Jump to content


Photo

[ROM][ZTE Skate] SKatie by Ceco - Android 2.3.5 (DOLBY MOBILE NOW AVAILABLE!!!)

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
599 replies to this topic

#41
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5

the benefit of the TPT install is that it repartitions the internal memory so you get more space for apps no ?


Yes. By flashing it you will automatically get more than 90MB additional space for applications (compared to stock).

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#42
radiodaze

radiodaze

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OMC Skatie 2.4

I was able to reproduce the problem. For now I have no idea how to deal with this. Tried to debug - looks like parameter "Rock" is unknown to DSP manager - looks like bug in application itself but I am not sure - I need more time for this.
Anyway, maybe a little advice for you: If you find any of the app in the future starting to FC on you repeatedly after you make some kind of setting which application does not like, you don't need to reflash rom. Just go to Setting / Applications / Manage applications and locate you problem causing app, click on it you will see the screen with "Clear data" button. By pressing on it you will force that app to "forget" it's current setting and load it's default settings.


Thanks for the info Ceco. I did try that at the time but I couldn't find it running...maybe because I clicked on the forced close message first? Maybe I missed it. I did notice it running last night but I haven't even used it.

It's now the third day since I flashed this and despite messing about loading apps and getting familiar with the phone the battery still remains in good shape after 72 hours, when in sleep mode the drain is virtually undetectable.

Does the DSP work at all? - if so what setting do you recommend to 'enhance' the sound? Despite your tip I haven't messed with it in case I screw things up! Can I actually use the equaliser?

Will I benefit from the new patch? It seems to run fine for me as is, as does the Flash 10.2/157.3.40 apk I downloaded from the board a few weeks ago. Is your Flash link to another build and is that better?

One app I could get to work properly is RTE News Now. This is a live (not geo locked) news TV channel from Ireland. It uses an Android video protocol and the video works fine on my wife's San Fran. but it doesn't work on my OMC. I get a message saying 'Cannot Play This Video' - The rest of the app works except the useful bit!! Pity I didn't test it with the stock ROM. All other apps work 100%.

Sorry about all the questions! - I like this ROM a lot.

R

  • 0

#43
radiodaze

radiodaze

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OMC Skatie 2.4

Thanks for the info Ceco. I did try that at the time but I couldn't find it running...maybe because I clicked on the forced close message first? Maybe I missed it. I did notice it running last night but I haven't even used it.

It's now the third day since I flashed this and despite messing about loading apps and getting familiar with the phone the battery still remains in good shape after 72 hours, when in sleep mode the drain is virtually undetectable.

Does the DSP work at all? - if so what setting do you recommend to 'enhance' the sound? Despite your tip I haven't messed with it in case I screw things up! Can I actually use the equaliser?

Will I benefit from the new patch? It seems to run fine for me as is, as does the Flash 10.2/157.3.40 apk I downloaded from the board a few weeks ago. Is your Flash link to another build and is that better?

One app I could get to work properly is RTE News Now. This is a live (not geo locked) news TV channel from Ireland. It uses an Android video protocol and the video works fine on my wife's San Fran. but it doesn't work on my OMC. I get a message saying 'Cannot Play This Video' - The rest of the app works except the useful bit!! Pity I didn't test it with the stock ROM. All other apps work 100%.

Sorry about all the questions! - I like this ROM a lot.

R


UPDATE - Please ignore the comment about RTE News Now. I think this didn't work because of some missing video element / codec? I installed BS Player Lite and now it works fine!

Best

R

  • 0

#44
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5

Thanks for the info Ceco. I did try that at the time but I couldn't find it running...maybe because I clicked on the forced close message first? Maybe I missed it. I did notice it running last night but I haven't even used it.


You don't need to have the app runinng to clear its data. When in "Manages applications" menu, there is a top bar where
you can select to display All applications. No you will see everything, not just those that are running.


Does the DSP work at all? - if so what setting do you recommend to 'enhance' the sound? Despite your tip I haven't messed with it in case I screw things up! Can I actually use the equaliser?


I personally use it only when I'm listening to music. Depending on the headphones I use (Koss Porta Pro at this time) I just set the equalizer
to my preference and let it be and not playing with it too much. Only when I come accross something that is playing some kind of differently than what I was listening to before that (bad recordings, etc) So settings are really up to the users' preferences. The god thing is that if you make some settings they will be preserved even if you reboot.

Will I benefit from the new patch? It seems to run fine for me as is, as does the Flash 10.2/157.3.40 apk I downloaded from the board a few weeks ago. Is your Flash link to another build and is that better?


Patch (you kmean build.prop tweak?) really contains some good tweaks that should make the UI smoother (opening/closing animations, scrolling) and bring even better battery life (deep sleep, wifi scanning interval extended). If I decide to release the new version of the rom in the near future I will add this automatically.

Flash - it's the same one that can be found on this board in a dedicated topic.

BTW, talking about upgrades. My plan is to have upgrades in form of update zip and will only contain modified things. So small files, no need for wipes or factory reset. Looks like this is a good way - I have already done upgrade in such way for slovak version of the ROM from version 1.0 to version 1.1 - the update package had just about 8MB total size :)

Edited by C3C0, 14 January 2012 - 12:47 PM.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#45
radiodaze

radiodaze

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OMC Skatie 2.4

You don't need to have the app runinng to clear its data. When in "Manages applications" menu, there is a top bar where
you can select to display All applications. No you will see everything, not just those that are running.




I personally use it only when I'm listening to music. Depending on the headphones I use (Koss Porta Pro at this time) I just set the equalizer
to my preference and let it be and not playing with it too much. Only when I come accross something that is playing some kind of differently than what I was listening to before that (bad recordings, etc) So settings are really up to the users' preferences. The god thing is that if you make some settings they will be preserved even if you reboot.



Patch (you kmean build.prop tweak?) really contains some good tweaks that should make the UI smoother (opening/closing animations, scrolling) and bring even better battery life (deep sleep, wifi scanning interval extended). If I decide to release the new version of the rom in the near future I will add this automatically.

Flash - it's the same one that can be found on this board in a dedicated topic.

BTW, talking about upgrades. My plan is to have upgrades in form of update zip and will only contain modified things. So small files, no need for wipes or factory reset. Looks like this is a good way - I have already done upgrade in such way for slovak version of the ROM from version 1.0 to version 1.1 - the update package had just about 8MB total size :)


OK thanks for that Ceco. I'll give the equaliser a whirl. I will also install the prop tweak and report. BTW, the upgrade zip is exactly what I need. After spending hours tweaking I would hate to blow it all away and effectively 'start again',

I am having no issues with this ROM at all! Video, Voip speaker routing, proximity sensor etc...all the things that drove me insane with the San Fran are working great here.

R

  • 0

#46
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
FIX for DSP Manager Force Closes now avialable in the second post.

Well, not really. It works perfect without headset plugged in. As soon as you plug-in the headset
it starts to FC again. Damn it :)

Edited by C3C0, 14 January 2012 - 03:14 PM.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#47
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
New addon available that will replace DSP Manager with Equalizer since I was not able to manage the fix for it...

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#48
pablitobm88

pablitobm88

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Hi all

I'm writing from Spain using Google Translate:)

I tried the ROM and so far doing very well, for my use, is comparable to the Atomic and Cyanogen, but I would like to ask several things:


1. Could add AppWidgetPicker? I've added manualment but Cyanogen Atomic and take it as standard, and is something that greatly improves the aesthetics of the rom and I think will be useful to the entire world to reduce the list of wigdets


2. What advice would you give me to work the CPU?
Currently I carry Ondemand, max 902Mhz, 122Mhz and planned sio min. In my case I use the mobile to play, just use it for Internet, social networking and whatsapp

3. Could they be put more clearly visible icons of the status bar? It costs a lot to see good on the outside (I feel the same with the Atomic, but Cyanogen and Z3 Mobile Elite take them much more visible)

Thanks for your work

PS: I put a link to this rom in HTCmania (one of the best smartphones forums in Spain), I hope you do not mind

Edited by pablitobm88, 14 January 2012 - 04:19 PM.

  • 0

#49
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
Thank you for the valuable feedback :)

Pushed your ideas into stack and will take them into account when getting together new release.

Regarding overclocking: I also use the combination of Ondemand with bfq timer @ 902 MHz.
A very good setting that gives me great results is: Lagfree + cfq @ 902MHz.
But I have not compared if it eats more battery or not.

Can you give me the link to HTC Mania topic? Thank you.


Ceco.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#50
pablitobm88

pablitobm88

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Thank you for the valuable feedback :)

Pushed your ideas into stack and will take them into account when getting together new release.

Regarding overclocking: I also use the combination of Ondemand with bfq timer @ 902 MHz.
A very good setting that gives me great results is: Lagfree + cfq @ 902MHz.
But I have not compared if it eats more battery or not.

Can you give me the link to HTC Mania topic? Thank you.


Ceco.



General Information on Skate with roms and accessories section: http://www.htcmania....splay.php?f=543

Post specific about your rom: http://www.htcmania....ad.php?t=319031

Also I suggest you look a bit the rest of the forum, there are great developers for all phones and maybe you can get an idea that interests you

In the ROM HTCmania most valued by users for the Skate are the Z3 and Cyanogen, but I'm trying every new rom coming out and I assure you that yours is very well

Hopefully they start talking prontro your rom but the post still has a few hours in the forum


  • 0

#51
radiodaze

radiodaze

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OMC Skatie 2.4
Added Prop tweak and new equaliser and the phone is working great. I'm glad you're replaced the DSP Manager, I couldn't get it to work without multiple FC's. The add on zip removed the faulty DSP Manager and the new equaliser is working fine.

Thanks Ceco

R

  • 0

#52
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,687 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
I really would like to test this, but theres some things stopping me.

1. I don't like my TPT changed as I'm already on 160MB and with that I can use most of the other ROM's. It makes it easier to debug.
2. I don't like ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5 as the menus looks broken when compared to 4.0.1.4
3. I don't like the battery circle mod (I prefer something like Atomic's or this)
4. I prefer GO Launcher Ex
5. I have no need for K-9 Mail and can't remove it
6. I don't really need a data counter, and they say widgets slow things down so I'd probably use NetCounter
7. DSP Manager is broken so it'd be great to have Equalizer built in
8. Build.prop tweaks would be great built in

Tip: If you change the manufacturer in build.prop to HTC then the OMC/Skate is also able to play some HD games that it otherwise couldn't. That's a trick from Atomic.

So if you're looking for suggestions it'd be great if you could offer a .zip installation option, or another ROM that's close to stock but contains some of the above changes :P

I just like that this is really close to stock but has some extra work under the hood. I just wish all of the extra applications and modifications were addons, as that's something I think we're lacking between ROM choices. Nobody has made a ROM that looks like the stock ROM but gives you just the performance enhancements and then allows you the user to decide on the applications and appearance without unremovable stuff getting in the way.

Edited by H3ROS, 14 January 2012 - 10:11 PM.

  • 0
BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png
If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk

#53
domenico lamberti

domenico lamberti

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hastings
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent,HTC Explorer
  • Twitter:@Mobile_Dom
for some strange unknown reason, i have no data connectivity , it displays H in the top corner, indicating that there is HSDPA available, but when i go into settings, about device, status, it says its disconnected from the network, i have wiped and there is still the same problem

  • 0

#54
TouchyAndalou

TouchyAndalou

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 463 posts

for some strange unknown reason, i have no data connectivity , it displays H in the top corner, indicating that there is HSDPA available, but when i go into settings, about device, status, it says its disconnected from the network, i have wiped and there is still the same problem


You probably just have to set the APN settings for your network provider manually. I'm with giffgaff and I had to do this when I flashed this rom.

  • 0

#55
domenico lamberti

domenico lamberti

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hastings
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent,HTC Explorer
  • Twitter:@Mobile_Dom

You probably just have to set the APN settings for your network provider manually. I'm with giffgaff and I had to do this when I flashed this rom.


yeah i am with giffgaff aswell and i had to do it,not a big problem,just annoying

  • 0

#56
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5

I really would like to test this, but theres some things stopping me.

Thanks god we have a freedom of choice :)

1. I don't like my TPT changed as I'm already on 160MB and with that I can use most of the other ROM's. It makes it easier to debug.
2. I don't like ClockworkMod 4.0.1.5 as the menus looks broken when compared to 4.0.1.4
3. I don't like the battery circle mod (I prefer something like Atomic's or this)
4. I prefer GO Launcher Ex
5. I have no need for K-9 Mail and can't remove it
6. I don't really need a data counter, and they say widgets slow things down so I'd probably use NetCounter
7. DSP Manager is broken so it'd be great to have Equalizer built in
8. Build.prop tweaks would be great built in


A little explanation just to make thing more clear.

1) I wanted this rom to be kind of different than others and the main intent was to bring the easy installation. A lot of people are not willing
or skilled enough to go through all the pre-installation steps like installing recovery, etc.And I belive there is a lot of them.

2) Can you give me more info? If you mean a lot of NO options and one YES if confiriming certain actions it's not a bug but feature. Makes people be more aware of what they are doing and helps avoiding accidental confirming of non-undoable actions.

3) This is too subjective. A lot of people do.

4) Then use it :)

5) K-9 is a replacement for stock mail and is considered as one of the best email clients on market. Anyway, you can uninstall it.

6) Again, you have choice of not using it :)

7) there is already addon for this

8) Will be automatically part of next release

Tip: If you change the manufacturer in build.prop to HTC then the OMC/Skate is also able to play some HD games that it otherwise couldn't. That's a trick from Atomic.


This is a well known trick a lot of cooks are using (not just Atomic). But this is my conservative approach I was mentioning already in my previous posts. I own Audi A6 Avant. But I won't put the S6 label ont which looks cool but it just won't make a better car of it. In other words, I would like to avoid the situations where people are complaining about applications downloaded from market not functioning properly because they are designed for other devices/hardware.
If you really want to enjoy latest HD games go for better device. :)

I just like that this is really close to stock but has some extra work under the hood. I just wish all of the extra applications and modifications were addons, as that's something I think we're lacking between ROM choices. Nobody has made a ROM that looks like the stock ROM but gives you just the performance enhancements and then allows you the user to decide on the applications and appearance without unremovable stuff getting in the way.


Thanks. There are really not much additional apps. Just Equalizer and Data counter widget + system applications needed for special features (performance tuning). Everything else is just stock and everything looks just like stock (except for battery indicator).

Hope this post will be useful also for others deciding whether to choose this rom or some other.
Ceco.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#57
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
SKatie custom ROM Update Kitchen now available!!!

Check out: http://skatie.ceco.sk.eu.org :)

  • 1
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#58
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,687 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
So, I guess the kitchen is the solution to my problems? :D It seems as close as it's going to get to being stock and offering options.

1. Flash ROM
2. Boot to ROM at least once?
3. Apply an update that will either remove or add the enhancements we'd like

  • 0
BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png
If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk

#59
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
Exactly :)

Be aware that the TPT version is still same 1.1 including all additional apps.But after using kitchen and not selecting apps they will get removed.

Edited by C3C0, 15 January 2012 - 01:53 PM.

  • 1
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#60
pablitobm88

pablitobm88

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
I like your idea of ​​being able to choose the app, but anyway, for me it is not necessary and will give you more work, as I uninstall the app, I do not use your rom with rootexplorer

What improvements actulizacion brings about the 1.1? Did something important or just the choice of pre-install app?

My version 1.1 is going well and if the difference marking the only app I'm not changing to 1.2

thanks

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users