Jump to content


Photo

ZTE Skate TPTs

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
129 replies to this topic

#61
Amphoras

Amphoras

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 766 posts

Noob Alert!!

Could someone post a step by step on how to check the MD5sum please?


To do it on your computer assuming Windows, (eg. for checking the md5sum of the zip after you downloaded it) download this and unzip it somewhere. Open the command prompt (press the windows key and type cmd in the search box then run the cmd program) then change the directory to where you put the files in the md5sum zip (eg. mine is in c:\fastboot so I type "cd c:\fastboot" into the command prompt window). Copy the file you want to check into the same folder as the md5sum files. Then type into the command prompt "md5sum <filename>". So to check the md5sum of a file called Smash41.zip, you would type "md5sum Smash41.zip". Once you do that it should print the md5sum into the command prompt window and you can check if it matches.

To do it on your phone (eg. for checking the md5sum of the image.bin after you unzipped it), there are a few apps in the market, such as AFV that can check the md5sum for you.

  • 1

TPT Helper lets you easily repartition your ZTE phone, install a new ROM and for the Blade, convert to/from Gen 2. Available for Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade, Orange Monte Carlo/ZTE Skate and Orange San Francisco II/T-Mobile Vivacity. https://market.andro...horas.tpthelper

TPTs and other apps


#62
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

Noob Alert!!

Could someone post a step by step on how to check the MD5sum please?


Its in my tutorial under part 9c. (if your a windows user) thats as noob proof as i could make it :P

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 30 December 2011 - 03:15 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#63
Smash41

Smash41

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Advent Vega
I did it in the end, was a silly mistake I was making. Thanks for the help!

  • 0

#64
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(
if i did "volume up + power" it didnt do anything. "Volume up + power + home" didnt work eighter.

So i went back to the medion stockrom and went to "about phone > update from SD card"

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#65
teemo

teemo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4310 - CM7 Powered

if i did "volume up + power" it didnt do anything. "Volume up + power + home" didnt work eighter.

So i went back to the medion stockrom and went to "about phone > update from SD card"

vol up
menu
power

:)

  • 0

#66
domenico lamberti

domenico lamberti

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hastings
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent,HTC Explorer
  • Twitter:@Mobile_Dom
I am still super confused on how to do this i have the MD5 checker, and i have the TPT i want to use (option 4) i went to my SD card and there was a folder called image already which seemed to hand an image.bin and a nandroid.md5 along with tons of other files, do i delete that so i cant unzip the one i want to my SD card ? then what do i do, i am so confused

  • 0

#67
vdubster

vdubster

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate/OMC
  • Twitter:@vdubster

I am still super confused on how to do this i have the MD5 checker, and i have the TPT i want to use (option 4) i went to my SD card and there was a folder called image already which seemed to hand an image.bin and a nandroid.md5 along with tons of other files, do i delete that so i cant unzip the one i want to my SD card ? then what do i do, i am so confused


I find it much easier to download the zip file to a PC - check the md5 - attach the phone to PC and transfer the image folder - turn off the phone/remove battery - put battery back in - then hold menu + Volume UP and power - it will then load the TPT and send you to the recovery where as you now have a wiped phone load you chosen ROM.

Is that any help?

James

  • 0

#68
Amphoras

Amphoras

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 766 posts

I am still super confused on how to do this i have the MD5 checker, and i have the TPT i want to use (option 4) i went to my SD card and there was a folder called image already which seemed to hand an image.bin and a nandroid.md5 along with tons of other files, do i delete that so i cant unzip the one i want to my SD card ? then what do i do, i am so confused


If you already have a folder called image on your sdcard, then you need to delete it first. Once you've done that, unzip the TPT from the first post. You should then have the image folder on your sdcard, with only the image.bin and nandroid.md5 inside it. Check the md5sum of the image.bin is the same as the one written in the nandroid.md5 file (open it like a text file). If it is then you can start the TPT as directed in the instructions.

  • 0

TPT Helper lets you easily repartition your ZTE phone, install a new ROM and for the Blade, convert to/from Gen 2. Available for Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade, Orange Monte Carlo/ZTE Skate and Orange San Francisco II/T-Mobile Vivacity. https://market.andro...horas.tpthelper

TPTs and other apps


#69
ihateorange

ihateorange

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo

These TPTs will repartition the internal memory of your ZTE Skate/Monte Carlo. They will also flash Clockwork recovery. Your data will be wiped, so backup anything you want to keep before you start. Your sdcard should be unaffected, but backup just in case. Be aware that depending on the layout you change to, your backup and some roms may not fit. 2MB cache versions will only work properly with a rom that redirects cache (eg. CM7).

In all TPTs the boot and recovery partition sizes have been changed to 5MB (from 4MB and 6MB respectively). This should fix the errors present in some of the earlier TPTs. The TPTs contain partition.mbn, appsboothd.mbn, appsboot.mbn and partition_zte.mbn as well as Clockwork recovery as boot.img and recovery.img and a blank system.img.

Whenever you flash a TPT, there's also a chance of bricking your phone, make sure you're charged up (remove the charger before you start) and use them at your own risk. Make sure you check the md5sums before you use these. There's one for before and after you unzip it (check the nandroid.md5 file in the zip).

Option 1: 150MB system, 35MB cache, 255MB data mirror mirror
MD5sum: 9ded013763541d3ccacea94d99d6f645

Option 2: 200MB system, 35MB cache, 205MB data mirror mirror
MD5sum: 790f6b04654a2abfde9ed2ae75b91fec

Option 3: 150MB system, 2MB cache, 288MB data mirror mirror
MD5sum: a9a4fe7c802b035b8dd0298ea39fbd5a

Option 4: 200MB system, 2MB cache, 238MB data mirror mirror
MD5sum: 48bd788c6c3753d1f599b71f0560241e

Returning to stock:

You can return to the stock layout by flashing the stock TPT for your country. Here is the Orange UK TPT.

Instructions:

After downloading, check the md5sum.

Unzip the file to the root of your sdcard. You should end up with a folder called "image" on the root of your sdcard with a image.bin file and a nandroid.md5 file inside it.

Check the md5sum of the image.bin file matches the one written in the nandroid.md5 file.

Turn your phone off and take the battery out.

Put the battery back in and power on holding the vol+ and menu buttons.

You should see green text appear on the screen, then once its finished you should boot into Clockwork recovery.

Flash your chosen rom and reboot.

If the TPT won't start, try using a different sdcard. Some just don't like TPTs.

Warnings:

Delete the image folder once you're done to prevent accidental flashing.
Check the md5sums. If they don't match, delete it and try downloading again.
No guarantees. I don't have a Skate to try it on, and even if I did, it might not work on your's.


Hi Amphoras,
Thanks for this I've been advised to install option 2 before I install the Atomic custom ROM. I can't figure out whether I need to have clockworkmod installed first or not. I've looked through all the post in this thread but am still unsure. I bought my Orange monte carlo from argos and unlocked it using tilal6991's unlocking guide. Do i need to install clockworkmod or do I just follow your instructions and the TPT will work?

Thanks

  • 0

#70
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

Hi Amphoras,
Thanks for this I've been advised to install option 2 before I install the Atomic custom ROM. I can't figure out whether I need to have clockworkmod installed first or not. I've looked through all the post in this thread but am still unsure. I bought my Orange monte carlo from argos and unlocked it using tilal6991's unlocking guide. Do i need to install clockworkmod or do I just follow your instructions and the TPT will work?

Thanks


When you flash a ROM everything will be removed and it will reboot directly into clockworkmod so yes it installs clockworkmod but it installs clockworkmod 4.0.1.4 So you wil have to flash clockworkmod 4.0.1.5 afterwards the link is on the last page of my tutorial.

Also the guide for checking MD5 sums is allso in the tutorial.

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 04 January 2012 - 11:25 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#71
ihateorange

ihateorange

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo

When you flash a ROM everything will be removed and it will reboot directly into clockworkmod so yes it installs clockworkmod but it installs clockworkmod 4.0.1.4 So you wil have to flash clockworkmod 4.0.1.5 afterwards the link is on the last page of my tutorial.

Also the guide for checking MD5 sums is allso in the tutorial.


Thanks again Wacky.ddw. If everything is removed that does mean my current orange monte carlo ROM will be removed? If so does that mean I won't have an operation system on the phone until I flash something like atomic on it?

Thanks again for helping me out :)

  • 0

#72
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

Thanks again Wacky.ddw. If everything is removed that does mean my current orange monte carlo ROM will be removed? If so does that mean I won't have an operation system on the phone until I flash something like atomic on it?

Thanks again for helping me out :)


Exactly :) So once you did the TPT you wil need to flash a ROM and then just flash the recovery from the link below and you wil l your clockworkmod wil be back up to date again.

LINK: http://minus.com/mbaeBP2yjl#1


No problem glad i could help



  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#73
ihateorange

ihateorange

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo

Exactly :) So once you did the TPT you wil need to flash a ROM and then just flash the recovery from the link below and you wil l your clockworkmod wil be back up to date again.

LINK: http://minus.com/mbaeBP2yjl#1

No problem glad i could help




So will i need to put the TPT image.bin (in the image folder) and the .zip file (in the root) on the SD card before I try to install a TPT, so i can install Atomic striaght after without removing the SD card
or
is it better to install the TPT then take my SD card card out of the phone then delete the image folder with the image.bin in it and replace with the .zip of the ROM?

Thanks

  • 0

#74
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,898 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
How about a 160MB system 2MB cache version? tillaz says it'd be perfect for the latest version of Atomic.

  • 0
BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png
If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk

#75
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

So will i need to put the TPT image.bin (in the image folder) and the .zip file (in the root) on the SD card before I try to install a TPT, so i can install Atomic striaght after without removing the SD card
or
is it better to install the TPT then take my SD card card out of the phone then delete the image folder with the image.bin in it and replace with the .zip of the ROM?

Thanks


No, you check the .Zip's MD5 before you extract the folder to the SD. Then once its on the SD card you check it again. Then you can flash it with the button combo or when booted in android going to "about phone > update system> storage card updates"

Then it wil flash the TPT and it wil reboot into clockworkmod in clockworkmod go to "mounts and storage > mount usb storage" copy the ROM to your SD and flash it.(no wipes needed since everything is allready wiped)

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 05 January 2012 - 12:26 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#76
bob214

bob214

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSF and OMC

No, you check the .Zip's MD5 before you extract the folder to the SD. Then once its on the SD card you check it again. Then you can flash it with the button combo or when booted in android going to "about phone > update system> storage card updates"

Then it wil flash the TPT and it wil reboot into clockworkmod in clockworkmod go to "mounts and storage > mount usb storage" copy the ROM to your SD and flash it.(no wipes needed since everything is allready wiped)


Surely it makes more sense to put the chosen ROM on the SD card before flashing the TPT?

  • 0

#77
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

Surely it makes more sense to put the chosen ROM on the SD card before flashing the TPT?


Yea you could, it doesnt make that mutch difference, but i recommend people doing it this way better safe then sorry :)

I updated the tutorial its part10 now and it should make things clearer.



  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#78
Amphoras

Amphoras

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 766 posts

How about a 160MB system 2MB cache version? tillaz says it'd be perfect for the latest version of Atomic.


Almost finished adding it to the TPT Helper app, just got a few more things to do (for other phones, think the Skate stuff should be done). Once its done you can pick whatever partitions sizes you want (within a reasonable range).

If you want to test it you can send me a PM.

Edited by Amphoras, 05 January 2012 - 03:59 PM.

  • 1

TPT Helper lets you easily repartition your ZTE phone, install a new ROM and for the Blade, convert to/from Gen 2. Available for Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade, Orange Monte Carlo/ZTE Skate and Orange San Francisco II/T-Mobile Vivacity. https://market.andro...horas.tpthelper

TPTs and other apps


#79
philmein

philmein

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Proud Lancastrian
  • Interests:E-Cigs
    expensive hobby
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo zte blade

Almost finished adding it to the TPT Helper app, just got a few more things to do (for other phones, think the Skate stuff should be done). Once its done you can pick whatever partitions sizes you want (within a reasonable range).

If you want to test it you can send me a PM.


pm sent



  • 0

#80
philmein

philmein

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Proud Lancastrian
  • Interests:E-Cigs
    expensive hobby
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo zte blade
all went on fine stalled for a few secs at 99% updated cwm to 4.0.1.5 and now going to try a rom
atomix 3.0c went on fine

made a tpt 2mb cache 170mb system

280mb free system dataPosted Image

will try with cm7 later when i charged my phone

Edited by philmein, 05 January 2012 - 07:15 PM.

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users