Jump to content


Photo

Help! I'm new and I can't do...

* * * * * 4 votes

  • Please log in to reply
446 replies to this topic

#61
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
Fair play, I thought these guys would be on top of it. I thought it could have come from the file share sites. 2 in 2 days, though, and I haven't been on too many other sites, lately

  • 0

#62
diddydavro

diddydavro

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottinghamshire
  • Devices:Moto G, HUDL2, Tab3
Thanks Frankish. I did the update to B886 yesterday; took about 15 minutes to do the update app and the vendor app. I used the Normal upgrade method and it went like a dream.

I restored all my Apps from Google Play; all went OK apart from the paid version of MM Tracker. I had used it OK on the VF stock ROM but I now get an error message (on phone): 'Your device isn't compatible with this version'; I've emailed their support team. I have been able to restore other paid apps.

I think I'll wait a bit before doing B888. It's a bit worrying if you can't go back to previous ROM's!!

I notice in the 'Software Upgrade Guideline' for B888 they specifically recommend using a Sandisk, Kingston or Kingsmax Micro SD. Could that account for others having partition problems?

  • 0

Huawei Ascend G510, Moto G, Nokia Asha 201, Samsung Galaxy Tab3 / 8", Samsung Galaxy Tab3 / 7", Google Chromecast 


#63
KasioPC

KasioPC

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edinburgh
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@kasiopc

Thanks Frankish. I did the update to B886 yesterday; took about 15 minutes to do the update app and the vendor app. I used the Normal upgrade method and it went like a dream.

I restored all my Apps from Google Play; all went OK apart from the paid version of MM Tracker. I had used it OK on the VF stock ROM but I now get an error message (on phone): 'Your device isn't compatible with this version'; I've emailed their support team. I have been able to restore other paid apps.

I think I'll wait a bit before doing B888. It's a bit worrying if you can't go back to previous ROM's!!

I notice in the 'Software Upgrade Guideline' for B888 they specifically recommend using a Sandisk, Kingston or Kingsmax Micro SD. Could that account for others having partition problems?


With B888, I'm thinking it is the actual update file that changes the partitions. I believe, as someone said, perhaps to prepare for ICS. I used a Kingston and SanDisk one for all the times I've tried, and always the same result.

  • 0

#64
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

With B888, I'm thinking it is the actual update file that changes the partitions. I believe, as someone said, perhaps to prepare for ICS. I used a Kingston and SanDisk one for all the times I've tried, and always the same result.

the only reason I said that is the fact I had to resize my partitions and all that to use ICS on my Orange San Fran :)

  • 0

#65
diddydavro

diddydavro

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottinghamshire
  • Devices:Moto G, HUDL2, Tab3
Regarding my previous post about installing B888, I notice that the internal 2Gb SD Card was wiped as part of the upgrade. I backed it up before I upgraded, should I restore from the back-up?

  • 0

Huawei Ascend G510, Moto G, Nokia Asha 201, Samsung Galaxy Tab3 / 8", Samsung Galaxy Tab3 / 7", Google Chromecast 


#66
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Regarding my previous post about installing B888, I notice that the internal 2Gb SD Card was wiped as part of the upgrade. I backed it up before I upgraded, should I restore from the back-up?

If it was a NON B888 back up(So up backed up a B886) I'm pretty sure it won't restore as the partition sizes are different.

  • 0

#67
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
Help, I'm not that new, and I can't do:

I simply haven't been able to root this phone, since loading the B888 rom.

I have read and re-read the instructions but it ain't happening. I did root it last week, after loading the B886 build, but I'm beginning to think:
  • it either wasn't fully done or done correctly, because I couldn't install CWM after that (had same warning icon in android system recovery, as below)
  • or it was a fluke.

Here is what I'm doing:
  • untick fastboot; tick usb de-bugging (settings/apps/dev)
  • put phone into bootloader mode (battery pull, vol down + power) no problems there
  • plug in cable, go to into r1-g300 superecovery file (extracted to desktop)
  • open the install-superrecovery-window batch file, little window pops up and I click "run", and the dos command window opens and closes so fast, that its impossible to see what it says
  • pull cable and battery
  • battery in again and vol up+ power to boot into android system recovery
  • getting an unpacking icon at first, and then a triangle with an exclamation point in it
  • in then goes into android recovery and I choose reboot by clicking the power button (interestingly, I decided to browse those menus once, but had to pull the battery cause I couldn't find any way to make it go back; did try the capacitive buttons on bottom)
  • it reboots ok, I go into app tray and no superuser app????
So, I'm thinking its a driver thing?? I've extracted and tried to install the drivers that came with the phone. I found them in the Mobile Partner thing that pops up when you connect the phone and computer normally (usb debugging off & no bootloader)

But, everytime when I go back into bootloader mode and try to point “Found new hardware” to the drivers, it can’t find any. When I browse to search the folder the driver is in, the select button greys out.

I’m guessing it can’t be that hard to do, and I have really tried, before asking on here again…

Thanks for your help,
Bill

PS: using PC running WinXP SP3

Edited by eirlysbill1, 09 May 2012 - 08:46 AM.

  • 0

#68
FrownBreaker

FrownBreaker

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Devices:R1

....I simply haven't been able to root this phone, since loading the B888 rom. ......PS: using PC running WinXP SP3



The USB drivers for Andriod are a bit of a pian under XP. It took me 3 days to get them working when trying to flash the Advent Vega, and I had issue with on a new PC doing the ZTE Blade. If you have a laptop or another machine with Win7 it would be worth trying on that. The process only takes a few seconds.

If you open a commend window (Windows Key + R then enter CMD and press Return, move to the directory with the batch file e.g. cd C:\FRED and run the update command) you will then see the error.

Alternatively add a pause command at the end of the Batch file to keep the window open.

- Frankish would adding a pause command to the batch file be ok? We could at least see the error message?

  • 0

#69
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
nice to know its just not me then... sort of

at least I know its a driver problem, I'm tempted to use the solution below again, BUT, Macfee gave me a warning on the link below, and then a day or two later, it picked up a trojan. So, I'm not sure I want to try it again (I guess the virus could have come from anywhere, but I'm not sure I want to give it another try)

Here is the post with this link (from: Paul's root thread)

Managed to root on win xp sp3 using these drivers: http://depositfiles....files/2fyv2nqq1

WOOOHOOO!!!!!!!


And, I tried them and did root the phone last week.

Another person posted this link http://developer.and...dk/oem-usb.html regerding winXP drivers. I'll try and study it, but a lot of this stuff is lost on me.

Does anyone have any other ideas?

@ frownbreaker, thanks again, but I don't have access to a W7 machine, but I do have a friend who has an apple? Is that any good? If it is, what happens the next time I upgrade the rom and need to root it again? Cheers

Edited by eirlysbill1, 09 May 2012 - 10:31 AM.

  • 0

#70
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
hi
does anyone else have a CD G: drive open up when plugging in there usb to connect the phone to a pc, because of this i cant root or add CWM as this G: drive opens up when trying flash either of them. please help im a complete newbie to all this. thanks

  • 0

#71
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
Hi All,

Regarding Adb drivers for WinXP Sp3, when I loaded those drivers from depositfile (2 posts) above last week, I pointed the pc at that file and the only one it installed was: android sooner single adb interface.

Because, I was worried that there was a virus attached to it, I dumped it all a day or two later after rooted the phone the first time.

So, my question is: if I just search and download that driver on its own. Say from here: http://www.radarsync...e_adb_interface will it work? Does the driver have to be for a specific devices or is this a common driver that works with loads of android devices. And, what's the possible risks in trying it?

Thanks again

  • 0

#72
FrownBreaker

FrownBreaker

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Devices:R1

nice to know its just not me then... sort of ............@ frownbreaker, thanks again, but I don't have access to a W7 machine, but I do have a friend who has an apple? Is that any good? If it is, what happens the next time I upgrade the rom and need to root it again? Cheers


I think the Mac might be an option.
I know Pauls Root scripts work on Windows and Linux. I think Mac might be the third option?
I'd get rid of the trojan / virus first. You might need to wipe WinXP and start again. The plus side your USB drivers will be reset!
I would not recommend doing anything on a compromised PC. Take it off the network and format. Restore new OS and set of backups.

My Win7 machine mumbles something about an Asus ADB driver! but it connects and works in a few seconds..

I've wasted 6 or more days (Advent Vegas x2, SF x6, OMCarlo x1) on the Windows USB driver issues for ADB. Happy to report instant sucess on win7 with the G500!
Perhaps a a small Linux install might be the way to go if you are rebuilding your machine. Ubuntu is great for first time use.
Also for browsing make sure you use firefox or chrome with adblock and noscript when downloading stuff.
CCleaner is also a must. I set it to delete everything except the cookies I want. It is set to run on startup. Good for Quidco resets too!

Edited by FrownBreaker, 09 May 2012 - 12:36 PM.

  • 0

#73
FrownBreaker

FrownBreaker

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Devices:R1

the only reason I said that is the fact I had to resize my partitions and all that to use ICS on my Orange San Fran Posted Image

Are you using Tilal's ICS on the SF? I will hand over my G300 to the Mrs and have sold my SF (ran Tilal's ICS- installed Atomic Dolby for sale) and OMC this week. So ICS on her SF will be my "new" phone in a short while.

  • 0

#74
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Are you using Tilal's ICS on the SF? I will hand over my G300 to the Mrs and have sold my SF (ran Tilal's ICS- installed Atomic Dolby for sale) and OMC this week. So ICS on her SF will be my "new" phone in a short while.

i did for a short while yes :).
it wasnt bad at all when I last tried it, but...i went back to CM7 as it was more stable and battery life seem to last that bit longer :)

  • 0

#75
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720

I'd get rid of the trojan / virus first. You might need to wipe WinXP and start again. The plus side your USB drivers will be reset!
I would not recommend doing anything on a compromised PC. Take it off the network and format. Restore new OS and set of backups.


I think the trojans were caught and destroyed by both a/v programmes (two different pc's) Perhaps I'll run another A/V scan and cc cleaner too. Hope I don't have to re-install windows. Never did it before :wacko:

I'll wait to see if anyone else comes up with some drivers that work. Pretty happy with the B888 build. Good responsiveness to touch and the volume is fixed. BTW, can't change it back anyway, so I better be happy with it :P Cheers

Edited by eirlysbill1, 09 May 2012 - 02:00 PM.

  • 0

#76
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Mine also installed the Asus adb driver or that's what it was called anyway. It can take a while to find them.

  • 0

#77
diddydavro

diddydavro

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottinghamshire
  • Devices:Moto G, HUDL2, Tab3
Firstly thanks to all you guys at Modaco for all the advice and guidance you've given to us noobies.

I used ‘App Backup & Restore’ to back up my apps before I upgraded to R886. It doesn’t back-up copyrighted (paid for) apps so I tried to use ‘My Android Apps’ on Google Play (as I had done before on my rooted, 2.3.5 SF) anyway it failed to restore any of my paid apps. I contacted Google Play Store support about it and this is their reply:

Thanks for providing details about the issue you're experiencing on Google Play. In reviewing the information you've provided as well as our records, it appears that this issue is related to the fact that you're not using the authorized ROM that came with your device - using any ROM besides the factory default may cause the device to have limited functionality and may cause unexpected behaviour with the Google Play Store app. Unfortunately, we won't be able to troubleshoot this issue because the issue appears to be unique to the way your device is configured, and we can't recreate the issue with our devices here. To resolve the issue, I recommend using the authorized Android operating system provided by your manufacturer that can be obtained from their website or your carrier.

I had no problems prior to the upgrade, so unless the app developers can come up with a workaround I will need to go back to the stock VF ROM and then update to R885. Any help or advice would be appreciated. I really would like to stick with R886 because I use one of the apps for biking and walking; it uses OS mapping so I'll have to revert to paper maps!

Edited by diddydavro, 09 May 2012 - 10:45 PM.

  • 0

Huawei Ascend G510, Moto G, Nokia Asha 201, Samsung Galaxy Tab3 / 8", Samsung Galaxy Tab3 / 7", Google Chromecast 


#78
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720

Mine also installed the Asus adb driver or that's what it was called anyway. It can take a while to find them.


Thanks both,

I searched for this asus driver, but everything I found had to do with W7.
I did find xp drivers for the Huawei Pulse 2.1 and the folder contains the Android Sooner Single ADB Interface driver. I'm sure that's the one that loaded last week, but that I later dumped because of the virus alert.

Is there any harm in trying the Pulse one. Will it just not install and/or work, or could it mess up the phone?

Thanks again

  • 0

#79
anteg

anteg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Hope this is the right section to ask about APN settings

All worked ok out of box, unlock went well & phone accepted my tesco mobile sim & automatically set mobile network settings. I installed the 886 rom to fix the sound problem & that went ok (even got rid of the vodafone bloatware :D ) but i think the APN is wrong

I've now got O2 Pay&Go (payandgo.o2.co.uk) and cant do any mms os data unless in a wifi area. I'm sure the APN was prepay.tesco-mobile.com before, I've tried adding a new APN, but after i entered all the details nothing happened. Is there a "complete novice guide to applying the tesco payg APN settings" somewhere? If not can anybody with a tesco payg sim let me know what the settings should be & I'll have another go at updating it

Thanks

  • 0

#80
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200
Not sure on this being the best method but if applying manually doesn't seem to work...

Reinstall voda rom where data worked. Use "APN Backup and Restore" from market to backup apns. Reinstall B886, download or restore APN Backup and Restore app, select delete apns. Restore apns from backup.

Its the long way but so is manually tapping settings in once you find them ha ha.

  • 0




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users