Jump to content


Photo

How many people are using B888

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

Poll: How many people are using B888 (82 member(s) have cast votes)

What update are you using?

  1. B884 (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  2. B885 (15 votes [18.29%])

    Percentage of vote: 18.29%

  3. B886 (6 votes [7.32%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.32%

  4. B888 (61 votes [74.39%])

    Percentage of vote: 74.39%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1
feckineejit

feckineejit

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 578 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derry/Ireland
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE, Huawei G300
Hello, i'm currently on B886 update and curious to try out B888, but with the fact that i cant go back to earlier update if anything goes wrong is stopping me trying it, just want to know how many people are using B888 and what if any are the advantages and disadvantages over B884, B885 & B886. Also would i be able to update to ics when it comes out without any problems, if i update to B888?

Edited by feckineejit, 09 May 2012 - 06:57 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#2
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Hello, i'm currently on B886 update and curious to try out B888, but with the fact that i cant go back to earlier update if anything goes wrong is stopping me trying it, just want to know how many people are using B888 and what if any are the advantages and disadvantages over B884, B885 & B886. Also would i be able to update to ics when it comes out without any problems, if i update to B888?

Personally I've gone to B888, dunno...just wanted to keep it update if you would.
i think there is an element of risk upgrading to B888...looking ahead; it could certainly be released on its own or bundled with the reported ICS thats meant to come out in a few, as it changes partition sizes or something; which is need for ICS.

  • 0

#3
kradcliffe

kradcliffe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:Ascend G300
B888 is fast and more importantly doesn't come with any Voda crapware.

Unless you're paranoid about the possibility of returning your phone to Voda then there's no good reason not to!

Keith

  • 0

#4
G300

G300

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Pulse,San Francisco,G300
B888 even if i could go back would never this rom rocks. :D

  • 0

#5
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
I'm not sure B888 has any connection to ICS. It would not explain B884 and B886. ICS is probably not compiled yet so the finished file size would be unknown. It would also be just as easy to change the partition sizes with the ICS update itself, just as they have done with the B888 rom.

My thoughts are that they did it so that anyone flashing it has trouble installing the stock rom again so that Vodaphone can see that its not a genuine rom so they wont honour the warranty. B884 and B886 were ok and I reckon they released this due to them being informed on facebook about the leaks as its plastered all over there.
Why people would inform Huawei that someone is releasing leaks is beyond me as it may stop any further leaks.

  • 0

#6
dittohead

dittohead

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@none
Flashed B888 as soon as I read the thread, before people knew about partition resize etc.

Not actually using the phone yet, still using my Sensation, but once an ICS ROM (official Huawei or enterprising developers CM9) I'll sell the Sensation & switch to the G300, 4-inch screen is perfect size for a phone I reckon.

  • 0

#7
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

I'm not sure B888 has any connection to ICS. It would not explain B884 and B886. ICS is probably not compiled yet so the finished file size would be unknown. It would also be just as easy to change the partition sizes with the ICS update itself, just as they have done with the B888 rom.

My thoughts are that they did it so that anyone flashing it has trouble installing the stock rom again so that Vodaphone can see that its not a genuine rom so they wont honour the warranty. B884 and B886 were ok and I reckon they released this due to them being informed on facebook about the leaks as its plastered all over there.
Why people would inform Huawei that someone is releasing leaks is beyond me as it may stop any further leaks.

i cant imagine them doing that tbf.
the B888 does seem to be a genuine ROM but by Huawei and just not verified by Vodafone.
also i agree with you about the leaks business, i think thats more a kinda good thing...as it kinda gives a buzz about the phone etc...maybe even creating more business/interest in the phone

Edited by FrankieADZ, 09 May 2012 - 08:33 PM.

  • 0

#8
bumps

bumps

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:S.Wales
  • Devices:Huawei G300, Desire Z

B888 is fast and more importantly doesn't come with any Voda crapware.

Unless you're paranoid about the possibility of returning your phone to Voda then there's no good reason not to!

Keith


100% agreed :D

  • 0

#9
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
B888... The best so far, by far!!! ;)

  • 0

#10
Rednose01

Rednose01

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
Well i have just installed it and the vendor files, direct from the phone, no multiple button presses or batterey pulls, no issues.
I also backed up everything using thd in built app,which worked like a charm.
Definatley more responsive in every way.
1 thing i noticed before doing the vendor update, it gave 7 home screens as opose to the usual 5, i seem to rember someone querying this ages ago.
Oh yeh, the sounds still fine!

Carl..

  • 0

#11
feckineejit

feckineejit

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 578 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derry/Ireland
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE, Huawei G300
Upgraded to B888, but i don't think there is to much difference, maybe app drawer loads quicker, I don't think the camera is quicker like people have been saying, Also when i was using SF camera, i used to be able to hold the camera button to take a pic and the green box would come up (auto focus). but on the g300 it doesnt happen, the green box comes up for a split second or so before you click the button, i'm sure its only ment to come up when you hold the button, is that the same with everone elses camera?

  • 0
Posted Image

#12
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Upgraded to B888, but i don't think there is to much difference, maybe app drawer loads quicker, I don't think the camera is quicker like people have been saying, Also when i was using SF camera, i used to be able to hold the camera button to take a pic and the green box would come up (auto focus). but on the g300 it doesnt happen, the green box comes up for a split second or so before you click the button, i'm sure its only ment to come up when you hold the button, is that the same with everone elses camera?

ive notice that too with the camera...its no biggy for me..

  • 0

#13
RussellS

RussellS

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 452 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hampshire, UK
  • Devices:Blade, Huawei G300, Jiayu G3
Well, I've just taken the plunge and upgraded from B885 to B888. It locked up at the end of the vendor file update and needed a battery pull but was fine after that.

The capacitive buttons are definitely more responsive and I do think that the camera is faster to respond.

oh, and no Vodafone crap bogging it down anymore.


Also when i was using SF camera, i used to be able to hold the camera button to take a pic and the green box would come up (auto focus). but on the g300 it doesnt happen, the green box comes up for a split second or so before you click the button, i'm sure its only ment to come up when you hold the button, is that the same with everone elses camera?

On mine, if I press and hold the camera button I get the green box come up and the camera will focus. If you then keep the button pressed the green box will stay on and the focus will be held and you can reframe the shot while keeping the original focus. The green box stays on until you let go of the button.

Edited by RussellS, 11 May 2012 - 07:13 AM.

  • 0

#14
feckineejit

feckineejit

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 578 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derry/Ireland
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE, Huawei G300

Well, I've just taken the plunge and upgraded from B885 to B888. It locked up at the end of the vendor file update and needed a battery pull but was fine after that.

The capacitive buttons are definitely more responsive and I do think that the camera is faster to respond.

oh, and no Vodafone crap bogging it down anymore.



On mine, if I press and hold the camera button I get the green box come up and the camera will focus. If you then keep the button pressed the green box will stay on and the focus will be held and you can reframe the shot while keeping the original focus. The green box stays on until you let go of the button.

Thats whats meant to happen, it did happen to mine when i first put B888 on, but the next morning i got up and it stopped doing it.

  • 0
Posted Image

#15
Muznyu

Muznyu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Well, I decided to stop worry about warranty and go for B888, because I wanted a usable phone. With B884 and B886 the device was painfully slow and unresponsive (after using a Moto DEFY with CM7), but installing B888 is a huge step up: fixed volume issue, removed Vodafone bloatware, improved speed. Okay, the UI and the soft buttons are not always as responsive as I want, but now it's not that annoying like before. I hope in the near future some optimized update will increase the speed of the software, and the remaining lag will dissapear.

BTW do you know how to remove TouchPal keyboard? Titanium Backup couldn't remove it, because it's not located in system/app folder. Of course it's not a big deal if it remains on my phone, but usually I like to remove unused components. :)

  • 0

#16
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Devices:Android

BTW do you know how to remove TouchPal keyboard? Titanium Backup couldn't remove it, because it's not located in system/app folder. Of course it's not a big deal if it remains on my phone, but usually I like to remove unused components. :)

I have to say I rather like the TouchPal keyboard. Not as good as Swype, my favourite, but close. That and the Vodafone style I would like to keep. All the other customisation I would rather do without. But I think I will wait until ICS is out before I go into detailed tailoring of my G300.

  • 0

#17
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Use Rom Toolbox for removing any apps that titanium can't.

  • 0

#18
FrownBreaker

FrownBreaker

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Devices:R1
Can someone add 888 DUO Rom to the selection as this NOT the same as stock 888
Thanks.

  • 0

#19
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200
Use root explorer and delete touchpal stuff from the misc partition.

  • 0

#20
Chazmeister

Chazmeister

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Upgraded to B888 a short while ago. It's a nice relief to be finally rid of all the Vodafone junk and be able to tailor the phone to my wants. Also as has already been said the capacitive buttons are a heck of a lot more responsive now. Just feels a better experience overall. I know I could of rooted it earlier and dicked about junking all the voda stuff, but I had a feeling something like this might be along eventually.

I've actually re-installed the touchpal keyboard as I got quite used to it's predictive text and could knock out sentences really fast. I hear the Swype one is a bit better but the Touchpal one is free.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users