Jump to content


Photo

Unlocking San Fran 2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
213 replies to this topic

#121
ian_blade2

ian_blade2

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the midlands
  • Devices:blade 2, sf1
just to update , thanks for all the help guys , i reverted bk to the orange original orange rom just so i could make the keypad work the phones still unlocked but sadly now cant get it into FTM mode , and now havent got a mac adress so no wireless also for some unknown reason ive lost the fastboot windows file lol and...........to top it off i cant win if i put rebranded rom on i loose front camera , sync of keypad but now i cant detect phone in qpst lol ,,,,,,,,or com port ? and basicly im stuck again just as i thought id cracked it lol :) any help guys ? ? thx ian.Posted Image

  • 0

#122
ian_blade2

ian_blade2

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the midlands
  • Devices:blade 2, sf1
i may sell my phone if i cant finish it off as stock again .....lol so keep ur eyes peeled on a cheepy cheap phone , im getting fed up with it now ive had it a week lol n not been able to use it yet :( .

  • 0

#123
unrandomsam

unrandomsam

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 916 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:Xperia Play / Xoom / ZTE Blade

i may sell my phone if i cant finish it off as stock again .....lol so keep ur eyes peeled on a cheepy cheap phone , im getting fed up with it now ive had it a week lol n not been able to use it yet :( .


The QPST part is in this video (Watch until you see the QPST restore what backup is is kind of obvious)


  • 0

#124
ian_blade2

ian_blade2

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the midlands
  • Devices:blade 2, sf1
hi there project tt




thanks for that file mate right ok this is the problem i have i have done everything youve told me to do .....................so i got upto the bit where u reboot your phone into FTM mode however...

i cant get FTM mode booted in at all whatever method i try with batt in or out ......./ also i tried manually inputting into exvi 32 hex editor , and that doesnt seem to work either however i take it the script for the crescent is different to that of the monte carlo ??

can u understand why i cant get into ftm but it boots straight into clockwork recovery ??




appreciate all the help so far many thx ian. :rolleyes:


  • 0

#125
h4gster

h4gster

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

this is the file you need http://www.multiupload.com/A4IAI20RJT

download it then extract the DEADD00D_23.qcn file to the bin file where your install of QPST is installed on your pc.

mine is located like this


c: drive / programme files / Qualcomm / QPST / Bin / you will see where to put the file here (there will also be a folder called NV Backup but dont put in that)

then take batery out of your phone and replace then put your phone into FTM mode by pressing and holding power and vol down key or if you have clockwork installed its still the same

open QPST program and make sure your phone is detected on the com port its attached to

then at the top click the restore tab

then click browse and locatek the DEADD00D_23.qcn you will have put into the Bin folder

then click start.... should only take a few moments

your phone will re boot possibly when you have done this

if not just make sure the restore has finished then take out your battery and replace. turn on and then try your wifi settings.

if this not work ..... i have no idea ..... if worked for me but it could have been luck.


This worked a treat for me cheers.

Edited by h4gster, 02 December 2011 - 06:14 PM.

  • 0

#126
project_tt

project_tt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

hi there project tt




thanks for that file mate right ok this is the problem i have i have done everything youve told me to do .....................so i got upto the bit where u reboot your phone into FTM mode however...

i cant get FTM mode booted in at all whatever method i try with batt in or out ......./ also i tried manually inputting into exvi 32 hex editor , and that doesnt seem to work either however i take it the script for the crescent is different to that of the monte carlo ??

can u understand why i cant get into ftm but it boots straight into clockwork recovery ??




appreciate all the help so far many thx ian. :rolleyes:


You should be able to do this in qpst even though all you see is clockwork
You may need to add a different com port to qpst
Do this with the qpst connection manager and your phone attached to your pc in clockwork mode
It's some other software you should have on your pc
When you click start / all programmes / qpst
There are loads of programmes here one configures ports
Am not at my pc at the mo so I can not be more specific
Once you got the port configured
Open qpst again browse for a port ..... It will be the one you have added
Then you should be able to continue

  • 0

#127
h4gster

h4gster

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Ian, have you thought about getting an iPhone?

  • 1

#128
bryfly

bryfly

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 480 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:Vowney V5
Hi Guys, Trying to unlock my SF2, following the tutorial from this thread but failed several times now.

I get as far as taking out battery and USB lead, then reinstall lead holding in volume down button, phone then goes into continuous loop of green man then vibrate, no FTM screen. Managed to get to FTM screen once by putting battery back in, then hit a problem with no com port.

It seems there might be several small steps left out of the tutorial that lots of novice’s who visit MoDoCo would need to know, such as what to do if FTM does not come up and you loop between green man and vibrate, also in QPST getting the com port, from my many attempts I believe you need to uncheck the box that says “Show Serial and USB/QC Diagnostic ports only" before you get a port, also see (post by buzz53 post85)

Based on the tutorial would a forum member who has unlocked successfully be kind enough to expand the tutorial to take account of what an experienced member might take for granted, but a novice dies a slow death trying to work out, a total idiot’s guide to the process would assist those of us who are not as knowledgeable as other members on the forum .......thanks and cheers :)

  • 0

#129
bryfly

bryfly

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 480 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:Vowney V5
Still persevering and have got as far as getting FTM up clicking on software download in tutorial, this ends up with no phone found, go to config and i get

Port... com13,
label... com13,
phone... Surf7627-linux

and still says no phone found, any guidence as to what im doing wrong..cheers

  • 0

#130
bryfly

bryfly

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 480 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:Vowney V5
Given up trying to unlock, 3 days now no success hopefully easier method will come along.........cheers

Edited by bryfly, 04 December 2011 - 02:39 PM.

  • 0

#131
project_tt

project_tt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Still persevering and have got as far as getting FTM up clicking on software download in tutorial, this ends up with no phone found, go to config and i get

Port... com13,
label... com13,
phone... Surf7627-linux

and still says no phone found, any guidence as to what im doing wrong..cheers


Let me guess you are using windows 7 64bit
Qpst won't work on 64bit
You need to run it on win 7 32bit and in windows xp sp3 compatibility mode

  • 0

#132
bryfly

bryfly

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 480 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:Vowney V5

Let me guess you are using windows 7 64bit
Qpst won't work on 64bit
You need to run it on win 7 32bit and in windows xp sp3 compatibility mode


Thanks for the reply, yes good guess, tried it on another laptop as was getting absolutley no where on my desktop even running it in xp3, as i said 3 days ive been trying with no luck, obviously im thicker than i thought. lol. hopefully somebody will make it easier easier to do soon like just type in your imei number.......cheers

  • 0

#133
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Still persevering and have got as far as getting FTM up clicking on software download in tutorial, this ends up with no phone found, go to config and i get

Port... com13,
label... com13,
phone... Surf7627-linux

and still says no phone found, any guidence as to what im doing wrong..cheers

My Dell laptop will lock out the ports... so while mine did work the first time, but nothing after that... I needed to search for the port again, which had been auto assigned the next one up. A reboot clears it too.

Strange yours says it's there and then it isn't at the same time.

I followed the same instructions as yourself and there are no steps missing.

  • 0

Posted Image


#134
bryfly

bryfly

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 480 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:Vowney V5

My Dell laptop will lock out the ports... so while mine did work the first time, but nothing after that... I needed to search for the port again, which had been auto assigned the next one up. A reboot clears it too.

Strange yours says it's there and then it isn't at the same time.

I followed the same instructions as yourself and there are no steps missing.


Strange indeed, brain is frazzled now so think ill wait a few days, when you say followed the same instructions i guess you mean the tutorial, all problems i get seem to be related to not seeing the phone in qspt, the more threads i read about this on different forums the more confusing it gets, somebody on the giffgaff forum said the drivers recommended by the tutorial did not work so had to use the drivers that came with the phone.....now frustrated got 2 phones, one each and need to unlock both....:( need somebody who lives near me to talk me through it i think as im obviously missing something out......lol

I guess the unlocking works on its own as i was just trying to do this, before i de-branded it?

Edited by bryfly, 04 December 2011 - 04:10 PM.

  • 0

#135
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Yes I used the tutorial and pretty much went through first time. No experience and new here. I did wait until it made sense to me. I have a TMV. Now the files are merged for you (on the SF2 as well) it's pretty straight forward and works.

You say not seeing the phone in qspt - yet you also say:
i get

Port... com13,
label... com13,
phone... Surf7627-linux

??

That only works from FTM mode right?

"I guess the unlocking works on its own as i was just trying to do this, before i de-branded it?" <-- no idea what you mean by this. Either use the debranded image or the stock image - either way you need an unlocked image, if that makes sense lol ;)

  • 0

Posted Image


#136
bryfly

bryfly

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 480 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:Vowney V5

Yes I used the tutorial and pretty much went through first time. No experience and new here. I did wait until it made sense to me. I have a TMV. Now the files are merged for you (on the SF2 as well) it's pretty straight forward and works.

You say not seeing the phone in qspt - yet you also say:
i get

Port... com13,
label... com13,
phone... Surf7627-linux

That only works from FTM mode right?

"I guess the unlocking works on its own as i was just trying to do this, before i de-branded it?" <-- no idea what you mean by this. Either use the debranded image or the stock image - either way you need an unlocked image, if that makes sense lol ;)


yep when using windows 7 (64bit) i got to ftm but showed up the phone as surf7627-linux, and "Project-TT" pointed out it will not work on (64 bit)

when using win 7 (32) on my desktop via xp(sp3) it will not find phone. what i meant was i was trying to use the unlock method on its own, then debrand it later.........

cheers for your input



just tried again by dowloading all progs and starting from scratch on pc, get to click software download on qpst and all stops, go to configuration for ports/phones and it sees (surf7627-linux (deaddood))............any more ideas whats going on?

Edited by bryfly, 04 December 2011 - 06:19 PM.

  • 0

#137
lordjubblydave

lordjubblydave

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Essex
  • Devices:MotoX, htc One Mini
  • Twitter:@jubblydave
Can this be done using OSX or Linux ?
I don't really have acess to a Windows Box :(

  • 0

#138
scorilo19

scorilo19

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Hi guys,

I bricked my Orange San Francisco 2 trying to unlock it. It still goes to FTM mode but besides that I just get the android logo.

Can anyone tell me if it can be unbricked and if so, how?

Thanks in advance,

Edited by scorilo19, 09 December 2011 - 12:02 PM.

  • 0

#139
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

Hi guys,

I bricked my Orange San Francisco 2 trying to unlock it. It still goes to FTM mode but besides that I just get the android logo.

Can anyone tell me if it can be unbricked and if so, how?

Thanks in advance,


Hey, I'll take you through the steps I went thru to get it working..

You need to download the custom rom (flb2-r2a.zip) and the default kernel (ouk-stock.zip) for the SFII

Then grab the SFII unlocker (Which should load up the Clockwork Recovery Mod...but won't install it from here : http://www.multiupload.com/TWKP44A5AD

Unzip the Unlock_OSF2.zip file but don't unzip the other 2.

To use the clockwork recovery you use volume up/down to go up/down the menus, the home button as an enter key and the back button as a back key...just to clarify) so to carry out a command in the menus scroll to it using the volume buttons then the home button to carry out the command and you should see a resulting prompt underneath describing what it's doing.

Now carry out the following steps :

  • Boot your phone into the FTM mode by turning it on while holding down the volume down button (hopefully you previously managed to backup your config with QPST)
  • Connect the USB cable
  • Run the unlocker (The download.exe file in the folder you made by unzipping the Unlock_OSF2.zip file) which should reboot the phone into the Clockwork Recovery Mode (Just click on START, which should be green, if it isn't then try unplugging the usb cable and then plug it back in and restart the exe)...DO NOT UNPLUG YOUR USB CABLE WHILE THE PROGRESS BAR IS GOING UP, once it's finished you should see "Download Completed" or something, I can't remember exactly what it says but it'll be something like that, then you can close the program and you should see the Clockwork screen on your phone.
  • Wipe both caches (by going to wipe data/factory reset and then wipe cache partition
  • Now go to advanced
  • Wipe the dalvik cache then Wipe battery stats (This makes sure you get a proper charge)
  • Go back to the main screen and then to the mounts and storage menu
  • At the bottom choose mount USB storage to mount the sdcard and then copy both rom zip files (flb2-r2a.zip and ouk-stock.zip) over from the computer into the main folder of your sdcard, once you've copied the files then just go back to the main menu with the back button, the sdcard is automatically unmounted when you exit that section
  • Flash the custom rom first (go to apply update from sdcard then choose zip from sdcard), then choose the flb2-r2a.zip file, then without rebooting, flash the kernel for the SFII (repeat the same process to do that except for choosing the ouk-stock.zip)
  • If you have QPST, restore the qcn file which you hopefully backed up from the "software download" section, if you didn't back it up you may/probably will have lost your mac address and if you didn't take a note of it either then you're wireless will basically be buggered.
  • Reboot the phone (by going into the main menu on the Clockwork Recovery and then choosing reboot system now and hopefully it will reboot into the custom rom, also the tracking on the keyboard should be fixed because you have also flashed the kernel rom for the SFII
  • So, now you're actually in the phone, first of all, when it asks you to set up your google account, press the "I'll sign in later" or whatever it says cos you need to check the wireless and keyboard first.
  • Go straight into settings, then "About Phone", then check that the mac address is legit, if it says "11 22 33 44 55 66" then you've lost the mac address and you won't get wireless, if it shows a proper mac address then you should be ok. If it does show "11 22 33 44 55 66" but you have a note of the correct mac address then it is possible (and a bit complicated) to restore the proper mac address so don't panic, if you didn't take a note of it though then you won't ever get wireless and you also need a slap :P
Just to let you know, this whole process won't "install" the Clockwork Recovery mod but it will load it enough to let you flash the custom rom. If you want to properly "install" the Recovery you really need to use the adb method noted elsewhere in this forum, which I couldn't do cos I'm using Windows 7 64bit and it's a right royal pain in the butt.

Hope all that helps, come back if you're still stuck

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 09 December 2011 - 04:06 PM.

  • 1

#140
scorilo19

scorilo19

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Your tutorial is perfect mate!

It worked perfect from the first try. It was exactly what I needed. My phone works now smoothly.

Thanks a lot PsYcHoKiLLa. !!!!

Edited by scorilo19, 10 December 2011 - 11:53 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users