Jump to content


Photo

installed cd drive by mistake

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Hi all

I've some how managed to install a CD drive on to my phone and now I can't root or install cwm every time I plug in the phone via usb this drive opens up stopping me from using Paul's one click root or cwm. Can anyone help me fix this?

Edited by nearby, 15 May 2012 - 03:40 PM.

  • 0

#2
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Are you sure that's not the normal pop-up that always opens up. It should give options like open file to view folders etc. If so its completely normal.

Root is done with the phone in bootloader mode, not with the phone powered on as per normal.

  • 0

#3
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Ive tried doing it volume button down power on goes into download mode but as soon as I plug USB in it make the installing USB noise and then boots up the phone. I had rooted it before but install the 888 rom so have to reroot again but can't any ideas?

Thanks for helping

  • 0

#4
Hogweed

Hogweed

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 392 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Sounds like you have USB debugging ticked. An additional drive with docs and driver appears.

Edited by Hogweed, 15 May 2012 - 06:24 PM.

  • 0

#5
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Ive tried doing it volume button down power on goes into download mode but as soon as I plug USB in it make the installing USB noise and then boots up the phone. I had rooted it before but install the 888 rom so have to reroot again but can't any ideas?

Thanks for helping

is fastboot on per chance?

  • 0

#6
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Yes to both

  • 0

#7
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Yes to both

thats 1 of the reason then :)

hope you sort it :)

  • 0

#8
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Thanks Frankie but I'm sure I've tried it with it ticked and unticked but will try again tonight when I get in from work.

  • 0

#9
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Hogweed
that's what happens I think there are four files in it, and some how one is a CD drive with drivers.

Do you know what this is?

Edited by nearby, 15 May 2012 - 06:48 PM.

  • 0

#10
Hogweed

Hogweed

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 392 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
It's the official phone drivers for windows. Appears if the phone is running with debug enabled. It is factory installed. Not something you added.

Edited by Hogweed, 15 May 2012 - 07:17 PM.

  • 0

#11
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Ok so being a bit thick but I still think I've done something to it

  • 0

#12
mealy1

mealy1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:5 Miles North Of The Toon
  • Devices:ZTE Skate+Ascend G300

Ok so being a bit thick but I still think I've done something to it


Its OK it is the same on mine and I dont have Debuging ticked, Its the internal 2.5gig storage that you see, When the phone is Connected to a computer it should come up with a drive letter, My internal storage is drive N and my SD card is drive M.

  • 0

#13
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Have you pulled the battery before booting into bootloader mode? Also are you sure you are holding the buttons long enough. It can take approximately ten seconds.

  • 0

#14
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Mealy I have those two drives too but only when I push the conect button under the little android man this other one comes up as soon as I connection the USB.

  • 0

#15
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
David
Yes pulled the batteries out and waited before putting them back in. Pretty sure I'm doing it right cause I had rooted twice before once on the voda rom to remove the bloatware and again after installing the 886 rom.

Will give it another when I get home.

  • 0

#16
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
When I look in device manager it show the device as CD rom device if I connection with USB debugging it shows the two USB devices aswell further down the list.

Edited by nearby, 15 May 2012 - 10:08 PM.

  • 0

#17
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts
Yes that's normal. Nothing to worry about and it certainly won't stop you rooting as long as you follow the instructions.

  • 0

#18
nearby

nearby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Thanks to everyone for helping!! i've now rooted and installed CWM... sorry for being such nooob cheers for your help :)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users