Jump to content


Photo

[GUIDE] BULK COLOUR CHANGE OF .PNG FILES IN SECONDS

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

small guide on how to batch change colour of .png files in seconds

.


things you will need

.


1.) GIMP > LINK

2.) ImageMagick >LINK



FIRST INSTALL THE PROGRAMS ABOVE


A)) CREATE A NEW FOLDER, NAME IT TEST AND ADD IT TO YOUR MAIN DIRECTORY OF YOU COMPUTER FOR ME ITS >> C:\


C)) GET ALL THE .PNG FILES YOU WANT TO CHANGE THE COLOUR OF, COPY & PASTE THEM TO THE TEST FOLDER


D)) OPEN GIMP, DRAG AND DROP ONE OF THE .PNG FILES FROM THE TEST FOLDER ON TO GIMP TO OPEN IT.

NOW GO TO THE "COLOURS" TAB AT THE TOP & SELECT HUE SATURATION.


E)) MESS AROUND WITH THE SLIDERS UNTIL YOU GET YOUR DESIRED COLOUR


F)) NOW THAT YOU HAVE THE THE COLOUR YOU WISH TO USE PRESS START & SEARCH "CMD" DOUBLE CLICK ON CMD TO OPEN THE COMMAND PROMPT.


G)) NAVIGATE TO THE TEST FOLDER,

.

YOU ENTER THIS BELOW IN THE COMMAND PROMPT


cd C: est

(PRESS ENTER)


(if your main drive is not C:\ change that part to to the drive you used, example > E:\ G:\ D:\ etc...)


now enter


mogrify -modulate "100, 100, 100" *.*

(PRESS ENTER)(THIS = NO CHANGE)


=====================================================

the first 100 represents lightness

.


the second 100 represents saturation

.

the third 100 represents hue

======================================================

THE VALUE 100 REPRESENTS 0 IN GIMP

IF A VALUE IS -4 FOR EXAMPLE IN GIMP, YOU SUBTRACT IT FROM 100 TO GET THE VALUE (96 IN THIS CASE)

IF A VALUE IN GIMP IS 10 FOR EXAMPLE ITS MULTIPLIED WITH 100 (110 IN THIS CASE)


SO NOW YOU NEED TO LOOK BACK AT GIMP TO GET THE VALUES OF YOUR COLOUR TO ENTER IN THE COMMAND PROMPT >>


LOOK AT THE SCREENSHOT FOR AN EXAMPLE


Posted Image




SO TO CHANGE ALL THE PNG TO THE COLOUR IN THE SCREENSHOT YOU WOULD ENTER


mogrify -modulate "100, 200, 230" *.*


(PRESS ENTER)


NOW LOOK IN THE TEST FOLDER TO SEE YOUR RESULT Posted Image




=====================================================


the first 100 represents lightness

.


the second 100 represents saturation



the third 100 represents hue

======================================================



HOPE THIS EXPLAINS IT, IF ANYONE HAS ANY PROBLEMS OR GET'S STUCK JUST SAY AND I WILL HELP Posted Image


  • 1

#2
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200
Does this work for some of the 8bit pngs in Android as I know recolouring those with photoshop removes the transparency which basically ruins the image.

  • 0

#3
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Very good find tillaz,I may have to have a play with this since my white theme sort of went out the window(accidentally deleted loads of pngs I needed and sort of spat my dummy out and gave up :lol: )

Edited by jikobutsu, 18 April 2012 - 08:46 PM.

  • 0

#4
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

Does this work for some of the 8bit pngs in Android as I know recolouring those with photoshop removes the transparency which basically ruins the image.


yeah, seems to work fine Posted Image

  • 0

#5
crnadakm

crnadakm

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Banja Luka (Bosnia)
  • Interests:Women
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4

Does this work for some of the 8bit pngs in Android as I know recolouring those with photoshop removes the transparency which basically ruins the image.


Hm, try using Fireworks and when saving png go to advanced and chose mate color - transparent, if you think on a transparent background. If you want to make objects transparent then you should save it as png 32bit, image will remain the same as it appears on monitor...

  • 0
epicbattle wallpaper

#6
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Hi tillaz,

I been working on a theme for a few days and its almost done(well apart from all the statusbar area).Just one thing is giving me a head ache,the bottom of pull down bar.

I have tried theming it UOT but it refuses to change,so I tried changing color to match theme with gimp,and it dont look right.

Is there a way I can return to the standard type bottom bar,which is easy to theme ?

Attached Files


Edited by jikobutsu, 21 April 2012 - 10:55 PM.

  • 0

#7
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Thankyou for the detailed reply,I may have to read it several times to take all that info in :lol:




edit: ok I think I see what you mean:

1) decompile systemui.apk

2) edit the png

3) recompile

As my theme is white,I can use the auto-white feature in gimp,which should avoid any unnecessary messing about .

Edited by jikobutsu, 21 April 2012 - 11:51 PM.

  • 0

#8
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

Thankyou for the detailed reply,I may have to read it several times to take all that info in :lol:





also, if you need to use the colourize option to get the white colour, make sure you bucket fill the black boarder
(black dots or lines around the whole png) so its solid black

  • 0

#9
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

Thankyou for the detailed reply,I may have to read it several times to take all that info in :lol:




edit: ok I think I see what you mean:

1) decompile systemui.apk

2) edit the png

3) recompile

As my theme is white,I can use the auto-white feature in gimp,which should avoid any unnecessary messing about .


yes, if you get errors comping post your log and i can help... or just re-colour the black boarder/dots to solid black with bucket fill

  • 1

#10
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4
im putting this to the test.. see if i can release an orange theme in 15 mins.. (normally would take weeks)

finished... time to test Posted Image

working fine.. expect a rainbow of themes for atomicmod...

  • 0

#11
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Hi tillaz,
trying to figure out how to get the color value in gimp, I change color with hue saturation but I do not know how to get the value lol.

I have everything set up correct as I tested it with the example values above and all my pngs are purple.

  • 0

#12
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

Hi tillaz,
trying to figure out how to get the color value in gimp, I change color with hue saturation but I do not know how to get the value lol.

I have everything set up correct as I tested it with the example values above and all my pngs are purple.


Posted Image



THE VALUE 100 REPRESENTS 0 IN GIMP


IF A VALUE IS -4 FOR EXAMPLE IN GIMP, YOU SUBTRACT IT FROM 100 TO GET THE VALUE (96 IN THIS CASE)


IF A VALUE IN GIMP IS 10 FOR EXAMPLE ITS MULTIPLIED WITH 100 (110 IN THIS CASE)


IF A VALUE IN GIMP IS 0 YOU WOULD WOULD USE 100


  • 1

#13
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4
to get the hex color code look at this.. messy but you should get the idea lol

Posted Image

  • 2

#14
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Thankyou tillaz much appreciated :)


edit: lol still not right for me, maybe I just not getting it :(

In my screen I have same as you only 10 less in hue, but it does not work for me

Sorry if I being a pain tillaz, sometimes I need a childs explanation to get something :lol:

edit: reinstalled ImageMagic and it is working now

Attached Files


Edited by jikobutsu, 12 November 2012 - 05:12 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users