Jump to content


Photo

How to root your Huawei Ascend G300 (for Windows, Mac and Linux)


  • Please log in to reply
313 replies to this topic

#101
buckleheid

buckleheid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arbroath,SCOTLAND
  • Devices:ascend g300,SG2
ok,rooted now thanks for your patience,how do i remove some of the vodafone stuff like qype?

  • 0

#102
pritsey

pritsey

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Whitley Bay
  • Devices:galaxy nexus, nexus 7

ok,rooted now thanks for your patience,how do i remove some of the vodafone stuff like qype?


Exactly what I'm trying to do - glad not just me wondering how to do it!

  • 0

#103
buckleheid

buckleheid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arbroath,SCOTLAND
  • Devices:ascend g300,SG2
think its this way?
try this,settings,applications,manage applications,scroll thru to the ones you want to remove,not sure tho so dont do it until someone can confirm this is correct

  • 0

#104
pritsey

pritsey

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Whitley Bay
  • Devices:galaxy nexus, nexus 7
I can't delete the stock Voda crapps that way. I have SuperSU now, but no apps showing there - is this right?

  • 0

#105
buckleheid

buckleheid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arbroath,SCOTLAND
  • Devices:ascend g300,SG2
no idea m8,tried that as well haha

  • 0

#106
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
You need a root browser. Apps installed in system can't be deleted as you would a normal app.
I use Rom Toolbox. There is an app list built in and you should be able to delete from there.

Please respect the power that a root browser gives you and don't change what you don't know and don't delete if your not sure.

  • 0

#107
buckleheid

buckleheid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arbroath,SCOTLAND
  • Devices:ascend g300,SG2
cheers for the tip,im only be trying to delete the vodafone stuff,but not all of it.

  • 0

#108
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Use the built in app manager in Rom Toolbox then scroll to the right to see all apps.
You can just click the app from there and get a quick menu or long press for much more options

  • 0

#109
buckleheid

buckleheid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arbroath,SCOTLAND
  • Devices:ascend g300,SG2
cheers ive got rom toolbox now,i wont run that yet ill just install the clockwork mod then see how it goes,tomorrows project,too tired need sleep

  • 0

#110
kaizoku_san

kaizoku_san

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE V970

Mine took two attempts but this is what i done.
phone off
pull usb cable
pull battery
wait few seconds
install battery
holding down "volume down" turn phone on, phone vibrates let buttons go.
Huawei logo should be on screen if yes insert usb cable.
windows detects phone and installs drivers (or something I am no expert). lol can you tell.
double click the bat file and a command windows appears and magic happens and the command window disappears.

I got no prompt about going into recovery mode, it may have been in the command window but it disappeared to fast. once the command window disappeared i done the following.
Pulled the battery
pulled the usb cable
waited a few seconds
installed battery
hold down "volume up" and turned phone on, once phone vibrates let buttons go.
you should be at the recovery screen ( i was not the first time)
reboot device should already be highlighted
press power button to select reboot
phone reboots and look in app drawer for SU
and that should be you.

hope this helps.


thank you so much for this.
i didnt read paul's instructions properly, and after spending a long time unlocking a sensation, i kept on pressing the DOWN volume button to go into bootloader.
only when i went through your post did i read that i should press the UP volume button after the .bat file did its thing (which i expected for it to show me something like the sensation root...."...beer beer.... etc...."!!!)

now rooted :) :)
gonna look around for a better rom than the stock version :)

Edited by kaizoku_san, 01 June 2012 - 01:35 AM.

  • 0

#111
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
just ran linux script as root and got this:

sending 'recovery' (5074 KB)... OKAY
writing 'recovery'... OKAY
./install-superrecovery-linux.sh: 3: Syntax error: "(" unexpected

er is this serious?!

edit: guess not 'cos it works. you just need to escape your brackets to avoid scaring newbs please :)

Edited by Smiff2, 01 June 2012 - 12:05 PM.

  • 1

#112
wiiija

wiiija

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
sean@sean-UL30A:~/Downloads/r1-g300-superrecovery$ sudo ./install-superrecovery-linux.sh
[sudo] password for sean:
./install-superrecovery-linux.sh: 2: ./install-superrecovery-linux.sh: ./fastboot-linux: not found
./install-superrecovery-linux.sh: 3: ./install-superrecovery-linux.sh: Syntax error: "(" unexpected


Any ideas? fastboot-linux is there, I have no idea whats going on!

Edited by wiiija, 02 June 2012 - 08:05 PM.

  • 0

#113
wiiija

wiiija

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Nevermind, done in windows :)

  • 0

#114
cartoone

cartoone

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
Just out of Technical curiosity.. ( to know the reason why the phone is not getting unlocked even after rooting..)
When you root a device, i thought we are bringing the system to its barebones and putting the original firmware (please correct I'm wrong)
Then why is it not unlocking the carrier? ( Are they doing the sim lock at a much hardware level?)

Edited by cartoone, 15 June 2012 - 11:02 AM.

  • 0

#115
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
no, rooting just means gaining root access on a linux system.
this basically just means installing SU (superuser) which appears like another app in the app drawer and allows other apps root permissions.. nothing to do with carrier locking or changing ROMs.

  • 2

#116
cartoone

cartoone

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

no, rooting just means gaining root access on a linux system.
this basically just means installing SU (superuser) which appears like another app in the app drawer and allows other apps root permissions.. nothing to do with carrier locking or changing ROMs.

thanks mate for the simple explanation.

  • 0

#117
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
yeah that wasn't a great explanation sorry.. "root" is like "administrator" in Windows - permission to write anywhere in the file system. a normal user can only read the \system partition for example, root can read and write.

you need root access before you can change roms and use some apps. you do not need root access to unlock a phone, you need an unlock code :)

Edited by Smiff2, 15 June 2012 - 10:38 PM.

  • 0

#118
Pear of Anguish

Pear of Anguish

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi folks

First thanks for the guide, this has been my first attempt at rooting or generally doing anything to a phone and for the most part I think I've succeeded!
However...
I've had no obvious issues following this but I'm just at a wall now. I think the device is rooted as in no problems downloading the file to PC and got through the installation process and rebooting on the android screen. Phone is now on and I'm just wondering what to do now. I've had a look through the app pages and unable to find anything named SU. Guessng I just need to find this and activate it now?

Thanks in advance

  • 0

#119
BGRT

BGRT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade | Huawei G300
Nice one ! Got my G300 yesterday afternoon and was only looking (at least for now !) for a way to remove the demos... done ! Now waiting for that unlock code but it seems the Ebay vendor I chose doesn't 'process' at the weekend... ah well, at least I can still connect through wifi :)

  • 0

#120
Pear of Anguish

Pear of Anguish

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Hi folks

First thanks for the guide, this has been my first attempt at rooting or generally doing anything to a phone and for the most part I think I've succeeded!
However...
I've had no obvious issues following this but I'm just at a wall now. I think the device is rooted as in no problems downloading the file to PC and got through the installation process and rebooting on the android screen. Phone is now on and I'm just wondering what to do now. I've had a look through the app pages and unable to find anything named SU. Guessng I just need to find this and activate it now?

Thanks in advance


All done, tried it a few times and for whatever reason it's now showing up.

  • 0




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users