Jump to content


Photo

[ROM] CyanogenMod 7.2 | Kernel 2.6.32 | Camera works

* * * * * 14 votes

  • Please log in to reply
810 replies to this topic

#61
peelie

peelie

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 216 posts

Do we really need this pre-installed? Wouldn't a separate update.zip also do the job, like for the gapps?


yes this would be much cleaner and is possible and help people who want to use other apps different from a2sd.

possible to just delete a2sd from /bin in zip file? and associated scripts in root of zip file?

also pier could you post that patched set mac app as an .apk? don't ask me why but i uninstalled set mac!

cheers

Edited by peelie, 25 January 2012 - 12:08 AM.

  • 0

#62
lloco73

lloco73

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (sapo a5)
i tested some more this rom on U8230 and must say that in my opinion it needs some litle more improvements:
  • Wireless - it continuos drops connection, also MAC address changed;
  • Market app hanging;
  • overclock,I used oficial rom and then updated to a overclocked rom (FLB 1.7oc) and the improvements were noted drastically (at least for me)
  • Recovery, on clockworkmod installed in this rom if you select reboot into recovey you will be prompted to reboot but it does not reboots to recovery, also i've tested it with quickboot app and it gave me the same result;
  • also i don't know if it's a bug on kernel but i think that usb driver should be the same has previous android roms, cause everybody who has a pulse have the driver installed and for compatibility purposes it should be the same driver for this one.
  • More languages would be nice
For those that don't have the usb drivers here they are






  • 0

#63
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

i tested some more this rom on U8230 and must say that in my opinion it needs some litle more improvements:

  • Wireless - it continuos drops connection, also MAC address changed;
-- don't expect much here so far. Same driver, same integration to kernel.

  • overclock,I used oficial rom and then updated to a overclocked rom (FLB 1.7oc) and the improvements were noted drastically (at least for me)
-- planned

  • Recovery, on clockworkmod installed in this rom if you select reboot into recovey you will be prompted to reboot but it does not reboots to recovery, also i've tested it with quickboot app and it gave me the same result;
-- reported several times. I don't know where to start. Ideas? Did it ever work with .29 kernel + cm7 ?

  • also i don't know if it's a bug on kernel but i think that usb driver should be the same has previous android roms, cause everybody who has a pulse have the driver installed and for compatibility purposes it should be the same driver for this one.
-- make sense, but work around is simple too... thus not really a show stopper.

  • More languages would be nice
-- agreed. Don't know how yet. Also concern is limited ROM space we have.


For those that don't have the usb drivers here they are

-- Thanks for your time and feedback. Trully appreciated.

Edited by pier11, 25 January 2012 - 04:47 AM.

  • 0

#64
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

also pier could you post that patched set mac app as an .apk? don't ask me why but i uninstalled set mac!

take it from the rom, it's just an app.
data/app/in.introkun.setmacaddress-mod.apk

Edited by pier11, 25 January 2012 - 02:05 AM.

  • 0

#65
D-D-

D-D-

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-mobile Pulse
  • Twitter:@boriseto

Did it work for you before? (samba via wifi)
Samba is not compiled in this build due to space constraint for boot image. Newer kernel is bigger by itself, but our boot partition is very limited - 2.5MB...

First, yeap, I could confirm that samba worked (and still works) on .29 kernel...

And about boot partition thing. As a linux user (used to use it a lot, but not now) isn't it possible just to link the boot partition to be some place else (data partition, even sdcard)? I know I could decide to be on a newly created partition, on system partition or in home partition on older linux distributions (I don't think it changed much).

  • 0

#66
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

First, yeap, I could confirm that samba worked (and still works) on .29 kernel...

And about boot partition thing. As a linux user (used to use it a lot, but not now) isn't it possible just to link the boot partition to be some place else (data partition, even sdcard)? I know I could decide to be on a newly created partition, on system partition or in home partition on older linux distributions (I don't think it changed much).

boot partition is where raw kernel image is located. There is no file system there - nothing to re-link.
we don't control which partition bootloader decides to load; neither sizes of our partitions (other than installing different official roms...)

  • 0

#67
D-D-

D-D-

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-mobile Pulse
  • Twitter:@boriseto

boot partition is where raw kernel image is located. There is no file system there - nothing to re-link.
we don't control which partition bootloader decides to load; neither sizes of our partitions (other than installing different official roms...)

I won't give up. I'll try to find I way.
(after my exams that is)

  • 0

#68
samnang

samnang

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

I won't give up. I'll try to find I way.
(after my exams that is)

i got boot loop after flash this rom!:(

  • 0

#69
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

Do you have enough space in system partition (UK 2010 layout or better for u8220 device) ?


Maybe we should just start telling people they have to start with the Tre 2.1 update in order to install custom roms. It might clear up some confusion. And, IIRC, the Tre rom has an even larger /system partition than UK 2010. (And it is possible that the CHT8000 rom is even larger than that, but I don't have specific proof.)

  • 0

#70
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

Maybe we should just start telling people they have to start with the Tre 2.1 update in order to install custom roms. It might clear up some confusion. And, IIRC, the Tre rom has an even larger /system partition than UK 2010. (And it is possible that the CHT8000 rom is even larger than that, but I don't have specific proof.)

Hey, twrock!
What concerned me with Tre rom is that people reported some issues to revert back from that rom, as I recollect?.. (Or was it Hungarian?) Some official downgrade to 1.5 was required (?)
Do you know any side effects from flashing that rom?..
(Same last question is for CHT8000).

  • 0

#71
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

It is in fact very exciting topic ....


This whole thread is a very exciting topic. :D
Great work Pier and others who are getting things working.
May I suggest that when you OC this kernel, you limit the default speed to something more reasonable, like 614? I don't know how many people it affects, but my phone can not complete a boot sequence at 691mhz. (But, yes, if you don't choose to do that, I think I know how to fix it for my own use.)

  • 0

#72
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

Hey, twrock!
What concerned me with Tre rom is that people reported some issues to revert back from that rom, as I recollect?.. (Or was it Hungarian?) Some official downgrade to 1.5 was required (?)
Do you know any side effects from flashing that rom?..
(Same last question is for CHT8000).


I have no problems with Tre whatsoever. I have "reverted" back and forth from Tre to other updates with no problems many times.

It is a great base rom because it give so much /system space. Additionally, it shows a Huawei splash screen vs. the Pulse splash screen.

Even though I have a CHT8000, I have worked very little with the official update, mostly because I did not need to. But over in the Zebadger thread about splitting the updates, you mentioned wanting to get more /system space. CHT8000 just might have the most, but I can't recall for sure.

Edited by twrock, 25 January 2012 - 04:49 AM.

  • 0

#73
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

I have no problems with Tre whatsoever. It is a great base rom because it give so much /system space. Additionally, it shows a Huawei splash screen vs. the Pulse splash screen.

Even though I have a CHT8000, I have worked very little with the official update, mostly because I did not need to. But over in the Zebadger thread about splitting the updates, you mentioned wanting to get more /system space. CHT8000 just might have the most, but I can't recall for sure.

Thanks for info. Are both roms are floating around here? Especially the latter as seems less common...

Do you know by a chance maybe some rom also featured bigger boot partition? That's really limiting features in the kernel... We only have 2.5MB space...

  • 0

#74
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

Thanks for info. Are both roms are floating around here? Especially the latter as seems less common...

Do you know by a chance maybe some rom also featured bigger boot partition? That's really limiting features in the kernel... We only have 2.5MB space...


Unfortunately, no, I've never seen any rom with a boot partition larger than 2.5mb.
I'll dig up some links for those two official updates, and post them (or upload them myself if they aren't already out there).
IIRC, I think one thing I didn't like about CHT8000 was that they wasted more /data space by adding internal "sd card" space. It might be that that was simple enough to remove by adding "hw_internal_sd=false" to build.prop. But I think that won't be an issue when installing a mod rom on top of it. (It wouldn't be a "real" partition, would it?)

Edit: I already had the official Tre update uploaded to Mediafire. Here you go: http://www.mediafire...iddw2bpbiydkrso

And here is the CHT8000 update: http://www.mediafire...aczg6255676jku7

Edited by twrock, 25 January 2012 - 05:42 AM.

  • 1

#75
riartem

riartem

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Dear, pier11.
This is my dmesg of this ROM: Attached File  dmesg.txt   79.31KB   7 downloads

  • 0

#76
samnang

samnang

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Limitations:
- looks like Melfas touchscreen (some u8230 devices) doesn't work as expected - gives reboots if touched.

OK fellow Melfas owners,
please test this kernel: boot-img-melfas.zip
Just flash it via recovery.


Touchscreen is working now after flash boot-img-melfas.zip! :lol:

  • 0

#77
welly123

welly123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
Dear Pier11

Thank you for this excellent rom. I have a little problem with some application installation and I hope you can guide me to its solution. My problem is when I try to install some application I get this message " error can't install the application on USB storage or SD "


best regards :)

  • 0

#78
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300
Pier, one more thing. I haven't yet installed the rom for testing, but I noticed a few things while I was modifying it. ;)

May I suggest that in future versions you consider doing whatever you can to put the Launcher and Filemanager into /system instead of /data. Otherwise the rom is extremely difficult for the average person to work with if one needs to do a full wipe some time after installation.

Edit: And yet one more thing. Consider adding these two lines to the beginning of the updater-script.
format("yaffs2", "MTD", "cache");
format("yaffs2", "MTD", "system");
This will eliminate having old Google apps retained by the installation script, and will eliminate the need for users to have to format /system separately.
(Alternately, you can edit the updater-script to remove all references to "backuptool.sh", but that is slightly more complicated.)

Edited by twrock, 25 January 2012 - 09:55 AM.

  • 1

#79
rhen

rhen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Pulse, G300

The latest is 2011 and has a small system partition! You need 2010 update - or leave out google apps

edit; just saw you did one of that. Does any official update still boot fine for you?
You also may want to try a kernel .29 based rom.

What does adb logcat say?

I installed tre 2.1 and then this rom. Now works fine. So it seems that the partition size was the problem.

A rom without a2sd would be nice. I prefer link to sd more.
Swap works without a2sd?

  • 0

GApps package for CM11: [link] (last updated 2014-07-29)
For non device specific issues, use CM bug tracker: [link]


#80
Dante2070

Dante2070

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300 aka U8815

Did it work for you before? (samba via wifi)
Samba is not compiled in this build due to space constraint for boot image. Newer kernel is bigger by itself, but our boot partition is very limited - 2.5MB...

And I did not install 4 apps at a time :) 2 max :)

TGX does not change partition layout as any custom rom. Official roms - do.

EDIT:
it also looks to me that the support was not there even in the original huawei .29 kernel:

# CONFIG_SMB_FS is not set
# CONFIG_CIFS is not set
Did you use some custom kernel for that functionality?


I meant that TXG's rom has the same requirements as this one, regarding partition size and formation.
I used Samba before in several different roms without any problems. Just installed it from Market. No custom kernels. It's still usable with this Rom, just seems to need to run for a shorter time. I wouldn't call it an essential app, but still very helpful, since it replaces the need to connect your phone to the pc for data transfer (or using a sdcard reader).

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users