Jump to content


Photo

Using ADB / fastboot on the San Diego

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
To use ADB on the San Diego you'll need a custom vendor ID in your adb_usb.ini, specifically '0x8087'.

To use fastboot, you'll need to include this too - i.e. 'fastboot -i 0x8087 command'.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
spences10

spences10

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Location:London UK
  • Devices:DELL Streak, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@spences10
Awesome! Was just about to ask you this on Twitter

Just checked I have no adb_usb.ini file, just doing a search now to find one to kang

Edited by spences10, 06 June 2012 - 04:26 PM.

  • 0
I have ORD

Samsung Galaxy Nexus
ROM: CM9 Skankwich
ClockworkMod recovery [of course]

Circle Me
Follow Me

#3
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
re: adb / fastboot (especially fastboot), proceed with EXTREME CAUTION.

I've not yet found a way to enter fastboot or recovery aside from ADB commands...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4
spences10

spences10

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Location:London UK
  • Devices:DELL Streak, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@spences10
I found fastboot by powering on holding powe+volume down goes into fastboot and you can select recovery from there

Haven't sorted drivers yet, just trying via a Ubuntu 12.04 vm now

  • 0
I have ORD

Samsung Galaxy Nexus
ROM: CM9 Skankwich
ClockworkMod recovery [of course]

Circle Me
Follow Me

#5
spences10

spences10

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Location:London UK
  • Devices:DELL Streak, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@spences10
Ok, the reason I couldn't find the .android folder was because I didn't have one

The .android folder is where you will find the adb_usb.ini file the .android folder is located [for me w7] 'C:\Users\myusername\.android'

I just put the vendor id in there and hey pesto adb access :)

  • 0
I have ORD

Samsung Galaxy Nexus
ROM: CM9 Skankwich
ClockworkMod recovery [of course]

Circle Me
Follow Me

#6
nikc0069

nikc0069

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Can you push the su binary? I may not have quite given up hope with this one.

  • 0

#7
spences10

spences10

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Location:London UK
  • Devices:DELL Streak, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@spences10

Can you push the su binary? I may not have quite given up hope with this one.


Yeah, like one of the first things I tried ;)

  • 0
I have ORD

Samsung Galaxy Nexus
ROM: CM9 Skankwich
ClockworkMod recovery [of course]

Circle Me
Follow Me

#8
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Moto E
intel android device driver can be found here: http://software.inte...ice-usb-driver/

  • 0

#9
nikc0069

nikc0069

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
You pushed it? :) Awesome. Is it working? If so can you give the s2 unlock method a go? Does it have an efs directory? If it does then the s2 unlock might work.

EDIT: More info here - in the Samsung devices at least there is a files in /efs called nv_data.bin and the lock is hashed in there - once you have root take a look at this link for more info and let me know how it goes :)

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1064978

Edited by nikc0069, 09 June 2012 - 12:04 AM.

  • 0

#10
spences10

spences10

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Location:London UK
  • Devices:DELL Streak, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@spences10

You pushed it? :) Awesome. Is it working? If so can you give the s2 unlock method a go? Does it have an efs directory? If it does then the s2 unlock might work.

EDIT: More info here - in the Samsung devices at least there is a files in /efs called nv_data.bin and the lock is hashed in there - once you have root take a look at this link for more info and let me know how it goes :)

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1064978


No I meant like, duh yeah it was the first thing I tried and it didn't work, lol!

Sorry I'd been drinking :unsure:

Edited by spences10, 09 June 2012 - 10:05 AM.

  • 0
I have ORD

Samsung Galaxy Nexus
ROM: CM9 Skankwich
ClockworkMod recovery [of course]

Circle Me
Follow Me

#11
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts

You pushed it? :) Awesome. Is it working? If so can you give the s2 unlock method a go? Does it have an efs directory? If it does then the s2 unlock might work.

EDIT: More info here - in the Samsung devices at least there is a files in /efs called nv_data.bin and the lock is hashed in there - once you have root take a look at this link for more info and let me know how it goes :)

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1064978


No efs on the San Diego.

  • 0

#12
nikc0069

nikc0069

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
There goes that idea then! Took a look at one today. Nice phone but can't get one without unlock and root

  • 0

#13
darkvicious

darkvicious

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
sry

Edited by darkvicious, 09 June 2012 - 05:21 PM.

  • 0

#14
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one

To use ADB on the San Diego you'll need a custom vendor ID in your adb_usb.ini, specifically '0x8087'.

To use fastboot, you'll need to include this too - i.e. 'fastboot -i 0x8087 command'.

P



for some reason my adb is not working anymore, i can't find adb_usb.ini in my android folder ?
how do i set up a custom vendor Id ? what is the text to put into notepad ?
cheeers

  • 0

#15
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,898 posts

No efs on the San Diego.


So let me clarify, as this comment is ambiguous; Are you saying "there's no EFS on the San Diego", or "No, there's EFS on the San Diego"?

  • 0

#16
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Where would I find this efs? I will take a look, but based on the post that is being replied to, I would say flibblesan is saying that there is no efs.

  • 0

#17
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,898 posts
I know nothing about the Intel arch of Android.

Does anyone happen to know if there is a special ADB version for Intel devices? A specially modified one for the SD and Xolo? Maybe that's a good starting point...

:D

  • 0

#18
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one
Fastboot on ICS is now Droidboot, In addition to USB, Droidboot can also do Fastboot over Ethernet (useful for devices which have USB but not OTG)



https://01.org/andro...astboot-and-adb


https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups#!topic/android-contrib/t6AEhwaILUs

Edited by shootomanUK, 21 October 2012 - 05:16 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users