Jump to content


Photo

[ADDON] Signal Boost (UMA) for all Gingerbread 2.3.5 ROMs

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
This is my Signal Boost (UMA) ADDON.

It was extracted from Orange UK 2.3.4 ROM and should work on all Gingerbread 2.3.5 ROMs.
This addon is specific to Orange UK carrier.
IT WILL NOT WORK WITH OTHER CARRIERS!

What is Signal Boost and how it works:
By enabling Signal Boost your WiFi connection is used to create
IPSec VPN Tunnel with carrier's server. After VPN tunnel is established
all GSM traffic is redirected through VPN tunnel.
Basically your GSM calls become VoIP calls.
http://help.orange.c...personal/446533

Prerequisites:
- Orange UK SIM card with Pay as you go or Pay monthly
- Any Gingerbread 2.3.5 ROM. Do not use with CM7/CM9 - it won't probably work and may cause your phone not to boot.
- Kernel with IPSec support (normally all kernels have this)
- About 5.5MB of free space in system partition

Download: http://tinyw.in/hlhy ( MIRROR )
MD5 Checksum: 5347dbd178018086f8320f7cde6d377d

Installation instructions
1) Download ZIP to your SD card
2) Reboot to ClockworkMod recovery
3) Make a backup of your ROM - this step is strongly recommended so you can easily revert back in case of any problems
4) Use install zip from sd card / choose zip from sd card menu, locate dowloaded ZIP, select and confirm
5) Reboot

No wipes are necessary.

Thanks go to ian_c_here for helping me with testing (tested on AtomicMod R10)

Edited by C3C0, 29 May 2012 - 05:27 AM.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#2
ian_c_here

ian_c_here

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Monte Carlo
[quote name='C3C0' timestamp='1332324056' post='1921008']
This is my Signal Boost (UMA) ADDON.

It was extracted from Orange UK 2.3.4 ROM and should work on all Gingerbread ROMs.
This addon is specific to Orange UK carrier.
IT WILL NOT WORK WITH OTHER CARRIERS!

It installed ok but the icon remains red. It worked ok with the original orange rom and with Tillaz logicmod which includes sig boost. <br class="Apple-interchange-newline">

Attached Files


  • 0

#3
aamiel

aamiel

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo : ZTE skate

It installed ok but the icon remains red.

Just in case you didn't know, note that the icon will remain red until you nearly loose your GSM signal.

  • 0

#4
ian_c_here

ian_c_here

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Monte Carlo

Just in case you didn't know, note that the icon will remain red until you nearly loose your GSM signal.


This is not the problem as I don't have an Orange signal (of any flavour) at home.

  • 0

#5
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
I think it has something to do with the missing certificate:

03-21 13:03:44.710 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  Process Peer Certificate #1. len 1008 type "X.509 Certificate Signature"
03-21 13:03:44.710 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.710 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  unable to get certificate CRL(3) at depth:0 SubjectName:/serialNumber=ExI3pXud8wEhyNUWHyPFI2ufabRY--0i/C=GB/O=segw.mobile.orange.co.uk/OU=businessprofile.geotrust.com/get.jsp?GT98741910/OU=See [url="http://www.geotrust.com/resources/cps"]www.geotrust.com/resources/cps[/url] (c)06/OU=Domain Cont
03-21 13:03:44.710 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  unable to get certificate CRL(3) at depth:1 SubjectName:/C=US/O=Equifax/OU=Equifax Secure Certificate Authority

or SIM verification problem...
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- Compute EAP-SIM FULL-AUTH Keys: Identity
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- IK
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- CK
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- Master Key
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- K_encr
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- K_aut
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- MSK
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- EMSK
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  SIM_CHALL: Going to verify MAC
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  SIM_MAC: eap_sim_compute_mac (verify = 1)
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  SIM_MAC: verify
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  SIM_MAC: After verify
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- AuthKey
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- Message
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- MAC (All Zeros)
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG084- Digest
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  SIM_MAC: Final Verify:
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  SIM_MAC: MAC:
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-   b1 ce e5 be df b8 e0 ed aa f2 f3 9b 97 ac bf 49
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  SIM_MAC: Digest:
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-   d1 d1 02 69 1e 81 3d c1 bb 9f 3a ff d1 d3 5d 47
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  EAP-SIM:MAC verification failed
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.780 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  SIM_CHALL: MAC verification FAILED
.
.
.

03-21 13:03:44.920 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  STATUS != EAP_ST_COMPLETED_SUCCESS, returning IKEv2_NE_AUTHENTICATION_FAILED
03-21 13:03:44.920 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  failed to send packet
03-21 13:03:44.920 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.920 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-   IPSecSA I Failed ph1 1 ph2 1 sp 57 [0x18] NE_AUTHENTICATION_FAILED
03-21 13:03:44.920 E/KINETO  (419): 
03-21 13:03:44.920 E/KINETO  (419): KLOG082-  IPSEC_EAP_AKA_AUTH_FAIL

Edited by C3C0, 21 March 2012 - 01:53 PM.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#6
ian_c_here

ian_c_here

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Monte Carlo
[quote name='C3C0' timestamp='1332337264' post='1921089']
I think it has something to do with the missing certificate:

Just had a run out in the car to find a cell signal and I can confirm that the sim is operational and working.

  • 0

#7
ian_c_here

ian_c_here

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Monte Carlo
Latest update not working. The icon remains red

Attached Files


  • 0

#8
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
OK. SORTED OUT. SIGNAL BOOST SEEMS TO BE WORKING NOW!

Massive thanks to ian_c_here for helping me with testing.

Will update the first post as soon as I get home.

Have to go now.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#9
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
Signal Boost addon now available in the first post.

Enjoy and please, report back what ROM you are using it on.

Thanks.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#10
timfimjim

timfimjim

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend g300, Nexus 7
working for me!

On Swedish Snow 6 port


Hypothetically would this work on the blade too?

A few libs and other files would need changing but is it possible? or is it down to hardware too?

Edited by timfimjim, 21 March 2012 - 08:26 PM.

  • 0

#11
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
It's pure sw issue. So hypothetically, yes :-). But I may be wrong, of course.

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#12
timfimjim

timfimjim

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend g300, Nexus 7

It's pure sw issue. So hypothetically, yes :-). But I may be wrong, of course.


post it on the blade forums maybe? I'm sure it'll attract a lot of attention haha

  • 0

#13
JetKun

JetKun

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:stephen fry
  • Devices:ZTE Skate (OMC)
  • Twitter:@stephenfry
ONLY on orange? FFUU-

  • 0

#14
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
Orange UK...

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#15
M3at

M3at

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheshire UK
  • Interests:Family Guy
  • Devices:Desire HD
Hi, really must thank you loads (along with prob many Orange UK'ers) :D Been waiting for something like this since i got this phone, i found Orange's whole " if u want UMA than u should just go for a Blackberry" thing quite annoying. :angry2:


Interested in this for my DHD. Our house, which is where most calls are made from, is like a lead box, so i'm constantly getting gsm signal loss / dropped calls. I don't fancy getting CWM as i believe u have to root the device 1st? ...and im far too nooby with phones to be comfortable doing that. I do have a few questions though .


Could i use the stock "Factory Reset" to remove the installation of the UMA Addon - if it brought about any issues? Can it be used as a kind of "Very Basic Backup" as opposed to the more custom oriented CWM?


Im only really bothered about contacts (which i can sync with google) and a few paid apps (Launcher Pro, Live Wallpapers etc (and afaik they register to your device so i would just have to re-download without re-paying?


I'm on a Stock UK Retail Handset

Posted Image

  • 0
I know enough to get into trouble ...and frequently do :huh:

#16
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
I wouldn't try it. It won't work. It's a completely different device with a different chipset.
You would probably end up with a brick.

Cwm is a necessity to install it, anyway. Sorry...

  • 0
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.

#17
M3at

M3at

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheshire UK
  • Interests:Family Guy
  • Devices:Desire HD

I wouldn't try it. It won't work. It's a completely different device with a different chipset.
You would probably end up with a brick.

Cwm is a necessity to install it, anyway. Sorry...


Thanks for the reply m8, appreciate the honesty, at least i'm out of my misery. Guess i'll just have to wait for upgrade time.

Edited by M3at, 12 May 2012 - 05:28 PM.

  • 0
I know enough to get into trouble ...and frequently do :huh:

#18
Ellastonepaul

Ellastonepaul

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy Ace
Hi. This seems exactly what I was looking for, however I am not even a Newbie, I am a total Novice! So bit concerned about taking this on but....

This was set up about a year ago and things have moved on so.........

Will it work on a

Samsung Ace Model GT S5830i?
Android Version is 2.3.6
Baseband version: S5830iXXMD1
Kernel Version: 2.6.35.7
Build No: Gingerbread XXMD1

Has there been any further feedback that has missed these posts?

Thanks for your reassurance!

Ellastonepaul

  • 0

#19
C3C0

C3C0

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia (Bratislava)
  • Devices:Nexus 5
No. This is for zte skate only.

  • 1
Links to my stuff: SlimBean (Android 4.2.2), RootBox (CM/AOKP/PA mix 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly2 (AOSPA 4.2.2), ParanoidJelly (JB), ParanoidAndroid (ICS), MokeeOS (GB), CM7.2 (GB), SKatie (GB), SwedishSnow (GB), Kernels
If you like my contribution to Android community, click donate button on my page at: http://ceco.sk.eu.org
Please, do not use personal conversation to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users