Jump to content


Photo

Kernel Experiment - 4.0 updated 2012.05.28


  • Please log in to reply
195 replies to this topic

#61
jingang

jingang

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 163 posts

3.0 Even more memory

CPU: 667Mhz / AHB: 166Mhz / 160MB free memory / 24bpp display
Build No: a3b8d7f-867

Note: always watch first post for latest builds in case this build has been superseded.

why?it is still 83mhz with 3.0 you update?and there still flicker???

  • 0

#62
nikkotsoi

nikkotsoi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 279 posts
used ubuntu to do fsck
with new 3.0 ver
wifi still error and screen flickering @@

  • 0

#63
ErcanPolat

ErcanPolat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II GT-I8000
I installed 800 Mhz version. Wifi and GSM is working. I tried 667 Mhz version before. It has network and wifi error.

  • 0

#64
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

I installed 800 Mhz version. Wifi and GSM is working. I tried 667 Mhz version before. It has network and wifi error.


Do you mean that you only got "network & wifi" error in 667Mhz? in 3.0 builds or 2.0? By "network error", do you mean you can't get any phone GSM signals?

Hi I tried version above but it seems to be the same story with wifi error.

wifi still error and screen flickering @@


Thanks all for the testing. The wifi is really a sticky issue. Strange thing is I never encounter any problem with it. I know it's rather difficult to do some logging - but I'll need that information to debug. To ease collecting these info, I wrote a log multiplexer script that collect both the kernel log and the android log.

1. Download the attached script
2. Rename it to mlog
3. Put it in root directory "/" of your phone
4. Do a chmod +x /mlog in terminal
5. You are ready to collect log in the future - the above is one-time procedures.

Before starting wifi, fire up a terminal, and type /mlog and wait few seconds. Then you can start wifi, and wait for a few minutes for the log to collect. Then you can go back to the terminal and press "q". It will write a logfile to /sdcard/log.yymmdd-HHMMSS.txt. It only contains the log segment since mlog is started. Post it and hopefully I'll be able to find a solution. This script could also be used for other scenarios too.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  mlog.txt   847bytes   15 downloads

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July


#65
ErcanPolat

ErcanPolat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II GT-I8000

Do you mean that you only got "network & wifi" error in 667Mhz? in 3.0 builds or 2.0? By "network error", do you mean you can't get any phone GSM signals?


After a clean installation I installed 3.0 build 667 Mhz (I just wanted to see 24 bit difference) But "No service" + "Wifi Error" exists: Then I copied 800 Mhz zimage and modules(3.0 build). Now I am using it.

  • 0

#66
synescu

synescu

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G XT1032

3.0 Vanilla build
CPU: 800Mhz / AHB: 133Mhz / 141MB free memory / 16bpp display
Build No: a3b8d7f-865

Note: always watch first post for latest builds in case this build has been superseded.

WiFi still error

Attached Files


  • 0

#67
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

After a clean installation I installed 3.0 build 667 Mhz (I just wanted to see 24 bit difference) But "No service" + "Wifi Error" exists: Then I copied 800 Mhz zimage and modules(3.0 build). Now I am using it.


Can you also do a mlog as describe in post #64?

WiFi still error


Hmmm... you are hitting one of the usb bug that I am chasing after. Anyway, can you try the following:
1. disconnect USB cable
2. reboot
3. install this new terminal emulator (for later steps)
4. open terminal and start mlog script
5. press menu key, and select "new window"
6. run "insmod -f /modules/libertasspi.ko"
7. wait for 30 seconds, and note any error messages
8. swipe the screen to your right to get back to original window 1
9. press q to stop mlog
10. post the resulting .txt and any error message you see in step 7.

Hopefully we will get to the bottom of this.

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July


#68
ErcanPolat

ErcanPolat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II GT-I8000
I have noticed that when I use video recording on winmo (record to sdcard) my android installation corrupted. It happened two times. I am not sure it is possible.

Edit : @ipaq: Because of corrupted installation i couldn't make mlog.

Edited by ErcanPolat, 25 May 2012 - 06:05 PM.

  • 0

#69
synescu

synescu

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G XT1032

3.0 Even more memory

CPU: 667Mhz / AHB: 166Mhz / 160MB free memory / 24bpp display
Build No: a3b8d7f-867

Note: always watch first post for latest builds in case this build has been superseded.

/mlog +insmod -f /modules/libertasspi.ko

Attached Files


  • 0

#70
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

I have noticed that when I use video recording on winmo (record to sdcard) my android installation corrupted. It happened two times. I am not sure it is possible.


It's not impossible, but unlikely - since winmo and linux use their own partitions. The only slightly possible case that I can think of is partition overlap. Do a "fdisk -l /dev/block/mmcblk0" if you reinstalled android, or "fdisk -l /dev/sd?" when phone is connected to a Linux box via USB and phone is in winmo with USB mass storage mode, or in your host in windows use something like partition magic to verify if you have no overlapped partitions in your partition tables.

So what do you mean by corrupted installation? Android couldn't boot? Hanged at where?

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July


#71
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

/mlog +insmod -f /modules/libertasspi.ko


It seems to me your hardware and modules files are okay. These are the lines that I am looking for which is a good sign:
<6>[  474.266237](		 insmod) libertas_spi: Libertas SPI driver
<4>[  475.760329](		 insmod) Sanya: Power On wlan
<6>[  475.761038](		 insmod) libertas_spi spi1.0: firmware: requesting libertas/gspi8686_hlp.bin
<6>[  476.158740](		 insmod) libertas_spi spi1.0: firmware: requesting libertas/gspi8686.bin
<6>[  476.455511](		 insmod) libertas: 00:21:19:ba:90:ac, fw 9.70.10p0, cap 0x00000303
<4>[  476.463046](		 insmod) txpower:18 min:4 max:20
<6>[  476.473278](		 insmod) libertas: wlan0: Marvell WLAN 802.11 adapter

I think we need a few more rounds of these - so instead I will outline the troubleshooting procedures here so that you can try it all yourselves and others might find it useful. It will be a bit lengthy though, mind you. First we need to understand how the wifi stuff are put together in Android.

1. Kernel has a compiled in wifi driver call Libertas, which loads at boot (normally it won't spit any message in kernel log)

2. When you press the wifi on in the android interface, the android framework will load a second piece of driver named "libertasspi" spi is the SPI bus interface where the hardware card is connected. This is equivilent to you running "insmod /modules/libertasspi.ko" in a terminal. When you do a dmesg you'll see the above quoted message if the module is successfully loaded, together with the wlan firmware. Any error will show up in the kernel log (using the command "dmesg" or my mlog script.)

3. Note that there are kind of modules versioning problem - i.e. you use a different set of module files than that is required by that particular kernel zImage. That won't work - though sometimes, you might get it working by doing a "insmod -f /modules/libertasspi.ko" - the "f" parameter tells the kernel to load the module by force. Not a good thing in general - but it might provide you will more useful error messages nevertheless. It is noteworthy that android won't do a -f, so if the module is for a different zImage, it won't even attempt to forcefully load it, and report a "Wifi error" right away.

Then a couple of things will happen fast here. See init.rc:
service wpa_supplicant /system/bin/wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/data/misc/wifi/bcm_supp.conf
   disabled																	
   oneshot																	 
service dhcpcd /system/bin/dhcpcd -BKL wlan0								   
   disabled								
   oneshot								 
on property:init.svc.wpa_supplicant=running	  
    start dhcpcd							   

4. Android will then try to start the wpa_supplicant which was originally used for connecting WPA protected networks - but Google hacked it and turn it into a android<->hardware communication software and to issue wifi hardware commands via this piece of software. When it runs you'll see something like this in kernel log:
[ 1028.016935](		   init) init: starting 'wpa_supplicant'
[ 1033.297673]( wpa_supplicant) libertas: Unknown PRIVATE command RXFILTER-ADD 0, ignored
[ 1033.298463]( wpa_supplicant) libertas: Unknown PRIVATE command RXFILTER-ADD 1, ignored
[ 1033.299200]( wpa_supplicant) libertas: Unknown PRIVATE command RXFILTER-ADD 3, ignored
[ 1033.299933]( wpa_supplicant) libertas: Unknown PRIVATE command RXFILTER-START, ignored
[ 1033.301539]( wpa_supplicant) libertas: Unknown PRIVATE command BTCOEXSCAN-STOP, ignored

They are harmless and is an evidence that wpa_supplicant is running. As you can see from the command line parameter you'll see it expects a config file /data/misc/wifi/bcm_supp.conf This file could be troublesome. I usually delete it (after backup of course) and let it generate a fresh copy. You can use the following commands in a terminal and reboot afterwards:
mv /data/misc/wifi/bcm_supp.conf /data/misc/wifi/bcm_supp.conf.bak
chmod g+w /data/misc/wifi/

5. The next one in init.rc is a dhcp client to obtain IP address when being connected to a wifi SSID. Nothing special here - it's just will run and directly exits when you have no network joined, and thus you'll see those lines "untracked pid XXXX exited" all the time. Normal kernel message would look like:
[ 2392.631228](		   init) init: processing action 0x2f658 (property:init.svc.wpa_supplicant=running)
[ 2392.631806](		   init) init: starting 'dhcpcd'

6. Back to android - normally, you'll need to configure some settings in Wi-Fi settings->Menu->Advanced->Regulatory domain. Also, make sure you don't use static IP in the same page.

7. Android should now be scanning for available APs. Trouble is sometimes it won't scan due to some weired reasons. Do the following in a terminal:
ifconfig wlan0 up
iwlist scan

and you will get the scan results in the terminal, and soon appear in the android UI. It should be almost everything.

If you turn on wifi in android and receive the "wifi error" in the user interface, it's probably related to the driver/firmware loading. It could be anything like missing file, corrupted file, mismatched file, kernel bugs, file and directory permissions, etc. It should be quick to get into that error state and is usally within seconds. But if you are not receiving "wifi error", it might be one or more steps outlined above has problems. Try to make sure the config files (including init.rc) has the relavant sections, and the files it requests are in place and are accessible.

Lastly, a quick way is to reload the original cm beta2 kernel and modules and see if it works well or not. Hope this piece is useful for you all.

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July


#72
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
BTW, I finally get my act together and make kexec working. It can reboot the phone without going back to WinMo altogether. It will be useful to someone who reboots regularly - like me, rebooting almost 30 times a day for trying out new kernel builds. :P After that I will be completely offline until probably some time in July.

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July


#73
ErcanPolat

ErcanPolat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II GT-I8000

So what do you mean by corrupted installation? Android couldn't boot? Hanged at where?


After Android on Omnia logo. I see color bands.

  • 0

#74
synescu

synescu

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G XT1032
ok, I made a new clean install with all modules already replaced in ext4.tar.gaz archive. and wifi is working. I think that goes for all versions

  • 0

#75
zappazz

zappazz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

BTW, I finally get my act together and make kexec working. It can reboot the phone without going back to WinMo altogether. It will be useful to someone who reboots regularly - like me, rebooting almost 30 times a day for trying out new kernel builds. :P After that I will be completely offline until probably some time in July.


Does it means you are going to release a new kernel today/tomorrow?
i usually reboot many times, so i like it :)
Anyway, thanks for continuing to upgrade Omnia2droid!

  • 0

#76
nikkotsoi

nikkotsoi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 279 posts
hello ipaq3870
i want to ask something related to androids but not our i8000.
Hope you can help me.
As my freind 's htc aria 's mainboard is getting some problem,
it detects the battery level as 0~3% even the battery is fully charged
i have tested to insert the battery to other phones, it shows 100% correctly
however, since the android will turn the phone off when it has 0% of battery,
so is it possible to change the phone into charging state even there is no chargered plugged or stop the auto turn off of the phone? thank you

Edited by nikkotsoi, 26 May 2012 - 04:15 PM.

  • 0

#77
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

After Android on Omnia logo. I see color bands.


Next time if you encounter this, pull the battery and wait for one minute before re-inserting it and pressing the power. If it still won't boot and color bands still appears then there might be something wrong.

ok, I made a new clean install with all modules already replaced in ext4.tar.gaz archive. and wifi is working. I think that goes for all versions


Good to know it finally works for you - but I am still wondering what would have been the cause of it. Switching to a different kernel (if done correctly) should not affect any other files and configurations. Anyway, I'd recommend others to try the reinstall route if they encounter the same.

Does it means you are going to release a new kernel today/tomorrow?
i usually reboot many times, so i like it :)


It's actually already on github ;) For binary builds, I think tomorrow or the day after...

so is it possible to change the phone into charging state even there is no chargered plugged or stop the auto turn off of the phone?


It's possible indeed. There are two routes for doing it: you either mod the battery driver to report a higher battery level (or A/C plugged in), or mod Android not to shutdown even if there's no juice. The former approach is very device specific as it involves the kernel driver and require quite a bit of knowledge of the battery gauge. The latter should be more trivial - just mod the ShutdownIfNoPower() call here.

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July


#78
nikkotsoi

nikkotsoi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 279 posts

Next time if you encounter this, pull the battery and wait for one minute before re-inserting it and pressing the power. If it still won't boot and color bands still appears then there might be something wrong.



Good to know it finally works for you - but I am still wondering what would have been the cause of it. Switching to a different kernel (if done correctly) should not affect any other files and configurations. Anyway, I'd recommend others to try the reinstall route if they encounter the same.



It's actually already on github ;) For binary builds, I think tomorrow or the day after...



It's possible indeed. There are two routes for doing it: you either mod the battery driver to report a higher battery level (or A/C plugged in), or mod Android not to shutdown even if there's no juice. The former approach is very device specific as it involves the kernel driver and require quite a bit of knowledge of the battery gauge. The latter should be more trivial - just mod the ShutdownIfNoPower() call here.

thanks for your help
i wonder we should talk about this in the message,,
i don't want to disturb others in this post :)

  • 0

#79
zappazz

zappazz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

I've copied the script on the first page and named it zr.sh, then put it where SDcard is mounted. So, with terminal:

su (log in as root)
chmod 777 /sdcard/zr.sh (make it executable)
sh /sdcard/zr.sh (run the script)

Then terminal will show some errors but just type free on terminal and see if swap line isn't showing just zeros, if don't, then is working.


Do we have to execute this script each time the OS i booted? Or it has to be executed only once...?
(i suppose that it has to be executed on each reboot...)
Thanks.

Edited by zappazz, 27 May 2012 - 12:25 AM.

  • 0

#80
ipaq3870

ipaq3870

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

Do we have to execute this script each time the OS i booted? Or it has to be executed only once...?
(i suppose that it has to be executed on each reboot...)


You do need it every time it boots. If you don't want the trouble executing it every time, you can use the init.rc snippet in the same post where the script was posted, or you can also hook it up with a script manager like SL4A that give you the ability to create homescreen shortcut to your script.

  • 0

ipaq3870@madaco ~~~ Kernel Experiment for Omnia II ~~~ Offline until July





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users