Jump to content


Photo

[Tool][Linux] ZTE Porting Tool

- - - - -

62 replies to this topic

#1
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

ZTE Porting Tool


Easy ROM Porting for everyone


***************************************************************************************************************


What the hell is this?


The ZTE Porting Tool is a tool that makes it easy

to port ROMs between ZTE Devices (currently only ZTE Skate <-> ZTE Blade)

Easy, Fast and Simple to use.


What do I have to do?


With this script, you just have to obtain the ROM you want to port.

This Tool automatically downloads the ROM you need as base and unzips it.

Just follow the instructions.


******************************************************************************************************************


Supported Devices

  • ZTE Blade
  • ZTE Skate
  • ZTE Crescent

Devices, you can port from...

-> ZTE Devices

-> Other devices with armv6 chip

-> HDPI recommend


******************************************************************************************************************


Install Instructions

(Tested on Ubuntu 11.10 and Windows with Cygwin)


Read the readme inside the tool!


Important Notice


<<First start the tool, then extract the ROM you want to port.>>


*******************************************************************************************************************

Download


Download Now!







Planing to release your Port?


Everyone ist allowed to puplish a Port you did with that Tool, aslong as he gives Credits to...

  • The original Developer of the ROM you ported
  • The Developer of the ROM(s) this tool uses as base (tilal6991 [CM7 Skate], C3C0 [2.3.5 Skate], CyanogenmodTeam [CM7 Blade]
  • Me (Posted Image)

***********************************************************************************************************************


Edited by XMasterNinni, 24 June 2012 - 04:25 PM.

  • 1

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#2
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Changelog:

v3.0 Initial Release

Edited by XMasterNinni, 17 May 2012 - 10:01 AM.

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#3
iharrybao

iharrybao

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE vivacity
  • Twitter:@iharrybao
thanks!

  • 0
Sorry, I'm Chinese....

#4
Russ_uk

Russ_uk

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK & US
  • Devices:Huawei G300 & ZTE Crescent
VERY interesting! Nice work.

  • 0
"Water which is too pure has no fish" - Ts'ai Ken T'an

#5
raverrr

raverrr

    Recognised Ginger Ninja

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,063 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blate
What is changed in v4?

  • 0
-If i've been helpfull to you in any way, press that little green thanks button

#6
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Have a look at github! (=Download Link)

But WiFi/BT should now work out the box for the Skate and probably the Crescent.

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#7
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Looks like it should be resolved, providing /lib/modules/dhd.ko and /lib/dhd.ko is expected and handled.

  • 1
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#8
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
A pity, that there aren't much testers/porters here at the Crescent Forum...

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#9
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
lol we're all "testing" the cyanogenmod builds as they're both a work in progress.

  • 0

#10
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III

A pity, that there aren't much testers/porters here at the Crescent Forum...


I am up for a challenge and will try and port a ROM from the Blade to the Crescent and will let you know how I get on

I have attempted to port three Roms. Only one has worked and booted correctly, there are a couple of issues with wifi and camera not working.. but it actually worked and booted into the phone.

two of them when I tried to flash the rom I got the following error message assert failed: write_raw_image ("/tmp/boot,img". "boot") Error in sdcard/port.zip (status 7) Have had a bit of a googe to see what the issue is but to be honest it was a bit above me.

Edited by robt77, 10 June 2012 - 02:50 PM.

  • 0

#11
surfungus

surfungus

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Interests:Tech, Seeing a cheap as chips phone run some amazing software, xbox (call of duty), beer...
  • Devices:Moto G
Hi guys, had a little play yesterday, cool tool btw XMasterNinni, using mint instead of the cygwin. Everything seemed to go well, ended up with a port.zip, It's just when I tried to flash it (usual no wipe, no whine method) I got this,

assert failed : write_raw_image ("/tmp/boot.img,"boot")

E :error in /sdcard/atomiccrescent.zip

(status 7)

Any Ideas, I'm still very new to all this :unsure: and wouldn't mind not bricking my phone :P

I've just done another port (SKatie), so i'll try flashing that shortly.

cheers surf

  • 0
Like the custom ROM on your phone? Why not buy the dev a beer!!

#12
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
@surfungus
@robt77

Open your port.zip and have a look if the structure is correct. There should be a "boot.img" and two folders called "META-INF" and "system".
If that's correct, look at the boot.img. The file size should be around 3mb, not 0 Byte.

You can also try to use another META-INF folder.

Edited by XMasterNinni, 11 June 2012 - 12:31 PM.

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#13
surfungus

surfungus

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Interests:Tech, Seeing a cheap as chips phone run some amazing software, xbox (call of duty), beer...
  • Devices:Moto G
Hi XMaster, thanks for the reply.
In my port.zip I have the three files you say, boot.img is 3.2MB, system is 127.5MB and META-INF is 389.6kB

I'll try another META-INF and see how that goes.

@robt77 Hi mate, good work getting to boot, could you please tell me what was the booting port you did, maybe we can try the META-INF from that...

cheers surf

  • 0
Like the custom ROM on your phone? Why not buy the dev a beer!!

#14
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
That's OK then. I'm pretty sure that the META-INF is the bad boy.

And yeah, please tell us rob!

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#15
raverrr

raverrr

    Recognised Ginger Ninja

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,063 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blate
Status 7 is usually an updater script error. ex something in the script doesn't exist in the rom.

Edit: you can use dsixda's kitchen to check these scripts for errors.

  • 0
-If i've been helpfull to you in any way, press that little green thanks button

#16
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
A pity that I don't own a Crescent...:(

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#17
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
@XMasterNinni
@ surfungus

It was the Mokee OS for Blade Rom that I ported with success. To be honest I think it was more luck than judgement. Is it just a case of copying the META-INF files from the working port rom to the unsuccessful ones and seeing if it works? My technical knowledge is a bit limited but am keen to learn.

Edit Like Surf my unsuccessful Roms had three files that looked about the right size

Edit, I changed the META-INF files from the successful Rom to the unsucessful rom and I got error can't open sdcard.port.zip (bad) installation aborted

Edited by robt77, 11 June 2012 - 04:35 PM.

  • 0

#18
raverrr

raverrr

    Recognised Ginger Ninja

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,063 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blate

@XMasterNinni
@ surfungus

It was the Mokee OS for Blade Rom that I ported with success. To be honest I think it was more luck than judgement. Is it just a case of copying the META-INF files from the working port rom to the unsuccessful ones and seeing if it works? My technical knowledge is a bit limited but am keen to learn.

Edit Like Surf my unsuccessful Roms had three files that looked about the right size


That might work, you would be Better off familiarising yourself with the files first. If you want a nice clean script and binary to start with I recommend taking a look at one of sebastien404's. He posted a debranded ROM and wrote it from scratch. So you know three will be no useless entries :) failing that, if outs a CM7 based ROM just "pinch" the updater script from dazzozo's CM7 build.

Sorry to butt in :)

  • 0
-If i've been helpfull to you in any way, press that little green thanks button

#19
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III

That might work, you would be Better off familiarising yourself with the files first. If you want a nice clean script and binary to start with I recommend taking a look at one of sebastien404's. He posted a debranded ROM and wrote it from scratch. So you know three will be no useless entries :) failing that, if outs a CM7 based ROM just "pinch" the updater script from dazzozo's CM7 build.

Sorry to butt in :)


Thanks raverrr, Butt in as much as you like :) In Terms of checking the files between the debranded Rom and the one I ported, what is the best programme to view/edit in. I use ubuntu on a pc.

Edited by robt77, 11 June 2012 - 04:44 PM.

  • 0

#20
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

That might work, you would be Better off familiarising yourself with the files first. If you want a nice clean script and binary to start with I recommend taking a look at one of sebastien404's. He posted a debranded ROM and wrote it from scratch. So you know three will be no useless entries :) failing that, if outs a CM7 based ROM just "pinch" the updater script from dazzozo's CM7 build.

Sorry to butt in :)


My portingtool already uses sebastian404's debranded ROM for 2.3.5.

@robt77

Meld

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users