Jump to content


Photo

Vivacity Unlock Code question

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
TurboGP

TurboGP

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
How come sites like http://www.unlockall...e-p-197499.html can unlock the phone via a code? Yet we have to dismantle the software to do it? To be honest, I'd rather pay for a code and not brick my phone by doing something that's not straight forward.

  • 0

#2
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,654 posts
I doubt very much that website can produce working codes for the devices. It doesn't even list the correct network for the device.

On the Skate forum people have purchased these sort of unlocked and either got ripped off or got codes that didn't work.

  • 0

#3
TurboGP

TurboGP

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
It has the correct network in the dropdown menu.

I doubt very much that website can produce working codes for the devices. It doesn't even list the correct network for the device.

On the Skate forum people have purchased these sort of unlocked and either got ripped off or got codes that didn't work.


  • 0

#4
lordjubblydave

lordjubblydave

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Essex
  • Devices:M8-MotoG-GPad_8.3
  • Twitter:@jubblydave
Try it then.
Let us know the outcome :)
Good Luck

It has the correct network in the dropdown menu.





  • 0

#5
Enimaxi

Enimaxi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nokia N95, ZTE Crescent (SFII)
  • Twitter:@N/A

something that's not straight forward.

What do you mean with not straight forward? Unlocking your device doesn't mean you have to be a computer nerd or anything. Just read through the relevant topics here on this forum and familiarize yourself with the whole environment. You'll get the hang of the basics within a day of reading. After that unlocking your device is a piece of cake!


  • 0

#6
Atomix86

Atomix86

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:See sig
These sites are notorious for advertising unlocks they don't have, and after you pay they state its "coming soon and we'll email you when it arrives!", its the same as those companies advertising ios jailbreaks that aren't yet available. In reality all they do is wait for real sites to find the unlocks then leech and charge for it.

In other words steer very well clear, learn yourself how to unlock via sites such as modaco, and pop £5 into the finders paypal as a thanks ;).

  • 0
Nasty budget phones, begone! Hello sexy brand new Galaxy S2!

#7
TurboGP

TurboGP

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
I see this site littered with bricked phones and people stuck left right and center. That tells me how easy it is.

Just looked at the instructions for unlocking and the first part mentions clockowork recovery twice yet at no point does it mention that it needs installing. lol. No wonder that thread is full of bricked phones.

What do you mean with not straight forward? Unlocking your device doesn't mean you have to be a computer nerd or anything. Just read through the relevant topics here on this forum and familiarize yourself with the whole environment. You'll get the hang of the basics within a day of reading. After that unlocking your device is a piece of cake!



Edited by TurboGP, 08 December 2011 - 04:04 PM.

  • 0

#8
unrandomsam

unrandomsam

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 916 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:Xperia Play / Xoom / ZTE Blade

I see this site littered with bricked phones and people stuck left right and center. That tells me how easy it is.

Just looked at the instructions for unlocking and the first part mentions clockowork recovery twice yet at no point does it mention that it needs installing. lol. No wonder that thread is full of bricked phones.



Its pretty difficult to brick these phones. (Only way I can think of is using totally wrong files.)

  • 0

#9
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,654 posts

I see this site littered with bricked phones and people stuck left right and center. That tells me how easy it is.

Just looked at the instructions for unlocking and the first part mentions clockowork recovery twice yet at no point does it mention that it needs installing. lol. No wonder that thread is full of bricked phones.


It is made very clear in the unlocking guide how to install the recovery image.

The threads aren't full of bricked phones. Very few people have bricked the devices and these only happened because people fail to read instructions. Follow the instructions and unlocking the device is extremely quick, easy and simple.

Feel free to pay for the magic unlock code from this clearly dodgy website (are you affiliated with the website since you are standing up for them so much).

  • 0

#10
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,654 posts

Its pretty difficult to brick these phones. (Only way I can think of is using totally wrong files.)


And skipping steps which a few people have done. It pays not to rush and follow instructions.

  • 0

#11
TurboGP

TurboGP

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
For the record I've no intention of using the said site to unlock my phone. Was just curious as to how they can offer a code. How do tmobile unlock your phone if you request that?

Also, out of curiosity, I looked at the so easy instructions for 'Unlocking Your Phone said:' and I get to the fourth step and it says 'If your see Clockwork Mod....' Ok. at no point in the previous three instructions does it mention a single thing about installing this. It also mentions it twice more before the end. If this Clockwork mod is so important to the process, shouldnt it be mentioned to be installed at some point early on? Rather than 'oh if you havent got this program that we've mentioned jack about, now is the time to install it'

That's not meant to sound that sarcastic but it's to demonstrate how confusing the instructions are if you dont do this every day. And even if you do, doesnt mean you wont be taking your first attempt back to the shop does it.

Edited by TurboGP, 10 December 2011 - 02:14 AM.

  • 0

#12
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
T-Mobile won't unlock it.

Clockwork is installed in the transfer process that uses "unlock.zip". Did you notice that this is downloaded to the phone? What did you think happens? That is why, when you re-boot, it boots into clockwork mod when you hold down "volume -" while powering on, instead of displaying "FTM".

Capiche?

Edited by fr0do, 10 December 2011 - 07:21 AM.

  • 0

Posted Image


#13
ROMZERO

ROMZERO

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edinburgh
  • Interests:Tech and that
  • Devices:Galaxy S2 ICS, Skate
got it

T-Mobile won't unlock it.

Clockwork is installed in the transfer process that uses "unlock.zip". Did you notice that this is downloaded to the phone? What did you think happens? That is why, when you re-boot, it boots into clockwork mod when you hold down "volume -" while powering on, instead of displaying "FTM".

Capiche?


Edited by ROMZERO, 11 December 2011 - 11:28 PM.

  • 0

#14
unrandomsam

unrandomsam

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 916 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:Xperia Play / Xoom / ZTE Blade
The reason I set it up like I did was to save time flashing (and uploading).

clockworkmod is installed as boot.img but the stock recovery is left as recovery.img

Its vital that the stock recovery is in recovery during the process otherwise it will stick at 98% and you get the reset message.

(I have not tested what happens if you just quit it at that point and just restore the nvitems with QPST).

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users