Jump to content


Photo

[FAQ] Rooting for beginners. [UPDATED 24-02-13]

* * * * * 5 votes

295 replies to this topic

#101
xa4123

xa4123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Thx for this great tutorial. I have a Medion P4310 and I managed to install clockwork and superuser, but now I have some questions :
* How can I backup and restore a system app like "Medion navigation app" after installing a new ROM. With Titanium Backup you need the pro version to activate "system app migration" to do so. I guess I'll have to pay for the pro version, but the migration option is experimental. Does anyone have experience with this ?
* How can I install the kernel module "tun.ko" for cisco anyconnect vpn ? The tun.ko installer app on the market didn't recognize my Medion Phone. I could install Cyanogenmod and use openvpn, but before I do so, see question above.
I need cisco anyconnect or openvpn to connect to the university WIFI. Actually, I don't understand why vpn-connections are so difficult with android phones, while its no problem with Iphones. Maybe its fixed in ICS ?

  • 0

#102
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB
Google navigation and Medion navigation is the same thing :) its both free it gives you gps location but you need mobile internet ...

Medion navigation is just a re-skinned version of google navigation so its useless to want it back :) I also wanted to know this in the beginning.

If you want apps you can google mobilism market but you have to search for your self because piracy is not alowed here :)

Hope it helps :)

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 10 January 2012 - 02:40 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#103
xa4123

xa4123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
OK, thx man .. I'll go on with Cyanogen then ...


Google navigation and Medion navigation is the same thing :) its both free it gives you gps location but you need mobile internet ...

Medion navigation is just a re-skinned version of google navigation so its useless to want it back :) I also wanted to know this in the beginning.

If you want apps you can google mobilism market but you have to search for your self because piracy is not alowed here :)

Hope it helps :)


  • 0

#104
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Ok I am making some splash now,one problem,when saving,I can see no advanced tab?

edit: got it

Edited by jikobutsu, 11 January 2012 - 10:41 PM.

  • 0

#105
FoxVictor.be

FoxVictor.be

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Truiden, Belgium
  • Devices:SGSIII
  • Twitter:@fvanstra

Part 12b) Flashing splash/boot animation.

Now download this file: LINK this is a flashable clockworkmod .zip if you only want to change your splash screen then replace the "splash.bmp" file and delete the "bootanimation.zip" from the zip you downloaded.



Well, made my own splash.bmp, replaced the one in the linked zip file, transferred it to the OMC. Then flashed it with CWM, to find out the zip won't flash because it is looking for a blade (OSF)? Is there a zip available for the skate as well?

Greetz!


  • 0

i9300 - CM11Nightlies - Boeffla2.2 - CWM6.0.4.7


#106
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

Well, made my own splash.bmp, replaced the one in the linked zip file, transferred it to the OMC. Then flashed it with CWM, to find out the zip won't flash because it is looking for a blade (OSF)? Is there a zip available for the skate as well?

Greetz!


Are u sure you used the right file? "zxandroidboot.zip" if it still doesnt work you can try one of these: http://android.modac...h-screens-here/

(If you use one of the .zips from the link dont take the stock ZTE & Medion files, they have .img files inside instaid of .bmp files.)

Good luck :)

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 13 January 2012 - 02:25 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#107
hedy18

hedy18

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:ZTE V9

Are u sure you used the right file? "zxandroidboot.zip" if it still doesnt work you can try one of these: http://android.modac...h-screens-here/

(If you use one of the .zips from the link dont take the stock ZTE & Medion files, they have .img files inside instaid of .bmp files.)

Good luck :)


Hi dear... im in big trouble i tried this blog the few steps on http://android.modac...ng-a-zte-blade/ method 5 i found out that this was ZTE blade..n not V9.. my phone is not powering up only the red led bkink when removed the battery an plug it in again. please help.. PM on [email protected]

  • 0

#108
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

Hi dear... im in big trouble i tried this blog the few steps on http://android.modac...ng-a-zte-blade/ method 5 i found out that this was ZTE blade..n not V9.. my phone is not powering up only the red led bkink when removed the battery an plug it in again. please help.. PM on [email protected]


So you have a ZTE skate not a ZTE blade?

Try part 10 of this tutorial with this package:"Great Britain Monte carlo T card upgrading instruction & software package" LINK This is a mirror of the official TPT of ZTE's website.

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 16 January 2012 - 05:54 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#109
the-cypress

the-cypress

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:zte skate
Hi everyone,

Im following the tuturial but i'm stuck on the very beggining. The problem is that i can't make the computer to comunicate with the Zte Skate.

-When i run the file "0_Install_CWM_recovery" The console appears and stops with the message"<waiting for device>", and the phone is stuck at the green droid logo.

-When i open the device manager i don't see a Android Phone, just Other Device with a sub folder Android.

-When i try to browse the file "android_winusb" it doesn't appear inside the folder "google_usb_driver", only the folders "amd64" and "i386".

I tried to use both vista and windows 7 OS to do this...same problem on both.

I'm sure it is simple to solve the problem.

Thanx for your help.

Edited by the-cypress, 19 January 2012 - 03:47 PM.

  • 0

#110
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

Hi everyone,

Im following the tuturial but i'm stuck on the very beggining. The problem is that i can't make the computer to comunicate with the Zte Skate.

-When i run the file "0_Install_CWM_recovery" The console appears and stops with the message"<waiting for device>", and the phone is stuck at the green droid logo.

-When i open the device manager i don't see a Android Phone, just Other Device with a sub folder Android.

-When i try to browse the file "android_winusb" it doesn't appear inside the folder "google_usb_driver", only the folders "amd64" and "i386".

I tried to use both vista and windows 7 OS to do this...same problem on both.

I'm sure it is simple to solve the problem.

Thanx for your help.


I think you are doing something wrong here is how you do it on windows 7:
http://www.addictive...-windows-vista/



  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#111
the-cypress

the-cypress

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:zte skate

I think you are doing something wrong here is how you do it on windows 7:
http://www.addictive...-windows-vista/




Thank you Wacky,

That is exactly what i'm doing...the problem is when i select the folder "google_usb_driver" i can't select "android_winusb" because it doesn't appear, as it doesn't recognize the file...it's strange

Edited by the-cypress, 19 January 2012 - 07:01 PM.

  • 0

#112
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

Thank you Wacky,

That is exactly what i'm doing...the problem is when i select the folder "google_usb_driver" i can't select "android_winusb" because it doesn't appear, as it doesn't recognize the file...it's strange



When you are here click the second one, then click "all devices" then the next screen it will ask you to browse to the driver

So click "let me pick bla bla" not browse :)


Posted Image

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 19 January 2012 - 08:39 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#113
the-cypress

the-cypress

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:zte skate

When you are here click the second one, then click "all devices" then the next screen it will ask you to browse to the driver

So click "let me pick bla bla" not browse :)


Posted Image


Great,

Problem solved...Thank you very much Wacky...Can't wait to start installing the Atomic Rom ;)

  • 0

#114
PejotA

PejotA

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Osasco - S.P Brasil
  • Devices:Zte Skate V960 Ice Armor
  • Twitter:@Pajorve
Fantastic Tópic....

Great work ...guy

Really really very good !

Thanks , thanks, thanks !

Sorry ...my english is a very bad...ehehehe

Posted Image

  • 0

#115
Anthony1989

Anthony1989

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool
  • Interests:Football, Gaming, Drinks, Girls!, Phones
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo / ZTE Skate
--

Edited by Anthony1989, 24 January 2012 - 06:44 PM.

  • 0

#116
ziofunk

ziofunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

You cant backup your whole phone :) thats why i state in the beginning you have to look what your stock is and see if there is a backup available.

You allways need two of the same phone's

One phone where you change the boot image, so you can dump "recovery.img, system.img, splash.img"
One phone where you cange the recovery, so you can dump the boot.img

And if you put the dumps from these 2 phones togetter you have a full dump :)

So conclussion, unless you still have a untouched phone of the same kind its not possible. But most stock ROMs are allready available.


Hi, I have a ZTE Skate with an apparently uncommon stock ROM (GB_MODELABS_P743V1.0.0B01). So I'd like to backup the whole phone before starting installing clockworkmod. I might be able to find another identical phone.
Is there a tutorial or more information available about how backing up all the needed images? Thanks.

  • 0

#117
Wacky.ddw

Wacky.ddw

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint-Niklaas (Belgium)
  • Devices:Xiaomi MI-2s 32GB

Edited by Wacky.ddw, 27 January 2012 - 12:13 PM.

  • 0

>>>> [FAQ] Rooting for beginners <<<<

Tutorial on installing installing Superboot and Clockworkmod.

Changing bootscreen, how to unbrick and more.

[UPDATED 26-02-2012]



#118
bartvdv

bartvdv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
for those who can't install the

windows 7 usb android driver


look for "android usb driver rev4"

for instance here is a working link and I assume there are many more

http://drivers.softp...Revision4.shtml

perhaps it is better to reffer to this one in the original topic ;-)

http://drivers.softp...=139077&t=4&i=1

Edited by bartvdv, 27 January 2012 - 01:14 PM.

  • 0

#119
migmid

migmid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Thanks a lot man, i was bricked my phone during install a rom and the part 9a) of your faq saves me thanks again and great job

  • 0

#120
mrrog

mrrog

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E2, omc, nexus7

followed this guide and now have cyonagen 7 installed and running a treat . Thank you so much for all the work you must do
:)

BTW my screen goes off when i make a call now and comes back when i finish , it didnt do that on the orange stock rom :S
just need to see now how to get link2sd working and get bigger card

:)
btw i installed CWM when i unlocked using this guide

http://android.modac...-tutorial-here/


can I just be clear what is going on here, I used the giffgaff tutorial to unlock my omc and hence did not follow the optional part at the end of tillal's tutorial, though I still have all the files so I assume I am still able to run this final operation, but my query is this:-

is this rooting the phone, it seems too easy after reading this thread and wacky's tutorial, the reason I am asking is this equivalent to rooting is because on the 'addictivetips' site they seem to be saying the phone has to be rooted to install CWM "Your phone must be rooted prior to the installation of ClockworkMod." http://www.addictive...-android-phone/


?

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users