Jump to content


Photo

[HOW TO] Rooting Unlocking and De-Branding your ZTE Crescent [Updated Now Complete]

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
444 replies to this topic

#421
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
The Crescent is referred to internally as "Blade2". Its bootloader board name is "blade2". Basically, ZTE released two phones in the Blade2 namespace. Quite annoying, but here we are. More recent things (since the discovery of the actual Blade II) typically advertise themselves as "for the ZTE Crescent" now, and its only the older things that still have "Blade 2" in the title (such as CWM).

Edited by Dazzozo, 29 June 2012 - 08:32 PM.

  • 1
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#422
andromaniac

andromaniac

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco 2
Hi newb(ish) here have used this to root my san fran 2 and install stock rom. Very pleased - no orange rubbish, and I love android without any manufacturer - specific "improvements". However there was a touchscreen issue which I have just resolved by installing the kernal for sf2. But this has not fixed the downloading problem I have - google play wont download any app bigger than about 1m, which is VERY annoying. And no it isn't because I have too many apps installed - I have 210mb internal storage free, and over 6 gb on my 8gb sd card. When I try to download something it pops up with a message box saying "Error while downloading. There is insufficient space on the device." Also recently MP3 Downloader said that there was an "Error while downloading" whenever I try to download something. What is wrong??? Is there a cache somewhere that needs clearing, or is there something wrong with the rom? Here is info on the TPT I used if it helps:160MB system, 2MB cache, 278MB data. Any ideas? Do I need to use a different TPT that makes the cache bigger? Help?

  • 0

#423
BLu3HaZe

BLu3HaZe

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sri Lanka
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent - SFII (Synaptic)
Well its somewhat obvious that when your /cache partition is only 2MB, as any downloading apks are saved there before installing, you're having that issue. IMO, the stock partition layout is perfectly fine when coupled with A2SD, which is why I never use TPTs.
Yes, use another TPT with a reasonably sized cache, and problem solved.

  • 0

#424
andromaniac

andromaniac

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco 2
Thanks thought that was the problem but didn't want to resize the repartitions unnecessarily. Would donate if I had any money...

  • 0

#425
lxrable

lxrable

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade II
.

Edited by lxrable, 10 July 2012 - 10:35 AM.

  • 0

#426
andromaniac

andromaniac

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco 2
Is there a way of remotely restoring a nandroid backup (without using CWM)? If so, how? If not, can you completely wipe the internal mem. of the phone remotely?
(Cryptic, I know)

  • 0

#427
KEZZY1965

KEZZY1965

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:VIVACITY
Hi Guys,
When I try and download Bouncer5 files from multiupload.co.uk, it trys to download some app called 'ilivid'????
Are the old file links dead? Do I require ilivid ?

On the depositfiles.com site, after the countdown, I get the mesage:
"This file does not exist, the access to the following file is limited or it has been removed due to infringement of copyright. "

Am I doing something wrong here?

  • 0

#428
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
No. The files don't exist.

The mirrors have gone down. He was going to reupload them at some stage but never did.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#429
The Alpha Gamer

The Alpha Gamer

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sony Ericsson Xperia Play
Is there any way to unlock the phone without installing a custom rom?

  • 0

#430
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Do you mean unlock, or root?

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#431
The Alpha Gamer

The Alpha Gamer

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sony Ericsson Xperia Play
Unlock, my mum wants this phone but she's in the middle of a two year contract with Three.

  • 0

#432
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
The actual unlock procedure doesn't require a custom ROM, though I think these files were packaged to wipe the device during the unlock, assuming you were about to install a custom ROM.

You might just be better off unlocking it and then reinstalling the stock ROM. The unlock persists no matter what you do to the phone memory.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#433
The Alpha Gamer

The Alpha Gamer

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sony Ericsson Xperia Play
It's the flashing of any rom that makes me anxious, plus my mum worries that doing anything, including just rooting a phone will break it.

  • 0

#434
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
The flashing of a ROM is nothing compared to the flash that takes place to do the unlock.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#435
jasonleeds

jasonleeds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:zte crescent & zte blade
in need of the unlock files if anyone has them or knows the original file name. I have them somewhere.
cheers

  • 0
ZTE Blade - CM7
Samsung Galaxy Fit - Razodroid v4
ZTE Crescent SF2
  • developing - DroidTE @ Modaco Thread
  • main rom - Fish'n'Chips - RLS6
  • Testing - anything other than stock




Posted Image

#436
MUF DVR

MUF DVR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent

Here's my up to date guide to try and keep the knowledge in one place. Apart from the entire history of this thread, much of this is based on the information (and files, especially the Vivacity_Unlock file :) ) at http://www.getandroi...acity-for-free/ which came highly recommended (in this thread), particularly because the (eg Bouncer5's) links to unlock.zip for the Vivacity are dead here on Modaco (one link persisted but it was 29Mband I never verified (remembered) its source or author) hence let new users skip this 22 page how-to and get going faster.

  • Using a stock ROM, eg, new out of the box, with a good charge:
  • Write down MAC for wifi (and BT), optional, unused.
  • Install drivers (driver.rar) so phone is detected, essential, Windows is stoopid.
  • You may be informed of a COM port when you next connect your phone, if so use this one in step (9).
  • Get a ROM, for your ZTE Crescent, Fish N Chips comes tailored to either TMV or OSFII, others require special kernels (see eg, Bouncer5's post).
  • Get that ROM onto SD's root, rename it update.zip.
  • Install QPST (I use 2.7 build 366).
  • Reboot into FTM mode (hold power and vol- until "FTM" appears).
  • Run "Windows:StartMenu->QPST->QPST Configuration”. Port tab. Click “Add New Port”. Some say the left box displays COM5, I had COM4 before installing ZTE USB driver and additionally COM24 after. Use the port the ZTE USB driver gives you. Close “QPST Configuration”.
  • Run "Windows:StartMenu->QPST->Software Download".
  • Choose Backup tab, select destination, click Start button, ensure 100% and file: DEADD00D_*.qcn is present (eg 153kb).
  • Extract Unlock_Vivacity (or similar) and run download.exe.
  • If you get an error pop-up about "arm**" not present/working you need to check (ie repeat) driver installation.
  • Otherwise download.exe will present the option to unlock your device. START. Takes about 2 minutes, phone will restart. Ensure this window displays "PASS", then close it.
  • Run "Windows:StartMenu->QPST->Software Download" as in step (10).
  • Choose Restore tab, select your DEADD00D_*.qcn file from step (11). Ensure COM port used in step (9) is showing then click the Start button.
  • If unsuccessful then select “Allow Phone/File ESN mismatch” checkbox and repeat. Note: This info is sketchy I have not tried it despite being nominally unsuccessful (99% followed by reboot of phone and QPST error message. WiFi MAC was still restored though) I was left in CWM which I don’t imagine would make a good starting point to repeat the restore from (use FTM but then you may struggle getting CWM back (as I did once I had flashed my new ROM)).
  • Congratulations your phone is now unlocked and you are back in the safe hands of CWM. Choose a new ROM, I don’t think you can revert to the ROM you started with anymore but must instead load any appropriate zipped one (update.zip etc which may be the stock starting ROM). Beyond the scope of this post...


What would you do if you had already installed a customised ROM and needed to temporarily revert to the Orange stock ROM in order to unlock the phone?
Would you need to carry out this process every time you switch to a new ROM?

  • 0

#437
surfungus

surfungus

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Interests:Tech, Seeing a cheap as chips phone run some amazing software, xbox (call of duty), beer...
  • Devices:Moto G
New unlock link for
For San Francisco 2 ONLY

unlock osf2 http://www.mediafire.com/?8tl8qrcz3txx5gj

For TMV ONLY

TMV unlock http://www.mediafire.com/?d12g0u1dnq8b9f5 (thanks to getandroidfree.com)



ADB.zip http://www.mediafire.com/?bvgn0wfpyyry5qn

Driver + setup.zip http://www.mediafire.com/?7fib9221t37cti1

QPST 2.7 http://www.mediafire.com/?236iya223icmifi

I think this is the original folder from ztecrescent.blogspot.com. It contains:
drivers, QPST, ADB, Fastboot, download.exe.
http://www.mediafire.com/?ym5dfoctqptxqj9

Hope it helps...

Edited by surfungus, 12 August 2012 - 05:36 PM.

  • 0
Like the custom ROM on your phone? Why not buy the dev a beer!!

#438
MUF DVR

MUF DVR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent
Here is how I flashed my custom ROM to my ZTE Crescent, realised it wasn't unlocked, reflashed the stock Orange ROM, unlocked it and then reflashed my custom ROM (you can only unlock your phone to use other SIM cards if it is operating the stock Orange ROM):

I followed the instructions on this page to get my phone ready to install a custom ROM: http://sanfranciscoa...co-ii-for-free/

When it comes to the part near the end where it says "Install zip from SDcard", I went to this site and installed the Cyanogenmod 9 ROM by Dazzozzo: http://www.modaco.co...t-updated-1307/

I then realised I had to revert to stock ROM to unlock, so I simply followed the same instructions, except when it came to "Install zip from SDcard", I installed the stock ROM that was relevant to my phone (ie. the newest one) listed on this topic: http://www.modaco.co...obile-vivacity/

Then I followed the instructions listed above by Brownian to unlock and then I put back on my custom ROM in the final steps:

1 Using a stock ROM, eg, new out of the box, with a good charge:
2. Write down MAC for wifi (and BT), optional, unused.
3. Install drivers (driver.rar) so phone is detected, essential, Windows is stoopid.
4. You may be informed of a COM port when you next connect your phone, if so use this one in step (9).
5. Get a ROM, for your ZTE Crescent, Fish N Chips comes tailored to either TMV or OSFII, others require special kernels (see eg, Bouncer5's post).
6. Get that ROM onto SD's root, rename it update.zip.
7. Install QPST (I use 2.7 build 366).
8. Reboot into FTM mode (hold power and vol- until "FTM" appears).
9. Run "Windows:StartMenu->QPST->QPST Configuration”. Port tab. Click “Add New Port”. Some say the left box displays COM5, I had COM4 before installing ZTE USB driver and additionally COM24 after. Use the port the ZTE USB driver gives you. Close “QPST Configuration”.
10. Run "Windows:StartMenu->QPST->Software Download".
11. Choose Backup tab, select destination, click Start button, ensure 100% and file: DEADD00D_*.qcn is present (eg 153kb).
12. Extract Unlock_Vivacity (or similar) and run download.exe.
13. If you get an error pop-up about "arm**" not present/working you need to check (ie repeat) driver installation.
14. Otherwise download.exe will present the option to unlock your device. START. Takes about 2 minutes, phone will restart. Ensure this window displays "PASS", then close it.
15. Run "Windows:StartMenu->QPST->Software Download" as in step (10).
16. Choose Restore tab, select your DEADD00D_*.qcn file from step (11). Ensure COM port used in step (9) is showing then click the Start button.
17. If unsuccessful then select “Allow Phone/File ESN mismatch” checkbox and repeat. Note: This info is sketchy I have not tried it despite being nominally unsuccessful (99% followed by reboot of phone and QPST error message. WiFi MAC was still restored though) I was left in CWM which I don’t imagine would make a good starting point to repeat the restore from (use FTM but then you may struggle getting CWM back (as I did once I had flashed my new ROM)).
18. Congratulations your phone is now unlocked and you are back in the safe hands of CWM. Choose a new ROM, I don’t think you can revert to the ROM you started with anymore but must instead load any appropriate zipped one (update.zip etc which may be the stock starting ROM). Beyond the scope of this post...

  • 0

#439
Trampbottle

Trampbottle

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:TMobile Vivacity
I have an unlocked T-Mobile Vivacity which I would like to root. Reading through this very long thread, there is a lot of helpful info about installing ROMs, but I don't want to change the ROM , just root the phone. Can anyone help?

  • 0

#440
BLu3HaZe

BLu3HaZe

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sri Lanka
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent - SFII (Synaptic)

I have an unlocked T-Mobile Vivacity which I would like to root. Reading through this very long thread, there is a lot of helpful info about installing ROMs, but I don't want to change the ROM , just root the phone. Can anyone help?

Easy, if on Windows, just do
1. Enable ADB on the phone and install drivers
2. Run the auto CWM installer (make sure you're connected to internet to download fastboot drivers from Windows Update)
3. Reboot into CWM
4. Flash the Superuser zip from the superuser site (Easy find on Google)
5. Reboot your phone and its rooted!

You can later flash the stock recovery (FTM screen) if you want to get rid of CWM also. :)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users