Jump to content


Photo

[ROM] Styx (CM6; updated 2012 05 25)

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
243 replies to this topic

#81
dr.flo

dr.flo

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 429 posts
I don't know anything specific to that problem, but one could do a brave experiment and build a hybrid rom with ingredients from TomG's port and CM6.1.1

- take everything from TomG (or maybe even better, use TXG07?)
- take only system/lib from CM6.1.1

I would expect this to result in a bootable rom. The idea of this is to revert as much as possible to the "last known good configuration" while keeping the new libs with camera / gps / etc fixes...

Edited by dr.flo, 20 March 2012 - 07:34 PM.

  • 0

#82
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860

I don't know anything specific to that problem, but one could do a brave experiment and build a hybrid rom with ingredients from TomG's port and CM6.1.1

- take everything from TomG (or maybe even better, use TXG07?)
- take only system/lib from CM6.1.1

I would expect this to result in a bootable rom. The idea of this is to revert as much as possible to the "last known good configuration" while keeping the new libs with camera / gps / etc fixes...


tried with txg07 and pasting all system/lib from cm6.1.1 -v3 to txg07= it is booting but staying on android logo and nothing more :)

is there a link for TomG "everything"?

Edited by desalesouche, 20 March 2012 - 08:09 PM.

  • 0

#83
cruozz

cruozz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:u8220
Posted Imageانا اريد روم جديد يكون مستقر وشكرا Posted Image

  • 0

#84
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860
traduction of post above: I want a new, stable ROM and thank you

  • 0

#85
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860

Posted Imageانا اريد روم جديد يكون مستقر وشكرا Posted Image

may be you should try to write in english

قد يكون عليك أن تحاول الكتابة باللغة الإنجليزية:)

  • 0

#86
D-D-

D-D-

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-mobile Pulse
  • Twitter:@boriseto

Is it something Google is doing with the "Play Store" updates?


I can confirm it's not google play related cause I can install the same apps on um840 and cm7 with google play instead of the old market app...



EDIT: Might be the problem.
Change the u8220/u8230 part in the build.prop into u8220.
I cleared the cache and data from market app and it started working after a while. Now seeing some apps I had before.

Give me another example of missing app before (cause now I can see tweakdeck/tweetdeck and similar apps I couldn't before).

Edited by D-D-, 20 March 2012 - 10:29 PM.

  • 0

#87
smhui

smhui

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:U8220+

I can confirm it's not google play related cause I can install the same apps on um840 and cm7 with google play instead of the old market app...



EDIT: Might be the problem.
Change the u8220/u8230 part in the build.prop into u8220.
I cleared the cache and data from market app and it started working after a while. Now seeing some apps I had before.

Give me another example of missing app before (cause now I can see tweakdeck/tweetdeck and similar apps I couldn't before).


Tried with modified build.prop and clear the cache and data, Buddy Runner still can't be installed.

  • 0

#88
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

Before the call I tried to figure where UK is in rom(um840)/phone, but found nothing.


build.prop has a setting for location still.
2.1 roms included setting in /system/cust/hw/default/local.prop that also had an effect on location:

ro.config.mcc=000
ro.config.mnc=00

But local.prop seems to be gone in 2.2+. What replaced it?

  • 0

#89
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

EDIT: Might be the problem.
Change the u8220/u8230 part in the build.prop into u8220.
I cleared the cache and data from market app and it started working after a while. Now seeing some apps I had before.

Give me another example of missing app before (cause now I can see tweakdeck/tweetdeck and similar apps I couldn't before).


I have tried that same thing, but no success here.
I have compared line for line between CM6 and UM840 looking for differences and testing them. I have not succeeded yet. But I have not tested everything, and I might just have not found it yet.

  • 0

#90
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

build.prop has a setting for location still.
2.1 roms included setting in /system/cust/hw/default/local.prop that also had an effect on location:

ro.config.mcc=000
ro.config.mnc=00

But local.prop seems to be gone in 2.2+. What replaced it?

If curious here is local.prop of original um840. To my mind local.prop just overrides values defined in build.prop
So each carrier can define its specific values there.
I decided not to include this file as it contained customizations for Venezuela carrier - region/language. Also in the stock image that bits were not in /system but some other partition and I had no idea how it should be merged into filesystem.
So we ended up with rather "generic" rom.
ro.product.locale.language=es
ro.product.locale.region=VE
ro.config.hw_opta=32
ro.config.hw_optb=862
ro.config.notification_sound=Tinkerbell.ogg
ro.config.hw_multiple_ussd=true
ro.build.version.incremental=C32B766SP01
ro.build.tags=release-keys
ro.build.description=UM840-user 2.2.2 HuaweiUM840 C32B766SP01 release-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=Huawei/UM840/hwum840/UM840:2.2.2/HuaweiUM840/C32B766SP01:user/release-keys
#DTS2011102801418 kf30432 20111028 begin
ro.config.hwft_MatchNum=10
ro.config.hwft_MatchNumShort=7
ro.config.hw_dateformat=true
ro.config.dateformat=dd-MM-yyyy
ro.config.hw_timeformat=true
ro.config.timeformat=12
ro.product.model=UM840
ro.config.mms_empty_sms=true
ro.config.hwft_numberformat=true
ro.config.widzard_autotime=1
ro.config.hw_contact_customer=C32
ro.config.hw_special_num=true
#DTS2011102801418 kf30432 20111028 end
#DTS2011111002597 sunxianliang 20111110 begin
ro.config.hwcameraset=2
ro.config.hwfeature_slavecamera=yes
#DTS2011111002597 sunxianliang 20111110 end

Edited by pier11, 21 March 2012 - 10:43 AM.

  • 0

#91
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860

If curious here is local.prop of original um840. To my mind local.prop just overrides values defined in build.prop
So each carrier can define its specific values there.
I decided not to include this file as it contained customizations for Venezuela carrier - region/language. Also in the stock image that bits were not in /system but some other partition and I had no idea how it should be merged into filesystem.
So we ended up with rather "generic" rom.

ro.product.locale.language=es
ro.product.locale.region=VE
ro.config.hw_opta=32
ro.config.hw_optb=862
ro.config.notification_sound=Tinkerbell.ogg
ro.config.hw_multiple_ussd=true
ro.build.version.incremental=C32B766SP01
ro.build.tags=release-keys
ro.build.description=UM840-user 2.2.2 HuaweiUM840 C32B766SP01 release-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=Huawei/UM840/hwum840/UM840:2.2.2/HuaweiUM840/C32B766SP01:user/release-keys
#DTS2011102801418 kf30432 20111028 begin
ro.config.hwft_MatchNum=10
ro.config.hwft_MatchNumShort=7
ro.config.hw_dateformat=true
ro.config.dateformat=dd-MM-yyyy
ro.config.hw_timeformat=true
ro.config.timeformat=12
ro.product.model=UM840
ro.config.mms_empty_sms=true
ro.config.hwft_numberformat=true
ro.config.widzard_autotime=1
ro.config.hw_contact_customer=C32
ro.config.hw_special_num=true
#DTS2011102801418 kf30432 20111028 end
#DTS2011111002597 sunxianliang 20111110 begin
ro.config.hwcameraset=2
ro.config.hwfeature_slavecamera=yes
#DTS2011111002597 sunxianliang 20111110 end

hi.where is located local.prop? can you check this: http://android.modac...ost__p__1920909 thx

  • 0

#92
D-D-

D-D-

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-mobile Pulse
  • Twitter:@boriseto

Tried with modified build.prop and clear the cache and data, Buddy Runner still can't be installed.

It installed without a problem. :/

  • 0

#93
pier11

pier11

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse U8220

hi.where is located local.prop?

in official um840 - in separate partition other than /system and /data, if I understand correctly.
In official rom there is image file for /system, for /data, and for this strange partition (/cust ?). We have different layouts, we don't have such partition.

Edited by pier11, 21 March 2012 - 12:57 PM.

  • 0

#94
sxz

sxz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
i have same problems with china T , i don't enter the system , it stop in the last step ,have "signed in!"in the screen.[sorry,my poor enlish!]

I tried using Google Translate to help me understand what you wrote. I'm sorry, but I do not read Chinese well. So I might not really understand what trouble you are having.

First, please note my reply to andylau1988. I first used English to set up my phone. After that, I seem to have no problem switching the language to Chinese.

It looks like this rom went a bit "viral" overnight. What I mean is that yesterday it had only 20+ downloads. Today the 2012/03/07 version has more than 450! (In case there is some other place with a direct link to the file, I have locked down the 2012/03/07 version so that people will hopefully start downloading the 2012/03/08 version with the MAC address fix.) So there must be quite a number of Chinese speakers who are using this rom. Maybe others will help find the solution.

I hope everyone is remembering that this really is beta software. Please make a backup before installing this, and keep it safe for a long time. I personally have only run the .32 kernel version for three days. I don't know what problems it might end up having.


  • 0

#95
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

It installed without a problem. :/


I've got no Buddy Runner, no Tweetdeck, no Tweakdeck showing up in the Market. I am using Market Unlocker (set to Verizon USA), and I was even able to purchase an app that way. But I still don't see those apps mentioned above.

  • 0

#96
D-D-

D-D-

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-mobile Pulse
  • Twitter:@boriseto

I've got no Buddy Runner, no Tweetdeck, no Tweakdeck showing up in the Market. I am using Market Unlocker (set to Verizon USA), and I was even able to purchase an app that way. But I still don't see those apps mentioned above.


I don't understand...

So I didn't backup and tried another rom and was back to the beginning. This is what I did.
Changed the numbers, flashed another market app (just in case http://dl.dropbox.co...nimal_gapps.zip ), cleared cache/data and by a habit fixed permitions from rom manager after flashing.

And it worked again.

It must have been one of these that trigerred the solution.

Edited by D-D-, 21 March 2012 - 02:18 PM.

  • 0

#97
Dante2070

Dante2070

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G6-L11

... cleared cache/data and by a habit fixed permitions from rom manager after flashing.

And it worked again.

It must have been one of these that trigerred the solution.


Did you clear cache/data in recovery?

  • 0

#98
D-D-

D-D-

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-mobile Pulse
  • Twitter:@boriseto
No. Settings, app, play store.

  • 0

#99
joilaroi

joilaroi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:u8120

For wifi mac with kernel .32:

You can use attached libhardware_legacy.so to replace the original one. It will pass an additional parameter "softmac_file=/data/misc/wifi/softmac" to the wifi driver.

Using this, the mac address can be set by

echo 01:23:45:67:89:01 > /data/misc/wifi/softmac
via terminal emulator or adb. Then reboot. Should give you a new mac address. Of course you should replace 01:23... with whatever you desire.






edit: further info: the file is for cm6. It was recompiled with
WIFI_DRIVER_MODULE_ARG := "softmac_file=/data/misc/wifi/softmac"
in board config. The same could be done for cm7 if needed.

If no softmac file is found, wifi still works, but it has the usual default mac of course.


Thanks for the info. I managed to change the mac to other static one by changing the caldata.bin.ar6102 in system/wifi/ with a file found in Slatedroid.com. I will try the WIFI_DRIVER_MODULE_ARG.

best regards



  • 0

#100
rajoni

rajoni

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Is anyone having trouble with play store? It's been two days and whatever rom I install when starting market/play store I got this message: "Server error" with a retry button. It's frustrating. I think that it is playstore issue but I don't see anyone complaining about it so I decided to ask and see if it is not google issue what can be done. I read that it might be regional issue.. I'm currently testing this rom so I posted in this topic.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users