Jump to content


Photo

Just ordered mine online but..is the £10 compulsory

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"
I just ordered mine from the website and asked for it to be delivered instore .........does anyone know if ill have to get the top up?

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#2
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
Don't think so, I didn't when I bought mine a couple of weeks ago. Had it delivered to the house but I don't think matters. Besides they would have made you add it to the order when you paid. That's what Orange did with the blade

  • 2

#3
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"

Don't think so, I didn't when I bought mine a couple of weeks ago. Had it delivered to the house but I don't think matters. Besides they would have made you add it to the order when you paid. That's what Orange did with the blade

Thanks
.....
ok so now i have to figure out a way to get a free unlock :D

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#4
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
no such thing as far as I know. Cheapest I've seen is £5 and some change, but I paid £10 for mine

PS: opps, yeah some people have had success in getting their local Vodafone shop to do it. I didn't have the cheek for that :P

Edited by eirlysbill1, 21 May 2012 - 09:21 PM.

  • 1

#5
achromic

achromic

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei Ascend G300
Luckily, I found out on the day I bought it, it was already unlocked. Didn't even need to use the unlock code Voda supplied when I bought it.

  • 1
Achromic

ZTE Skate - running Ice Armor III

T-Mobile Vivacity - Running CM10 (Spare)

Huawei Ascend G300, unlocked, rooted, de-crappified, and ICS Ir1 (SOLD!)


Posted Image

#6
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"

Luckily, I found out on the day I bought it, it was already unlocked. Didn't even need to use the unlock code Voda supplied when I bought it.

hopefully im that lucky :rolleyes:

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#7
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Nothing cheeky about asking that eirlysbill. They can only say yes or no and then its up to you to say yes or no whether to buy it with your money.
I got 200 dollars knocked off a camera lens. Was that cheeky of me to ask for a better deal or was it cheeky of them to be prepared to take 200 dollars more than they needed to take as I can guarantee that they still made a profit on that lens.

  • 0

#8
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
aye David, I hear what your saying. I've done something like that in the past. A few years ago we got a 42" Pioneer plasma tv for £450. Original price was £1200, but it was showroom model that had been dropped and a corner was cracked, but it worked fine. They had marked it down twice to £750 and we came in with an offer of £400, and they finally accepted £450. That was at least 3 years ago and its still working great, with a little body filler and paint to cover the broken bit :D

Thing with the phone was, I bought it online, so I didn't feel I could then go into the shop and say can I please have a free unlock. If had it from the shop, it'd be different. That's just me though.

Edit: bought it online and had it delivered to the house.

Edited by eirlysbill1, 22 May 2012 - 08:10 AM.

  • 1

#9
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"

aye David, I hear what your saying. I've done something like that in the past. A few years ago we got a 42" Pioneer plasma tv for £450. Original price was £1200, but it was showroom model that had been dropped and a corner was cracked, but it worked fine. They had marked it down twice to £750 and we came in with an offer of £400, and they finally accepted £450. That was at least 3 years ago and its still working great, with a little body filler and paint to cover the broken bit :D

Thing with the phone was, I bought it online, so I didn't feel I could then go into the shop and say can I please have a free unlock. If had it from the shop, it'd be different. That's just me though.

Edit: bought it online and had it delivered to the house.

Im getting it delivered to the shop... hopefully theyre feeling generous :)

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#10
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"
Just picked it up and it is all up and running , but sadly the guy at the vodafone shop wasnt that cool about unlocking it for free so ill have to pay £19.99 but its worth it though the phone is brilliant.

Edited by mack_, 29 May 2012 - 06:34 PM.

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#11
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
I paid half of that on eBay and I think you get them about a fiver now. I had no trouble at all with mine. Hope you enjoy the phone, its a cracker for the price

  • 1

#12
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"

I paid half of that on eBay and I think you get them about a fiver now. I had no trouble at all with mine. Hope you enjoy the phone, its a cracker for the price

thanks for the heads up might try that first. B-)

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#13
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
I was going pay Vodafone just to get it unlocked straight away and my card payment wouldnt go through over the phone. I was quoted a 2 week wait as they claimed they had to get the code from Huawei. I asked was it a new thing as unlock codes were usually done immediately.She said it was always done that way which I thought was bull.
I ended up going with eBay on my first phone which I had to return due to hardware failure.
I then read more and more reports of free and on the spot unlocks through Vodafone so when I got my 2nd G300, I though sod it I will specifically ask for free unlock and walk away if they refuse. I got a free unlock on the spot and no £10 top up

  • 0

#14
pelago

pelago

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Nokia N900

thanks for the heads up might try that first. B-)

Before you pay anything, check that it's not unlocked already, as quite a lot of G300s seems to already be unlocked when sold.

  • 0

#15
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"

Before you pay anything, check that it's not unlocked already, as quite a lot of G300s seems to already be unlocked when sold.

]
TRIED USING MY TMOBILE SIM IN IT ALREADY, didnt work so now i have to find a reliable seller on ebay...any suggestions?

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#16
dbbloke

dbbloke

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:.uk, .ua, .au
  • Interests:Phones, Doing things, working things out, Reading
  • Devices:Huawei G300. ZTE Skate. LGP990

]
TRIED USING MY TMOBILE SIM IN IT ALREADY, didnt work so now i have to find a reliable seller on ebay...any suggestions?

I used cellunlockerpro from ebay as mentioned in the free unlocking post. but then went to put the code in and it was unlocked. Still, paid 5 quid and at least got a number in an email so at least legit, also much positive feedback.

  • 0

#17
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"
Just thought i should give you guys an update
go intouch with Vodafone via their online chat thingy and told the agent that i had been with Vodafone for almost 5 years(I feel so old :() and that i had bought a new phone but i need it unlocked because i have a contract with T mobile, Also hinted that i was told i was entitled to a free unlock and luckily it worked!!!

The guy said it would take 72hours to arrive by email with instructions on how to use and ofcourse it was all Free!!!

Thanks for the Heads up davidoff59 and pelago about asking, the worst that coulda happened would be them saying no.
I'll update again when i get the code.

Edited by mack_, 31 May 2012 - 05:11 PM.

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#18
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"
Good news after a week of waiting the code arrived and now im successfully unlocked and now enjoying the full benefits of the g300...thanks for the advice guys...it is worth the wait and it was all free

  • 1
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users