Too much information.

Guest FourQ

Hi all, after days of searching for the means to root and possibly ROM the phone I've found myself here.

I'm totally new to this. Just when I think I've found a way to root the phone I see warnings about it being on Orange or the wrong bootloader.

I appreciate I'll need to goldcard an SD but this is my first attempt at rooting the phone and I'm going around in circles trying to find the right rooting software or ROM. There's just too much information regarding bootloaders, ROMs, kernels and I'm ready to call it a day. I need help.

I've found the bootloader:

BRAVO PVT4 SHIP S-ON

HBOOT-0.93.0001

MICROP-051d

TOUCH PANEL-SYNT0101

RADIO-5.11.05.27

but I don't know where to go from here. Everywhere online points to Paul but as I said I'm going in circles.

Can anyone please help?

Thanks. Q.

• 3 weeks later...
Guest BashyUK

Anyone?

Bit of an abandoned forum these days mate, Desire being a bit 'old hat' and all. XDA Dev is where it's still alive and kicking.

There is a lot of info but to be fair you should still be able to find what you need, if you don't have patience, don't bother getting into this, leave your phone as it is.

However, I can help point you to the right tools:

First : go here: http://unrevoked.com/recovery/ and d/l the required exe

Before you run it, make sure you have a) downloaded and installed HTC Sync THEN Uninstall it but leave on the USB driver

Run the unrevoked exe with the phone plugged in and with USB debugging selected (via settings - Development blah blah you'll find it)

If it doesn't detect your phone, install these drivers (providing you are Windows based)

http://unrevoked.com..._driver_install

That should work fine.

Don't bother trying the S-Off option it doesn't work for GSM phons (unless someone can advise this has changed)

Your phone is now rooted.