Jump to content


Photo

[HOW TO] Rooting Unlocking and De-Branding your ZTE Crescent [Updated Now Complete]

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
444 replies to this topic

#81
BrideOfTheAtom

BrideOfTheAtom

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Physics, Nanotechnology, Hacking, Gaming
  • Devices:T-mobile Vivacity

Thanks for that. Have installed roms before on a blade but seem to have got stuck at:

Once that is added close Configuration and open "Software Download" from the start menu<li>Click "Backup" on the utility and choose where to save the "QCN" File

It says could not connect? Have checked under my computer but the drive for the phone is not showing?

Any advice would be appreciated

Thanks,

markski


I'm no expert on this only having done it a week ago on my own phone but for this stage you have to open the correct port with the QPST Configuration tool. The Software Download application uses this opened port to download the QCN file. Without this file you are going to have to jump through some additional hoops to get your Wifi to work once you flash your rom. You shouldn't run the unlock tool until you are sure you have the QCN file saved somewhere on your hard drive and that it is not 0kb in size (mine was around 300kb in size I think). Once you have done the unlock procedure you re-upload this file to the phone to reconfigure your wifi or something to that effect.

  • 0

#82
Markski

Markski

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Orange SF

I'm no expert on this only having done it a week ago on my own phone but for this stage you have to open the correct port with the QPST Configuration tool. The Software Download application uses this opened port to download the QCN file. Without this file you are going to have to jump through some additional hoops to get your Wifi to work once you flash your rom. You shouldn't run the unlock tool until you are sure you have the QCN file saved somewhere on your hard drive and that it is not 0kb in size (mine was around 300kb in size I think). Once you have done the unlock procedure you re-upload this file to the phone to reconfigure your wifi or something to that effect.



I do not think the pc is recognising the phone which is why I can't complete & save theQCN file. In "QPST Configuration" Click on "Ports" and then the "Add Port" button, it created port 6 but now shows not connected.

  • 0

#83
seefman

seefman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco 2

Thanks but I may need more detailed help as I've checked device manager and no devices show with an exclamation mark.

What's weird is that the hack sequence goes fine, including installing CWM and the custom ROM/kernel (note I don't reboot between wiping data/dalvik cache and rom/kernel as I would lose CWM) but after a reboot CWM just seems to disappear and I'm back to FTW



Same exact thing's happening here. CWM is there when loading the custom rom/kernel. After installation.... THEN CWM vanishes. Cannot re-install CWM via the ADB method either. WTF??

  • 0

#84
Markski

Markski

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Orange SF

When I switch phone on I gat a dark screen with CWM-based Recovery v4.0.1.5 at top with options in brown underneath, reboot,apply sd card,wipe cache part,install zip,backup,mounts & advanced.

Any ideas chaps?

Thanks,

markski


Hi All,
If I press power/vol down it boots into FTM, so I have got to ""Click "Backup" on the utility and choose where to save the "QCN" File"" . I have not gone to unlock.zip as I have not been able to save the "QCN" file. When I try different usb ports pc says sucessfully downloaded but drive not shown on my computer.
In QPST config phone is id (see error1) but when I close & open Software download Coild not connect to the Mark-pc Atlas server.HR=0x800702e4

Can I revert back to stock rom or any advice to finish procedure?

Many thanks for yr help in advance, markski

Attached Files


Edited by Markski, 13 December 2011 - 04:13 PM.

  • 0

#85
confusedperson

confusedperson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
HELP WANTED PLEASE KINDLY REPLY


I ONLY want to UNLOCK my phone is that the same as DEBRANDING?

DO I NEED TO ROOT MY PHONE BEFORE HAND FOR UNLOCKING?

can someone shortern it out for me with providing the links ONLY ofr UNLOCKING so i dont get any mistakes PLEASE?

  • 0

#86
snowbord

snowbord

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
afaik this at present is not possible. by rooting / flashing the rom in the guide, you get the added bonus of unlocking the phone.

  • 0

#87
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:Vowney V5 and coolpad F1 8297w
Have unlocked and debranded both our SF2's, however would not mind getting the "orange signal booster" back, if that will work on other networks, assuming it was any good in the first place?...........

  • 0

#88
Markski

Markski

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Orange SF

Hi All,
If I press power/vol down it boots into FTM, so I have got to ""Click "Backup" on the utility and choose where to save the "QCN" File"" . I have not gone to unlock.zip as I have not been able to save the "QCN" file. When I try different usb ports pc says sucessfully downloaded but drive not shown on my computer.
In QPST config phone is id (see error1) but when I close & open Software download Coild not connect to the Mark-pc Atlas server.HR=0x800702e4

Can I revert back to stock rom or any advice to finish procedure?

Many thanks for yr help in advance, markski


Hi All,

If I cannot save the "QCN" File can I carry on & Unzip Unlock.zip folder and run "download.exe"?

I reached this point yesterday but did not want to contine to unlock.zip.

Any thoughts anyone?? markski



  • 0

#89
BrideOfTheAtom

BrideOfTheAtom

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Physics, Nanotechnology, Hacking, Gaming
  • Devices:T-mobile Vivacity

Hi All,

If I cannot save the "QCN" File can I carry on & Unzip Unlock.zip folder and run "download.exe"?

I reached this point yesterday but did not want to contine to unlock.zip.

Any thoughts anyone?? markski




Do not carry on without getting the QCN file. Without it you cannot restore many of the settings of your phone that are removed during the unlock procedure such as Wifi.

Have you made sure you put your phone into FTM mode before trying to do this step. It should say FTM on the screen in big letters.

EDIT -

Ah had a look at your previous port. Can you make sure you have clicked the Port tab in the QPST configuration tool. Then click "add port" and make sure you explicitly open the port to the phone. Then try the download tool again.

Edited by BrideOfTheAtom, 13 December 2011 - 10:48 PM.

  • 0

#90
Markski

Markski

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Orange SF

Do not carry on without getting the QCN file. Without it you cannot restore many of the settings of your phone that are removed during the unlock procedure such as Wifi.

Have you made sure you put your phone into FTM mode before trying to do this step. It should say FTM on the screen in big letters.

EDIT -

Ah had a look at your previous port. Can you make sure you have clicked the Port tab in the QPST configuration tool. Then click "add port" and make sure you explicitly open the port to the phone. Then try the download tool again.



Yep, battery out, vol down + power, get to FTM screen.Open Port tab in the QPST configuration tool, added port (see added port.jpg).Closed it,opened software download. phone is not recegnised (see software download.jpg). How can the phone be recognised in QPST configuration tool but not in Software download which is needed to save QCN file?

Attached Files


  • 0

#91
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Markski - I would assume that your PC USB system has bugged out and you need to re-set up your port. Delete the one there and detect again.

  • 0

Posted Image


#92
Markski

Markski

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Orange SF

Markski - I would assume that your PC USB system has bugged out and you need to re-set up your port. Delete the one there and detect again.


Thanks would I do that thru control panel,system?

  • 0

#93
BrideOfTheAtom

BrideOfTheAtom

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Physics, Nanotechnology, Hacking, Gaming
  • Devices:T-mobile Vivacity
COM10 seems quite high (mine was COM4). Is that a USB port on an external hub or something? Maybe try a USB port on your PC's case if that is so. Could be talking rubbish though...

Edited by BrideOfTheAtom, 14 December 2011 - 12:50 AM.

  • 0

#94
texarkana

texarkana

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent San Fran II
Is http://android.modac...ost__p__1854849 any help?

Also, are you running Win7 x64? Various people ahve said QPST does not work under Win7 x64.

  • 0

#95
Markski

Markski

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Orange SF

Is http://android.modac...ost__p__1854849 any help?

Also, are you running Win7 x64? Various people ahve said QPST does not work under Win7 x64.


Running win 7 32 bit. I have uninstalled/reset usb hosts,rebooted with only mouse keyboard attached.Strange thing is phone is recognises every usb port on pc "ZTE Handset Diagnostic Interface successfull installed".its when I close this & open "software download" pc does not recognise phone in any usb port?

Attached Files


Edited by Markski, 14 December 2011 - 10:37 AM.

  • 0

#96
texarkana

texarkana

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent San Fran II
Have you tried leaving the QPST Configuration application running in the background whist using the Software Download application? (As suggested by buzz53).

  • 0

#97
seefman

seefman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco 2

Is http://android.modac...ost__p__1854849 any help?

Also, are you running Win7 x64? Various people ahve said QPST does not work under Win7 x64.


I am running Windows 7 / 64 bit and no problems with QPST here....

  • 0

#98
Thomas J Marshall

Thomas J Marshall

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent
Been following this thread with interest. I've got me an Orange San Fran 2 for Christmas and i am going to have a go at unlocking it. Are these all the files I need? Also a query on what to do with some of them.


Driver Setup.zip (4.29 MB) Install on PC?

Do the rest go on phone?
recovery-clockwork-4.0.1.5-blade2.img (3.87 MB)

QPST_2.7_366.rar
Unlock_OSF2.zip (18.05 MB)ADB.zip (1.42 MB)
Crescent.zip (94.6 MB)
sanfran2kernel.zip (3.45 MB)

Thanks. :rolleyes:

  • 0
Thomas J Marshall

#99
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 802 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

Been following this thread with interest. I've got me an Orange San Fran 2 for Christmas and i am going to have a go at unlocking it. Are these all the files I need? Also a query on what to do with some of them.


Driver Setup.zip (4.29 MB) Install on PC?

Do the rest go on phone?
recovery-clockwork-4.0.1.5-blade2.img (3.87 MB)

QPST_2.7_366.rar
Unlock_OSF2.zip (18.05 MB)ADB.zip (1.42 MB)
Crescent.zip (94.6 MB)
sanfran2kernel.zip (3.45 MB)

Thanks. :rolleyes:


PC (Unpack each to it's own folder and/or install) :

Driver Setup.zip
Unlock_OSF2.zip
QPST_2.7_366.rar
ADB.zip

Phone (Copy to SD Card) :

recovery-clockwork-4.0.1.5-blade2.img (You do know that ClockworkMod Recovery 5.0.2.7 is available now too?)
Crescent.zip
sanfran2kernel.zip

You have to flash the Crescent (or another custom rom) first and then without restarting flash the default SFII kernel, then restart. If you don't do it like that then you will have a skewed keyboard and the wireless won't work.

Also, the first thing you should do is backup your phone's settings using the QPST "software download" backup section, then if you lose your wireless settings you can restore them.



As for what to do with them, the steps for each are explained in their posts, read slowly through them and make sure you understand what you're gonna be doing before you actually do it but most importantly backup your settings using the QPST or you're gonna lose your wireless, I also took a note of the mac address for the wireless and stuck it in a txt file on my desktop just for safety.

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 14 December 2011 - 06:21 PM.

  • 0

#100
SdZ

SdZ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Just followed the guide in the first post of this thread and everything worked great!

Many thanks to everyone who contributed :)

  • 0
Mobile Internet Radio - Android, iOS, Blackberry, Symbian compatible. No Apps needed!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users