Jump to content


Photo

[FAQ] Rooting for beginners. [UPDATED 24-02-13]

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
295 replies to this topic

#61
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
hello every body

i have a montecarlo phone from optimus (zte skate i think) with 2.3.5 and i´m completely rooky in this area .

i allready flash the recovery with the tutorial in the 1ª page, and i have some doubt about a few things, can i root the phone with the same tutorial and stay in the stock rom?

it is safe to do the tutorial? i read that i will lost the wifi, is this true or it is all ready fixed with the current links to 2.3.5? If i flash a cyanogenmod 7 it is all ready rooted and if i go back to stock rom it remains rooted?

sorry for all the questions and my bad english.


  • 0

#62
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

hello every body

i have a montecarlo phone from optimus (zte skate i think) with 2.3.5 and i´m completely rooky in this area .

i allready flash the recovery with the tutorial in the 1ª page, and i have some doubt about a few things, can i root the phone with the same tutorial and stay in the stock rom?

it is safe to do the tutorial? i read that i will lost the wifi, is this true or it is all ready fixed with the current links to 2.3.5? If i flash a cyanogenmod 7 it is all ready rooted and if i go back to stock rom it remains rooted?

sorry for all the questions and my bad english.



Fist rooting and changing ROM is a different thing. If you want to change to cyanogenmod or better Atomic, you can flash a ROM without having to follow the rooting part of the tutorial. Its in the index which part that is. :)

The second question: Yea it is safe but the package is currently offline. The one that you should use with this tutorial doesnt break the wifi, but the link is offline and i dont have it on my computer anymore. So i have to wait till someone upload's it again. Or the megaupload server goes back online. But again if you want to change your rom just flash a ROM trough clockworkmod it is in the tutorial.

You can allways try to download it here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=3QHBRBJ9

the 3th question: No root is ROM dependent, so if you flash back to a ROM that doesnt have super user installed to it root wil be gone. So if you flash back to stock rom you wil have your full waranty back, i guess thats why you want to know right?

There answers might not be 100% acurate but its explained so you could understand :)

I hope this makes things more clear?

btw: your english is fine, mine isnt better :)






Edited by Wacky.ddw, 03 January 2012 - 02:25 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#63
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
thank you for the faster answer

yes if i go back is for have my full warranty back, if something happen to the phone.

another thing can i flash back with the image to wave the recovery stock, for example, i have an original stock rom of the montecarlo, i opened and i saw a recovery.img , is this the image of the original recovery? is the recovery stock the same for all the montecarlo ?

Edited by hacrn, 03 January 2012 - 05:03 PM.

  • 0

#64
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

thank you for the faster answer

yes if i go back is for have my full warranty back, if something happen to the phone.

another thing can i flash back with the image to wave the recovery stock, for example, i have an original stock rom of the montecarlo, i opened and i saw a recovery.img , is this the image of the original recovery? is the recovery stock the same for all the montecarlo ?


I guess so, i have the P4310 model that is only sold in germany. We dumped the full ROM and the recovery was the same as the one in the monte carlo sold in england. But if you want to be sure download a app to see your stock build, and post it here.

Normally there should be a stock backup for your phone, so if you just flash those partitions back after you changed your Rom, you wil have full waranty.

Since you allready have clockworkmod you can can try and find the backup for your phone and flash only the recovery back.

But if the package you said is the same as your phone then yes that is your original recovery.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#65
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

I guess so, i have the P4310 model that is only sold in germany. We dumped the full ROM and the recovery was the same as the one in the monte carlo sold in england. But if you want to be sure download a app to see your stock build, and post it here.

Normally there should be a stock backup for your phone, so if you just flash those partitions back after you changed your Rom, you wil have full waranty.

Since you allready have clockworkmod you can can try and find the backup for your phone and flash only the recovery back.

But if the package you said is the same as your phone then yes that is your original recovery.


the file i sad ishere the one "OPT_P743TV1.0.0B09" and this line "ro.build.software_version=OPT_P743TV1.0.0B03" is the same on my phone so i presume that is the original stock rom, but my question is if i can with "adb" flash only the file that says recovery.img in the package?

  • 0

#66
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
do you have a custom rom instaled in your phone? witch one?

with my backup done by clockwork when i restore, it wil restore everything, contacts, sms, aplications etc?

thanks for your´s awnsers


  • 0

#67
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

do you have a custom rom instaled in your phone? witch one?

with my backup done by clockwork when i restore, it wil restore everything, contacts, sms, aplications etc?

thanks for your´s awnsers



Yea a nandroid backup (clockworkmod one) will restore everything except your recovery partition, and your first bootscreen (splash.img) but the splash.img is the backup you made.

So if you flash a ROM like Cyanogenmod or Atomic you change all settings add contacts etc you can make a backup and go back to it later. Its quite handy this way you can switch easely between ROMs.

I recommend Atomic but i switch constantly :)



  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#68
razzmataz1478

razzmataz1478

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HULL
  • Interests:Flashing ROMs, Being distracted by my skate
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Hi

If I'm stuck at the bootloader after my first boot into Atomic, what do i need to do?

Edit: Did the 4th wipe worked :)

Edited by razzmataz1478, 04 January 2012 - 03:00 PM.

  • 0

Posted Image

Current Phone:

Xperia T


Previous Phones:

Orange Monte Carlo

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic (Nokia C6-00 CFW)

Sony Ericsson v640i

Nokia 3120

Various other Nokia phones.

Not the best history of phones Posted Image


#69
Josh92

Josh92

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Hi I'm also stuck, install says completed but getting stuck on the boot screen. Have tried 4th format with no luck..
Using Atomic v3.C.

EDIT: And spoke too soon... Re did the formatting and install and all seems ok thrusfar. Thanks!

Edited by Josh92, 04 January 2012 - 06:49 PM.

  • 0
Currently Running: ColdFusionX 2 - Jelly Bean (16/07/12 build) Alt: Mokee v1.10

#70
Josh92

Josh92

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Just wanted to thank Diehard and everyone else involved in making these tutorials/mods/customs roms etc. Found this tutorial well written to follow. Cheers!Posted Image

  • 0
Currently Running: ColdFusionX 2 - Jelly Bean (16/07/12 build) Alt: Mokee v1.10

#71
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

I dont have it on this computer, im going to see if i have it on my other computer.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=D7NKE5AR

Thats the wrong link, it works but your wifi wont work afterwards i will ask johnny hung if he could reupload it :)


i have one that i download from here but i don´t now if is the old one or the right one.



  • 0

#72
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Fist rooting and changing ROM is a different thing. If you want to change to cyanogenmod or better Atomic, you can flash a ROM without having to follow the rooting part of the tutorial. Its in the index which part that is. :)

The second question: Yea it is safe but the package is currently offline. The one that you should use with this tutorial doesnt break the wifi, but the link is offline and i dont have it on my computer anymore. So i have to wait till someone upload's it again. Or the megaupload server goes back online. But again if you want to change your rom just flash a ROM trough clockworkmod it is in the tutorial.

You can allways try to download it here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=3QHBRBJ9

the 3th question: No root is ROM dependent, so if you flash back to a ROM that doesnt have super user installed to it root wil be gone. So if you flash back to stock rom you wil have your full waranty back, i guess thats why you want to know right?

There answers might not be 100% acurate but its explained so you could understand :)

I hope this makes things more clear?

btw: your english is fine, mine isnt better :)


hi

i make with this download and now i have superuser instaled but i don´t have wifi , it tell me an error what do i do?






  • 0

#73
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
sorry for my last post

i done the superuser procedure and now i don´t have wifi, i anote the adress in my book , how can i fixet it?


  • 0

#74
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

sorry for my last post

i done the superuser procedure and now i don´t have wifi, i anote the adress in my book , how can i fixet it?




Its an easy fix, just take the boot.img from your stock backup and flash it trough fastboot. How to do it is on the first page in part 8

So just take the backup put the boot.img in the adb folder and do "adb reboot bootloader" > "fastboot flash boot boot.img"



  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#75
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Its an easy fix, just take the boot.img from your stock backup and flash it trough fastboot. How to do it is on the first page in part 8

So just take the backup put the boot.img in the adb folder and do "adb reboot bootloader" > "fastboot flash boot boot.img"



thankyou i will try

  • 0

#76
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

thankyou i will try


Yea im sorry the right package is offline, megaupload says its currently un available for a week now.



  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#77
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(
>>>> LINKS ARE BACK ONLINE <<<<
This package will not break your wifi, i made a mirror.

If you allready used the wrong package and your wifi isnt working anymore, just flash back your original boot.img partition like mentioned in the tutorial.

Or restore your clockworkmod backup from before your rooted, and do it again with the new package.



>>>> I UPDATED THE TUTORIAL <<<<

Some things should be easyer to understand. I updated the rooting explaination, changed the TPT part and added a video and i added links to new roms :)

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 05 January 2012 - 01:34 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#78
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
so in the part 2 there is a link and a mirror are all 2 the same package or only the mirror link?

  • 0

#79
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:None :(

so in the part 2 there is a link and a mirror are all 2 the same package or only the mirror link?


Its all the same package :) just restore your clockworkmod backup if you have one and run the package again. Or just flash the boot.img from your backup.

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 05 January 2012 - 01:54 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#80
hacrn

hacrn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Its all the same package :) just restore your clockworkmod backup if you have one and run the package again. Or just flash the boot.img from your backup.

hi

they do the same thing brick the wifi i had to flash the boot , but initial screen was cool "google" can you tell me how can i change the orange screen to that? 

Edited by hacrn, 05 January 2012 - 07:28 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users