Jump to content


Photo

TESTING: Rooting your One X without unlocking the bootloader (Windows / Mac / Linux)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#21
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Paul, see my edit...still S-ON.

Should the phone be S-OFF now or just rooted? Last one is difficult to test because phone is already rooted...

We're testing a root here not S-OFF.

Not sure about driver issue as never installed HTC Sync for linux so may be. USB Debugging is definately enabled though. Will look for HTC Sync for Linux and report back ;)

It should just work I think, but...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#22
abc27

abc27

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire, HTC One X

Paul, see my edit...still S-ON.

Should the phone be S-OFF now or just rooted? Last one is difficult to test because phone is already rooted...

It's highly unlikely that an exploit that works using ADB is going to get you S-OFF.

  • 0

#23
SozzaSinnian

SozzaSinnian

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One X

It should just work I think, but...

P


Yeah thats what I thought.

Doesn't seem to be a HTC Sync for Linux :'(

  • 0

Life is like a coin, you can spend it anyway you like but you can only spend it once.


#24
sibbor

sibbor

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:HTC One X, LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@sibbor
Doesn't work: S-Off, locked bootloader, unrooted, 1.29 stock ROM.

I've got the Android SDK installed, so made some changes to root-linux.sh. I can't get it to work though:
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
cannot stat 'busybox': No such file or directory
cannot stat 'su': No such file or directory
cannot stat 'Superuser.apk': No such file or directory
Unable to chmod /data/local/busybox: No such file or directory
Unable to chmod /data/local/su: No such file or directory
Unable to chmod /data/local/Superuser.apk: No such file or directory
rm failed for /data/local.prop, No such file or directory
Reboot
Reboot again... note that when device returns it may appear to be bootlooping, don't panic!
/data/local/busybox: No such file or directory
Unable to chmod /system/xbin/su: No such file or directory
Unable to chmod /system/xbin/su: No such file or directory
Unable to chmod /system/app/Superuser.apk: No such file or directory
Reboot one last time...

SLIGHTLY OFF-TOPIC:
My adb broke since upgrading to Ubuntu 12.04, and this is how I fixed it:
sibbor@ubuntu:~$ adb devices
List of devices attached
???????????? no permission

1. Create the file:
/etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules

2. Add the following line to the file:
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0bb4", MODE="0666"

3. Restart udev service:
sudo service udev restart

sibbor@ubuntu:~$ adb devices
List of devices attached
HT23ZW100391 device

Edited by sibbor, 09 May 2012 - 06:11 PM.

  • 0
HTC One X, LG Optimus 2X

#25
duderuud

duderuud

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Holland
  • Devices:Google Nexus 4
Downloading RUU now to test without root.

  • 0

#26
ste1164

ste1164

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington
  • Interests:Phones & biomed related things :)
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@ste1164
Tried on my mac but I need to use an RUU now as I got system UI crashed and constant reboots :(

  • 0

#27
Mike Penz

Mike Penz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hey. I've a One X (Tegra 3) and i'm still S-ON and never used HTC Dev. I also use a Mac. So what will i have to do, and what can happen if it fails?

Is it save? (S-ON should protect me right?)

Can i loose all my installed settings/apps?

I'm only a bit carful because i love my OneX and i have not that much money to buy a new one.

  • 0

#28
ste1164

ste1164

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington
  • Interests:Phones & biomed related things :)
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@ste1164

Hey. I've a One X (Tegra 3) and i'm still S-ON and never used HTC Dev. I also use a Mac. So what will i have to do, and what can happen if it fails?

Is it save? (S-ON should protect me right?)

Can i loose all my installed settings/apps?

I'm only a bit carful because i love my OneX and i have not that much money to buy a new one.


I lost my settings and apps because I did something wrong :P Im not 100% sure how to run the command on a mac.

  • 0

#29
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Tried on my mac but I need to use an RUU now as I got system UI crashed and constant reboots :(

Edit the script and redo the final step. It's been interrupted.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#30
SozzaSinnian

SozzaSinnian

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One X

what can happen if it fails?


In the first post of this thread:

You use this at your own risk! Worst case scenario, you'll have to reflash with a RUU (make sure you have one handy!


Can i loose all my installed settings/apps?



I'm pretty sure when you do an RUU you will lose your data as it does a complete restore, However I am not 100% on this as never had to use one yet.

  • 0

Life is like a coin, you can spend it anyway you like but you can only spend it once.


#31
jeckyllhavok

jeckyllhavok

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
So, anyone with s-on and locked bootloader got it working?

  • 0
HTC One X tegra
HTC Universal
HTC TyTn II with andoid 2.1
HTC Advantage more an experiment at work
HTC Desire Rom always changing

#32
Piccaruse

Piccaruse

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Thought this might help.

Posted Image

The last two are the latter part of the script I ran seperatly, thought that might've helped.

  • 0

#33
starbase64

starbase64

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi,

don't work on TMO Germany 1.28.111.10.

D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb kill-server
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb wait-for-device
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>ECHO.

D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>echo HTC One X Tegra 3 Root Script by Paul O
'Brien- includes script from kennethpenn
HTC One X Tegra 3 Root Script by Paul O'Brien- includes script from kennethpenn
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>echo Follow paulobrien and modaco on Twitter
for more Android fun!
Follow paulobrien and modaco on Twitter for more Android fun!
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>ECHO DON'T TOUCH THE DEVICE OR UNPLUG WHILE
ROOTING!
DON'T TOUCH THE DEVICE OR UNPLUG WHILE ROOTING!
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>ECHO PUSH FILES
PUSH FILES
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb push busybox /data/local/busybox
1106 KB/s (837916 bytes in 0.739s)
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb push su /data/local/su
1703 KB/s (91980 bytes in 0.052s)
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb push Superuser.apk /data/local/Superuser.apk
842 KB/s (570342 bytes in 0.661s)
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/busybox
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/su
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/Superuser.apk
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell mv /data/tigps/aiding /data/tigps/aiding.old
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell ln -s /data /data/tigps/aiding
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell rm /data/local.prop  1>nul
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>ECHO.

D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>ECHO REBOOT
REBOOT
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb reboot
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb wait-for-device
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "echo ro.kernel.qemu=1 > /data/local.prop"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>ECHO Reboot again... note that when device returns it may appear to be bootlooping, don't panic!
Reboot again... note that when device returns it may appear to be bootlooping, don't panic!
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb reboot
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb wait-for-device
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>ECHO AGAIN!?
AGAIN!?
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "mount -wo remount rootfs /"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "mount -o remount,rw -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p12 /system"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "cat /data/local/busybox > /system/xbin/busybox"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "chmod 777 /system/xbin/busybox"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "/system/xbin/busybox --install -s /system/xbin"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "busybox cp /data/local/Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "busybox cp /data/local/su /system/xbin/su"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "chmod 644 /system/app/Superuser.apk"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "rm /data/local.prop"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "rm /data/tigps/aiding"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb shell "mv /data/tigps/aiding.old /data/tigps/aiding"
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>adb reboot
D:\Handy\HTC One X\root-one-x-tegra>

cheers

starbase64

  • 0
Starbase64 YouTube Channel | Stabase64 Blog | Starbase64 Flickr Stream
Siemens S3com > Motorola StarTac > Nokia 3210 > Nokia 6210 > Nokia 7650 > Nokia 7700 > HTC Wizzard >
HTC Tytn > HTC Dream > HTC Touch HD > HTC HD2 > HTC Desire HD > Samsung Galaxy S2 > HTC One X


Device: HTC One X
ROM: ViperX Rom †, Android Revolution HD or Cyanogen Mod 10
Kernel: Faux, Bricked or Eternity
Recovery: Clockworkmod Touch Recovery 5.8.4.0
Radio: 2.1204.139H.21

#34
kruppin

kruppin

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Devices:Optimus 2x
I have both S-on and locked bootloader, and unfortunately it didn't work.. :( And what is "/data/tigps/aiding" ? why not use the same (tmp) as the at&t hack? Wierd it works on that phone but not this one.. Or maybe it did in the first versions? I have FW 1.29.. Ans why is the partition table so different? :P p12 and p33? Sure it's a very different phone, but still.

Edit: I haven't read anything about the AT&T variant, but maybe the reason why this works is that it hasn't S-ON?

Edited by kruppin, 09 May 2012 - 06:21 PM.

  • 0

#35
ste1164

ste1164

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington
  • Interests:Phones & biomed related things :)
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@ste1164
I tried and got this error rm failed for /data/local.prop, No such file or directory

  • 0

#36
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

I tried and got this error rm failed for /data/local.prop, No such file or directory

That's expected.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#37
ste1164

ste1164

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington
  • Interests:Phones & biomed related things :)
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@ste1164

That's expected.

P


Oh in that case it didn't work on a mac :( must have been just your S-OFF device. I used the command sh then chose the root-mac.sh file and got nothing.

  • 0

#38
sibbor

sibbor

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:HTC One X, LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@sibbor
Mr. O'Brien, what can I do to assist?
See a few posts back for full details.

Running everything manually on Ubuntu 12.04, via adb, I'm getting all files pushed but got issues with the fs:
sibbor@ubuntu:~$ adb shell "mount -wo remount rootfs /"
error: insufficient permissions for device
sibbor@ubuntu:~$ adb shell "cat /data/local/busybox > /system/xbin/busybox"
error: insufficient permissions for device

Edited by sibbor, 09 May 2012 - 06:38 PM.

  • 0
HTC One X, LG Optimus 2X

#39
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Looks like it's not gonna happen on s-on then... :-(

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#40
marco1958

marco1958

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:qtek 8080
Operation not permitted on the remount. Anybody has a setuid root mount executable? Push that along with the other stuff and try remount with 1551 root mount? Just an idea. So close :) Or does push remove permission?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users