Jump to content


Photo

[HOW TO] Rooting Unlocking and De-Branding your ZTE Crescent [Updated Now Complete]

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
444 replies to this topic

#141
snowbord

snowbord

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
dude, just follow the guide, or the .doc guide given earlier (which I did). As long as you back up the phone via qcn, you'll be alright. Either you do it or you don't. It really isn't that big a deal - i've flashed 3 now, including repartitioning the phones. You are going too far into details.

I didn't have a sim in the phones at all and never booted the phones up when taken out of the packaging.  Took phone out of packaging, charged it.  The first power up with power & volume button held took me straight into FTM, got the port mounted, copy qcn, run download.exe, restore qcn, phone unlocked.  Flash ROM via CWM.  Personally I never got the volume up TPT flash working, so I booted into the rom to do about / system update using the TPT (unarced TPT to image/ directory on sd card).  This is followed by another rom flash and voila.. unlocked, repartitioned, rooted, debranded phone with A2SD preinstalled.  You can then partition the SD card and put an EXT partition on it if you wish.

Just make sure you flash the OSF2 kernel after each ROM flash.


Edited by snowbord, 21 December 2011 - 09:45 PM.

  • 1

#142
jckm2000

jckm2000

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:t-mobile vivacity
Phew, excellent all done......



Thanks for the Thread.



C.

  • 0

#143
confusedperson

confusedperson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
I unlocked my phone yesterday following the blogspot but then got stuck at the clockwork, the blogspot method didnt work so i just gave it a go with the one that was in this thread for ROM!

now i can use my GIFFGAFF sim ;)

& thanks everyone for the hardwork saved me £20 which a repair shop asked for & orange asked for £20 but had to wait till febuary + an additional 4 weeks too.

one last question (hopefully)
do i need to keep updating this ROM?
can i change my memory card (I used the one supplied with 2GB) and copy & paste all the documents from one to another? will my phone still be unlocked...

Edited by confusedperson, 22 December 2011 - 09:09 AM.

  • 0

#144
snowbord

snowbord

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Glad to hear. However if you made it to CWM, you weren't really stuck. All you had to do was flash your chosen ROM at that point. The hard bit was done.

  • 0

#145
arvind16982

arvind16982

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Still haven't attempted to unlock my SF2 yet, just a few points that I'm not sure of...




Thomas, my guide was my experience based out of Bouncer5 steps. When I tried getting the FTM on the screen with the battery in the compartment and the buttons pressed, it simply did not work. It used to get switched on displaying normal T-Mob flash screen.
I hence held the buttons down initially and then inserted the battery and voila the FTM popped up on the screen in a few seconds. This is my experience with 2 of my phones and hence mentioned it that way in the guide.

It doesnt matter how you get FTM on the screen.

Hope that helps.

  • 0

#146
hmsq82

hmsq82

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy S4, iPhone5, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@hmsq82
My capacitive buttons are not working, so when I reboot into CWM I cannot select however volume buttons work.

I followed these instructions to the T, how to I get the buttons to work?

  • Download THIS file and install it.
  • Download the unlock.zip for your SFII or Vivacity. (WARNING: Using the WRONG unlock.zip will brick your phone completely)
  • Connect your phone to your computer and make sure you have USB Debugging turned on. (Settings > Applications > Development > USB Debugging)
  • Press and hold the Volume Down and power buttons together. This SHOULD bring you to a screen saying FTM. If your see Clockwork Mod you will have to load the stock ROM. (Instructions to Follow)
  • Make sure you installed QPST in the first step. Now in the Start menu find "QPST Configuration" Click on "Ports" and then the "Add Port" button.
  • Once that is added close Configuration and open "Software Download" from the start menu
  • Click "Backup" on the utility and choose where to save the "QCN" File
  • Make sure the file exists and is non-zero in file size before precedding - If not try the from step 6 again.
  • Unzip your Unlock.zip folder and run "download.exe"
  • If you are sure you want to Unlock your phone press "START!"
  • Sit and wait it out, Should take no more than two minutes until it is finished and Unlocked!
  • Go back to the "Software Download" utility and click the "Restore" Find the .qcn file you saved and restore it.
  • If it will not restore tick "Allow Phone/FILE ESN mismatch"
  • Remove your USB cable, pull the battery and insert your SIM of choice. Voila.
  • Your phone SHOULD boot into Clockwork Mod Recovery. If not follow the instuctions below.
  • If your phone is in Clockwork Mod follow instruction set 3.

  • 0

#147
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 801 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

My capacitive buttons are not working, so when I reboot into CWM I cannot select however volume buttons work.

I followed these instructions to the T, how to I get the buttons to work?

  • Download THIS file and install it.
  • Download the unlock.zip for your SFII or Vivacity. (WARNING: Using the WRONG unlock.zip will brick your phone completely)
  • Connect your phone to your computer and make sure you have USB Debugging turned on. (Settings > Applications > Development > USB Debugging)
  • Press and hold the Volume Down and power buttons together. This SHOULD bring you to a screen saying FTM. If your see Clockwork Mod you will have to load the stock ROM. (Instructions to Follow)
  • Make sure you installed QPST in the first step. Now in the Start menu find "QPST Configuration" Click on "Ports" and then the "Add Port" button.
  • Once that is added close Configuration and open "Software Download" from the start menu
  • Click "Backup" on the utility and choose where to save the "QCN" File
  • Make sure the file exists and is non-zero in file size before precedding - If not try the from step 6 again.
  • Unzip your Unlock.zip folder and run "download.exe"
  • If you are sure you want to Unlock your phone press "START!"
  • Sit and wait it out, Should take no more than two minutes until it is finished and Unlocked!
  • Go back to the "Software Download" utility and click the "Restore" Find the .qcn file you saved and restore it.
  • If it will not restore tick "Allow Phone/FILE ESN mismatch"
  • Remove your USB cable, pull the battery and insert your SIM of choice. Voila.
  • Your phone SHOULD boot into Clockwork Mod Recovery. If not follow the instuctions below.
  • If your phone is in Clockwork Mod follow instruction set 3.


Make sure you flash the custom rom and then the stock kernel for your phone without restarting in between, then restart the phone

  • 0

#148
hmsq82

hmsq82

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy S4, iPhone5, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@hmsq82

Make sure you flash the custom rom and then the stock kernel for your phone without restarting in between, then restart the phone


I can't flash the custom rom as the select button does not work on my Tmobile Vivacity, the volume keys work up and down but the home button which is a capacitive button does not select.

Because of this I cannot flash a custom rom, how do I restore back? **edit Got it fixed using new boot recovery in unlock tool , then used cheat menu for power button as selection.

Edited by hmsq82, 22 December 2011 - 09:58 PM.

  • 0

#149
Thomas J Marshall

Thomas J Marshall

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent

Thomas, my guide was my experience based out of Bouncer5 steps. When I tried getting the FTM on the screen with the battery in the compartment and the buttons pressed, it simply did not work. It used to get switched on displaying normal T-Mob flash screen.
I hence held the buttons down initially and then inserted the battery and voila the FTM popped up on the screen in a few seconds. This is my experience with 2 of my phones and hence mentioned it that way in the guide.

It doesnt matter how you get FTM on the screen.

Hope that helps.

Yes that's helpful, thanks. And thanks snowbord too, I will definitely have a go at the unlock. I picked the phone as a Christmas present but it's wrapped up at the moment so it will have to be my project over the holidays! :D

Edited by Thomas J Marshall, 22 December 2011 - 10:09 PM.

  • 0
Thomas J Marshall

#150
snowbord

snowbord

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

one last question (hopefully)
do i need to keep updating this ROM?
can i change my memory card (I used the one supplied with 2GB) and copy & paste all the documents from one to another? will my phone still be unlocked...


You do not need to update the ROM if you do not want to (it isn't being updated at all at present anyway). If a new one comes out, it will be up to you whether you update or not, should some feature be fixed that you find annoying (radio not working for example in the FLB2a ROM, or GPU accelaration not being enabled and an incomplete international APN list in seb's rom.

In most cases you can just flash straight over your current ROM without doing a wipe data / factory reset (in CWMod), as long as it is the same ROM (i.e. FLB2a => FLB3 for example. The ROM author will state what the deal is when the ROM is released.


Yes your phone will be unlocked. Yes you can just copy the contents of your SD card to another SD card (as long as you have not created an EXT partition as some of your apps will be stored there).

Nest step - download Titanium Backup and get used to it - this is your best friend when it comes to swapping / upgrading ROMs, amongst having other great features. It backs up your apps onto the SD card.

CWMod has a 'backup' and 'restore' feature which is also known as a Nandroid backup.

Edited by snowbord, 22 December 2011 - 10:37 PM.

  • 1

#151
markmcfarland2

markmcfarland2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Hi Guys,

Thanks for the TMobile Vivacity unlock procedure it worked great for me.

Just one issue I am having - not sure if anyine else has same - I cannot get any notification tone when receiving a text message on my tmobile vivacity. I have played around with settings but whatever I do it simply wont receive a message with a tone. I reloaded the stock ROM on my wifes phone to test if it worked and it did so I am wondering if this is an issue with the ROM perhaps?

Any idea would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mark

  • 0

#152
synet

synet

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, HTC Touch HD
I'm having problems installing a custom rom after unlocking. Unlocking seems to have work OK, as it can un a ornage sim on my vivacity. I've installed rom manager, and when I boot into recovery, I'm getting the version withn the blue writing, when the scroll/volume buttons work, but not the select/home button. It was the orange writing version when I did the unlocking. So, I tried to install cwm again using adb. I get as far as the firsdt step, rebooting to the green android, but when I try to flash recovery, it sits there doing nothing. I beleieve this is a driver issue, as it doesn's seem to recognize the phone, despite running driversetup. Can anyone tell me whatI'm doing wrong?

  • 0

#153
hmsq82

hmsq82

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy S4, iPhone5, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@hmsq82

I'm having problems installing a custom rom after unlocking. Unlocking seems to have work OK, as it can un a ornage sim on my vivacity. I've installed rom manager, and when I boot into recovery, I'm getting the version withn the blue writing, when the scroll/volume buttons work, but not the select/home button. It was the orange writing version when I did the unlocking. So, I tried to install cwm again using adb. I get as far as the firsdt step, rebooting to the green android, but when I try to flash recovery, it sits there doing nothing. I beleieve this is a driver issue, as it doesn's seem to recognize the phone, despite running driversetup. Can anyone tell me whatI'm doing wrong?


Use the cheat menu by scrolling down in vol- a few times, it should show cheat menu and then you can use the power button as the selector.

  • 1

#154
synet

synet

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, HTC Touch HD
OK. Have managed to get Flibblesan's rom on now. However, I went through the whole unlocking process again, and flashed the rom after I flashed the crescent file and the kernel back on. I still can't get into cwm recovery (orange writing?). It just keeps going into stock(?) recovery (blue writing? and no select button!!). Also, when I boot holding the power and vol+ buttons, nothing seems to happen? even after a minute or so. The only way I can get into recovery is thru rom manager, but that takes it back to stock recovery (blue writing). Anyway, it's the wife's phone (Xmas pressie!!) and I've done what I needed to. So thanks for everyone's help on this thread.

  • 0

#155
bnt009

bnt009

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Thanks Arvind for the guide. Iwas able to unlock and de-brand the Vivacity without any Issues. Just one question though - how do I get the data connectivity widget on the home screen (the one with Bluetooth, Wireless, Data Connection, Refresh icons) that Android phones come with anyway? I debranded an Orange San Fran last year, but this widget did not disappear then.
Thanks.



Hi,

I bought 2 TMob Vivacity phones and after lots of hesitation undertook the unlock and debrand steps provided by Bouncer5 in this thread.

In the process of unlocking my 2 phones (successfully), I was tracking my various steps in the attached document and thought of sharing it with all the members.

All credit goes to Bouncer5 without a doubt. Hope my document helps some hesitant newbie!!!

cheers
Arvind



  • 0

#156
Thomas J Marshall

Thomas J Marshall

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent
Attempting unlock of ZTE Crescent, installed all the windows files but can't access the sd card, error is "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)." Running windows 7.

  • 0
Thomas J Marshall

#157
Reider59

Reider59

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
Adventures and experiences of a virgin android user:


Got out the trusty hard backed notebook I use for jobs like this. Noted Mac ID, Sim number, phone number, day to change underwear, you name it from the phone. Just do it guys, 6 weeks or months later you won`t know where they are. Its 5 mins with me..... Posted ImagePosted Image

I take pills that are supposed to block severe pain signals in the brain. What they also do is kill my short term memory and thought control so dealing with a first time Android phone and knowing the specific needs I felt for it was always going to be difficult. Thanks to one or two forums but especially this one I hung in there and got it sorted myself, even if I went a long way around to do it and took over 24 hours with breaks from it for something called Real Life (real world not the program)? Its overrated so don`t go there, virtual life is better. Posted Image

I was never 100% sure this was the phone for me but 98% sure with this SFII and it went out of stock 3 times before I got the money to plunge. T Mobile had a Vivacity in and I went to town to get one, funds not paid in so no chance. Came home and the SFII was back in stock, next day at daybreak Posted Image funds were in and I ordered it online to be delivered to the shop Friday 23rd in time for Christmas, wey hey got me piggy bank n headphones etc but struggling to get the free £20 of games cos their server has problems. Never mind, Friday night I unlocked the phone and this helped (Mods delete it if it breaks the rules);

http://ztecrescent.blogspot.com/

I only used that for the unlocking as it was clean, uncluttered and to the point. I got into Recovery accidentally and only once but just wanted to unlock on Friday only. Then soon after (minutes) wished I`d de branded and got rid of the Orange stuff. I figured Recovery, flash new ROM, end of and couldn`t get back in there. But hey, my 02 card was working perfectly so I played with new apps instead, but back of my mind (such as it is was in turmoil over de branding and using Restore.

The rest was looking, posting, trying incessantly to get the Restore working. Then I went here (Don`t delete this link Mods, its yours);

http://android.modac...d-now-complete/

Read it 15,000 times and it was logical Captain. That`s life Jim but not as we know it (its not all the pills lol). I only used the 2nd and 3rd rectangles with instructions in as I`d already unlocked elsewhere. Right clicking in the ADB folder while pressing shift should win an award, so much easier than all that tie pin. Sometimes it fails but the main thing is phone switched on and usb cable on then it should work. Be logical where you place the bits and pieces, get them in a folder with subfolders so you can get each part you need at the time you need it, depending on the process you`re on. So I take the ADB folder out of its De Branding archive and on the desktop, do whatever that first post says (forgot already-go read it) then place it back in your De Branding folder when finished. Take the Crescent.zip and for me the SFII.Zip and put them on the root of the SD card, not in a folder. But keep a copy in your De Branding main folder on the desktop, that`s your archive folder in case you have to repeat it any time. Worked for me, logical, easy to follow, not losing folders and files. I use 2 monitors so instructions on one and do the biz on the other. Had to use the lappy too cos the main puter won`t work with and SD card above 2 gig and then only certain ones.

Don`t do what I did and forget to put both parts on the Micro SD Card. Then make it worse by forgetting to use the blooming SFIIkernel.zip straight after the Crescent.zip. no wonder the thing was unresponsive. Don`t be in a rush, calm that heart beat a little, get a cuppa, take your time. Do it when the kids are in bed and tell the missus sex has to wait. You have a missus? I told the dog to STFU instead. Ok, give her the best 2 mins of her life first and come back after a snooze. OK, so I went back and managed to get into Restore but its still hit n miss, tried two apps and they just sit and stare at you. Anyway, got back in and put the stock ROM on then rebooted. Got back in to Restore after two failed attempts. This time the Crescent.zip and the SFIIkernel.zip were on the MicroSD card and I made it the 16gig I bought, kept the stock ROM on the 2 gig supplied with the phone, put a piece of paper in to say what was on it. Proceed something like this;

Enter Restore (ha, if you`re lucky). Something like install from zip on SD Card? Press vol down to get to it, press Home to select it. Press vol down to get to it + Home to select. And maybe I had to press vol down to get to the right line, then HOME to select. Use the symbol on the far right bottom of the SFII that looks like UNDO and works like BACK to go back to the start. Then repeat all the Vol downs and Homes to locate the SFIIkernel.zip and install that. NOTE. Crescent.zip is same for the SFII and the Vivacity, SFIIkernel flashed straight after the Crescent if on SFII or the Vivacitykernel.zip if on the doo da diddy (Vivacity?), gotit? Then keep pressing back until you reach the main menu and restart the phone by Vol up/down and HOME to select.

OK, this helped. Its a video for the Orange Monte Carlo but the thing is it puts all the text into perspective when you see a similar operation carried out on the screen. Watch it a few times but don`t forget you`re on a different phone so treat it a little with a pinch of salt (not the phone, D`oh!).

http://community.gif...ee/ba-p/2432091

Look here for a free Partition Manager for the SD Card;

http://www.partition...on-manager.html

I set both partitons to Primary and split the 16 gig into roughly two 8 gigs. 7.5 each to be honest is nearer the mark as you lose some to the system or whatever the latest excuse is to rip us off on sizes. I set Fat32 as it was over 4 gig and then set the second half to EXT2 so it was suitable for APP2SID to transfer files from the phone to the MicroSD Card and back. One partition isn`t seen by windows but thats the EXT2 part for APP2Sid and that`s a free app in the market, was on the first time I used Crescent but couldn`t find it again so I downloaded and installed it. You need to save the contents on your PC before you partition, I floated them back afterward and test the card, make sure it and APP2Sid works if using it, you don`t have to. Delete the crescent.zip and the SFIIkernel.zip from the SD card but keep an archive copy on your puter to use again. It won`t do anything to leave it there but you want to save space right? Space is the final Front Ear they say.

I then got Power Manager and paid 62p on the puter link cos it declined my card on phone. turned out to not be registered with Google wallet but typically goes all around the houses without telling you straight. I`d tried the trial and it`s well worth the considerable expense. I put all my apps on and especially K9 Email, it`s the dogs wotsits! App2SD moved the apps that could be moved to the SD card and the phone is cooking on gas now. Got Titanium Backup and was brave, backed up 6 files then said stuff this for a game of soldiers. Paid just shy of £4 to license it, spam filter changed back on me and I lost it but they kindly resent after I proved I was me and me wasn`t you or him or her or them.

Right we`re cooking on rocket Fuel now, not gas. Phone is brilliant! thanks for helping all you guys and you know who, any guyesses too. Finally, tried Real Racing too and downloaded tween 400 and 500mb before I could play it. I did not expect much of an 800 CPU and low memory. the SFII played it brilliantly and no lag that I saw, great gameplay, fantastic graphics and no waiting around. Phone got very warm, phone power was well under control with Power Manager (and the car power too lol). Tried the video playback and it was superb so I had to splash my very limited funds again for £4.75 to get the full version. Done in minutes from the game too, very impressed.

Steve

Edited by Reider59, 25 December 2011 - 09:17 PM.

  • 1
*** Just remember, any ROM change, Kernel change or any other type of change you do is at your own risk. Someone helping you is not responsible for any risks you decide to take. It works for many but their are situations, events and errors outside of the control of a third party that may cause a bricked phone. Think before you start. I took the chance and thankfully it worked for me. Had it not then only I would have been to blame. ***

#158
snowbord

snowbord

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

OK. Have managed to get Flibblesan's rom on now. However, I went through the whole unlocking process again, and flashed the rom after I flashed the crescent file and the kernel back on. I still can't get into cwm recovery (orange writing?). It just keeps going into stock(?) recovery (blue writing? and no select button!!). Also, when I boot holding the power and vol+ buttons, nothing seems to happen? even after a minute or so. The only way I can get into recovery is thru rom manager, but that takes it back to stock recovery (blue writing). Anyway, it's the wife's phone (Xmas pressie!!) and I've done what I needed to. So thanks for everyone's help on this thread.


When you unlock, CWM is installed on the system partition from what I can tell. When you install a ROM, this gets erased, hence no CWM. TPT flash your phone with the 160 system, 40mb cache layout. The TPT includes CWM as part of the appropriate partition, so it will not get erased and you will be able to change rom with ease.

http://android.modac...-vivacity-tpts/

Best way to flash TPT - unarc so you have an image/ directory on your SD card, then run a ROM, go to settings / about / system upgrade and let it do it's thing.  The phone will then reboot into CWM which will have been permanently installed on your phone.  Flash the rom again and you are all done, with CWM permanently installed, with the added bonus of having optimised app storage  space.

Edited by snowbord, 26 December 2011 - 03:18 PM.

  • 2

#159
brewskeyboy

brewskeyboy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi all,

Thanks for your guide. With a lot of time and effort, I finally got my SFII unlocked. However there are some issues with the debranded ROM I used and I'd like to switch to the stock ROM. I didn't want to mess it up at this point, so if someone can explain how to change the ROM in very beginner instructions, I'd be very thankful. I'm a real noob to all this, sorry!

Merry Christmas!

Thanks
Will

  • 0

#160
Thomas J Marshall

Thomas J Marshall

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent

Hi all,

Thanks for your guide. With a lot of time and effort, I finally got my SFII unlocked. However there are some issues with the debranded ROM I used and I'd like to switch to the stock ROM. I didn't want to mess it up at this point, so if someone can explain how to change the ROM in very beginner instructions, I'd be very thankful. I'm a real noob to all this, sorry!

Merry Christmas!

Thanks
Will

Will, I hope to unlock my SF2, if I can get windows to recognise the phone! What issues are there with the debranded rom?

Edited by Thomas J Marshall, 26 December 2011 - 05:22 PM.

  • 0
Thomas J Marshall




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users