Jump to content


Photo

[ICS] [CM9] [4.0.4] CyanogenMod 9 for the ZTE Crescent [ROM] [Last updated: 13/07]

* * * * * 15 votes

  • Please log in to reply
2674 replies to this topic

#2021
battlecat

battlecat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
What a FANTASTIC rom! I cannot believe how snappy and awesome this is. Very impressed!

I'm a little stuck with moving my apps to ext and was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers. It seems as if it can't mount the sd-ext.

I flashed the a2sd file provided and partitioned my SD in Recovery, which gave it the ext2 partition. (Also tried manually changing to ext3 & ext4 with no success)

The output of a2sd check is:

[ ] Apps2SD is launching...
__ _____
| \ |
| | |
|__/ | Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.2 (2010-09-30)

[ ] GetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox getprop
[ ] SetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox setprop
[ ] Mount Point = /sd-ext
[ ] Starting Apps2SD Check Program.
[ ] Checking for ext partition
[✖] Ext partition found, but not mounted.
Your rom may not be setup to run Apps2SD.
Check with your rom developer if the boot image
is programmed to run Apps2SD.

Your partition may be using an EXT4 partition,
but your rom may not support EXT4. Repartition
your SD card to use EXT2 or EXT3.

output of busybox df -h :

Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs 210.8M 48.0K 210.8M 0% /dev
tmpfs 210.8M 0 210.8M 0% /mnt/asec
tmpfs 210.8M 0 210.8M 0% /mnt/obb
/dev/block/mtdblock5 220.0M 202.4M 17.6M 92% /system
/dev/block/mtdblock6 162.5M 64.5M 98.0M 40% /data
/dev/block/mtdblock4 57.5M 1.5M 56.0M 3% /cache
/dev/block/vold/179:1
6.9G 60.0K 6.9G 0% /mnt/sdcard
/dev/block/vold/179:1
6.9G 60.0K 6.9G 0% /mnt/secure/asec


Installed s2e and all options are grey and no visible ext although it is there, just not mounting.

Any ideas how to get it to auto mount sd-ext on boot or where I'm going wrong? Im a little lost! Thanks!


EDIT: Incase you searched this thread for the same problem, I've got it working. Details below:

CWM Recovery v5.0.2.7 formats as ext4 when you partition the SD Card. For some reason using Mini Tool Partition Manager in windows to reformat/change partition doesn't work. (it creates the partition but the ROM doesn't mount/recognise it)

Used Gparted in linux instead and converted the existing ext4 (partitioned in CWM Recovery to ext3 (to make it compatible with the linked a2sd script), rebooted and it works fine! Happy days! :)


[ ] Apps2SD is launching...
__ _____
| \ |
| | |
|__/ | Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.2 (2010-09-30)

[ ] GetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox getprop
[ ] SetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox setprop
[ ] Mount Point = /sd-ext
[ ] Creating /cache/dc
[ ] Symlinking /cache/dalvik-cache to /data/dalvik-cache
[ ] Starting Apps2SD Check Program.
[ ] Checking for ext partition

Darktremor 2.7.5.2 Apps2SD Status Report
===================================================================================
Legend: [✔]=Setting is correct
[‼]=Setting is correct, but not optimal.
[✖]=Setting is incorrect and needs to be fixed or option is not available.
===================================================================================
Block Device - [✔] Found
- [✔] /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
EXT Partition - [✔] Mounted
Mount Point - [ ] /sd-ext
Partition Type - [✔] EXT3
Support EXT2? - [✔] Yes
Support EXT3? - [✔] Yes
Support EXT4? - [✖] No

Apps - [ ] Linked to SD Card.
[ ] No Apps2SD Flag File not found.
[✔] Programs run from SD card
To run from internal storage, type a2sd remove

Private Apps - [ ] Linked to SD Card.
[ ] No Apps2SD Flag File not found.
[✔] Private Programs run from SD card
To run from internal storage, type a2sd remove

Edited by battlecat, 01 July 2012 - 01:48 PM.

  • 0

#2022
Carlover

Carlover

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent (OSFII)
Hey guys, I cant seem to get wifi to work, it just wont connect at all - any help please? -thanks

Fixed it... never mind

Edited by Carlover, 30 June 2012 - 06:13 PM.

  • 0
Motorola XOOM - TeamEOS Wingray Nightly [ICS]
ZTE Crescent - CyanogenMod 9 [ICS] (Unofficial)

#2023
FrankyG

FrankyG

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 607 posts
Love this ROM (R9) but still getting wifi sleep problems.
CANNOT get wifi to stay active when the phone sleeps. eg wifi switched on and downloading a large file, game etc. As soon as the screen switches off, the wifi disconnects and the download fails.
Doesn't seem to make any difference what the wifi sleep policy is set to. When I wake the phone up, it doesn't reconnect to the wifi point, I have to switch wifi off and then on for it to work. Is this a known issue? Is there a fix?

Thanks again for a really nice ROM.
FrankyG

  • 0
FrankyG

#2024
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade
never really had an issue with wifi, accept it could be better at choosing the strong base to logon to.

Do you choose restore your settings when changing roms. This can sometimes cause issues. I always retype everything back in.
Chris

  • 0
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#2025
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
AOKP build coming today. It's nice, fixes the browser issue and makes my life a ton easier in building, probably fixes a load more, and is in sync with official build 40. ;)

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

You're likely to get a quicker response from me on Twitter.

#2026
battlecat

battlecat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

What a FANTASTIC rom! I cannot believe how snappy and awesome this is. Very impressed!

I'm a little stuck with moving my apps to ext and was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers. It seems as if it can't mount the sd-ext.

I flashed the a2sd file provided and partitioned my SD in Recovery, which gave it the ext2 partition. (Also tried manually changing to ext3 & ext4 with no success)

The output of a2sd check is:

[ ] Apps2SD is launching...
__ _____
| \ |
| | |
|__/ | Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.2 (2010-09-30)

[ ] GetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox getprop
[ ] SetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox setprop
[ ] Mount Point = /sd-ext
[ ] Starting Apps2SD Check Program.
[ ] Checking for ext partition
[✖] Ext partition found, but not mounted.
Your rom may not be setup to run Apps2SD.
Check with your rom developer if the boot image
is programmed to run Apps2SD.

Your partition may be using an EXT4 partition,
but your rom may not support EXT4. Repartition
your SD card to use EXT2 or EXT3.

output of busybox df -h :

Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs 210.8M 48.0K 210.8M 0% /dev
tmpfs 210.8M 0 210.8M 0% /mnt/asec
tmpfs 210.8M 0 210.8M 0% /mnt/obb
/dev/block/mtdblock5 220.0M 202.4M 17.6M 92% /system
/dev/block/mtdblock6 162.5M 64.5M 98.0M 40% /data
/dev/block/mtdblock4 57.5M 1.5M 56.0M 3% /cache
/dev/block/vold/179:1
6.9G 60.0K 6.9G 0% /mnt/sdcard
/dev/block/vold/179:1
6.9G 60.0K 6.9G 0% /mnt/secure/asec


Installed s2e and all options are grey and no visible ext although it is there, just not mounting.

Any ideas how to get it to auto mount sd-ext on boot or where I'm going wrong? Im a little lost! Thanks!


SOLUTION:

Incase you searched this thread for the same problem, I've got it working. Details below:

CWM Recovery v5.0.2.7 formats as ext4 when you partition the SD Card. For some reason using Mini Tool Partition Manager in windows to reformat/change partition doesn't work. (it creates the partition but the ROM doesn't mount/recognise it)

Used Gparted in linux instead and converted the existing ext4 (initially partitioned in CWM Recovery) to ext3 (to make it compatible with the linked a2sd script), rebooted and it works fine! Probably me being a dick somewhere along the line, but happy days! :)


[ ] Apps2SD is launching...
__ _____
| \ |
| | |
|__/ | Darktremor Apps2SD 2.7.5.2 (2010-09-30)

[ ] GetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox getprop
[ ] SetProp Command = /system/bin/toolbox setprop
[ ] Mount Point = /sd-ext
[ ] Creating /cache/dc
[ ] Symlinking /cache/dalvik-cache to /data/dalvik-cache
[ ] Starting Apps2SD Check Program.
[ ] Checking for ext partition

Darktremor 2.7.5.2 Apps2SD Status Report
===================================================================================
Legend: [✔]=Setting is correct
[‼]=Setting is correct, but not optimal.
[✖]=Setting is incorrect and needs to be fixed or option is not available.
===================================================================================
Block Device - [✔] Found
- [✔] /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
EXT Partition - [✔] Mounted
Mount Point - [ ] /sd-ext
Partition Type - [✔] EXT3
Support EXT2? - [✔] Yes
Support EXT3? - [✔] Yes
Support EXT4? - [✖] No

Apps - [ ] Linked to SD Card.
[ ] No Apps2SD Flag File not found.
[✔] Programs run from SD card
To run from internal storage, type a2sd remove

Private Apps - [ ] Linked to SD Card.
[ ] No Apps2SD Flag File not found.
[✔] Private Programs run from SD card
To run from internal storage, type a2sd remove

  • 0

#2027
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Yeah, this is the very outdated version of A2SD that is in the Gingerbread ROMs. I'll try to get the updated version working at some point.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

You're likely to get a quicker response from me on Twitter.

#2028
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
AOKP build up!

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

You're likely to get a quicker response from me on Twitter.

#2029
CurtisAndroidSF2

CurtisAndroidSF2

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartlepool
  • Interests:Graphic Design, Music, Photography, Android, Technology & Gaming.
  • Devices:HUAWEI ASCEND P1
Any chance of the new CM7 build being uploaded?

  • 0

Devices


Huawei Ascend P1 (Untouched, for now)

iPhone 4 16gb Jailbroke (6.1.3 semi-tethered) (Sold)

HTC ONE V (Unlocked Bootloader/TWRP installed) running CM10 (Sold)

ZTE Crescent (OSF2)- Paranoid Android 4.1 (Sold)

Samsung Galaxy I5500- CM7 (Sold)

________________________________

My Photography


My Ported Roms:

MoKeeOS (Alpha) | GB MIUI (Alpha) | KonstaKang (Alpha)

| AtomicMod (Beta) |

SwedishSnow (Fully working) | H3 Blues


Help me by testing out my ported ROMs and let me know what works/doesn't work and post here


#2030
AmbushReality

AmbushReality

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds- UK
  • Interests:Enter Shikari, Other Screamo bands?
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco 2

Any chance of the new CM7 build being uploaded?

It Was uploaded like a day or two ago ;)

  • 0
If you stand for nothing, You will fall for Anything- Rou Reynolds, Enter Shikari
Current Devices- OSFII Running Dazzozo's port of CM9

#2031
CurtisAndroidSF2

CurtisAndroidSF2

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartlepool
  • Interests:Graphic Design, Music, Photography, Android, Technology & Gaming.
  • Devices:HUAWEI ASCEND P1

It Was uploaded like a day or two ago ;)

Oh, my bad, thank you.

  • 0

Devices


Huawei Ascend P1 (Untouched, for now)

iPhone 4 16gb Jailbroke (6.1.3 semi-tethered) (Sold)

HTC ONE V (Unlocked Bootloader/TWRP installed) running CM10 (Sold)

ZTE Crescent (OSF2)- Paranoid Android 4.1 (Sold)

Samsung Galaxy I5500- CM7 (Sold)

________________________________

My Photography


My Ported Roms:

MoKeeOS (Alpha) | GB MIUI (Alpha) | KonstaKang (Alpha)

| AtomicMod (Beta) |

SwedishSnow (Fully working) | H3 Blues


Help me by testing out my ported ROMs and let me know what works/doesn't work and post here


#2032
NinjehKitteh

NinjehKitteh

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, United Kingdom
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent / P736E
  • Twitter:@xNinjehKitteh
Hey Daz, can you post the hacked services.jar?
Rather than teach us how to do it?

-Ninjeh.

  • 0

#2033
MadEye Moody

MadEye Moody

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:ZTECrescent, Nexus 4
  • Twitter:@renjithis
Synced and built yesterday, but the wifi won't turn on at phone wake, and also trying to switch wifi off doesn't stop. It says "Turning off Wi-Fi..."

I have set the wifi to be turned off during sleep...

  • 0
Shell script to trim down ROMs (tested on CM9 and CM10) : https://www.dropbox..../zip_trimmer.sh

Shell script (cron ready) to automate syncing, compiling and trimming(requires zip_trimmer.sh) CyanogenMod (currently for CM10, with just a few modifications, will work with CM9 source) : https://www.dropbox....htly_release.sh

#2034
glassblower

glassblower

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
A really big thank you to the people responsible for this ROM. It has transformed my TMV. No big issues other than...

1. After installation my WiFi wasn't working. It was down to the MAC address being set wrongly to 11:22:33:44:55:66 Fixed by editing the incorrect MAC address above to the correct one for my phone using a HEX editor. Simple once I knew what the problem was.

2. The battery doesn't seem to last quite as long when running WiFi & GPS as it did when running GBread on the Sebastian ROM and overclock kernel. I can put up with that though for such an improvement!

Just one question.... When a newer CYAN ROM becomes avaiable, will I be able to flash it over the old one without having to go through the rigmarole of starting from scratch again?

Thanks
Neil

  • 0

#2035
CurtisAndroidSF2

CurtisAndroidSF2

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartlepool
  • Interests:Graphic Design, Music, Photography, Android, Technology & Gaming.
  • Devices:HUAWEI ASCEND P1

A really big thank you to the people responsible for this ROM. It has transformed my TMV. No big issues other than...

1. After installation my WiFi wasn't working. It was down to the MAC address being set wrongly to 11:22:33:44:55:66 Fixed by editing the incorrect MAC address above to the correct one for my phone using a HEX editor. Simple once I knew what the problem was.

2. The battery doesn't seem to last quite as long when running WiFi & GPS as it did when running GBread on the Sebastian ROM and overclock kernel. I can put up with that though for such an improvement!

Just one question.... When a newer CYAN ROM becomes avaiable, will I be able to flash it over the old one without having to go through the rigmarole of starting from scratch again?

Thanks
Neil


When a new update is released it is recommended to do a full wipe (data,cache and dalvik) this obviously resets your settings etc but if you use an app named Titanium Backup you can backup ALL your applications, application data and settings then you can restore them and get your phone back up and running within an hour of updating. Just remember to have a backup of your contacts on your SD card to restore your contacts.

  • 0

Devices


Huawei Ascend P1 (Untouched, for now)

iPhone 4 16gb Jailbroke (6.1.3 semi-tethered) (Sold)

HTC ONE V (Unlocked Bootloader/TWRP installed) running CM10 (Sold)

ZTE Crescent (OSF2)- Paranoid Android 4.1 (Sold)

Samsung Galaxy I5500- CM7 (Sold)

________________________________

My Photography


My Ported Roms:

MoKeeOS (Alpha) | GB MIUI (Alpha) | KonstaKang (Alpha)

| AtomicMod (Beta) |

SwedishSnow (Fully working) | H3 Blues


Help me by testing out my ported ROMs and let me know what works/doesn't work and post here


#2036
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

@Dazzozo do I smell a CWM build? ;)


Damn you... :(

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

You're likely to get a quicker response from me on Twitter.

#2037
techsolo

techsolo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:127.0.0.1
  • Interests:Love the smell of solder in the morning!
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent
Any solution for making a shadow copy / image of the whole phone (like DD)? I'm not looking to restore all my settings again and want to do an upgrade. Made a backup using titaniumbackup pro ( backup all user apps + system data) but aren't shore enough to test it :)

  • 0

#2038
surfungus

surfungus

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Interests:Tech, Seeing a cheap as chips phone run some amazing software, xbox (call of duty), beer...
  • Devices:Moto G
Hey tech, if you boot into clockwork and go to Backup, that will make a copy of everything. Then if anything does go wrong you can just go back to clockwork and do a restore. Very handy, I always make a backup when I've got all my basic apps installed. It also means you can switch roms in minutes.

  • 0
Like the custom ROM on your phone? Why not buy the dev a beer!!

#2039
SpLinterOgr

SpLinterOgr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:RU, Moscow
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco II
Does only I have problems with flashlight?
It's doesn't work :(

And does any one use Swype and have problem and lags with typing word letter by letter?

  • 0

#2040
rymate1234

rymate1234

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
Is it just me, or do apps requiring voice input don't work?

I've tried iris and the Google voice search built in, and neither get to the stage where I can input anything.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users