Unlocking/rooting SFII using mac not PC?

Guest cheerfulvicky

Guest cheerfulvicky

Hi everyone,

I'm a total newbie and bought a nice new SFII not long ago. Finding the bloatware really really annoying (I only have 45mb of space left on the phone!) plus I'd like to be able to unlock it without waiting 3 months as Orange demand.

I've read the step by step guides to rooting/unlocking and to be honest most of it goes over my head, but I think with enough careful reading I could probably manage to follow all the steps. Would very much like a dummies guide to the SFII like the TMV one that was posted earlier though :) My question is, do I need to use a PC to do the unlock, as I have a mac and no immediate access to a PC? From what I understand the instructions require a PC and I'm not sure if this is essential or just assumed as the computer of choice?

Has anyone managed to unlock this phone using a mac instead of a PC? Thanks.

Guest sej7278

Hi everyone,

I'm a total newbie and bought a nice new SFII not long ago. Finding the bloatware really really annoying (I only have 45mb of space left on the phone!) plus I'd like to be able to unlock it without waiting 3 months as Orange demand.

I've read the step by step guides to rooting/unlocking and to be honest most of it goes over my head, but I think with enough careful reading I could probably manage to follow all the steps. Would very much like a dummies guide to the SFII like the TMV one that was posted earlier though :) My question is, do I need to use a PC to do the unlock, as I have a mac and no immediate access to a PC? From what I understand the instructions require a PC and I'm not sure if this is essential or just assumed as the computer of choice?

Has anyone managed to unlock this phone using a mac instead of a PC? Thanks.

i was thinking the same about linux, i think someone has done it in virtualbox, but that still requires a copy of windows.

Guest BrideOfTheAtom