Jump to content


Photo

How to replace the boot animation

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
Gary_J_Wright

Gary_J_Wright

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich Norfolk UK
  • Devices:Moto G 2014 2nd gen XT1068
  • Twitter:@Gary_J_Wright
how do we replace the boot animation on the G300<i.e where is it located?

Edited by Gary_J_Wright, 07 July 2012 - 01:03 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#2
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
The option to replace is built into Rom Toolbox if that's any good to you

  • 0

#3
timfimjim

timfimjim

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend g300, Nexus 7
Yeah I'd add the boot animation zip to the ROM before flashing. Add it to system / media if I remember correctly. I'm sure there's tutorials online somewhere if you need more help, try googling it :)

  • 0

#4
andy.hyde4

andy.hyde4

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei G300, Nexus 5
Can you just flash a .zip as it? doesnt seem to be working for me!

  • 0

#5
Mtman1

Mtman1

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Liquid MT

Can you just flash a .zip as it? doesnt seem to be working for me!

no. The zip for a bootanimation is just to keep the jpg s in one place. The flashable zip has to have all the stuff that a normal cwm zip has (updater-script etc). You have to place the bootanimation in system/media (I think) manually.

Edited by Mtman1, 07 July 2012 - 12:21 PM.

  • 0

#6
andy.hyde4

andy.hyde4

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei G300, Nexus 5
oohhh it used to work on my blade?

  • 0

#7
andy.hyde4

andy.hyde4

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei G300, Nexus 5
i will try this now then. do you just put it in system/media then?

edit: thanks for that now works :D

Edited by andy.hyde4, 07 July 2012 - 12:13 PM.

  • 0

#8
Mtman1

Mtman1

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Liquid MT

oohhh it used to work on my blade?

That's probably because someone made it a flashable zip. If you look in the zip, and there is a META-INF folder, then its probably flashable.if not, then don't flash it, place it manually

i will try this now then. do you just put it in system/media then?

edit: thanks for that now works :D

Nice to hear :)

  • 0

#9
achromic

achromic

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei Ascend G300

Yeah I'd add the boot animation zip to the ROM before flashing. Add it to system / media if I remember correctly. I'm sure there's tutorials online somewhere if you need more help, try googling it :)

Yep. Timfimjim is right, boot animation.zip in the system/media folder works. I changed mine last night :D

  • 0
Achromic

ZTE Skate - running Ice Armor III

T-Mobile Vivacity - Running CM10 (Spare)

Huawei Ascend G300, unlocked, rooted, de-crappified, and ICS Ir1 (SOLD!)


Posted Image

#10
petrbuma

petrbuma

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Replace bootanimation stock Huawei GBflash in clockworkmod

Edited by petrbuma, 14 July 2012 - 04:28 PM.

  • 0

#11
nobrakes666

nobrakes666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:ascend g300
Don't know if this helps but I have 926 + vendor update loaded - changing the boot animation wasn't working for this so I decided to be brave & have a snoop around - found the vendor boot files located in /data/cust/media - one file called bootanimation.zip one called bootanimationex.zip.

Tried to overwrite them but could not change permissions (permissions are set as rw-r--r--) using ROM toolbox lite -

At this point I think I am best leaving this to people who actually know what they are doing!

By the way I put a copy of bootanimation.zip in both /data/local and /system/media with no results before I started looking so I assume that the vendor has changed a variable so that these locations are by passed

Edited by nobrakes666, 17 July 2012 - 09:35 PM.

  • 0

#12
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Sebastian404 has a post with boot animations which does work

  • 0

#13
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300

  • 0

#14
chico2069

chico2069

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Used the method in the link given by Davidoff59 and it worked like a charm :) no more lame chinese logo and android animation :) now i have a bug droid logo and huawei ascend stock animation :)

Cheers.

  • 0

#15
nobrakes666

nobrakes666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:ascend g300

Sebastian404 has a post with boot animations which does work


It was Sebastian's boot animation I was using - this installs to /data/local & I copied to /system/media - didn't work - that when I discovered the additional files.......I think this is because I loaded the vendor update whereas others haven't & that why it works for them.

Edited by nobrakes666, 17 July 2012 - 10:16 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users