Jump to content


Photo

How to root your Huawei Ascend G300 (for Windows, Mac and Linux)


  • Please log in to reply
328 replies to this topic

#121
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
best way is to just try an app that needs root e.g. Titanium Backup or AdAway - you should be prompted by SU to give it root permissions. if not, those apps will complain and you aren't rooted :)

Edited by Smiff2, 16 June 2012 - 04:08 PM.

  • 0

#122
derei

derei

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I have no idea why, but pressing Volume-Down button, while powering-up my phone, doesn't grant that HUAWEI logo stays on screen... it stays for several seconds, then continues to load all stuff, and phone is up as normally.
Any suggestions? I tried a lot of times, the vol-down button is working properly, have no idea what's going on...

LATER EDIT: I had to press Vol-Down longer than Power btn (another 3-5 sec, after releasing Pwr btn) and that did the job. Same for recovery screen.

Edited by derei, 18 June 2012 - 10:06 AM.

  • 0

#123
Pia23

Pia23

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Thanks for this i've just rooted with no problems.

A question though, i've literally just taken delivery of the phone and am waiting for my unlock code from ebay. I read i need to update the firmware due to a speaker problem or something? How do i do this, can anyone link me to noob-friendly instructions? Will this undo my root? I'm not bothered about changing roms. (as i don't know how to)

Edited by Pia23, 20 June 2012 - 01:57 PM.

  • 0

#124
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
here you go:
http://www.modaco.co...-and-i-cant-do/

Someone else will know better than me, I'm not 100%, but I think you would have to re-root. You'll know if, you install the B866 (edit: B886, sorry) update and then look in your app tray. If SuperSU is there, you're still rooted.

Edited by eirlysbill1, 20 June 2012 - 02:13 PM.

  • 1

#125
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
It wipes the phone so yes, you will have to reroot

  • 0

#126
Pia23

Pia23

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Thanks i thought there would be a way to fix the speaker without installing a whole new rom but i will try and work out how to put the B886 on and attempt it later.... I assume both of these things won't affect unlocking? My code hasn't arrived yet.

  • 0

#127
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Can you check which rom you have on? B885 is the official vodafone sound fix. I don't think B886 is an official vodafone uk release. There are improvements as the rom version numbers increase but none are official uk versions.

confirmed, B886 is unofficial.

  • 1

#128
Pia23

Pia23

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Ah right, maybe mine is okay then as if it's the last digits of 'build number' then it's B885 yet my sound it rather quieter than my Skate.

Although it may be worth putting B886 on to save hassle of debloating myself, especially as Titanium is telling me it can't find the apk files. Bit scared to mess it up!

  • 0

#129
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
apps you want to remove are in root, then go to cust file.

  • 0

#130
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Rom toolbox is what I use, click on root browser and then you will see cust in the first menu that you see

  • 0

#131
3.14

3.14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:α Centauri
After rooting, how can i unroot it?

  • 0

#132
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

After rooting, how can i unroot it?

in the SuperSU settings theres an option to unroot the device

  • 0

#133
3.14

3.14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:α Centauri

in the SuperSU settings theres an option to unroot the device

thanks. do i need to backup all that crap that came with it?

  • 0

#134
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

thanks. do i need to backup all that crap that came with it?

well root it, install ClockWorkMod Recovery then back up ur Rom(the one with all the bloatware) on it just in case, althought just check what B ROM you have.

by B rom; I mean they the build number should have B*** at the end, if its B885(back that 1, as it fixes the volume issue)

Edited by FrankieADZ, 24 June 2012 - 06:19 PM.

  • 0

#135
jgbyr

jgbyr

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I got mine from Vodafone Ireland. Have it rooted now but it came out of the box with B886.

  • 0

#136
pelago

pelago

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Nokia N900
That's interesting, as that's the first time (I believe) a greater than B885 ROM has been released officially by Vodafone.

  • 0

#137
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Yep. Got mine last Wednesday, though not from Ireland, on B885.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#138
pelago

pelago

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Nokia N900
Paul, can I make two suggestions for changes to the .bat file. Firstly, if you add:
@echo off
as the first line, things will look neater on the screen. Secondly, if you add:
pause
as the last line, the Command Prompt window won't disappear at the end of the process for people who double-click the .bat file, so they will be able to see if it worked or not.

  • 0

#139
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Can this be flashed to remove clockwirk mod recovery and gain stock recovery again for flashing update.app ?

  • 0

#140
Bassalh123

Bassalh123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Hi all,
I Got Huawei Ascend G300 recently. Rooted now using the methode found in this thread, then I installed the latest recovery image which has more options like restore/backup and install zip from sd card .... I also installed Deodexed ROM found here http://blog.podtwo.c...ngerbread].html, every thing went well and everything is working GPS. WIFI, FM, Camera...
The only known bad issue is that when I turn off my mobile and plugged to wall charger the phone boots into recovery automatically!!!!
I tried both USB debugging on/off but same result the phone boots into recovery when plugged to wall charger. Now I am not sure if it's something to do with the recovery installed or the ROM?
Does anyone else has the same problem ? And is there a solution for this? Thanks

Edited by Bassalh123, 05 July 2012 - 11:29 AM.

  • 0




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users