Jump to content


Photo

The ZTE Mimosa X in china !! updated 10/05

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
192 replies to this topic

#121
Sir_Didymus

Sir_Didymus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade OLED
A slightly better quick review on the Grand X

Don't know what to do. Should I buy one? Should I wait for the Era?? Lol hate that feeling.

  • 0

#122
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez
Dual core will be the new low end. Huawei g330 has already been seen with a msm8225.

Tegra2 is from the froyo era, chipsets is quite old, would hate to see the kernel hacks used to get it booting.

  • 0

#123
the_crevis

the_crevis

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, ZTE Crescent
  • Twitter:@the_crevis
The real deal: http://www.chinatron...U970/cPath,1_79 again, I don't know if this site is legit :/

  • 0
LG Nexus 4 (daily driver) - CM10.2
ZTE Crescent (backup) - CM9
ZTE Blade - Deceased
If I helped you at all then remember to hit that green up arrow! Posted Image

#124
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X
tegra 2 is bar far the leading brand for dual core smartphone's...
you don't see any other chip sets that have advanced versions of a game for there GPU.. only tegra 2 / 3

also, don't let the 512mb of ram put you off, my o2x has the same specs really, and i have no lag at all

but my opinion would be to wait for the era and pay £250

just like i said here http://www.modaco.co...5/#entry1969541
in june that the mimosa x would be £189.99 in the uk and no one believed me....

if you don't believe me about the era just take a look at the nexus 7 table and its price ;)
or just wait and see lol

  • 0

#125
ropin

ropin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE

The real deal: http://www.chinatron...U970/cPath,1_79 again, I don't know if this site is legit :/


just wondering, would that be compatible with uk sim cards or only chinese sims?
and you would have to pay at least £15 to ship to the uk

Edited by ropin, 25 July 2012 - 09:36 AM.

  • 0

#126
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

The real deal: http://www.chinatron...U970/cPath,1_79 again, I don't know if this site is legit :/


only problem with this version is that its TD-SCDMA

anyway the link i posted for this model is even cheaper 150 pound...

we need the wcdma version though

  • 0

#127
the_crevis

the_crevis

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, ZTE Crescent
  • Twitter:@the_crevis
Personally, I'm quite tempted to buy a new Motorola Atrix 4G off ebay, root it, install ICS and boom! The same specs as the Grand X except this has 1Gb of RAM! :D (and yes a slightly smaller screen) Thoughts anyone?

  • 0
LG Nexus 4 (daily driver) - CM10.2
ZTE Crescent (backup) - CM9
ZTE Blade - Deceased
If I helped you at all then remember to hit that green up arrow! Posted Image

#128
ropin

ropin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE

Personally, I'm quite tempted to buy a new Motorola Atrix 4G off ebay, root it, install ICS and boom! The same specs as the Grand X except this has 1Gb of RAM! :D (and yes a slightly smaller screen) Thoughts anyone?


is there an ics rom for the atrix, it seems like a pretty good idea but i cant find any ics roms on this site
and is this a usa only phone? i didn't know that this phone was released in the uk?

Edited by ropin, 27 July 2012 - 06:44 PM.

  • 0

#129
the_crevis

the_crevis

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, ZTE Crescent
  • Twitter:@the_crevis
Yeah the phone is US only as far as i know but apparently it works fine in the UK: http://androidforums...rt-work-uk.html here's a link to an atrix cm9 ROM: http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1445052 And here's a review of cm9 (relatively early build from March, best i could find)

  • 0
LG Nexus 4 (daily driver) - CM10.2
ZTE Crescent (backup) - CM9
ZTE Blade - Deceased
If I helped you at all then remember to hit that green up arrow! Posted Image

#130
ropin

ropin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE

Yeah the phone is US only as far as i know but apparently it works fine in the UK: http://androidforums...rt-work-uk.html here's a link to an atrix cm9 ROM: http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1445052 And here's a review of cm9 (relatively early build from March, best i could find) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUfdrHwzwuU


i think i might do the same thing, after checking on ebay the atrix will work out cheaper then the zte grand x, seems like a very solid idea

edit: after reading through some of the cm9 threads, there are still a lot of bugs with ics, so there might be a few bugs with JB. i would've bought an atrix in the next couple of weeks if i knew there was a fully (everything) working cm9 rom.

Edited by ropin, 27 July 2012 - 10:42 PM.

  • 0

#131
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X
lol, the uk version has not just had the RAM downgraded (from 1gb to 512mb)
the video recording has also been dropped from 1080p to 720p...

  • 0

#132
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
They can stick it then

  • 0

#133
Sir_Didymus

Sir_Didymus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade OLED
An unboxing and first impressions video on the Grand X

  • 0

#134
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

An unboxing and first impressions video on the Grand X http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kuqoUi1igy4


this guy says it is 1.2ghz and records 1080p, if this is true it should also have 1gb of ram, like the Asian version (u970)

well worth the money if the above checks out

as far as i can see virgin media have made a massive fail announcing this with lower wrong specs lol

http://www.v3.co.uk/...-handson-review

  • 0

#135
Sir_Didymus

Sir_Didymus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade OLED

this guy says it is 1.2ghz and records 1080p, if this is true it should also have 1gb of ram, like the Asian version (u970)

well worth the money if the above checks out

as far as i can see virgin media have made a massive fail announcing this with lower wrong specs lol

http://www.v3.co.uk/...-handson-review


Don't think they got it wrong you know. ZTE even mention the lower specs on their UK devices website for the Grand X http://www.ztedevice...ns-grand-x.html

  • 0

#136
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
what does this expandable mean?
Phone Memory
4GB eMMC + 512MB DDR2 SDRAM
expandable

  • 0

#137
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

what does this expandable mean?
Phone Memory
4GB eMMC + 512MB DDR2 SDRAM
expandable


Means you can stick a micro sd in

  • 0

#138
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

Don't think they got it wrong you know. ZTE even mention the lower specs on their UK devices website for the Grand X http://www.ztedevice...ns-grand-x.html


if that guy in the review "leodee" had of used antutu he would of been able to get the proper specs...
if its not true what he says he is miss leading people...

to be fair it would make sense for zte to dumb down the grand X in the uk
the only difference between it and the ERA was the tegra 3 chip set...

now there is a much bigger difference...

someone should leave a comment asking that guy to check antutu for the specs,

but if you noticed... his quadrant score was above the lg optimus 2x by quite a bit...
and they apparently have the same specs... (512mb ram 1ghz tegra 2)

so why score higher ? (1gb ram 1,2ghz ???????)

who knows, you cant believe anything until you see it they days...

  • 0

#139
Sir_Didymus

Sir_Didymus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade OLED

if that guy in the review "leodee" had of used antutu he would of been able to get the proper specs...
if its not true what he says he is miss leading people...

to be fair it would make sense for zte to dumb down the grand X in the uk
the only difference between it and the ERA was the tegra 3 chip set...

now there is a much bigger difference...

someone should leave a comment asking that guy to check antutu for the specs,

but if you noticed... his quadrant score was above the lg optimus 2x by quite a bit...
and they apparently have the same specs... (512mb ram 1ghz tegra 2)

so why score higher ? (1gb ram 1,2ghz ???????)

who knows, you cant believe anything until you see it they days...


Does the version of Android running on the device make that much of a difference to these benchmark tests? Maybe because the Grand X has a stock ICS rom it scored higher? I dunno.

  • 0

#140
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Sorry thought the ram may be expandable, now that would be an idea lol.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users