Jump to content


Photo

New B888 ROM from Huawei [Download Link Inside]


  • Please log in to reply
226 replies to this topic

#201
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Ok, so I´ve flashed B888 without vendor.

All languages available, including Portuguese.

7 screens and a Home Screen menu that allows to choose themes, number of home screens, animation, icons, etc...

Way better like this!

(don´t know if this menu is available by not flashing vendor or if its from B888, this are just first impressions)


That makes me scratch my head... If i reflash again without vendor will it remove the vendor part i flashed in the first place?

  • 0

#202
PeaceMaker_H

PeaceMaker_H

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei G300

That makes me scratch my head... If i reflash again without vendor will it remove the vendor part i flashed in the first place?


I guess yes, it will... since it resets completely the phone...



Last step, Flashing B894 without vendor.. (cannot flash this one from 886 or stock according to the manual)

Edited by PeaceMaker_H, 17 June 2012 - 05:55 PM.

  • 0

#203
PeaceMaker_H

PeaceMaker_H

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Huawei launcher keeps crashing and using a lot of ram...

Don´t know if it´s because of the vendor update not being applied..

Anyway, that´s easy to fix, using another launcher.. :wacko:

  • 0

#204
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I was just about to reflash the phone without the vendor update... I have the B894 flashed with vendor and its been super stable and the battery lasts longer.

  • 0

#205
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Please read this before flashing anymore leaked roms.

http://www.modaco.co...s-and-warnings/

  • 0

#206
PeaceMaker_H

PeaceMaker_H

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei G300

I was just about to reflash the phone without the vendor update... I have the B894 flashed with vendor and its been super stable and the battery lasts longer.


Tomorow I will test the vendor update

  • 0

#207
PeaceMaker_H

PeaceMaker_H

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei G300

I was just about to reflash the phone without the vendor update... I have the B894 flashed with vendor and its been super stable and the battery lasts longer.


First impressions after re-flashing B894 with vendor, way smoother than just B894 and the launcher doesn´t slows down...

Don´t know what the vendor does but it sure makes the phone better...

(Conclusion after 30min testing, not final)


Oh, and I think the name of this post should be changed.. since the last know good rom is B895...

Edited by PeaceMaker_H, 20 June 2012 - 02:37 AM.

  • 0

#208
Chuzzwuzzer

Chuzzwuzzer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
Just had my Huawei delivered today from Vodafone. Just charging at the moment.I take it if i install 888 i dont need to back anything up as i havn't installed anything yet ? Can i just install 888 without rooting first ?
Cheers

  • 0

#209
Gary_J_Wright

Gary_J_Wright

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich Norfolk UK
  • Devices:Zte Blade III, Lumia 530
  • Twitter:@Gary_J_Wright
DONT install huawei B888 unless you not worried about downgrading - its non reversible

  • 0
Posted Image

#210
Chuzzwuzzer

Chuzzwuzzer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
So is it best to just flash 885 and remove vodafone crap manually?

  • 0

#211
DRAGOLIZER

DRAGOLIZER

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, United Kingdom
  • Twitter:@DRAGOLIZER
Hi, everyone! :D

Just to let you guys know that I'm new to this forum.


Anyway, a question. I want to know why I can't seem to flash back to a stock ROM without the vendor stuff again? First off, I experimented with just flashing B888 on its own (without vendor) and it's great without the Huawei stuff. Afterwards, I did flash the vendor that came with the ROM and experimented again. However, when I flash the B888 (without vendor again), all the Huawei stuff still remains. This happens with B894 too.

By the way, I've tried with two of the phones (family members' phones) and both do the same thing. (If you're wondering how I know B888 and B894 do the same thing, that's why.) Looking here in the forums, it seems you guys can reflash the stock ROMS and get rid of the Huawei stuff?

The phones are untouched, not rooted, no CWM Recovery etc.

Getting to the point, the vendor stuff seems permanent and I just want the phones to just have stock ROMS without the Huawei stuff on!


Thanks in advance.

Edited by DRAGOLIZER, 29 June 2012 - 12:06 PM.

  • 0

#212
PeaceMaker_H

PeaceMaker_H

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Hi, everyone! :D

Just to let you guys know that I'm new to this forum.


Anyway, a question. I want to know why I can't seem to flash back to a stock ROM without the vendor stuff again? First off, I experimented with just flashing B888 on its own (without vendor) and it's great without the Huawei stuff. Afterwards, I did flash the vendor that came with the ROM and experimented again. However, when I flash the B888 (without vendor again), all the Huawei stuff still remains. This happens with B894 too.

By the way, I've tried with two of the phones (family members' phones) and both do the same thing. (If you're wondering how I know B888 and B894 do the same thing, that's why.) Looking here in the forums, it seems you guys can reflash the stock ROMS and get rid of the Huawei stuff?

The phones are untouched, not rooted, no CWM Recovery etc.

Getting to the point, the vendor stuff seems permanent and I just want the phones to just have stock ROMS without the Huawei stuff on!


Thanks in advance.


The stock rom, without vendor stuff doesnt works correctly, at least for me... Free RAM was bellow 20MB and Huawei launcher keeps restarting.. very poor performance after 2 or 3 hours using.

Don´t know why...

  • 0

#213
DRAGOLIZER

DRAGOLIZER

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, United Kingdom
  • Twitter:@DRAGOLIZER
I take it, that's what's been mentioned about B894, right? With B888, performance was normal for me, without the vendor.

Tell me, how do you go about flashing without the vendor again, if you have flashed it? Is your device modded in anyway and when did you get your phone? I have a feeling that I can't flash without vendor being permanent on my two phones due to them possibly being newer revisions maybe? They were bought this week.

  • 0

#214
PeaceMaker_H

PeaceMaker_H

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei G300

I take it, that's what's been mentioned about B894, right? With B888, performance was normal for me, without the vendor.

Tell me, how do you go about flashing without the vendor again, if you have flashed it? Is your device modded in anyway and when did you get your phone? I have a feeling that I can't flash without vendor being permanent on my two phones due to them possibly being newer revisions maybe? They were bought this week.


Yes, after flashing the vendor, its always there.. even if you reflash the rom.. strange phone xD

  • 0

#215
DRAGOLIZER

DRAGOLIZER

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, United Kingdom
  • Twitter:@DRAGOLIZER
Strange indeed! Looks like I'm not having a stroke of bad luck, at least!

Must be the way the phones are partitioned or something, hidden away that never gets touched for some reason. Just wondering how the ICS update will be affected in the future…

  • 0

#216
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Yes, its true. I reflashed B894 to try out without the vendor stuff but after flashing vendor stuff was still there.

  • 0

#217
wwwjunk

wwwjunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
were are the links for b894 and b895? For Europe/Portugal?

edit: should vendor be installed or not?

Edited by wwwjunk, 30 June 2012 - 06:28 PM.

  • 0

#218
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
The thing that bugs me os that some people installed B888 with the vendor update and they say it has portuguese language... i had b888 and now b894 and the set of languages are for eastern countries.

Maybe we need to get a western/general vendor update...

  • 0

#219
naghtan

naghtan

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire, U8815, U8650
Hello everyone!
Im just get the phone... and Im reading around...
Must I update to B888? or wait some days for B9x, ICS?
Are the B888 blocking BL?

Best regards!

  • 0

#220
Liam_D

Liam_D

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Huawei U8815
I just thought I would pass on my experience with the B888 upgrade, and a few hopefully useful notes.

My motive for upgrading was purely to get the capacitative buttons working properly - and it does - but, of course, I now have a pleasantly clean and uncluttered phone as a bonus.

Obtaining the download using the faster link failed for me - the file is not the same as the 'slowcoach' one. The file that worked for me has an absolute byte size of 500,864,924.

I purchased a new fast 16GB Samsung micro SD card which came out of the bubble wrap formatted as FAT32. Trying to do the normal upgrade with this card failed - the first 'unpacking' upgrade screen produces a warning triangle and the notice 'Upgrade failed'. I retried with a known good 2GB card formatted to FAT and the whole upgrade went 100% smoothly. The new 16GB card worked fine for normal use - it seems there is a limit applied by Android for firmware updates in respect of the card that can be used. So use a small card and format it plain FAT (not FAT32) if you have problems.

Many thanks to all the other contributors here - and to Paul of course - for a really useful and informed blog.

Liam_D
from the Garden Of England

  • 1




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users