Jump to content


Photo

[CM7.2] Cyanogenmod 7.2 for LiquidA1/LiquidE

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
371 replies to this topic

#41
Motoox

Motoox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo
  • Devices:Liquid A1, Liquid Metal
I use the 2GB micro sd that came with my liquid A1 and partitioned 256MB swap and 256MB ext2.
First I installed this ROM into my Liquid A1, I enabled the swap.
But the UI was quite slow.
After I disabled the swap, the UI turned to be smoother.
Now, my A1 works fine without the swap.

But the 2nd post recommends the swap partition for the better experience,
Does anyone know to get the better experience with the swap parition?

  • 0

#42
usju

usju

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Acer Liquid A1
  • Twitter:@usmanju

I use the 2GB micro sd that came with my liquid A1 and partitioned 256MB swap and 256MB ext2.
First I installed this ROM into my Liquid A1, I enabled the swap.
But the UI was quite slow.
After I disabled the swap, the UI turned to be smoother.
Now, my A1 works fine without the swap.

But the 2nd post recommends the swap partition for the better experience,
Does anyone know to get the better experience with the swap parition?


I have the exact same problem. Enabling swap makes the UI very sluggish. Such was not the case with LiquidNext. Very confused :(

  • 0

#43
kaerry

kaerry

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
I use swap and go fast with my a1. Use a faster sd and set dalvick to 32. First was 64 and my phone freeze.

  • 0

#44
youpi666

youpi666

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
Kaerry have totally right. No problem with swap too, it's certainly because of the slow SD. And you could try the 32 values on Dalvik as it purpose, for me it lag more than the original but the most important in a rom is to find param that fit your use :)
(Kaerry : are you sure of your dalvik values, it set to 48 at first boot so weird that you have 64).

And to be clear for the swap recommand on first post :) :
If you don't need it, you can live without swap activate on this rom but if you encounter some problem with heavy app, better to activate it ;)

Edit : For the next update (some fix in progress + RC3 fix ), i put back the dalvik at 32, not sure that the better tweak/perf values, but it seems to be a better out of the box compatibility values.

Edited by youpi666, 10 June 2012 - 08:29 AM.

  • 0

#45
natostanco

natostanco

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Devices:Acer liquid
  • Twitter:@ntstnc
thanks

Edited by natostanco, 10 June 2012 - 08:27 AM.

  • 0

#46
bateman75

bateman75

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Acel Liquid S100

I use the 2GB micro sd that came with my liquid A1 and partitioned 256MB swap and 256MB ext2.
First I installed this ROM into my Liquid A1, I enabled the swap.
But the UI was quite slow.
After I disabled the swap, the UI turned to be smoother.
Now, my A1 works fine without the swap.

But the 2nd post recommends the swap partition for the better experience,
Does anyone know to get the better experience with the swap parition?


my two cents:
I come from a perfect CM7.2, when I've installed this CM7.3 everything goes very laggy (same swap, same ext3, same general configurations).
Try to go to LiquidParts -> A2sd - > click Format Ext and reboot....now for me it's all super ok!
The swap is working (20%) and I've 60Mb free..and the phone is super reactive!

  • 0

#47
alboz83

alboz83

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Guys i buy a samsung plus class 10 sdcard, i try swap but i don't see changes. I did test with SD Tools and SD CardTester in playstore, and i got slow MB/s. For you it's better to relpace with sandisk mobile ultra class 6? I can go back the samsung in the store and take the sandisk.

  • 0

#48
renzs

renzs

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Liquid E & Galaxy Nexus

Guys i buy a samsung plus class 10 sdcard, i try swap but i don't see changes. I did test with SD Tools and SD CardTester in playstore, and i got slow MB/s. For you it's better to relpace with sandisk mobile ultra class 6? I can go back the samsung in the store and take the sandisk.


did you try to increase the SD read ahead value? 1kb, 2kb or 4kb?
sometime it's also the card reader. maybe on the phone is slow but on the PC card reader is fast. I think if you change to ultra class will make no difference

  • 0
Acer Liquid E / 4.002.14 EMEA GEN1 / CM9 RC1 -------- Google Galaxy Nexus / JB 4.2.1 / AOKP JB mr1

#49
alboz83

alboz83

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy Nexus
yes the SD is setting to 4096 value..i tested sd also with atto disk benchmark and i have got best results, but i have seen some test in some forums and the mobile ultra have best results mostly for little file. If it's true i think that sandisk would be faster for to use swap

  • 0

#50
ccorasaaa

ccorasaaa

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Devices:LiquidE
Bug: Bluetooth while receving file.

Edited by ccorasaaa, 10 June 2012 - 07:03 PM.

  • 0

#51
youpi666

youpi666

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
First fix update.

See the first post for changelog, link and for instruction (take care of how to update if you want to keep your app and param)

  • 0

#52
Dmitriy K.

Dmitriy K.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD

First fix update.

See the first post for changelog, link and for instruction (take care of how to update if you want to keep your app and param)

But maybe you know how insert "metal camera" in this rom?

Because now it's error:
"Package com.android.camera has no signatures that match those in shared user android.media; ignoring!

  • 0

#53
thepasto

thepasto

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 430 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E
  • Twitter:@thepasto

But maybe you know how insert "metal camera" in this rom?

Because now it's error:
"Package com.android.camera has no signatures that match those in shared user android.media; ignoring!


Metal-Camera needs to be resigned with cm keys... Maybe only one working could be the one in LN1.9, so if you'll find it, maybe you can get it working

  • 0

Posted Image


Don't want to change phone yet? Support the devs!! :)


Posted Image


#54
Dmitriy K.

Dmitriy K.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD

Metal-Camera needs to be resigned with cm keys... Maybe only one working could be the one in LN1.9, so if you'll find it, maybe you can get it working

Thanks, LN1.9 version works here but camcorder not

media_profiles.xml needs to reconfigure (or replace too)

  • 0

#55
youpi666

youpi666

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
The cm camera change between CM 7.1 and 7.2. and the media_profile.xml too so :
- you could take the media_profiles.xml of the ln 1.9 but you'll broke the CM 7.2 camera
- or let the good file for CM 7.2 and not use the metal camera.

  • 0

#56
Dmitriy K.

Dmitriy K.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD

The cm camera change between CM 7.1 and 7.2. and the media_profile.xml too so :
- you could take the media_profiles.xml of the ln 1.9 but you'll broke the CM 7.2 camera
- or let the good file for CM 7.2 and not use the metal camera.

Yes, but CM7.2 camcorder have low fps

  • 0

#57
youpi666

youpi666

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
ok i add the problem to the todo list :)

  • 0

#58
GvM

GvM

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:acer liquid
The "missed sms" blinks as "missed call" icon on my liquid.
Light sensor works fine but it switches between the levels discretely, I can't make it fade smooth.
I'm not sure what's the right settings in the menu (tried different checkboxes/values) but this was working fine in other roms from the box.
sdcard readahed doesn't save its value and resets to 4096 after reboot.
ps soz for disinfo the swap does work fine...

Edited by GvM, 12 June 2012 - 01:12 PM.

  • 0

#59
Motoox

Motoox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo
  • Devices:Liquid A1, Liquid Metal
I changed my SD to SUMSUNG class 10, but the UI was still quite slow with the swap partition.
But after the factory reset, I found that the UI works so smoothly!
So, installing applications one after , I tried to check what cause the slow UI.
Finally, I found that the cause was Facebook!!!
Sign-in to facebook make the UI quite slow,
and clearing its data, the UI comes back to work so smoothly.

  • 0

#60
LuCa xD

LuCa xD

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Liquid A1, Galaxy Nexus

I changed my SD to SUMSUNG class 10, but the UI was still quite slow with the swap partition.
But after the factory reset, I found that the UI works so smoothly!
So, installing applications one after , I tried to check what cause the slow UI.
Finally, I found that the cause was Facebook!!!
Sign-in to facebook make the UI quite slow,
and clearing its data, the UI comes back to work so smoothly.

Yes, facebook for android is a crappy app. It uses a lot of ram (around 15Mb) and it's always in background. I have slowdowns with many roms with facebook installed. Try to use alternatives apps, like fast facebook or seesmic, that are lighter and uses less ram.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users