Jump to content


Photo

[ROM / 4.0.4] AndyStrip ICS 2.1 (Aug 13)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#21
Tichy

Tichy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romford, Essex, England
  • Devices:Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@1275ce
Upgraded to 1.1 and the problems i was having with installing apps is sorted. Thanks.

Now i'm not sure if this is a problem with Bluetooth or just the speed of the pad, but i've paired an Apple wireless Mighty mouse with the pad and the swipe left/right works fine on the homescreen and the scroll up/down works fine in most apps, but the problem is the lag when moving the cursor if one or more apps are open and when trying to type by clicking on the letters on the on-screen keyboard. The system is still responsive, and quick, to touch input doing the same tasks.

Not sure if there is a way of increasing the priority of processing for bluetooth devices?

Tichy

  • 0

#22
Tichy

Tichy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romford, Essex, England
  • Devices:Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@1275ce
Just one other thing for the moment, the Play market installed is only for apps. Is the an APK i can download for the full market (books, apps and movies)

Cheers.
Tichy

  • 0

#23
Tricky103

Tricky103

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Exeter
  • Devices:GT-I9100 - Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@Tricky103
Hi.. Thank you csharp for the rom. I have tried it many times and I almost have the same problems, on the instructions it says to reboot after the start up wizard. Every time I have done this the andypad seems to freeze at the andypad pro screen..... I have reinstalled the rom and not yet rebooted and it is working fine. I am dubious not to reboot it although soon I know I will have to.I will enable usb debugging and see if the logcat helps at all :) Any other ideas. I haven't flashed much on the andypad but fancied ICS on it.

Thanks Again.

After using the rom for a few days, it is great a much better step up than the 2.2.1 build, I am really impressed...

Edited by Tricky103, 10 June 2012 - 07:38 AM.

  • 0

#24
spacejammed

spacejammed

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:advent vega, Andy pad pro
excellent work Csharpe really pleased with this rom, keep up the good work and cant wait until next update.

  • 0

#25
Tichy

Tichy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romford, Essex, England
  • Devices:Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@1275ce
Hi, I've been using you 1.1 rom since you posted it hear and things have been good. I have got a USB host cable and that is working with my keyboard and mouse setup fine, although i do find the system get rather laggy when there are only a couple of background tasks running. Do you think this is an issue with the ROM or due to the hardware spec of the Pad?

Cheers,
Tichy

  • 0

#26
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad
Hey,

I've been investigating and there seems to be something wrong with Settings causing high cpu usage.
I think porting existing ROMs isn't the way to go (anymore), and I'm trying some builds of CyanogenMod 9 nowadays.
Sad part: on my 3 year old laptop a build takes around 1 hour, so I'm still looking for a buildbox.

  • 0

Posted Image



#27
Tichy

Tichy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romford, Essex, England
  • Devices:Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@1275ce
I always liked CM7 on my old x10 Mini so I’d be more than happy to be a guinea pig for you.
Is there a way I can help you on builds? Don't know anything about the coding side, but could spare some CPU time.

  • 0

#28
mQQm

mQQm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi, bit of a problem here.

I installed 1.1 fine but.... Now I don't seem to be able to get it talking to my PC correctly now, when I power on with Vol + held, I get the android logo robot flat on his back with a warning triangle.

The Pad is detected on my PC as a Teclast and the USB hardware ID's are

USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001&REV_0222
USB\VID_18D1&PID_D001

I butchered the rockusb.inf file to add the ID's and it loaded the drivers OK but when I tried to flash 1.1 to it again it failed.

Any ideas?

  • 0

#29
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad
I've uploaded a new version of the ROM. Please let me know if there are any issues.

  • 0

Posted Image



#30
Tony_J

Tony_J

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Andy Pad, HTC Desire S

I've uploaded a new version of the ROM. Please let me know if there are any issues.


Loaded it up just fine and am giving it the once-over today. One thing I noticed was that there is no "people" app (contacts) - was that intentional? There are plenty of alternatives so this isn't a big deal - I have loaded up the one from contapps which seems to work OK.

Thanks for doing this...

Regards,
Tony

  • 0

#31
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad

Loaded it up just fine and am giving it the once-over today. One thing I noticed was that there is no "people" app (contacts) - was that intentional? There are plenty of alternatives so this isn't a big deal - I have loaded up the one from contapps which seems to work OK.

Thanks for doing this...

Regards,
Tony


Hi,

The missing Contacts.apk wasn't intentional but is due to some conflicts causing it not to show up. As it isn't a priority I'll look into it later.
I'm about to upload a v2.1 which has Live wallpapers, Superuser fixed (root) & adb support through stock Android SDK drivers.
I've been using it for a day now & it's been the most stable ROM so far (but who am I to claim).

Regards,
Cedric

Edited by Csharpe, 13 August 2012 - 06:36 PM.

  • 0

Posted Image



#32
kokotron

kokotron

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus S, Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@kokotron
Good work :) I installed the rom and it seems to work fine. I don't mind the missing People app since I have no use for it on the tablet. What confused me is that the Play Store was missing all paid apps. In order to install my purchased apps I had to go through the "ALL" list in my apps list in the store and scroll down to locate them. This probably has to do with the default location used for the Store, I remember I had to change it to something else in the previous rom version (I can't remember what I changed it into, though.). I might install Market Enabler and test.

PS. The keyboard seems to function much better and the overall feel is more responsive and less laggy, I think!

Edited by kokotron, 13 August 2012 - 11:23 PM.

  • 0

#33
Csharpe

Csharpe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, AndyPad

Good work :) I installed the rom and it seems to work fine. I don't mind the missing People app since I have no use for it on the tablet. What confused me is that the Play Store was missing all paid apps. In order to install my purchased apps I had to go through the "ALL" list in my apps list in the store and scroll down to locate them. This probably has to do with the default location used for the Store, I remember I had to change it to something else in the previous rom version (I can't remember what I changed it into, though.). I might install Market Enabler and test.

PS. The keyboard seems to function much better and the overall feel is more responsive and less laggy, I think!


As far as I know, Google actually removed the functionality of showing your bought apps (back in the Android Market days).
Either it's removed or missing, but I recall reading a bug report about this on the Android development fora.
It would surprise me if this has to do with the 'hack' to get market to point to the UK, but I'll see what I can do.

  • 0

Posted Image



#34
Tony_J

Tony_J

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Andy Pad, HTC Desire S

As far as I know, Google actually removed the functionality of showing your bought apps (back in the Android Market days).
Either it's removed or missing, but I recall reading a bug report about this on the Android development fora.
It would surprise me if this has to do with the 'hack' to get market to point to the UK, but I'll see what I can do.


I believe you are right- the Play app on my Desire S didn't/doesn't have that functionality either. It isn't anything to do with the AP or this ROM as far as I can see.

Regards,
Tony

Edited by Tony_J, 14 August 2012 - 06:47 AM.

  • 0

#35
kokotron

kokotron

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus S, Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@kokotron
Then I suppose it has to do with the carrier you have or emulate. I switched from O2-UK to Cosmote-Greece (my normal one on my phone, code is 20201) and paid apps appear in searches again. For the last 18 months I've always been able to see paid apps on all devices I've used and seen around here.

  • 0

#36
zurien

zurien

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:SGS2 / AndypadPro / M009s
Flashed 2.1
Working great in every way I want it to work.
Thumbs up for this release, many thanks for your work.

  • 0

#37
modacoste

modacoste

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Andypad Pro
Thankyou, v2.1 is a great update.

Quick question - has anyone experienced the keyboard mis-typing or jumping between letters and numbers?

  • 0

#38
kokotron

kokotron

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus S, Andypad Pro
  • Twitter:@kokotron

Quick question - has anyone experienced the keyboard mis-typing or jumping between letters and numbers?


At first I thought it was fixed, but I noticed a few double-types or skipped letters after more usage. In the previous version, I installed Multiling keyboard since it was my favourite, but it had an even more serious bug; sometimes I would press a letter and I would get an "OK" or "Enter" press instead! So I installed JellyBean Keyboard which seemed to work better than both. I haven't tried it on 2.1 yet.

  • 0

#39
zurien

zurien

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:SGS2 / AndypadPro / M009s

Thankyou, v2.1 is a great update.

Quick question - has anyone experienced the keyboard mis-typing or jumping between letters and numbers?


I´m using SlideIT keyboard, no issues with it, but yes I experienced it with the default one.

  • 0

#40
Tony_J

Tony_J

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Andy Pad, HTC Desire S

Thankyou, v2.1 is a great update.

Quick question - has anyone experienced the keyboard mis-typing or jumping between letters and numbers?


Yes - have seen that a few times, also scrolling back up to the page in the web browser for no apparent reason.

Regards,
Tony

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users