Jump to content


Photo

Flashing ZTE Unsigned Roms

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
sangemaru

sangemaru

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hello all.
I own a V71A and I've obtained leaks of more updated firmware for the device. These should theoretically be flashable through recovery, however the stock recovery claims the packages are unsigned, while clockworkmod simply aborts.
Since I see lot of activity from you guys, I'm assuming you're far more likely to have a clue at this. How do you guys go about flashing ZTE firmwares?
There's no dedicated flashing utility for the V71A that I know of, and it's on honeycomb as well, in case that's likely to mess with existing flashing procedures.

  • 0

#2
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Hello all.
I own a V71A and I've obtained leaks of more updated firmware for the device. These should theoretically be flashable through recovery, however the stock recovery claims the packages are unsigned, while clockworkmod simply aborts.
Since I see lot of activity from you guys, I'm assuming you're far more likely to have a clue at this. How do you guys go about flashing ZTE firmwares?
There's no dedicated flashing utility for the V71A that I know of, and it's on honeycomb as well, in case that's likely to mess with existing flashing procedures.


it depends on what you mean by 'leaks'. if they are from the ZTE update tool they do not come in a recovery flashable format, you need to create an 'IMAGE' directory on your SD card and unzip them into it, and then from settings/about there should be a 'check for updates' option that will flash it for you *


but to be honest, your probably going to be better off using the ZTE update tool manually than messing about.


* this is all from memory you might need to use a different dir name

  • 0

#3
sangemaru

sangemaru

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

it depends on what you mean by 'leaks'. if they are from the ZTE update tool they do not come in a recovery flashable format, you need to create an 'IMAGE' directory on your SD card and unzip them into it, and then from settings/about there should be a 'check for updates' option that will flash it for you *


but to be honest, your probably going to be better off using the ZTE update tool manually than messing about.


* this is all from memory you might need to use a different dir name


I updated them here: http://forum.xda-dev...83#post22634883
Can you take a look at one of the V11A ones (the V71A ones are unfortunately too big to download... damn premiums). Basically it's a zip image with many files inside, like boot.img, recovery.img, system.ext4 and many others.
And no, they're not from an update tool since we don't have one yet.

Edited by sangemaru, 17 February 2012 - 01:57 PM.

  • 0

#4
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

I updated them here: http://forum.xda-dev...83#post22634883
Can you take a look at one of the V11A ones (the V71A ones are unfortunately too big to download... damn premiums). Basically it's a zip image with many files inside, like boot.img, recovery.img, system.ext4 and many others.
And no, they're not from an update tool since we don't have one yet.


they ARE the roms from the update tool.

http://wwwen.zte.com...91141786333.zip

put your device into FTM mode and it should pull down the latest update, thats where those files have come from

  • 0

#5
sangemaru

sangemaru

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Unfortunately the update tool isn't compatible with my device, it won't recognize it. And I downloaded those packages straight from a ZTE server, no tools involved. I feel quite stumped.

  • 0

#6
mobilx

mobilx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/mnt/serbia
  • Devices:ZTE V11a Vodafone SmartTab 10
  • Twitter:@jaggoda
@sebastian404 This is the content of one of the zips. There is a post about it here http://android.modac...fone-SmartTab10

Files list:
rawprogram0.xml 7.762 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
patch0.xml 1.573 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
partition.xml 3.705 02.09.2011 15:38 -a--c
tz.mbn 103.960 17.11.2011 16:00 -a--c
sbl3.mbn 622.592 17.11.2011 16:00 -a--c
sbl2.mbn 108.652 17.11.2011 15:58 -a--c
sbl1.mbn 71.840 17.11.2011 15:56 -a--c
rpm.mbn 116.420 17.11.2011 15:59 -a--c
partition.mbn 9.728 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
emmcbld.mbn 167.008 26.10.2011 10:31 -a--c
emmc_appsboot.mbn 72.000 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
cefs2.mbn 3.145.728 18.11.2011 15:21 -a--c
cefs1.mbn 3.145.728 18.11.2011 15:21 -a--c
amss.mbn 18.969.240 17.11.2011 16:48 -a--c
8660_msimage.mbn 1.679.872 18.11.2011 15:36 -a--c
recovery.img 5.195.776 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
boot.img 4.620.288 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
MPRG8660.hex 467.026 18.08.2011 16:02 -a--c
userdata.img.ext4 4.096.000 11.08.2011 05:54 -a--c
system.img.ext4 660.602.880 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
persist.img.ext4 4.496.000 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
cache.img.ext4 4.096.000 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
partition.bin 26.112 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
NON-HLOS.bin 25.081.344 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
MBR0.bin 512 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
EBR0.bin 9.216 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
cdrom.bin 10.485.760 16.11.2011 15:09 -a--c

Edited by mobilx, 17 February 2012 - 10:42 PM.

  • 0

#7
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Moto E
That's a lot of information. If you go to settings, about phone, is there a system update option?

  • 0

#8
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Moto E

Unfortunately the update tool isn't compatible with my device, it won't recognize it. And I downloaded those packages straight from a ZTE server, no tools involved. I feel quite stumped.


Have you managed to get into ftm mode?

  • 0

#9
sangemaru

sangemaru

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Have you managed to get into ftm mode?


Yes, we have a system update option, but it's a very simple one, and depend on internet connection. Just press Check and be notified that there's no upgrade. Of course, there are upgrades, we just don't know how to flash them. I can get into ftm mode, but the update tool provided by sebastian only flashes devices up to V9, it does not include V11a, V71a, v55 or optus.

Supposedly, the 3e recovery the tablets come with would allow the flashing, but they report that the packages are not signed.

My tablet at least needs this software update a lot, because the release software is extremely bad, and suffers from frequent system restarts.

  • 0

#10
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

I can get into ftm mode, but the update tool provided by sebastian only flashes devices up to V9, it does not include V11a, V71a, v55 or optus.


try this version:

http://wwwen.zte.com...65898802740.zip

they should be all the same, if you have your device in FTM mode it should pick it up and update it.


Supposedly, the 3e recovery the tablets come with would allow the flashing, but they report that the packages are not signed.

My tablet at least needs this software update a lot, because the release software is extremely bad, and suffers from frequent system restarts.


those ZIP files are not in a format that you can install from any version of recovery..

you need to create an 'IMAGE' directory on your SD card and unzip them into it, and then from settings/about there should be a 'check for updates' option that will flash it for you *

* this is all from memory you might need to use a different dir name


  • 0

#11
sangemaru

sangemaru

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

try this version:

http://wwwen.zte.com...65898802740.zip

they should be all the same, if you have your device in FTM mode it should pick it up and update it.




those ZIP files are not in a format that you can install from any version of recovery..



Same error as before, Failed to scan the handset information. This will probably not work until they actually put these upgrades available as OTA.
Thanks for trying though.
By the way, i tried making an "IMAGE" folder and extracting a zip into it, and then checking for updates. Nada. This with the IMAGE folder on the /sdcard mount. I then tried moving it to root level, but whenever I do that, the tablet freezes (it's rooted, it just freezes).


  • 0

#12
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Moto E

Same error as before, Failed to scan the handset information. This will probably not work until they actually put these upgrades available as OTA.
Thanks for trying though.
By the way, i tried making an "IMAGE" folder and extracting a zip into it, and then checking for updates. Nada. This with the IMAGE folder on the /sdcard mount. I then tried moving it to root level, but whenever I do that, the tablet freezes (it's rooted, it just freezes).


might be able to make an image.bin, hang on

VDF_PT_V71AV1.2.0B09.zip is the most recent, cant make an image.bin though

  • 0

#13
mobilx

mobilx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/mnt/serbia
  • Devices:ZTE V11a Vodafone SmartTab 10
  • Twitter:@jaggoda
There is /firmware file system mounted as vfat 1GB in size on this device. It contains image folder with ftm modem drivers. I tried to copy files there but again nothing happend. I suspect that this partition has something to do with the update process because there is a 1GB of space taken practically doing nothing.

This update packages contain bootloaders update and repartition layouts and binaries. Does anyone have experience in repartitioning of ZTE devices.


EDIT: I've found the way

The BIG secret is in here Attached File  Huawei Mediapad用户升级指导书.pdf   289.99KB   57 downloads(use google translate)

Huawei Mediapad has exactly the same update packages and recovery :)

Edited by mobilx, 20 February 2012 - 10:44 PM.

  • 0

#14
sangemaru

sangemaru

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hah, I KNEW they were playing some kind of hooky with the same exact hardware specs and stuff, but I didn't expect this. Great news. Have you flashed it yet?
I'm curious wether the manufacturer sim-lock stays in effect and wether the force restart issues were resolved.

Edited by sangemaru, 21 February 2012 - 09:42 AM.

  • 0

#15
vic800

vic800

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
hey, guys. this might be useful: http://www.docin.com/p-323426686.html page 23 and onward.



stumbled on your thread while doing this: http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1522351

looking for a way to extract the same files (i assume from a ruu) for htc sensation that runs on the same msm chip as v71a.

Files list:

rawprogram0.xml 7.762 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
patch0.xml 1.573 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
partition.xml 3.705 02.09.2011 15:38 -a--c
tz.mbn 103.960 17.11.2011 16:00 -a--c
sbl3.mbn 622.592 17.11.2011 16:00 -a--c
sbl2.mbn 108.652 17.11.2011 15:58 -a--c
sbl1.mbn 71.840 17.11.2011 15:56 -a--c
rpm.mbn 116.420 17.11.2011 15:59 -a--c
partition.mbn 9.728 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
emmcbld.mbn 167.008 26.10.2011 10:31 -a--c
emmc_appsboot.mbn 72.000 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
cefs2.mbn 3.145.728 18.11.2011 15:21 -a--c
cefs1.mbn 3.145.728 18.11.2011 15:21 -a--c
amss.mbn 18.969.240 17.11.2011 16:48 -a--c
8660_msimage.mbn 1.679.872 18.11.2011 15:36 -a--c
recovery.img 5.195.776 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
boot.img 4.620.288 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
MPRG8660.hex 467.026 18.08.2011 16:02 -a--c
userdata.img.ext4 4.096.000 11.08.2011 05:54 -a--c
system.img.ext4 660.602.880 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
persist.img.ext4 4.496.000 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
cache.img.ext4 4.096.000 06.12.2011 05:17 -a--c
partition.bin 26.112 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
NON-HLOS.bin 25.081.344 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
MBR0.bin 512 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
EBR0.bin 9.216 17.11.2011 16:49 -a--c
cdrom.bin 10.485.760 16.11.2011 15:09 -a--c


read this as well: http://bbs.malshenzu...957-page-1.html
http://bbs.malshenzu...02-fpage-2.html

use google chrome's built-in translator. for your devices, you'll need "sales multidl" tool to make backup and then possibly flash the device.

here's another guide that supposedly fixes the "qhsusb_dlosd" bricks: http://bbs.malshenzu...591-page-1.html

still trying to make sense of everything. sorry if i don't make much sense (been reading all kinds of stuff all day).
a member was told by one of revolution people that there is no way to unbrick, but we'll see...

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users