Jump to content


Photo

[ROM] Early Days Test CM9 Build

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
196 replies to this topic

#1
Fuzzra

Fuzzra

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Brutally carved up SFII
First things first:
This is almost entirely the work of tilal6991. My contributions are mainly using search/replace, doing a lot of searching, and electricity to feed my computer while it compiles.

Known problems:
Camera doesn't work
Calculator doesn't work
WiFi can be glitchy if allowed to sleep. If you don't set it to allow sleep (settings, wifi, menu - advanced,) you had better get in the habit of switching it off by hand or leaving your phone plugged in at night.
When using international roaming you should always stand within a circle of salt to protect against accidentally summoned demons.
Exciting new horrors to be discovered!

Notes and warnings:
This ROM is big. If you've used a TPT to shrink partitions you're going to have a bad time. Best reset your layout to stock before you try this.
You needn't use a separate gapps zip. Goo Manager can be used once you're up and running.
As it stands the main zip is set up for the SFII. This is because it's what I have, so yah boo sucks to you. :P
If you want to play on a Vivacity you should download the kernel zip below and install it immediately after the ROM. Since I don't have a Vivacity I'm unable to check the touchscreen configuration, but this gives you a *chance* at it being right which has got to be better than last time. ;)

The links:
Rapidshare
update-cm-9.0.0-RC0-blade2-KANG-signed.zip
CM9-kernel-vivacity.zip

Mediafire
update-cm-9.0.0-RC0-blade2-KANG-signed.zip
CM9-kernel-vivacity.zip

Edited by Fuzzra, 04 March 2012 - 10:35 PM.

  • 0

#2
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
Is it tilal's latest release?

EDIT: Boo! File not found :(

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 27 February 2012 - 07:13 PM.

  • 0

#3
Fuzzra

Fuzzra

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Brutally carved up SFII
No. It's mine. Built from source this afternoon. From kernel to apk.

I should mention that I've not included gapps. If they're required, get them from here.

  • 0

#4
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
Thanks, I'll give this a go and report back, Tilal hasn't given us anything yet, too busy with the Skate and Blade still it seems

  • 0

#5
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
Well it's much smoother than the previous one I tried but I still can't get google apps to work properly, not even the most recent release, or the one labelled gapps 4.0.1.

  • 0

#6
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
I was wondering whether you have the device config up on GitHub? And which kernel source and config are you using?

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#7
Fuzzra

Fuzzra

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Brutally carved up SFII
This is where I admit to being a total git noob. Just getting an account set up now, and planning to learn how to do commit messages and the like. <.<

As for the kernel, I've been using Tom Giordano's, with a few files hauled into the ICS branch from last weeks zte blade source release to update the mxt224 driver and add in the driver (finally) for the ovm7690 front camera the SFII has.

  • 0

#8
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

This is where I admit to being a total git noob. Just getting an account set up now, and planning to learn how to do commit messages and the like. <.<

As for the kernel, I've been using Tom Giordano's, with a few files hauled into the ICS branch from last weeks zte blade source release to update the mxt224 driver and add in the driver (finally) for the ovm7690 front camera the SFII has.


Fuzzra, could you redo the overclockable kernel to add the camera back in or is that not possible?

  • 0

#9
Fuzzra

Fuzzra

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Brutally carved up SFII
I've done one for the girlfriend, but the image from the front camera is flipped vertically at the moment. I'm sure that's fairly simple to fix, but it'll only be any good for gingerbread roms as it stands. I'll have a poke at it later on when my machine doesn't sound like a helicopter and provide most of the heating for the flat.

  • 0

#10
jasonleeds

jasonleeds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:zte crescent & zte blade
so ive been really interested in the cm9 development and having been running the other version for a few days,
This one seems to have fixed a few problems and also seems a lot more stable.
Heres a small list of what ive found.


Home button now working
touch screen tacking seems ok
calender now ok
Gallery now working
phone & messaging is all good
Wifi is fine

Overclocking seems to be working up to 1036mhz
testing 902mhz with smartassv2

@ 18:40 setting cpu to 1036mhz locks the phone almost instantly


Camera not working
calculator not working
Probably other things but only had a little while to play.


If anyone is having trouble with the Gapps I can upload the file ive been using as I havent had a problem as yet.
UPLOADED BELOW:

gapps-ics-4.0.1-small.zip

Edited by jasonleeds, 28 February 2012 - 06:44 PM.

  • 0
ZTE Blade - CM7
Samsung Galaxy Fit - Razodroid v4
ZTE Crescent SF2
  • developing - DroidTE @ Modaco Thread
  • main rom - Fish'n'Chips - RLS6
  • Testing - anything other than stock




Posted Image

#11
Ed-

Ed-

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Fransisco
The home button and about 10mm of the right hand screen don't work on my vivacity I assume you have a San Fran?

Bloody cool to have a play with though! Thanks.

  • 0

#12
jasonleeds

jasonleeds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:zte crescent & zte blade

The home button and about 10mm of the right hand screen don't work on my vivacity I assume you have a San Fran?

Bloody cool to have a play with though! Thanks.

Yea sorry forgot to mention ...I have a San Fran 2

  • 0
ZTE Blade - CM7
Samsung Galaxy Fit - Razodroid v4
ZTE Crescent SF2
  • developing - DroidTE @ Modaco Thread
  • main rom - Fish'n'Chips - RLS6
  • Testing - anything other than stock




Posted Image

#13
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

If anyone is having trouble with the Gapps I can upload the file ive been using as I havent had a problem as yet.
UPLOADED BELOW:

gapps-ics-4.0.1-small.zip


I tried flashing that and still coudln't get signed in, nothing comes up in account for google and if I choose gmail from the apps list, it opens and closes instantly.


How did you flash yours?

I cleared all caches and formatted the system partition, then flashed the rom, rebooted, left the phone to sit for 5 minutes, used rom manager to fix all permissions, rebooted, flashed the gapps then rebooted. No joy :(

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 28 February 2012 - 08:03 PM.

  • 0

#14
jasonleeds

jasonleeds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:zte crescent & zte blade
I flashed mine all in one go.

Wiped old rom, data etc.
flashed new one,
Installed Gapps
Wiped data/cache
Then Rebooted.

Same process ive used for this and the previous CM9 rom, had no problems.

Hope this works dude

  • 0
ZTE Blade - CM7
Samsung Galaxy Fit - Razodroid v4
ZTE Crescent SF2
  • developing - DroidTE @ Modaco Thread
  • main rom - Fish'n'Chips - RLS6
  • Testing - anything other than stock




Posted Image

#15
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
K, thx, I'll give that a go.

EDIT: OK, I've got signed into google, gmail comes up but I don't have a market shortcut in my apps and no market widget, are you able to get your google apps installed? If so, how?

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 28 February 2012 - 08:36 PM.

  • 0

#16
jasonleeds

jasonleeds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:zte crescent & zte blade
I did have this once,..to be honest i cant remember what I did..

Was this a totally clean install? did you use the step by step thing when you first boot or did you skip it and do it later?
Ive been using this initial step by step and its worked ok...got no mobile data at the mo and it does ask for wifi info to get started...I know some old roms wouldnt allow you to do this until your properly into android.

glad this kindda helped.

On another point:
Been using this for a few hours now and using 902mhz + savagedzen seems quite stable and fast. also turned off surface dithering.

  • 0
ZTE Blade - CM7
Samsung Galaxy Fit - Razodroid v4
ZTE Crescent SF2
  • developing - DroidTE @ Modaco Thread
  • main rom - Fish'n'Chips - RLS6
  • Testing - anything other than stock




Posted Image

#17
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
I did the install as you suggested, when I first booted I didn't see the google setup wizard, I had to add my account details under the account section of settings.

Just tried doing the same procedure with the latest gapps build, I didn't even get google listed in the accounts section.

Something tells me we're not going to get any joy until summertime. :(

  • 0

#18
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts

I did the install as you suggested, when I first booted I didn't see the google setup wizard, I had to add my account details under the account section of settings.

Just tried doing the same procedure with the latest gapps build, I didn't even get google listed in the accounts section.

Something tells me we're not going to get any joy until summertime. :(


How big is your system partition? Seems like your device doesn't have enough room for both CM9 and the gapps.

  • 0

#19
jasonleeds

jasonleeds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:zte crescent & zte blade

How big is your system partition? Seems like your device doesn't have enough room for both CM9 and the gapps.


Might be a point I think mines 256mb

  • 0
ZTE Blade - CM7
Samsung Galaxy Fit - Razodroid v4
ZTE Crescent SF2
  • developing - DroidTE @ Modaco Thread
  • main rom - Fish'n'Chips - RLS6
  • Testing - anything other than stock




Posted Image

#20
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
IIIII...have no idea :)

How do I change the sizes? Do I use clockwork?

I did use the TPTs posted on this forum, I don't see one which has that size of system partition.

Just noticed TPT Helper lets you make your own TPT, I presume that's how you did it? (Although it doesn't seem to work)

...I'll stop talking to myself then and wait.... :)

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 29 February 2012 - 02:16 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users