium Backup isn't compatible with ICS yet.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#34
AndyCr15

AndyCr15

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@AndyCr15
Ahh, that might be why then!

Although, rumaging round I don't appear to have the su file still? (having used r2)

  • 0
Me on Google+ | LAN Gaming in North London
Hemorrdroids.net - Android News, Guide's and App reviews. - @hemorrdroids

#35
MonkeyBoy451

MonkeyBoy451

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moray, Scotland
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, Asus TF101
  • Twitter:@ianjcraven
Installed & working on my O2 retail unit today.

Took me a while to get the right drivers installed 1st though so it was recognised!

  • 0
Current Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus I9250 GSM (Yakju)
Android Version: 4.0.2 | Baseband: I9250XXKK6 | Kernel: 3.0.8-gaaa2611 | Build: ICL53F


Current Tablet: Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Stock
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Retired Gadgets: HTC Desire (AMOLED), Advent Vega

#36
mamoulian

mamoulian

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich UK
  • Devices:Note2, EeePad, Revue
  • Twitter:@moley666
Quite a PITA getting the fastboot drivers, I've not had a Samsung device before, installed Kies and rebooted, no help. Ended up following a suggestion on various forums to install PDANet, which installed the drivers fine.

After that, Superboot r2 went in smooth, device rebooted on its own and su working lovely... thanks again Paul :-)

  • 0

#37
benblb

benblb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I'm not new to Android, but I'm very new to rooting. I just ordered a GSM unlocked Samsung Galaxy Nexus and decided that I want to root it. I would like to be ready to go when it gets here. Will it come with an unlocked bootloader? I'm using a Mac and didn't understand the terminal command to input to unlock the bootloader because it said "windows" in it. Is there something I need to do to unlock the bootloader on my Mac? I really appreciate it. I feel so stupid asking for help on something so simple. :P

Cheers,
Ben

EDIT: Is there currently a way to unroot? Do you recommend rooting? I wouldn't install a custom ROM. I just want to be able to back up and use the device as a USB host and use apps that require root. Is it really "all that"? Much appreciated.

Edited by benblb, 24 November 2011 - 08:55 AM.

  • 0

#38
grindboy

grindboy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth, UK
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@michaelgomes
Finally!! Mamoilain is right getting the correct drivers in order is the most difficult bit of this. Paul you might want to add that the easiest way to get the drivers working is to install PDANet in the first post.

After that install went very smoothly. Everything working perfectly now on a UK Retail Sim Free handset. :D

  • 0

#39
Johan Rylander

Johan Rylander

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Noting that a reboot (power down/power on) does not remove being rooted. Tnx!

Best regards
/Johan

Edited by Johan Rylander, 24 November 2011 - 08:42 PM.

  • 0

#40
Dtam

Dtam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Do you have a stock boot image to unroot the phone/is that how you would do it?
Had the sleep of death 3 times so far and I want to exchange it but need to put it back to stock.
Thank
Matt

  • 0




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users