Jump to content


Photo

[Development][ROM] cm9

* * * * * 9 votes

  • Please log in to reply
225 replies to this topic

#121
dr.flo

dr.flo

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 429 posts

how much/where X3 is now?
how much RAM does it have?
are they unlocked?


I payed EUR 69 (x 1.3something for US $) on ebay for a new device (official price ranges are 89-99 EUR, the latter unlocked)
It is said to have 256 mb ram - not too much but it runs its own stock rom absolutely fluent and is more than enough for me because I do not need to play games and such...
Battery lasts 2-3 days (2g data always on, but device in standby most of the time)

It should also be capable of running ICS ports, although none exist yet. But since it has msm7227 I believe sooner or later a port will exist with similar state of functionality as in zte blade. But I'm fine with gingerbread - after I hacked stock launcher to remove the ugly tiles behind application icons ;)

  • 0

#122
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

I payed EUR 69 (x 1.3something for US $) on ebay for a new device (official price ranges are 89-99 EUR, the latter unlocked)
It is said to have 256 mb ram - not too much but it runs its own stock rom absolutely fluent and is more than enough for me because I do not need to play games and such...
Battery lasts 2-3 days (2g data always on, but device in standby most of the time)

It should also be capable of running ICS ports, although none exist yet. But since it has msm7227 I believe sooner or later a port will exist with similar state of functionality as in zte blade. But I'm fine with gingerbread - after I hacked stock launcher to remove the ugly tiles behind application icons ;)

I'm thinking Blade itself might be better, as it has 512 MB memory and higher density display 480*800
And development for it is astonishing vs. virtually non existent for X3 (there is place for it on modaco).

  • 0

#123
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860
i will soon buy huawei ascend d quad xl...i am waiting for it...:rolleyes: it will also have page in modaco i think...i am dreaming about it since the barcelona forum

  • 0

#124
dr.flo

dr.flo

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 429 posts

I'm thinking Blade itself might be better, as it has 512 MB memory and higher density display 480*800
And development for it is astonishing vs. virtually non existent for X3 (there is place for it on modaco).

Yes, I agree on that. Blade prices on ebay are 1.5-2 times higher. I simply decided that x3 is good enough for me. After all I had been more or less happy with the pulse which makes me a low end smartphone user... But I wanted to have a reliable, somewhat current android os without issues. And without too much work on my own. After all I payed for the phone - I should not need to put development effort into it to make it functional. The discussions regarding sound lost in calls on froyo shows that for the pulse at the moment no stable rom exists above eclair - sadly - after years of work started by TomG and even after newer work from your and my side - even after support from experimenters like desalesouche who is willing to try millions of combinations of audio libs.

  • 0

#125
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860
:D

  • 0

#126
lloco73

lloco73

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (sapo a5)

....... The discussions regarding sound lost in calls on froyo shows that for the pulse at the moment no stable rom exists above eclair - sadly - after years of work started by TomG and even after newer work from your and my side - even after support from experimenters like desalesouche who is willing to try millions of combinations of audio libs.



Do i note some resignation?

Me too i like all this latest roms (Stock froyo, cm7.2 , cm6.1) my prefered is the stock froyo, with some hacks, and i like it a lot. only exception is the calls going down. Apart from this is ok for the rest. For me the biggest evolution is kernel .32 that Pier made.

  • 0

#127
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220
http://android.modac...m9-support-r398
mentioning "512MB of RAM" criteria

Edited by pier11, 16 March 2012 - 08:19 PM.

  • 0

#128
superdeman

superdeman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
Development stopped?

  • 0

#129
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

Development stopped?

well looks like for my u8220 it's the case.
Having only 128 MB regular RAM (plus 64MB hardly usable/accessible stacked memory) it's dieing under ICS...

appeared u8150, not even having GPU, is at advantage as having 256 MB RAM...

  • 0

#130
superdeman

superdeman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
Ok, thank for your work.
UPD: u8110/8120 have 192mb ram like u8230? and don't have gpu.
http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1374270

Edited by superdeman, 16 March 2012 - 10:57 PM.

  • 0

#131
izpro

izpro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
then you can forget about the ics on huawei u8220/u8230?

  • 0

#132
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

then you can forget about the ics on huawei u8220/u8230?

well what I can say It did not make much practical sense on my u8220, other than to familiarize with great ICS functionality.
probably shall be better on u8230 - twice more RAM.

  • 0

#133
izpro

izpro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
porting means for huawei u8230 ics will continue?

  • 0

#134
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860
so what abou this?
UPD: u8110/8120 have 192mb ram like u8230? and don't have gpu.
http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1374270
does that mean possibility to port ics for u8220/u8230? or not?
thx :rolleyes:

  • 0

#135
anarkill

anarkill

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belarus, Gomel
  • Devices:Huawei u8230 CM 7.2 kernel .32
Maybe try to port MIUIv4 (based on ICS). It is in theory more fast than ics and more butiful

Edited by anarkill, 17 March 2012 - 03:37 PM.

  • 0

#136
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

UPD: u8110/8120 have 192mb ram like u8230?
does that mean possibility to port ics for u8220/u8230? or not?

possibility does not necessarily mean usability.

according to pdadb.net
http://pdadb.net/ind...ni_huawei_u8110
u8110 has 256 MB of memory, same as u8230.
In that same terms u8220 has 128 MB. (This can be seeing in dmesg).

  • 0

#137
superdeman

superdeman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
It's wrong information. My U8110 had 192 mb ram (I sold it in april).

Edited by superdeman, 17 March 2012 - 05:32 PM.

  • 0

#138
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860

It's wrong information. My U8110 had 192 mb ram (I sold it in april).

http://pdadb.net/ind...&c=huawei_u8110

ram:256 mib rom:512....he has a Qualcomm MSM7225

Edited by desalesouche, 17 March 2012 - 05:48 PM.

  • 0

#139
didije

didije

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Devices:t mobile pulse
Hi pier. One question. How did you got rid of that stupid mouse pointer in this rom. I'm playing with your first version, but it is very annoying.. Which files to take from your second version to make that pointer go away? Oh, and if you replace all ril files from second one to the first one you get mobile data working and signal is stable. One more thing, sorry if I'm annoying, but I cannot live without battery pecentage in the status bar, but in your first rom changing that option in settings is not working, so my question is: is there an easy workaround for that issue?

Sorry if I ask too much, but I'm still learning :)

Cheers

  • 0

#140
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

Hi pier. One question. How did you got rid of that stupid mouse pointer in this rom. I'm playing with your first version, but it is very annoying.. Which files to take from your second version to make that pointer go away?

add /system/usr/idc/jogball.idc from the second rom into the first.

i don't know about battery percentage indicator...

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users