Jump to content


Photo

Dell Streak 5 Home button


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
xO Gideon Ox

xO Gideon Ox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Ello,

Me again....

Little while ago my daughter had a hissy fit and my streak hit concrete from 2 foot up 7 times (the gorilla glass took 6 poundings before it cracked)

After changing the screen (thank god their cheap now) i noticed my home button stopped responding

Now i was careful and i didn't nick the cable but still no joy, qdi tool, stock then latest custom OS from steve still the same so it's not relating to s/w or f/w definitely physical.

Soooo either the "other" end is loose (can't remember where that cable leads to) OR i've done some damage that wasn't enough to visibly notice so would need to replace it...

Any suggestions or know where i can get the strip cheap?

Or as a workaround i was sure there was something that would allow me to stick a home button in the task bar at the top as a temp fix.

Cheers

Gid

***Edit***

Definitely not loose just reseated everything and made sure it was all secure

Edited by xO Gideon Ox, 24 November 2011 - 11:31 AM.

  • 0

#2
martyj999

martyj999

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I'm curious about this one too, not had a crack or had to open it but from time to time my home button and/or back button lose all responsiveness....requires a FIRM tap against the wall at the button end to bring them back online...I'd prefer to know if there is a cheap and simple fix rather than risk further damage to my baby

  • 0

#3
Azurren

Azurren

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@Azurren
Could it be damage to the digitizer? (Capacitive buttons digitizer that is)
I have no idea :unsure:

Edited by Azurren, 24 November 2011 - 01:25 PM.

  • 0

#4
stoffy

stoffy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:dell streak

Ello,

Me again....

Little while ago my daughter had a hissy fit and my streak hit concrete from 2 foot up 7 times (the gorilla glass took 6 poundings before it cracked)

After changing the screen (thank god their cheap now) i noticed my home button stopped responding

Now i was careful and i didn't nick the cable but still no joy, qdi tool, stock then latest custom OS from steve still the same so it's not relating to s/w or f/w definitely physical.

Soooo either the "other" end is loose (can't remember where that cable leads to) OR i've done some damage that wasn't enough to visibly notice so would need to replace it...

Any suggestions or know where i can get the strip cheap?

Or as a workaround i was sure there was something that would allow me to stick a home button in the task bar at the top as a temp fix.

Cheers

Gid

***Edit***

Definitely not loose just reseated everything and made sure it was all secure


look here: http://www.ebay.com/...=item3a6aaa37ac
stoffy

  • 0

#5
pjg_pigeon

pjg_pigeon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
No idea if it works but try the app 'button saviour' its a previous winner of Paul's app of the day.

  • 0

#6
Jonnie28

Jonnie28

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
hi to all

I am using the GO Launcher EX app. I like this app becauseof its feature of terminating any task which is running in your device, and youthink it is not that necessary and is utilizing a lot of your battery. You willfind a task killer of applications which are currently running inside the appdrawer. You can customize your Home Screen very easily. The Dock, App Drawer,Themes, and the advanced operation settings just make it possible for the userto make their device look like anything they wish it to be. It is possibly thebest app because of the various features which it provides.

????


  • 0

#7
tmpuserx

tmpuserx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
My streak got same issue that the home button no response any more... i had to use my camera button as the home button as workaround. you can try following steps if you are interesting in this method.

1. use root explorer to browse to system/user/keylayout folder and mount it as read and write mode.
2. edit the surf_keypad.kl file, change

KEY 59 FOCUS

to

KEY 59 HOME WAKE

3. save and exit and then reboot the streak.

  • 0

#8
boonkui

boonkui

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
My home button was having response problem sometime back. It had recovered somehow. Went on to use zMooth gesture-based soft buttons app since.

Edited by boonkui, 25 January 2012 - 11:43 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users