Jump to content


Photo

Kernel Source for Crescent

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
89 replies to this topic

#1
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,641 posts
These are the 8 part files from ZTE. tar.bz2 compressed with 7zip multipart then compressed again (WTF?) with ZIP multipart...

Single part, extracted from the silly multipart files that ZTE uploaded:

kernel-src-zte-p736v-p736e-20111125.tar.bz2 - 72.33MB MD5 1353C7D5939EB937ECF7F336F063E009

  • 3

#2
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad
From a quick look it seems what is new is the board and keypad file but more comparisons needs to be done to be sure that there isn't anything more that has been updated.

For overclocking this should work:
https://github.com/T...51f3c00b4d23f2f (This one also fixes instability if VMSPLIT_3G is used)
https://github.com/T...246d07576762dc0
https://github.com/T...866dc56fd75cd87

  • 0
Blog - App

#3
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad
Added the changed files to Toms repo: https://github.com/T...ernel_zte_blade

  • 0
Blog - App

#4
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
just want to put this out there:

diff ouk/config tmo/config 
4c4
< # Thu Oct 20 16:38:33 2011
---
> # Thu Oct 13 01:44:01 2011
1228c1228
< CONFIG_TOUCHSCREEN_MXT224_P736V=y
---
> # CONFIG_TOUCHSCREEN_MXT224_P736V is not set

  • 0

#5
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
OK,

I'm not sure if I screwed up, but I could not make a boot-able kernel until I built it with android-ndk-r7...

it would build with older versions, but not boot...

  • 0

#6
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

just want to put this out there:

diff ouk/config tmo/config 
4c4
< # Thu Oct 20 16:38:33 2011
---
> # Thu Oct 13 01:44:01 2011
1228c1228
< CONFIG_TOUCHSCREEN_MXT224_P736V=y
---
> # CONFIG_TOUCHSCREEN_MXT224_P736V is not set

The default config that came with the source has this one turned on. Are you saying the tmo version needs it off to work?

Btw, since you have a working Clockwork you should be able to make an overclocking addon by enabling
MSM_CPU_FREQ_OVERCLOCK_800 and MSM_CPU_FREQ_SET_MIN_MAX if you are using Toms repo. It works with the ZTE Skate so it should work on the Blade2 too.

  • 0
Blog - App

#7
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

The default config that came with the source has this one turned on. Are you saying the tmo version needs it off to work?

Btw, since you have a working Clockwork you should be able to make an overclocking addon by enabling
MSM_CPU_FREQ_OVERCLOCK_800 and MSM_CPU_FREQ_SET_MIN_MAX if you are using Toms repo. It works with the ZTE Skate so it should work on the Blade2 too.


I did my usual thing with the recovery kernel of turning off the stuff you don't need (its my OCD) like sound, wifi, dab, etc, etc.. and having checked the .config that option has actually disappeared from the .config, but

CONFIG_TOUCHSCREEN_MXT224=y

that's interesting, The kernel I built works on both devices tho...

  • 0

#8
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

I did my usual thing with the recovery kernel of turning off the stuff you don't need (its my OCD) like sound, wifi, dab, etc, etc.. and having checked the .config that option has actually disappeared from the .config, but

CONFIG_TOUCHSCREEN_MXT224=y

that's interesting, The kernel I built works on both devices tho...


Sebastian, I've never had to use the touchscreen when using clockwork, it's usually all button presses

  • 0

#9
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Sebastian, I've never had to use the touchscreen when using clockwork, it's usually all button presses


ah, well that is something I usually turn off too, but when I did that the buttons below the screen on the Crescent didn't work so I had to leave that enabled.

  • 0

#10
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
Checking between the kernel config with the newer versions of the roms...

diff .config.old .config.new 
4c4
< # Thu Oct 13 01:44:01 2011
---
> # Fri Nov 18 09:52:14 2011
1391d1390
< # CONFIG_CARKIT_FEATURE is not set

  • 0

#11
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,641 posts

Checking between the kernel config with the newer versions of the roms...

diff .config.old .config.new 
4c4
< # Thu Oct 13 01:44:01 2011
---
> # Fri Nov 18 09:52:14 2011
1391d1390
< # CONFIG_CARKIT_FEATURE is not set


lol. Nothing amazing then.

  • 0

#12
Adam Cable

Adam Cable

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
kallt_kaffe - I'm happy to test some O/C kernels if you want to have some fun.

Adam

  • 0

#13
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

kallt_kaffe - I'm happy to test some O/C kernels if you want to have some fun.

Adam


im just playing with such a thing... personaly I'm not a big fan of overclocking, but its work looking into I guess

  • 0

#14
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

im just playing with such a thing... personaly I'm not a big fan of overclocking, but its work looking into I guess

I've pushed the needed code to Toms github. You just need to enable it.

Enable this in the kernel config:
CONFIG_MSM_CPU_FREQ_SET_MIN_MAX=y
CONFIG_MSM_CPU_FREQ_MAX=787200
CONFIG_MSM_CPU_FREQ_MIN=245760
CONFIG_MSM_CPU_FREQ_OVERCLOCK_800=y


787.2MHz is actually what it runs when claims to run at 800MHz.

Then use SetCPU or No-Frills CPU Control to overclock it. I recommend No-Frills as it is detects unexpected reboots


For installing a new kernel without needed to create a full boot.img use one if the zip files from this thread: http://android.modac...te/page__st__20
Just pop in your new zImage replacing the existing one.

  • 0
Blog - App

#15
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
hmm, I might be doing it wrong, but..

using a stock kernel, SetCPU says its max speed was 800.., now having applied your patch, I cant get SetCPU to let me go about 787 as the max speed...

  • 0

#16
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

hmm, I might be doing it wrong, but..

using a stock kernel, SetCPU says its max speed was 800.., now having applied your patch, I cant get SetCPU to let me go about 787 as the max speed...


Also apply this patch: https://github.com/T...5a2e209a3a6d9ae

I added that after posting about the other patches in this thread.

Without it it will turn off the OVERCLOCK_800 option in the kernel config unless you compile for the Skate.

  • 0
Blog - App

#17
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Also apply this patch: https://github.com/T...5a2e209a3a6d9ae

I added that after posting about the other patches in this thread.

Without it it will turn off the OVERCLOCK_800 option in the kernel config unless you compile for the Skate.


I did apply that one...

  • 0

#18
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

I did apply that one...

And MSM_CPU_FREQ_OVERCLOCK_800 is set to "y" in your .config?

What does "dmesg | grep 0.22" say after a boot. (It may not be 0.22 but on my ZTE V9 that "grep" catches the cpu frequency table)

I only use NoFrills CPU Control but SetCPU should work too. Still you may want to try NoFrills if everything else fails.

  • 0
Blog - App

#19
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad
Here's one I compiled using Toms repo with overclocking enabled.

Completely untested as I don't have a Blade2 myself.

Attached Files


  • 0
Blog - App

#20
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
I lost my temper with patches*, so I started again, and just added the extra speeds into acpuclock.c directly....


that seems to of fixed it...

any ideas about higher speeds to add to acpuclock.c ? :)


UPDATE:

I just noticed Wifi no longer works, I build a regular kernel from an untouched source code, and wuth the config from my device, and wifi still wont work... interesting.




* I have short attention span... oh look shiney!.......

Attached Files


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users