Jump to content


Photo

[FAQ] Rooting for beginners. [UPDATED 24-02-13]

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
295 replies to this topic

#21
Atomix86

Atomix86

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:See sig

thank You for quick response. I tried before with norenaming .zip as I downloaded, and still dont working. A is wrote above i choose: install .zip from sdcard, then choose zip from sdcard then /ROMS/atomic-2.0.zip. Still i see report in CWM: "finding update package, opening update package, istaling update and Instalation aborted". You think that upgrade CWM changing something?

Have you checked to make sure the zip isn't corrupted?

  • 0
Nasty budget phones, begone! Hello sexy brand new Galaxy S2!

#22
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

thank You for quick response. I tried before with norenaming .zip as I downloaded, and still dont working. A is wrote above i choose: install .zip from sdcard, then choose zip from sdcard then /ROMS/atomic-2.0.zip. Still i see report in CWM: "finding update package, opening update package, istaling update and Instalation aborted". You think that upgrade CWM changing something?

I would like try with cm7 but when i dowloaded the two last version, they have diffierent md5, which tilal6991 give .

I downloaded once agine cm7, md5 are the same, and now innstalation is complete!:-)



Glad you fixed it :) sometimes re-downloading a ROM solves the problem.


  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#23
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB
I've added superboot in part 4.


I changed all the pictures and the clockworkmod is 4.0.1.5 now instaid of 4.0.1.4


The layout was f*cked, so i had to change it all. sometimes there could be a space missing between 2 words.


Edited by Wacky.ddw, 20 December 2011 - 07:55 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#24
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,639 posts
Gave this a sticky. Really nicely done guide!

  • 0

#25
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

Gave this a sticky. Really nicely done guide!


Thanks :D i hope people will read this before they start asking questions;

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#26
slear

slear

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi everyone, yesterday I recieve Medion P4310 and I have a few questions... Is this "Super User" like Unlock the phone, because the phone is locked to work with german operator, but I want to use it in Bulgaria, and if it's not, how can I unlock the phone to work with other sim cards ?? :) 10x everyone

  • 0

#27
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

Hi everyone, yesterday I recieve Medion P4310 and I have a few questions... Is this "Super User" like Unlock the phone, because the phone is locked to work with german operator, but I want to use it in Bulgaria, and if it's not, how can I unlock the phone to work with other sim cards ?? :) 10x everyone


Hi i also have the Medion P4310 and its not simlocked I use it in Belgium.

And no super user is not unlocking, the links for unlocking ar at the bottom in the links section.

I dont think there are simlocked Medion phones. Have you tried putting a new sim in LOL :P



Edited by Wacky.ddw, 24 December 2011 - 12:25 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#28
Hologos

Hologos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I think you should let users know that after rooting, wifi stop working.

  • 0

#29
Atomix86

Atomix86

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:See sig

I think you should let users know that after rooting, wifi stop working.

No, it does not.

  • 0
Nasty budget phones, begone! Hello sexy brand new Galaxy S2!

#30
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

I think you should let users know that after rooting, wifi stop working.



what are you talking about Posted Image After unlocking maybe, but rooting is pretty safe :P

Maybe you are mistaking rooting with, sim unlocking. The only thing that could happen is that your phone gets in a bootloop if you do superboot for the wrong android version. And i warned people so if you just follow this tutorial you should be fine.

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 25 December 2011 - 04:39 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#31
Hologos

Hologos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

what are you talking about Posted Image After unlocking maybe, but rooting is pretty safe :P

Maybe you are mistaking rooting with, sim unlocking. The only thing that could happen is that your phone gets in a bootloop if you do superboot for the wrong android version. And i warned people so if you just follow this tutorial you should be fine.


Dude, Im not mistaking anything.. I followed the guide step by step and after rooting, wifi stopped working. Since it's not my phone Ive done some research and I found on the internet that it does mess something in kernel.
So I flashed back to Stock ROM but with ROOT and CWM included.

This was the build on the phone before I tried to root it:
Posted Image

I'm just saying that if it happened to me it can happen to someone else. And people should be aware of that.

Edited by Hologos, 25 December 2011 - 05:10 PM.

  • 0

#32
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB
Ok i believe you.

Did you change your rom or did you do superboot? And did you solve this yet. If not try flashing a other ROM and see if that soved it.

If other people also have this problem i will add it to the tutorial, but this is the package from a other topic wich has 13 pages and no one reported this problem.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#33
Hologos

Hologos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Ok i believe you.

Did you change your rom or did you do superboot? And did you solve this yet. If not try flashing a other ROM and see if that soved it.

If other people also have this problem i will add it to the tutorial, but this is the package from a other topic wich has 13 pages and no one reported this problem.


All I did was:
1) installed all necessery drivers
2) ran 1_Install_Android_2.3.5_root.bat

when the phone booted, I couldnt start up Wifi. I went to Settings -> Wireless
and under the checkbox in Wi-Fi column there was ERROR.

So I downloaded stock ROM (it was modified - root was already included and cwm too) and flashed it.
All data in the phone were lost but nothing important since it was sinced and apps can be downloaded again.

  • 0

#34
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB
Weird Posted Image

I have a other build, for me and others it worked without problems. But i did clockworkmod first and changed ROM.

I only tried superboot afterwards in purpose of the tutorial, since i dont understand why people would stay at the slow and crappy stock orange or ZTE ROM.

imo flashing clockworkmod and custom ROMs is the way to go.

If other people also report this problem i wil edit the tutorial.

Anyway im glad you solved it :)


Edited by Wacky.ddw, 25 December 2011 - 07:24 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#35
Atomix86

Atomix86

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:See sig

All I did was:
1) installed all necessery drivers
2) ran 1_Install_Android_2.3.5_root.bat

when the phone booted, I couldnt start up Wifi. I went to Settings -> Wireless
and under the checkbox in Wi-Fi column there was ERROR.

So I downloaded stock ROM (it was modified - root was already included and cwm too) and flashed it.
All data in the phone were lost but nothing important since it was sinced and apps can be downloaded again.

You probably used the 2.3.5 superboot that has the wifi error. Look later in the thread for the fixed one.

  • 0
Nasty budget phones, begone! Hello sexy brand new Galaxy S2!

#36
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

You probably used the 2.3.5 superboot that has the wifi error. Look later in the thread for the fixed one.


Ok thats my bad then, the link in the tutorial is the one with the wifi error then. I will change the links.

My apologies

Edit: yea they are talking about the same problem HERE



Edited by Wacky.ddw, 25 December 2011 - 08:13 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#37
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

Part 4) Installing Superboot for beginners. (Johnny Hung’s package)

Please check your android version first. Go to: “Settings > About phone > Android version” Only continue if you have “2.3.4” of “2.3.5” else you could get your phone in a bootloop. If the version matches download this package: LINK


I changed the link in the part i quoted, that should be the right one.

But johnny hung uploaded a separate “super2root.img” in this post: LINK. Should i download that and replace it with the one in the package and reupload that. Or was that just a fix for that person?

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 25 December 2011 - 08:46 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#38
Hologos

Hologos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

I changed the link in the part i quoted, that should be the right one.

But johnny hung uploaded a separate “super2root.img” in this post: LINK. Should i download that and replace it with the one in the package and reupload that. Or was that just a fix for that person?


This is the first time I have encountered with ZTE device and it's my mother's.
I don't know ZTE much so I'm afraid there is high chance it becomes damaged.
And I don't want to lose warranty (from my friends stories I heard techs doesn't look for Superuser app but they look for Custom ROMs).
That's why I don't want to change ROM.

  • 0

#39
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB
You would have to do much to completely brick it, if you have clockworkmod installed you also lose your warranty.

Imagine you need to send it back for warranty purposes, they hang the phone to their computer and reboot into recovery and see the stock recovery is replaced with clockworkmod. I guess they won’t give you warranty either. Then when they boot they get things like bla bla granted by super user…

If you ever want to go back to complete stock you can follow the part on that in my tutorial. Oryou could download a TPT put it on your SD card power on with volume + and power.

I recommend you completely unroot it before you send it back .

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 25 December 2011 - 09:35 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#40
Pia23

Pia23

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
I'm so confused, when i had my OSF all i did was download Universal Androot & Titanium as I just wanted to delete the Orange crap. This is so much more complex and I've downloaded the drivers, the phone rebooted etc but i can't see any Clockwork Mod on my phone. And it shows in device manager as ADB Interface, not what was said above.

Also don't want to risk losing Wi-fi as I'm probably too noob to fix it.

Is there not a more straight forward way to just delete the stock apps?!

Btw the guide is great really grateful for the work that's gone into it, I am just a worrier and don't want to break my new phone.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users