Jump to content


Photo

[ROM] Styx (CM6; updated 2012 05 25)

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
243 replies to this topic

#161
fjpo

fjpo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:u8220

You have to run 'a2sd cachesd' to move the cache to the sd card, that will free a lot of precious space.
It will reboot the phone.



Tenés que correr 'a2sd cachesd' para mover el cache a la sd y va a liberar un montón de espacio.
Va a reiniciar el cel.

Saludos.


Pero ¿cómo lo hago? moví todas las aplicaciones a la SD y aun me dice memoria llena.
But how do I do? I moved all applications to the SD and even tells me memory is full.

  • 0

#162
pedrojaime

pedrojaime

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quito
  • Devices:Galaxy Note II [GT-N7100]
In an effort to make this latest Styx version smaller, could you explain how I would proceed to remove language packs from this rom please twrock? I have been hunting around but couldn't find the answer to that one!

Many thanks as always for your help,


Peter

  • 0
Happy phablet hacking!

#163
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860

Pero ¿cómo lo hago? moví todas las aplicaciones a la SD y aun me dice memoria llena.
But how do I do? I moved all applications to the SD and even tells me memory is full.

hola ....primero flash este zip via recovery http://www.mediafire...zz7wowp7qm9rq2p
segundo:puedes utilisar a2sd de dark tremor https://play.google....vLmEyc2RHVUkiXQ.. para hacer lo que quieres=deplacar cache en sd/deplacar apps en sd/ utilisar y arreglar el swap/ y otras cosas....
espero que eso te va a ayudar...
buenas

Edited by desalesouche, 17 May 2012 - 05:16 PM.

  • 0

#164
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860

In an effort to make this latest Styx version smaller, could you explain how I would proceed to remove language packs from this rom please twrock? I have been hunting around but couldn't find the answer to that one!

Many thanks as always for your help,


Peter

hi if i correctly understand your question; you can go to system/tts/lang_pico/ and then you delete all language you don't need...
to earn more space you can go in system/media/audio and then you delete all ringtones/alarms/and notification you d'ont need... check first in build.prop which .ogg the system is using( would advice to not delete these .ogg file told by build.prop.
you can also delete boot animation (=more space)

  • 0

#165
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860
@twrock...hi. hope you're fine. i would like you to explain me how you do to update your apps in your rom...
when i replace apps with update in system/app sometimes it is ok and sometimes the app doesn't appear...
so i think there is something more to do :)
would you be so kind as to explain me the good way?
thx a lot
regards...

  • 0

#166
pedrojaime

pedrojaime

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quito
  • Devices:Galaxy Note II [GT-N7100]
Thanks desalesouche for your response. I already deleted almost all the sound files and been playing with the build.prop lately too. I am not able to find the /system/tts/lang_pico directory you mention at all though. I tried looking in /sys but can't find it anywhere. cheers for these tips!

  • 0
Happy phablet hacking!

#167
D-D-

D-D-

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-mobile Pulse
  • Twitter:@boriseto
Hey twrock, I'm just wondering how do you change the boot.img default clock speed? I mean do you recompile the kernel or there is a way to quickly change only the things you need.

  • 0

#168
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860

Thanks desalesouche for your response. I already deleted almost all the sound files and been playing with the build.prop lately too. I am not able to find the /system/tts/lang_pico directory you mention at all though. I tried looking in /sys but can't find it anywhere. cheers for these tips!

sorry my mistake...there is not /system/tts in styx rom .

  • 0

#169
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

Hey twrock, I'm just wondering how do you change the boot.img default clock speed? I mean do you recompile the kernel or there is a way to quickly change only the things you need.

No need to recompile the kernel. (And I don't know how to do that anyway.)
But you have to extract the boot.img into its separate parts (kernel and ramdisk). Then in the files in the ramdisk, you edit a text file, then repack the boot.img. I do all of that work using the dsixda rom kitchen. There are other ways to do that, but the rom kitchen is easiest for me.


For all of the roms I've modded lately, I edited two lines in init.qcom.rc:
write /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq 528000
write /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/ondemand/sampling_rate 200000

And added this line to init.rc:
#Set default swappiness
write /proc/sys/vm/swappiness 30

  • 0

#170
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

Pero ¿cómo lo hago? moví todas las aplicaciones a la SD y aun me dice memoria llena.
But how do I do? I moved all applications to the SD and even tells me memory is full.

How many apps do you have?
If you are using DT Apps2SD, you should not be using the built-in "move apps to SD" function in the CyanogenMod settings.
If you use DT Apps2SD, and you have already set up your SD card correctly, all apps will already be moved to SD.
But even after that, the cache files are not automatically moved to SD. So you were told to enter this in Terminal:
su
a2sd cachesd
The phone will reboot, and you will have much more space in internal memory.

However, none of that will work if you have not install DT Apps2SD and have not set up your SD card to include an ext2 partition. (See the first post for details.)

  • 0

#171
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

@twrock...hi. hope you're fine. i would like you to explain me how you do to update your apps in your rom...
when i replace apps with update in system/app sometimes it is ok and sometimes the app doesn't appear...
so i think there is something more to do :)
would you be so kind as to explain me the good way?
thx a lot
regards...

My guess is that those apps have a required lib file that you are not replacing when you replace the app with the new version. One example is QuickPic. It has a lib file that you must replace as well.
.apk files are a form of zip file. Open whatever app you want to replace with an unzipping program. Look for a /lib folder. Find the *.lib file and extract it (don't remove it from the apk, just make a copy of that one file). Go to /system/lib in the rom. Find the old version of that lib file (usually similar in name, and sometimes the same name). Delete the old lib and replace it with the new lib. Replace the /system/app APK with you new app, and you are good to go.

That's all I can think of that would cause your problem. Good luck.

  • 0

#172
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

In an effort to make this latest Styx version smaller, could you explain how I would proceed to remove language packs from this rom please twrock? I have been hunting around but couldn't find the answer to that one!

Many thanks as always for your help,


Peter


I don't know either about language packs.
Styx is already "relatively" lean, but there are definitely ways to make it smaller.
As was suggested, you can first start deleting /media sound files (the boot animation is already gone from this rom so don't try that).
Then, have a look at this link: http://wiki.cyanogen.../wiki/Barebones
Start by deleting the apps you never use that the list says you can safely remove. Then you can also consider removing apps from the rom that you can install later from the Market (Gmail, etc.). If you look at what files are in a standard Gapps installation zip, you can see that there are a lot of apps that don't have to go into /system for the rom to work. Most of those are available to install separately into /data.
Good luck.

  • 0

#173
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300
I'm beta testing the next version of Styx. Not a lot of change, but I did install the beats audio support that desalesouche linked to. However, I want to make sure that I'm not adding that illegally. Does anyone have that knowledge? Since HTC advertises "Beats Audio" as a feature of their roms, I'm wondering if we can actually install and distribute that software without violating some copyright.
Any ideas?

Edit: Well, from a little bit of Googling, it looks like this is legitimate. I'll upload the beta shortly so more eyes and ears can test it. I don't know if adding those files will break anything. But any time I'm adding/replacing lib files, I'm a little nervous.

Edited by twrock, 19 May 2012 - 06:29 AM.

  • 0

#174
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300
Next beta version of Styx:
http://www.mediafire...oah3e39acby6jaw

Updated apps and added Beats Audio. Please give feedback if you like, don't like, or have any problems with Beats Audio.

  • 0

#175
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860

Next beta version of Styx:
http://www.mediafire...oah3e39acby6jaw

Updated apps and added Beats Audio. Please give feedback if you like, don't like, or have any problems with Beats Audio.

hi .testing it...beats audio is working good...
doc3000 or doc2008 (same person) added this file about dsp in his last port (MIUI_8860_2.5.4_DOC2008_DSP) http://www.mediafire...ev2g3ariiava21k
so i tried it added in /lib... and i am not really convince about it and dsp...it seem to make volume lower.... but a beat more clear....don't know what to think about it really... but may be i already listen too much music today.

so.personnaly adding beats audio is a very good thing.the sound quality is much better with . but i can hear some "craks"sound during transition between songs. at the end and also at beginnig.
is it the same for other people ?

  • 0

#176
desalesouche

desalesouche

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:u8230/u8860

My guess is that those apps have a required lib file that you are not replacing when you replace the app with the new version. One example is QuickPic. It has a lib file that you must replace as well.
.apk files are a form of zip file. Open whatever app you want to replace with an unzipping program. Look for a /lib folder. Find the *.lib file and extract it (don't remove it from the apk, just make a copy of that one file). Go to /system/lib in the rom. Find the old version of that lib file (usually similar in name, and sometimes the same name). Delete the old lib and replace it with the new lib. Replace the /system/app APK with you new app, and you are good to go.

That's all I can think of that would cause your problem. Good luck.

thank you very much...i manage to do it with your very good explanation...
by the way i found another method...thx to a zip i found to install app... http://www.mediafire...96beqv5fcckbs1v thx to that zip you can place or replace app in system/app...
just put the update you want in the zip or the app you want to place in system...flash it and it is done....(tested with huawei u8660 but must be working with u8220/u8230
i don't like when update take space on system because the old app is not deleted when updated....so i made my update then i move them from data/app to the zip and i flah...after that apps are in system/app and not in data/app :P just another way to do it... ;)

Edited by desalesouche, 19 May 2012 - 11:57 PM.

  • 0

#177
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

thank you very much...i manage to do it with your very good explanation...
by the way i found another method...thx to a zip i found to install app... http://www.mediafire...96beqv5fcckbs1v thx to that zip you can place or replace app in system/app...
just put the update you want in the zip or the app you want to place in system...flash it and it is done....(tested with huawei u8660 but must be working with u8220/u8230
i don't like when update take space on system because the old app is not deleted when updated....so i made my update then i move them from data/app to the zip and i flah...after that apps are in system/app and not in data/app :P just another way to do it... ;)

That is exactly what I have done in the past (just using a generic install file I call APKinstall.zip). However, please remember that if the app you are installing needs to have its lib file installed as well, you need to add a /system/lib folder and put the *.lib file in there, or it still won't work. If you name the *.apk to exactly what the previous version was, you will overwrite it and not have to remove it manually. However, you can not rename the lib file, so you might have to manually remove the old lib file.

  • 0

#178
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

hi .testing it...beats audio is working good...
doc3000 or doc2008 (same person) added this file about dsp in his last port (MIUI_8860_2.5.4_DOC2008_DSP) http://www.mediafire...ev2g3ariiava21k
so i tried it added in /lib... and i am not really convince about it and dsp...it seem to make volume lower.... but a beat more clear....don't know what to think about it really... but may be i already listen too much music today.

so.personnaly adding beats audio is a very good thing.the sound quality is much better with . but i can hear some "craks"sound during transition between songs. at the end and also at beginnig.
is it the same for other people ?


I find it hard to compare with and without Beats. So much just depends on my imagination, and I don't trust that. However, I want to see if that change somehow helps solve the bug where you can't hear the other party when you answer some calls with this rom (unless you click the volume keys after answering the call).

  • 0

#179
newpulse

newpulse

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
hello, does this ROM include Google play? It does not appear in the launcher. Any idea how I can get it installed? many thanks

  • 0

#180
twrock

twrock

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
  • Devices:Jiayu G2S & Huawei G300

hello, does this ROM include Google play? It does not appear in the launcher. Any idea how I can get it installed? many thanks

Yes, Google Play is definitely included in this rom along with a number of other Google apps.
Please go back to the first post and read carefully the Pre-installation requirements and how to install the rom again. My guess is that you are not following the instructions in the first post completely and precisely.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users